Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

198 People found this comment helpful

Berberine has been truly miraculous for me. A1c from 7.2 to 5.5 morning blood sugars 88-110. I had not had a blood sugar below 100 in years. I get 400mg tablets from Swanson. I take either 3 or 4 a day (1,2,1 or 1,1,1) Only side effect was some slight abd discomfort which cleared up after a couple of weeks. I couldn't understand why this is not more well known. The only think I could figure o...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

Berberine says it helps maintain a healthy blood sugar lever. It does not say it lowers blood sugar. I has done nothing for me and I am taking 900MG a day

Shared reviews and ratings

Mr Skyline | Age: 65-74 |
6/20/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For anyone not getting results, you probably aren't taking it right. I started with 500mg a day with minimal results and I found out that I was supposed to take 1500mg per day in divided doses. Still not moving the needle on my blood sugar. After some more research, I found out that I should take 500mg 10 to 30 minutes before each meal. Now I'm getting results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 13-18 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/18/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/4/2024
Condition: Prediabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/12/2024
Condition: High cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cholesterol went down 54 pts in 7 months. Berberine has also aided with weight loss as well - along with more plant protein and weight resistance workouts I have taken breaks from 10 days to 3 weeks between bottles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eternal Elixir | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
4/30/2024
Condition: Cardiovascular disease (CVD)
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read about Berberine through social media and did some research of my own. I began taking 500mg twice a day for 3 months with food. I found my appetite began to subside immediately, however, there was a short period of stomach pains and diarrhoea. This only lasted a short time and my bowel movements returned to normal. I found that Berberine gave me energy and suppressed my cravings for sugary foods (sweets). My weight loss began slowly but friends and relatives noticed significant belly shrinkage within weeks. For best results, I would recommend taking Berberine for approx. 3 months and then take a break for 4-6 weeks before continuing intake. For better weight loss results, I would recommended drinking upwards of 2lt of water a day with your Berberine intake. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | Age: 35-44 |
4/18/2024
Condition: High cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Berberine regulated my slightly high blood sugar for me and helped with cravings. I took Nutraharmony's berberine complex with 250 mg of berberine. Mild dose, lasting effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/3/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish that people would include the brand and dose with reviews - perhaps some symptoms are from a certain brand that is not good quality. I’m taking WellBetX from Natural Factors @ 500 mg once per day. Immediately noticed appetite and cravings were reduced. I have extremely high cholesterol (medical condition) but haven’t retested yet. I increased to twice per day but think it may have made me dizzy so went back to just 1x/day. Fewer cravings and grazing is a positive for health no matter what numbers are looked at. So I will keep taking it. I see “6 months” for safety limit. Wish I knew where this data comes from. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bky Woo | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/21/2024
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Berberine was a fluke after reading about semiglutide. I really just started out wanting to stop a slow weight gain and overeating. Had stress and food was my fix but not healthy. Always ate healthy foods but just too much . After reading about Berberine I decided to try it. I didn't want to lose that much weight. About 10lbs so semiglutide was not an option. At first 500 mg 2xs a day and some stomach cramps but not bad. No results for 2 weeks and upped dose to 3xs a day. Week three lost 2 lbs and lost interest in overeating. By week four down 5lbs. I have way less cravings. I will keep going and have labs done next month. No side effects and hope for 5 more pounds to get back to my healthy wait.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/17/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IS IT SAFE TO TAKE BERBERINE IF YOU ARE ON BISOPROLOL MEDICATION?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nurse | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/17/2024
Condition: Heart disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was borderline diabetic went back to my physician after 3 months after taking Berberine my A1C went from6.5 till 5.8 my fasting blood sugar was 123 went to 97.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Djaye | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/5/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken small dose for a month, I'm borderline diabetic but see an improvement already. Up dose to two a day. I have slight stomach pain but so minor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/10/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stated taking to get off diabetes medication, forget weight loss or sugar levels, I have suffered from anxiety and depression for 30 years. Antidepressants make me manic so I just lived with it. I decided to take these tablets to help with my insulin resistant diabetes, that was the only reason I tried them. I started taking 300mg in November and had the most amazing Xmas. I have never experienced such a change with medication. Head clear, anxiety almost irrelevant, depression improved so much family asked if I met someone, which I had not. My brain fog is almost gone and I can go weeks withought symptoms. My body feels clean inside, only words to describe it. Important info is to ensure you eat before taking otherwise you could suffer stomach cramps due to trapped wind. I only take 300mg a day and normally have to take higher doses of medication to get results. I asked my doctor about taking it but was advised she could not give me advice as she did not know about it or how it would react with my blood pressure tablets or cholesterol tablets. Due to a lower appetite I have lost a lot of weight, something I was not taking them for, everyone I know comments on my weight loss and improved positiveness. From my experience I would say it is an amazing product, but everyone is different. I can rarely exercise, damn I can rarely walk more than 50 meters without issues and I think that is why I see such big results. If you exercise regularly I suspect you will not see big results. I would suggest taking 1 x 300mg tablet every day for a few months. It took about 5 weeks for me to feel the positive effects, initially I did not even realise the results were because of these tablets, I have no negative side effects after I started taking them after eating. Just had bloods taken for diabetes and doctor decided to do a full spectrum of tests to see if she could see any negative reactions taking these capsules. I belive the weight loss has been the biggest factor to my blood sugars dropping and becoming more normal. The only thing I worry about is my appetite, I have to force myself to eat as I just do not feel hungry most of the time, in fact I went four days only eating 4 sandwiches I had forced myself to eat when taking these tablets. My belly has noticeable decreased in size. I would call it a wonder tablet to be honest. I hate taking tablets but this is something I have stocked up on. People complain about cost but I pay £9 for two months supply and would pay ten times that if needed due to how this root extract has changed my life and continues to do so.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/4/2024
Condition: Cardiovascular disease (CVD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my A1C from 7 to 5.8. weight loss of 27lbs. More energy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunday Morning | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/30/2024
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No change in weight taking 1000 mg per day. Better bowel movement schedule in the morning. Less constipation. Waiting to see if my blood sugar or cholesterol will change at my next doctor's visit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark W | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/29/2024
Condition: Obesity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Here's the clinical trials. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC8696197/

