Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

242 People found this comment helpful

My mom was having hallucinations at night, little people, wild animals, the room was changing - all things that were real to her. I give her 8 drops of Ashwagandha extract that I put into a shot glass with a tablespoon of water. I get the organic extract at Whole Foods, Herb-Pharm brand works best. I started her off with a few drops and added drops each night until she began sleeping through th...

Most voted negative review

21 People found this comment helpful

Ashwagahanda worked in the beginning but after about 6 weeks I began to start having strange thinking. I stopped it for about 2 weeks or so. When I went back on it again I began to have suicidal thoughts. I stopped it immediately.

Shared reviews and ratings

JJK | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/18/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The supplement industry is highly unregulated so beware where and what you buy. I could imagine reading these highly disparate reviews, this is an issue along with getting the right dosage level. Watched videos on a ashwaganda in youtube. I'm taking Costco 500MG for a few weeks and very pleased. Feel a little mild calm over-relaxed dopy tire feel, like you took a very mild opiodal or something. No stomach issues. only think I'm watching is my urination seems slowed down (guy 61). I'm experimenting with one AM and one at bed for insomnia and high cortisol/stress. So far it's really good. I'll probably back off to once/day at night and or lower the dosage and try to find the minimum dosage I can take while yielding what I'm after. Cuz, it's helping a ton. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/16/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Literally just like taking a Xanax or Ativan. Contains the exact same ingredients of pain killers, anxiety pills, and sleep pills all rolled into a brown capsule of dried plant. It's wonderful for anxiety and insomnia- but it's not something to play with!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/12/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ashwagandha has been extremely effective in lowering my blood pressure, very effective lowering my stress levels. Gives me a sense of calmness. No side effects has been noticed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DCM | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/10/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very good supplement. It gives me vigor. I don't get as tired from stress as I used to. I can do a lot of things throughout the day. It is not an stimulant, It is more like you don't get too tired from stress. For those Who have severe side efects from herbs like Ashwagandha, Rhodiola, Eleuthero and such, don't forget they may interact with medicines. Good luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nutricost | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/7/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one capsule then two hours later I was vomiting, my stomach bloated and then diarreha , spent most of the evening in the bathroom.this product might work different on other people but it is not one for me, through the rest in the trash bin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LK-MA | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/3/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially I took this as needed at night to help me sleep, it worked very well at making me drowsy. Sometimes I would take it to calm me down after a particularly anxiety-producing incident, also worked very well for this. I have been taking Prozac, but the efficacy was starting to wane, so I decided to try taking the ashwaganda daily. This was less than 2 weeks ago, so it's too soon to say on that count. I have never experienced any side effects and am actually quite surprised at some of the reviews. Dosage is just 460 mg as needed.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/31/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
10/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started supplementing with ashwagandha at the advice of a few people to ease everyday anxiety and low mood. It worked great for the first few days, but after a week or so I experienced emotional blunting, brain fog and wild mood swings. I cycled off, then back on again and the same feelings came back paired with borderline paranoia. I would advise being very careful with this stuff as I guess it affects people in different ways. It isn't for everyone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/8/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Ashwagandha for anxiety and felt terrible, I only took two capsules over two days, I had stomach pain and felt like I would be sick, I felt panicky and strange, I also had a panic attack, I'd never had a panic attack before and even though I only took two capsules I had a panic attack again two weeks later!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ash | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
10/6/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has helped me tremendously post covid. I've dealt with post covid anxiety, and long term covid issues(everything on the list). It seems when i take this my joint pain is way less and anxiety way less, and i just feel better overall....I've been taking it about 2 years now, usually a 300mg gumy in the am and at lunch. And then a tablet at bed time(300mg).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/26/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a man, I noticed a great upgrade in my libido. More energy during my day. With a higher dose, I can definetly feel the substance in my body giving me energy to go through the day. Also take during a meal to avois stomach upset. Did not notice a change in my anxiety however, I think? Try it for yourself, everyone's body reacts differently.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spring Valley | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/21/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After three days I went from high blood pressure to low. I had to cut my blood pressure pills in half. But I will mention I was also dieting and working out more. And I have lost a few pounds. IF I can get off blood pressure altogether, that would be awesome.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DG | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/13/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

on my 3rd bottle (90 caps of 450 mg) usually i take twice daily one after breakfast/lunch and one after dinner . Taking 3 times when needed. i struggle with high anxiety , uncontrolled anger esp. during PMS and also insomnia This helped me alot. centered my emotions, clearer mindset, more focused, helped to be more calm and collected when confronted with triggering situations and sleep was better no other side effects noted in my experience ( with maximum dose of 450 mg x 3 daily )

