Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

163 People found this comment helpful

Very effective for constipation and anxiety. Once you make up for any inositol deficient you will get diarrhea. Be sure to then lower your dose to a maintenance level. You really have to figure out what dose works best for you.

Most voted negative review

23 People found this comment helpful

This made my glucose levels and my cholesterol levels worse, not better. It's going in the trash.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jerome | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/25/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wholesome Story | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/23/2024
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been struggling with issues due to PCOS with insulin resistance... Disclaimer: I have not been formally diagnosed, as I don't really go to the doctors - but based on my own personal research I am almost completely sure this is what I have. Symptoms included hair thinning, severe body acne (shoulders, tops of arms, upper two thirds of back) in the days leading up to my period, loss of libido (most frustrating esp to my partner lol), moderate weight gain/unable to lose weight. And then on the IR side of things, when it started getting bad I was noticing tingling in my hands or feet/legs, or my feet/legs would fall asleep whenever I was just sitting still for a bit. Once I finally made the connection and the lightbulb went off, I cut way back on my sugar intake and some of the issues started to improve. I noticed a big decrease in the amount of acne I was seeing, I felt like a good bit of my lost hair came back, and I also dropped a few pounds (not a lot, not a visible difference, but still something). My periods were always fairly regular, which I know is rarely the case with PCOS - and that's the one main thing that made me hesitate in diagnosing myself from the get-go. But then about a year or so after I started cutting back on sugar and was seeing some improvements - my periods started being weird. I was always 27 to 28 days and then my period itself would last like 2.5 to 3 days. Then it came at the 25 day mark, then at 23 days. And they were lasting longer, like twice as long, with lighter bleeding. So I was like "wtf?" and I went online to research. Long story short, this is what finally lead me to finding out about inositol after all this time. Seeing as it's a natural chemical (vitamin) your body receives/produces anyway, thought it couldn't hurt and I may as well just give it a shot. I got the Wholesome Story Myo-Inositol & D-Chiro powder formulation and started off with teensy tiny scoops each day (maybe like a third of a scoop) because I didn't know how my body would respond. I've since worked up to a half scoop a day and will now try and get up to a full scoop a day. Already since taking it for not quite two months and at considerably small doses, I have seen a huge improvement. But it was not something I was expecting would be affected. *TMI warning* - but I used to have tons of trouble with pooping, esp in the mornings. I had what I thought was IBS-D and basically, when it flared up, I could spend upwards of maybe 3 hours on the toilet every morning, day after day, with cramping/gas/diarrhea. To the point where I would have to wake up at 4am sometimes if I knew I had to be up early that day, just so I could make sure I had enough time for using the toilet. If I couldn't get to a toilet for whatever reason, I would just have the worst stomach cramps and be writhing in pain until they finally went away - which they eventually would, maybe an hour or two later, but I would have to endure the agony first. The IBS-D episodes wouldn't necessarily be every day, but I'd have flare ups that could last anywhere from a few days to a couple weeks where I'd experience this every single morning for that timeframe. Then I'd maybe feel better for a week or two before it happened again.... Well, after starting the inositol, this issue (which I now suspect was largely digestion/sugar/insulin related) is now almost entirely resolved. I feel like a new person - like I have my life back, in a way. I'm almost scared to even say the amazing difference this has made, for fear something will happen and I'll go back to having it again. But yeah, it has truly been such a huge game changer in that regard. The other main thing I've noticed after starting on inositol is that I can sleepppp - boy, can I ever! I used to lay down and then it'd be 20-30 minutes or longer before I could fall asleep. And some nights it wasn't where I thought I could even be ready to try laying down before midnight or 1 or 2 am. Now - it's like a switch goesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Do | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/22/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having issues of anguish stress depression I took inositol for liver problems…normally I keep myself quiet with natural temedies with success…after only one time of inositol, totally upsout down, in angwish, respiratory syndrom, pain in the low back, unrest and feeling to be took by psychose…it took me 24 hours to find back my balance…after this experience, I leave the pill…will eat more liver, eggs, bones, etc…with naturall inositol in it…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trying2Conceive | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken combination of Myo-inositol & D-chiro inositol for several months. At first, I took capsule form (the one for women with BMI over 25). Now, I'm taking the powder form after losing weight. It hasn't helped in terms of regulating my period, but it certainly helped me stop my carbs craving & pushing the weight loss when I hit the weight loss plateau. I keep taking it to see how it will turn out. Good luck to all of you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJWinCo | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/17/2023
