Show ratings & reviews for

4.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

135 People found this comment helpful

For about 5 years,I have had excessive phlegm to the point of coughing, choking, and spitting up.I have tried over the counter and prescription drugs with no improvement. A friend suggested ginger shots. The first time I tried it, I immediately stopped coughing and my throat seemed to open up. The phlegm is greatly reduced. I fix a ginger shot with about 1/2 in. raw ginger rhizome and 1 oz. oran...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

good

Shared reviews and ratings

Pain Relief | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/24/2023
Condition: Back pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have found ginger to be effective for cramps back pain knee pain shoulder pain. And easy to use. I use the ginger patches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/24/2023
Condition: Back pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ginger’s benefits was good for motion sickness and Meniere disease until had digestive problems and mouth irritation from it then had to stop cold turkey. I haven’t taken any since my last time meaning a couple of days, but will try to take some again when digestive and mouth irritation are gone and in smaller quantities this time not that I was taking too much but I guess I am more sensitive to it than most.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Plin | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/13/2022
Condition: Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You tell reader ginger is ineffective inpreventing travel sickness, which in the case of myself and wife is completely wrong. Taking two cubes of crystallized ginger before a road or plante trip stops any feelings of nausea without any of the wearying tiredness associated with drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GCD | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started taking ginger drops for several reasons, but mainly for it's anti-inflammatory properties. Always felt and looked puffy, suspected and felt like I've had digestive motility issues the last year or so, and allergy, GERD and IBS history made it hard to fell normal. Along with diet changes, I take 20-30 drops in water 1st thing in the morning, before bed and sometimes midday. I've since been able to come off the omeprazole with the exception of a few days a week (depending on what I've eaten or any constipation going on), my chronic morning coughing is gone (allergy and reflux related), I can feel my gut and stomach actually working to move and empty out food and waste and am not as constipated. Need to lose a lot of weight too and since taking it (along with eliminating some foods) I feel it's helping there as well (down 5 lbs). Just have to be careful not to take too much or I get a little nauseous and end up in the bathroom more than I want to be! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hammock Hawg | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/17/2022
Condition: High cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I buy ginger powder with 5% gingerols, an extract of the active ingredient. It is quite powerful! if the powder is airborne it can disable someone immediately, like pepper spray. It’s great for DIY personal defense. I put this powder into capsules and it is perfectly safe for my needs. It allows for changes in dosage. I’m in my late 60s and in excellent health, knock on wood. My retirement hobby is running and a 7 mile run is a regular thing. Looking through the webmd conditions for which someone would use ginger as a supplement shows that it can be used for dozens of conditions. That shows that ginger is right up there with curcumin in the top tier of must-have supplements. Recommend ginger for any seniors, but especially if it is fortified with gingerol extract. Read up on the many benefits of ginger supplementation. It’s a safe multipurpose anti-aging tool. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr. Grace | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/26/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Moderation is key in most areas. If you have adverse effects, cut back/ change your schedule. cold turkey can confuse the body. Ginger or anything taken Daily is too much. Perhaps if you switch amounts and give your body a break! Try a homemade tea. Fresh ginger And Not every day. Moderation is key in life :) vitamin C is one of the very few “supplements” Our bodies can handle daily and expel the excess naturally. Please remember, Moderation , listen to your body. And Breathe. Nausea, candida, gently help your gut. Moderation Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DDBSLP | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for nausea and all it did was give me SEVERE heartburn and some weird heart palpitations. The heartburn just exacerbated the nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brian | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/22/2021
Condition: Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD)
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had ginger root in a tea and have had abdominal pain for approx. 5 hours now. The same happens with ginger Gravol. I’m just going to have to accept the fact that I can’t use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/20/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gastroparesis caused by Lyme disease. I take three 550 capsules/day, morning, noon and night. With or without food doesn't matter. It made a dramatic improvement in the nauseau and overall feeling well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vitamin | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/29/2020
Condition: Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ginger is good for health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 |
5/29/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with acid reflux, it can get so bad it makes it hard to breath at one point I used to throw up every other meal and was almost dreading eating because it was so hard to keep things down. I did not have this issue until I took abilify, a horrible drug peddled to anyone with anything that ever went wrong in their mind, so i was then put on omeprazole, taking tums and what not to try and manage the hell it was giving me. One day, my mother made this really interesting bone marrow broth, delicious, especially with black pepper and ginger bits, to add substantial flavor. My father has the same issue, he called it an elixir for his stomach, I tried it, and suddenly my stomach felt amazing, nothing at all was trying to come up I felt sane and I ate a ton of food and could keep eating without losing control of my gut. I haven’t taken any medicine for my stomach in years, and ginger doesn’t even have to be a daily thing for me. Maybe it won’t work for everyone, as everybody is different, maybe it was something specific and awful that abilify did to me that ginger could simply fix, but I feel like it’s a plant that actually cures thinfs rather than mask symptoms of a bigger problem. All in all, any time my stomach acts up, I spend maybe 50 cents at walmart and my sanity and sleep and appetite is restored. I definitely sill have my condition, but I notice it improve with ginger. My appetite is terrible, practically addicted to soda and restaurants, so that’s a giant part of it, but ginger seems to keep me alive and I do take fish oil and vitamins to manage the general lack if nutrients I’m getting, too poor and busy to be healthy. But anyway, I recommend ginger, everyone’s case is different, but you can save yourself a lot of money and side effects if it sorts out your problems.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fresh ginger | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/27/2019
Condition: Migraine headache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from frequent migraines. Since adding fresh ginger to my green tea daily the pain has decreased to a severe headache when exposed to triggers rather than so severe that I am puking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrsjo2u | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/29/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Juiced organic ginger root and drank it daily 3 to 5 days prior to chemo and a bit after to curb harsh gastrointestinal issues. It helped tremendously with nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/21/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been trying to find a treatment for nausea for 10 years and have seen numerous doctors and many many tests. However, one doctor just told me to try the Chewable Ginger tablets, 500 mg. It is working great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
10/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Of everything I've tried, ginger is by far the best thing I've taken to treat my nausea and upset stomach. I've tried OTC medications but by far ginger is my #1 go to for nausea and upset stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/13/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The product name is Spring Valley Whole Herb Ginger Root 550 mg Dietary Supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
john | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
7/12/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find that ginger reduces inflammation and pain generally, that it also enhances circulation, sometimes has a mild, emphasis on mild, viagra-like effect. Good for muscle aches, too. Thus far I see no downside, and I don't overdo it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LaRitha | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/2/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The root is easy to make into a tea, I am using it for severe Reflux. I ordinarily have to use 20 mg of Priolosec 2 times a day. i can not afford the cost . this is a cheaper alterenative, plus it helps with my arthritis and inflammation. i prefer this method over prescription medication. i know it serves more than one purpose and it's a natural source .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/19/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I boil pieces of ginger root in water and then drink the water and eat the ginger now I don't really need my PPIs for my stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
buttonbright | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
4/13/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ginger candy (gin-gins) works well for me, a few a day have been a godsend. as I cut them in half and swallow pieces like a pill. But for about half of the people I talk to they make it worse. so I'm not quite sure why.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More