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T-Bone | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/12/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've found this supplement extremely effective. So much so that I only take two tablets when I want novel effects for just one day. The most noticeable effect is a quieting of the mind. I feel more sleepy, more comfy, but not tiered, not low energy, just cool and collected – everything comes to me in a timely manner and I want to cuddle people. My satisfaction is somewhat lower than the effectiveness as though it clearly has a good effect on anxiety, it also decreases my desire to talk and share passionately – which I also love. So though it makes me very comfortable in the room with many people, I cease to be life of the party – though that wasn't happening anyway. I simply reserve this analog for when I want a different colour spilled over the day. A fantastic novel effect which can help stimulate the fulfilment of your week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JNorwood | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/7/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried a 150mg ksm-66 gummy. I ate it around 4:30pm. By 5:15 I was feeling some heaviness in my chest and my legs were more wobbly than with my everyday anxiety. By 6:30 I had lost my appetite, felt shaky, and had been in my bathroom peeing for 45minutes. Its now 915 and I feel nausea (been feeling like I was going to puke at any moment) and feeling a little more tired from it all. Hopefully I will get over all this soon!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnWayne23 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/2/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for about 3 months and it has had the most amazing effect on treating my chronic anxiety and burnout. I have started by taking 800mg/day and now I can do with 400mg/day. I have suggested it to everyone I know and all of them speak highly of it, as if it's some kind of miracle treatment. Well, for me it is! Just a FYY, if you have gastrointestinal issues such as acid reflux, gerd, stomach ulcers, you might want to take only 400mg/day and on a full stomach, otherwise it might cause some discomfort. Not sure about taking it longterm, I haven't had issues with it and I know someone that's been taking it for over a year with the same positive results. Might just be a case of "there are not any proper long-term studies on its effects". Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
So sick | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/30/2023
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

these gummies made me so sick. I've been throwing up at night within an hour of taking them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eks | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/19/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started supplementing with a powder in my coffee, in an attempt to help balance my body from an array of symptoms relating to hormonal imbalance when recovering from stopping hormonal birth control nearly 2 years ago. I took a powder from a health food store. Unfortunately it has taken me over a year to connect the dots and realize the ashwaghanda I incorporated into my natural treatments was then the culprit of some of the very symptoms I was trying to combat. Namely: low/no sex drive, being completely emotionally numb, extreme fatigue, debililtating brainfog. I will say it can lower anxiety, but along with this lowers my ability to feel any emotion at all and during acute stage I felt like a complete zombie, and had zero motivation. This affects so many hormones (is GABAergic, serotonergic, dopaminergic, affects your sex hormones, drastically lowers cortisol) The strong effect on all of this resulted in persistent and impactful imbalance eg: you really, really need cortisol..at the correct levels, to feel motivated and content emotionally) Yes I cycled it, and took half a teaspoon on the days I had it, a common recommendation. It wasn't til I restocked and commenced a new cycle nearly every day for 3 weeks (in January this year) that I noticed something was really, really wrong.. It does not work well with my, and many others' bodies. I have now been 2.5 months off so far and the extreme fatigue, brainfog, demotivation, and feeling dead inside have subsided (they were practically debilitating and I have lost a lot of my life to this supplement making me sick). I am becoming much more alert, my menstrual cycle is no longer extremely short like 21 days, I still can't feel all my emotions, nor is my sex drive working and that is significant, beyond having sex. Sexual energy is a life force, the feeling of embodiment. Whereas I am dissociated. I am 30 and know myself very, very well and this is distinctly an imbalance my body/brain are trying to recover from- my thoughts themselves are not negative. I literally can't feel my emotions. This really is not for everyone, please be careful and know that as an ayurvedic herb act very differently on each person depending on their energetic/biological make up and it would be best assessed and monitored by a qualified practitioner of herbal medicine. The consistency of use may also vary a lot per person, IF you're suited to use it, Too many people take this with bare minimum information. It is a drug, and it can have significant, lasting effects that are very detrimental. Be very carefulRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caleb | Age: 13-18 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/17/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 1 concentrated 125 mg dose. Within 12 hours I began having a pretty bad stomach ache. 5 hours later I was throwing up. I couldn’t sleep that night because my heart rate was abnormally high. 0/10 do not recommend, or at least, be very cautious

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#hjoseph7 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/11/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having a slight case of Anxiety due to job related issues, so I decided to look up a mood enhancing suplement online. That's when I ran into a company selling Ashwagandha on Amazon. The first day I took this I did not feel anything at all. It sort of reminded me of St. John Wort the bottle which has been sitting on my shelf for 5 years with minimal use except as a Placebo. In any case, I didn't want to give up, so I took it for another few days. By the 4th day my Anxiety had become more accute. I also had problems sleeping. It was like my mind was racing and I could not crontrol the recurring thoughts. I actually felt Synapses and Neurons going off in my brain like a July 4th fire-works celebration ! This is the second (and definitely the last time time) I had this reaction with Ashwagandha. At least the St Johns Wort didn't keep me from sleeping. This supplement is just not for me .. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More