Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

52 People found this comment helpful

My head cold was dragging on without significant improvement. Somewhere in my foggy brain I remembered my chiropractor said zinc prevents colds. I got my Quantum Cold Season TheraZinc spray out and immediately began to improve. Yes, I was already sick, but it began to reverse my symptoms without the use of any other medications. My nasal congestion began to lessen and after blowing my nose, less c...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

My mom and I took this medicine, It was the liquid version and we BOTH threw up, this is a bad product and I do not recommend it to ANYONE that is going to use this. I have been sick for 10 days just because of this product.

Shared reviews and ratings

Natures own | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/14/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had covd and took this medicine on an empty stomach no way !! Hoezay !!! I was throwing up ?? and stomach aches all day !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effective in strengthening

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
G Money | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/14/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I see some reviews that say that after taking zinc for some time, that they developed high blood pressure and pain. The reason for that is because the zinc made them extremely low in copper. Copper is involved in the production of dopamine(body’s painkiller), and low levels lead to pain. Also a high zinc/low copper ratio can lead to high blood pressure. Taking a single vitamin or mineral for long periods is never good for you. Always do your research before taking any supplement so you know all the possible side effects that can occur from taking a single supplement long term. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michiman | Age: 65-74 |
2/11/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had the COVID 4 times and each time I took Zicam also had been taking vitamin D. From 70-73 years old I was able to fight off the COVID. In addition I started taking zinc lozenges when I fist had cold symptoms, and I stop symptoms within days. I might add itbhealps to do other healthy things like maintaining a healthy weight, getting exercise, and rest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike D. | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/25/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At the first sign of a cold I overdose on generic zinc for the first day or two. Then taper as the symptoms disappear. I have not had a significant cold since following this regimen, likely close to ten years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sheila | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken 15 mg of zinc for years without any noticeable problems. But recently I realized that I was beginning to have side pain and high blood pressure. I have never had high blood pressure before, so through a process of elimination I thought maybe it was a supplement that I was taking that was causing it. I stopped taking the zinc and within about a week my side pain went away and my blood pressure went back to a normal range.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am fit and healthy thankfully however the usual ageing process going on with us all can contribute to feeling a little sluggish or tired, having heard of zinc and finding it reduced in holland & barrett, decided to use, the main improvement from it seems to be to my hair and nails.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/19/2022
Condition: Pneumonia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had COVID positive test 2xs. I was so sick and lungs were on fire. I took. Zicam rapidmelts zinc only, citrus flavor only. I took 1 every hour all night long and by morning only a slight cold. My neighbor also did who had blue lips from Covid, lack of oxygen and refused to die in the hospital. I had his wife do what I did and give him the same thing. Wow by morning night and day difference. I told my 70-year-old friend to take it because her husband had Covid. She smokes bad. He didn’t take it and went to the hospital and was put on a ventilator. She did my suggestion of zinc and NEVER got it and she’s smoked cigarettes for 50 years. I’ve told so many it works. Seen it work over and over. I must have 20 bottles at home. It’s all we need, it saved so many lives. No one can tell me, I seen it myself over and over. It works!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So...decided to take zinc to boost my immune system. Last month I had a cold (not covid) that dragged on forever. My mucous cells seem to work fine, but the cilia that pushes that stuff out of my body...not so much. I took some zinc and in two days that little bit of mucous I swear that was stuck at the top of my lungs finally freed itself and got out. I have also noticed that my sense of smell has improved drastically. Anyway. I tend to think there is some benefits to using zinc. It is not a cure-all. Obviously, zinc is not a substitute to a healthy balance between food groups, exercise, and rest, but it is a nice boost. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/3/2021
Condition: Zinc deficiency
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Beware when WebMD or other website specifically turns you away from a cheap supplement like zinc to boost immunity or ease symptoms from Covid. $$. They have reasons. WebMD article says it helps protect against viruses like common cold **OH BUT NOT COVID VIRUS THO** Article also says docs don't know exactly why it works on viruses. **BUT THEY KNOW IT DOESNT WORK ON COVID VIRUS FOR SURE THO** Follow the money.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mhmdshawqi | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/2/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sense of taste and smell are very weak .I noticed it returned to normal if I take zinc supplements around 8 mg. Like the food tastes really nicer and I could smell everything around me very well, which normally i do not smell anything even if my family or colleagues mention a smell in the room.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tigermoon | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/9/2020
Condition: Zinc deficiency
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking in pill for and haven't had any problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
3/26/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom and I took this medicine, It was the liquid version and we BOTH threw up, this is a bad product and I do not recommend it to ANYONE that is going to use this. I have been sick for 10 days just because of this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unblocktheplanet | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/21/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took a 40mg Zinc supplement daily for years. In addition, Zinc was in my multivitamin/multimineral, my calcium & B-complex supplements. I have Hashimoto's thyroiditis, often comorbid with hypocortisolism. Zinc is used clinically to reduce high cortisol. I'm still not right but I fely decidedly better when I deleted my 40mg supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harley6quinn | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/29/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the zinc tablet from equate brand They only thing bad I have to say is I turned out to be allergic to the active ingredient so I had to stop taking it but the 3 days I did take it I had no runny nose no sneezing and no caughting I would definitely recommend this for anyone that is not allergic to it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
It works! | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/21/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first signs of cold, I suck on zinc tablets and it usually stops the progression of the cold within 3 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LDD | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/3/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This supplement has helped me with hair loss. I noticed a reduction on the amount of daily hair on my white floor since I started taking it. I had to pass the broom twice a day and grab the balls of hair to put in the trash, now my hair loss is minimal. The "365" brand offers chelated zinc and contains also some copper. It took me years to find something that worked. I guess I did not treat the root cause until now and it was mineral deficiency. Please note I initially purchased the liquid zinc from the "Benevolent" brand and that one gave me horrible vertigo. I later noticed this brand not only includes zinc but also Elderberry Fruit, Umckaloabo Root, and Echinacea. I ended spending more than $400 on doctors and the symptoms stopped a couple of days after I stopped taking the liquid zinc. I did not think of the liquid zinc as the cause until I took it again and the vertigo started again. I stopped it for good and I did not experience vertigo ever again. I have been taking the "365" brand which works with no side effects in one month. I will continue using it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helenback | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/7/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking zinc has made me very tired. However after consuming it over a period of time i feel much better and the sleepiness is no longer affecting my day to day life. It has helped me detoxify from arsenic and helo with elevated copper levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 |
7/9/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/19/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zinc does not make you lose smell/taste. It actually helps. The comment from the person taking ZICAM and lost smell/taste, is due to Zicam, not zinc. If you look up smell/taste loss zicam, you will see results. It is the same as with Flonase. I lost my smell and taste due to Flonase and used zinc and I got it back. Maybe the zinc did not help, but did not cause it. Zicam and Flonase can cause it. Not Zinc. Do research.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More