Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

141 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking GABA at 1000 mg I have chronic pain, anxiety, depression and sleep issues due to a condition called fibromyalgia. I see no huge differences with my sleep. But before I woke up everyday in pain and now I don't. Depression is well managed and I am not having any anxiety. I don't have an over medicated calm just a clear mind more myself calm. I also lost 30lbs. I workout 3x per wee...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

I read some reviews and thought I would try it. Anxiety suppressed, if one likes to feel like they got hit in the head with a bat. Did not help my sleep at all. I read where some guy woke up stiff as a board; me, I got a first time ever major sprain in my right calf the first half mile of an easy 6 miler I was taking today....fully rested, it just went bwang! for no reason at all. This stuff may b...

Shared reviews and ratings

Tam | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/4/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This gave me my life back. I suffer from fibromyalgia and since taking 500mg before bed I am sleeping like a baby and waking up without pain. It is really worth trying if you have chronic pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/17/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Don't use any brain supplement without the prior permission of your doctor. I just took GABA supplement for 3 days and guess what, i was unable to go outside due to heavy brian fog and derealization. I was going completely out of control. Chest heaviness, headache, breathlessness etc. Please let you consult your doctor first before starting any neurotransmitter supplements. They can be real dangerous. I am moving to SSRI's now as a last solution.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erin | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/4/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 56 yo woman who developed anxiety, often times crippling, recently. I got this to tide me over until I get to the doctor. I was pleasantly surprised - it definitely takes the edge off, at least.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spring Valley | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/4/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 65 no medical conditions, have had some anxiety, was taking Xanax was told about GABA, it has helped a great deal with anxiety, and I feel like I have been sleeping better. I still work and get up at 4 am felling rested.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
9/21/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 750mg before bed. (I'm 140lbs. Female) It helps me fall asleep fast and stay asleep through the night. I have dreams that last a long time which I enjoy. I wake up feeling refreshed and well rested. It does take me about 30 minutes in the morning to get going, because there's a bit of grogginess that does goes away. I wouldn't be able to take this high of a dose during the day. I have taken lozenges before that were for quick anxiety relief and those were good for daytime when feeling stressed they are faster acting.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 750mg before bed and had a slew of reactions. Tingling, sore throat, chest pain and skin itchiness all over my body. Felt slightly less anxious, but also very weak and tired. I don't recommend starting with this dosage and will probably switch to something much lower in hopes it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I work night shift and have a hard time getting quality sleep during the day. I started taking Gaba with the melatonin I usually take. My sleep quality has improved greatly. I fall asleep quicker, sleep for longer periods of time, and wake up feeling rested. Highly recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bboat | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have depression and anxiety. I take Celexa 20mg. I got Covid about month ago, and I didn't feel the same since (ie. daily nausea, stomach cramps, fatigue, muscle weakness, worsened depression). Last night, I took GABA 750mg before bed on a full stomach (even though it stated to take on empty stomach), and I slept wonderfully. I woke up without anxiety or depression, and I didn't have nausea or any other problems I'd been having. Definitely will be taking again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hls | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a big panic attack, heart racing and could not relax. Split my capsule open and put some under the tounge and the racing heart, anxiety, restless was gone in about 15 minutes. I placed it under touge for you are supposed to take with an empty stomach but i just had lunch and i heard it absorbs better under tounge. I was on prednisone all week and been having panic attacks and insomnia for a week now,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KCLADYZ | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First week feels like taking a Xanax. You feel immediate calm. Your body adjusts to it and you stop that feeling but it still works for anxiety and depression. i been taking it 2 years and stopped prescription antidepressants all together. i recommend you start on the lowest dosage and work yourself up. Works best on an empty stomach

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blessed | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Spring Valley GABA 750mg capsules for sleep support. I had been very anxious due to new job and work load. With GABA at night, I could feel almost an immediate relaxation and the multitude of thoughts zooming through my mind calmed quickly. I sleep much better at night now and feel much calmer during the day. I am super pleased with the results of GABA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adam | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/5/2021
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I work as a caregiver, and my position requires me to stay at a house for 72 hours straight. That's three days straight. My employers had allowed me to sleep while at the job, only if the clients were asleep. But somehow, every time I try to sleep, I simply cannot! I tried making my sleeping area more comfortable, and it still didn't work. I tried eating a bunch of carbohydrates (Pasta) right before bed, which seemed to have helped a little where I would experience these "Jetlag typed sleep" where I would sleep for 2-4 hours and then wake up and never go back to sleep. I tried GABA, and it hasn't changed anything. Usually, I would catch up during the day when I'm not supposed to sleep, but GABA made me stay up! I couldn't sleep during the evening hours as well! I took 750 ml. Overall, I didn't feel anything at all. No relaxation sensations, no drowsiness, and no sleep. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Megan | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
11/20/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've has anxiety my whole life and I get it to where I can't eat for days because im so nervous for no reason. I take this when I'm having bad anxiety and it literally takes it away! Sometimes I open the capsule and pour about 1/4 or half of it into some milk and mix it up if I want a lower dose. Betweens this and Having Jesus in my life everything has turned around for the better ???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nate | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety, depression and have had poor sleep for months. Recently I decided to try a sleep study, but am tired of being tired. Despite exhaustion, it is hard to fall and stay asleep. I had a pill with 5-HTP, GABA and L-Theanine that worked wonders. Recently I couldn't find that formula anywhere, so I got each one separately. I was taking 5-HTP, L-Theanine and Valerian root for a few days before adding GABA. The former helped me sleep. Adding GABA included waking up refreshed and feeling more alive than I have felt in months. I have no ill side effects, though my appetite increased as I actually had and used more energy. I highly recommend GABA despite the uncertainty of effectiveness in studies. I have been on Gabapentin which is an analogue of GABA. I can say that this supplement does not give you as strong of a calm as Gabapentin, but does so as fast and with less side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/23/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 325 mgs twice a day and it makes me more relaxed and provides a sense of well-being. I take 325 mgs at bedtime and my sleep has been great. I also take Magnesium to help with muscle pain and tension.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cartoongirl | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow! I see lots of reviews of folks taking up to 750 mg of gaba...the gummy product I use for severe anxiety episodes is 100 mg total. The supplement also has saffron and lemon balm. It works so well for me... in 20 minutes I feel much calmer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GABA | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Transparent with my other medications. Sleep has improved and the edge taken off my anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/2/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

GABA gave me extreme stomach pains and gastric issues. I took in a gummy form for sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/15/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 750 mg of GABA for the first time last night, because I was having an anxiety attack and could not fall asleep. It stopped my anxiety attack within 10 minutes, and I was able to fall asleep. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ipecac | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/10/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

500mg GABA gave me breathing difficulties, as if I could not inhale a breath all of the way. I tried taking it a couple of times to be sure that's what caused it. Scary feeling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More