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have lean pcos with the pcos belly, mild insulin resistance symptoms, excess hair growth and a fair amount of hair loss at temples. My periods were not incredibly irregular prior to taking inositol consistently, I would go through months of spot on to the day and months of irregularities. I took inositol for over to years and experienced a really large decrease in my sugar cravings, a really large decrease in my hair loss, and a HUGE increase in my energy (didn’t realise this until I stopped taking). It also really helped with my mental health symptoms which I didn’t know was a possible benefit for a long time - I have BP2, adhd and ocd which leave me feeling on edge, anxious, depressed and everything in between I have always suffered. Since I stopped taking inositol it has all got so much worse I feel bloody horrible in the head all the time, mainly my OCD. I stopped taking temporarily as I had ran out and I had the best period I have had in years. Thought it was a coincidence but then my next period was a 31 day cycle with very little pain or other symptoms. Whilst on inositol it made my period SO MUCH more irregular and incredibly painful, I couldn’t move from the toilet on the 1st and second days of my period. I’m very sad to not take it, maybe I will give it another try in a couple of months but it’s not worth the unpredictable and painful periods. I was using the Ovasitol powder brand as the tub directed, with my breakfast. Also continuing to use Berberine, NAC and turmeric. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hm257 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
5/2/2023
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this for PCOS for over a year and periods went from 178 days to 36 days, it’s been combined with lifestyle changes of reducing carb in take, or pairing carbs with more protein. You have to take it within 30 mins of your main meal and you need both types of inositol for it to be effective. Most supplements only have myo but you need the d form too. It’s clinically proven to improve pcos symptoms with both forms. I’ve had zero side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BreanaIIi | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/4/2023
Condition: Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always been full of anxiety. Nothing worked for me so I did my own research when I read about Isoitol. I started taking it and saw a big difference. When I took the whole bottle I stopped taking it.My systoms came back so this proved to me there is something about isoitol that has great potential. Since I had no side effects from before I am going to continue taking eit.Sometimes you have to do your own research because Dr's don't care anymore. Some don't even believe in supplements, but if I had waited on a Dr to help me, there is no telling where I would be today. I know the computer is not always reliable but neither are the drs. From my experience I will trust the compute. With drs, you only have one point of view. Computer you can do many searches and study them all and get your on point of view. GOOD LUCK TO ALL OF YOU.GOD BLESS YOU!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caroline | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/5/2023
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking inositol for one month now for pcos. I suffer with constipation to begin with and take laxido but my god taking this made me worse. I'm in agony and I feel more tired. I've never had regular periods and was praying this was going to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/17/2022
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Definitely a life saver for me... My only remorse is I didn't know about inositol sooner. I've been struggling with anxiety disorder and panic attacks, ADD, depression and PCOS for several years. I felt tired every day, no matter how long I slept, depressed and procrastinating all the time. After FIRST use of myo-inositol I felt full of energy and happy - after a really long time. I still have intrusive thoughts, but with inositol it's really manageable, hopefully it'll get even better when taking it for longer time. I've also struggled with gaining weight without reason and drinking alcohol (it helped with anxiety and gave me at least a little bit of energy) - since I started inositol, I don't feel a need to drink anymore. I feel like I'm finally on right way to be a normal, thriving person. It also helps with cravings and feeling full after eating. I have clear mind, it helps with brain fog. Only side effect I've noticed so far is vivid dreams (which I'm happy to have if I'm waking up well rested) and slightly irritated stomach after taking it. I'm on 2g powder/ twice a day mixed in a water and drinking it at breakfast and dinner. I 100% recommend.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SG | Age: 3-6 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/25/2022
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for a week. Can’t say anything about my periods yet but I’m pleasantly surprised that I have the will to wake up 7:30am and go out for a walk, eat all meals on time, work within the official hours and walk again in the evening. Zero brain fog- complete mental clarity. No longer short tempered. My skin has been glowing— even though there were a couple of breakouts. No bloating. No gas. There has been disturbed sleep but it’s getting better every night. Definite increase in libido. Myo Inositol + D Chiro Inositol supplements by Unived, 40:1. I was not prescribed, I took it after research on Google.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/15/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anyone can plz clear me about tinostil sachets that have you ever missed your period during this medication??? I have pcos from last 7 years but after my marriage i didn't missed my periods....but now an using this sachets from last two months nd in these two months i have Missed my periods.....is this cause of these sachets plz guide me who have faced this situation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noir | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/27/2022