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerbear | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/27/2024
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diarrhea, diarrhea, diarrhea! I thought I had developed IBS and was ready to go to the doctor. Started thinking about what I had changed and realized it was the berberine. On the plus side it did make me feel full and not hungry, but at that cost… No, thank you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1/26/2024
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for 7 months. Built up to 1500mg of Berberine a day. Due to stomach issues. helped with gut, decreases belly fat, decreased sugar cravings, lost 5-7 lbs. I stopped it for 2 months and just started back on it. Noticed difference in healthier gut. Waiting to lose the weight again. No side effects after picking where I left off. Very good product

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/21/2024
Condition: High cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to stop as losing hair

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | Age: 55-64 |
1/13/2024
Condition: Obesity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wrote a review below and would like to add the following about Berberine. It takes 3 months for full effects. I started taking it slowly ! 1/2 gummy . Next day 1 full gummy and the next day 1 gummy in morning same day 1 gummy afternoon. Please do not overdose. Sugar levels , blood preasure can drop and can make you dizzy. I am a female . Starting weight 162 in one week 158 with dancing 2 X a week . Berberine HCL has curved my appetite. You will not over eat because you will feel sick if you do causing side effects. It a truly a miracle supplement for weight loss I am shirking all over my body. All the best of health. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | Age: 55-64 |
1/12/2024
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been taking Gummy Berberine for 1 week I loss 4 Ibs. The side effect was constipation. My remedy for that was drinking 1 teaspoon of extra-virgin olive oil, with 1 teaspoon of lemon flavor, cod, liver oil I will continue. It is excellent in fighting insulin resistance, breaking the sugar addiction. I am suppressed in my appetite, and just focusing on eating, healthy and exercising, and the weight is falling off : ) i taking less only 1 gummy AM And then a few after 1 Gummy Am 1 gummy PM . On bottle says take 2 gummies make sure you get the ones that have vitamin B 12 and cinnamon. This will help any kind of upset stomach and fatigue.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More