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me constipation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PSOS.ADHD.Anx | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/16/2022
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't doubt that inositol works for many women, but I haven't seen much about it being a negative experience beyond these reviews so I wanted to include mine. I have PCOS as well as ADHD, anxiety, and restless leg syndrome. Inositol has been reported to help with all of the above so I thought it might be my miracle cure. I started a few months ago with just 1000mg a day. After not having a period for months, I started my period within a few days. I thought that might be a good thing, getting me regular or what have you, but even when my period ended (or I stopped bleeding at least) the other symptoms stayed- acne, mood swings, bloating, insomnia, and occasional cramps. Those symptoms lasted for almost a month. I stopped taking it to see if the inositol was indeed the problem and slowly everything went away, but a few months later with no period I thought maybe I should take it again and maybe my body just needed time to get used to it. Immediately I started breaking out and getting acne in random places on my body where I've never had acne before (my thighs and armpits and back of my arms). I started my period fairly soon after and TWO WEEKS LATER I'm still on it with the same (thankfully) mild symptoms and mild bleeding. Maybe it has helped with my anxiety or ADHD, but honestly it's hard to notice when I'm moody from a 2 week period. I also want to note that my sister started around the same time. She has PCOS as well and was taking a 500mg daily dose to start but immediately had bad acne breakouts as well and couldn't deal with it so she stopped. I hope more research is done about the effects of inositol and maybe doctors find a pattern behind why it works so well for some and horribly for others. Or maybe it's the delivery method and powder works better? Honestly too scared to try at this point, though. I want to know why it didn't work for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vic | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have purchased Inositol 500mg powder. I’ve been suffering from Panic disorder and Agoraphobia for 3 years. Have tried every type of antidepressant finally the doctor found a dosage of Mirtazapine 7.5 mg every day and for the panic attacks and to help me leave the house 2-5 mg of diazepam (when needed). I have gained 3 stones in weight due to the mirtazapine causing metabolic syndrome . I have read your reviews and hoping can someone tell me what is the usual dose for all three of my illnesses, many thanksRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nina | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/6/2022
Condition: Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After two weeks taking 6g inositol powder a day in my coffee, I've noticed fewer compulsive thoughts and anxiety. I don't know yet if it's just the placebo effect. I have been on 20mg Prozac/day but it wasn't effective for the anxiety and compulsive behavior. I didn't want to up the dosage. The only downside for me with the inositol is an increase in gas and sometimes watery and urgent diarrhea. I do know that this is generally a side effect of sugar alcohols. I was hoping that this would subside after a while. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ElleM | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was recommended inositol as I have persistent depressive disorder with anxiety distress. I started taking inositol 2000mg, a few days ago. Today I've decided I won't be taking it anymore. Mild side effects have been face rash, slowed breathing and fatigue. More concerning is my mood is even lower, I'm sad, tearful, hopeless and have no appetite. Inositol may work for others who have variations in mood, but it's a definite no for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
spikeschilde | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/30/2021
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took inositol to help regulate my cycle, ease period symptoms, help with weight loss, and ease anxiety. Since starting it, I feel it has worked a little too well for anxiety and actually tipped me over into depression territory. I find myself very fatigued, moody, and unable to get out of bed most days. I also started getting awful cramps that radiate down my legs, just a constant dull ache from my waist to my ankles, even on days when I'm nowhere near my period or ovulation, should not be cramping at that time. I recently ran out of inositol and skipped a few days and found I felt better, cramps and achy legs went away, and had more energy. So I discontinued the inositol. I did lose a little bit of weight while on it, but not enough to continue enduring the side effects, maybe 3 lb?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RAP | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this for cholesterol , sugar, brain, sleep and auto immune, I have been lowering my total cholesterol and LDL numbers since taking this supplement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took inositol for the first time after reading some reviews of it on Reddit and Twitter! Its been now three weeks and i can honestly say that this supplement has saved my effing life...i have suffered anxiety for 15 years and i tried literally everything and finally found something that works!!! I use a powder form and taste quite sweet...i take one tablespoon at night and it does great for sleep too....i feel much more energetic, more productive and less nervous..lets hope this continues...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NewGirl | Age: 25-34 |
8/3/2021
Condition: Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got pregnant within a month of starting this after many months with no success

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More