Show ratings & reviews for

4.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

205 People found this comment helpful

My psychiatrist went to a conference at the National Institue for Mental Health where tests had showed that NAC 600 is effective in treating bipolar disroder. I have been on it for 1.5 years and my mood seems pretty stable. In addition I take Lamictal. I had been on lithium for 18 years and my lab tests showed that I had a 50% loss of my kidneys so i needed to discontue a drug that had worked fo...

Most voted negative review

23 People found this comment helpful

I'm a 58 year old male who takes bupropion (Wellbutrin generic), lamotrigine (Lamictal) and quetiapine (Seroquel) for major depressive disorder with possibly some form of bipolar or cyclothymic mood swings. After reading numerous reports on the alleged benefits of n-acetylcysteine for bipolar depression, I began taking 2400 mg Vitacost NAC per day in two doses. I have been taking it for more than ...

Shared reviews and ratings

2/29/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took NAC with seleval other Homeopathic medicines and supplements for flu like symptoms and cough. it helped but MY TINNITUS WENT A AWAY FOR 2 DAYS. has this helped with Tinnitus for any one else??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/24/2024
Condition: Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take NAC for my severe compulsive picking and have noticed drastic improvement in my urges to pick. I am on a few other medications for other psych issues but no other SSRI or anxiolytic seemed to make a difference with the severe urge to pick. I’m not sure exactly how it works but I think there’s potential with this med and I think it should be researched more!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justyna | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/19/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/12/2024
Condition: High cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to share my experience with using NAC as part of my approach to managing high cholesterol. After researching potential solutions, I incorporated Nutraharmony's NAC into my routine. I've been taking NAC for a while now, and it seems to be contributing positively to my cholesterol management journey. While it's not a one-size-fits-all solution, I've noticed some improvements. So, I will control my results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very sensitive to mood-altering medications, which is why I try to use supplements and avoid pharmaceuticals. I have generalized anxiety and a mood disorder. I have been taking 100mg L-Theanine for a month and experienced excellent mood stability, but I continued to have anxiety. I added 600mg NAC for three days. L-Theanine always puts me to sleep within two hours, so I took them together before bed. NAC made me wired for five hours after taking it. I didn't sleep as well. I felt manic the first night. Then I took it in the daytime the following two days. I started feeling depressed on it. My anxiety went away, but depression settled in. I stopped taking it. I was afraid to take it the full 4-8 weeks recommended because I don't want to feel depressed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
10/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish to point out that this article needs to be updated. The FDA has removed the "it's a prescription" determination -- the status that big pharma SO desperately tried to make final... It's a damn shame the FDA does not get involved with the supplement industry. Its refusal to do so is absolutely hurting the citizens of our country. The supplement industry is 95% dirty. Hardly anyone understands how to read labels and how to evaluate the bioavailability, sourcing and processing of any given supplement. Accordingly many people are just throwing their money down the drain and in some instances WORSE -- literally causing themselves damage by taking inferior supplements. Everything you ingest has to be detoxified to some extent by the liver and or kidneys with the exception of pure clean water. My experience with NAC is it helps my COPD. I can breathe better when I take it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmms | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/24/2023
Condition: Fatigue
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NAC has many benefits but always causes an upset stomach whenever I take it. Ful, empty or anywhere in between makes no difference. Pain subsides after about 15-30 minutes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fran | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/25/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this only for COPD. I take 500 mgs 3x a day. I find it very effective with no side effects. I may have no side effects because I don't take any Rx or OTC meds. I DO take herbs, but, so far, so good. Not one problem. I take Bluebonnet and Carlson.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allen | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
1/21/2023
Condition: Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NAC prevents my hair pulling- completely stopped it. Had to go to higher dose, 2000 mg morning, 1000 mg at noon, and 1000 mg evening. I also noticed improvement in concentration and memory. So, I increased the dose to 3000 mg morning, 2000 mg noon and 100 mg evening. Results are very good and no side-effects. However, NAC molecule has sulfur bond so the bottles should have odor; if not do not trust the company. I have found considerable differences in brands.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mariae | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to get swollen ankles in hot days. I have been taking NAC 600mg in the morning with a large glass of tepid water for about a year and Last summer never got this worrying symptom at all. However it doesn't seem to have done anything for excessive mucus in throat and lungs, maybe I am taking a dose which is too low.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
9/9/2022
Condition: Trichotillomania
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is a lie to say NAC is available by prescription from a healthcare provider. It is not covered by insurances and pharmacies don’t carry it. This is a case of the FDA attacking CAM as lap dog to the pharmaceutical industry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Warning |
9/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Asthma is a risk factor for adverse reactions to N-acetylcysteine and special caution should be exercised in its use. If you have asthma do not take. Look it up. Had me severely ill, coughing fits, acid reflux, vomiting, unable to sleep and this is still ongoing and from only take 5 pills for 5 days has left so much damage to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tracy | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took to clean out my liver & kidneys and I started coughing so much, stopped taking this as I associated the coughing fits with this and days later still coughing. I will never take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lovely | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had chronic coughing days after taking. It may have helped liver but not worth taking imo as i was trying to clear liver now bad coughing cant sleep. Then i read it promotes tumor growth. Be careful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/10/2022
Condition: Acute bronchitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My GP likes prescribing NAC for bronchitis and other minor-but-annoying colds/flus with respiratory symptoms. Gives me a weird acid reflux reaction, but since I read up on NAC and wondered if the benefits were even measurable I did some comparisons with/without the last couple years when I'd have colds and my GP would prescribe NAC next to antibiotics, or NAC on its own (600mg tablets). The effect wasn't super strong, but my coughs were definitely more productive and I found it easier to breathe through the night when I had a cold or flu that left me phlegmy. It could just be placebo effect but I was doubtful of the efficacy since most legitimate medical evaluations of NAC seemed to just be "Well, it won't hurt." NAC seemed to help recovery by a day or two for my incidences of bronchitis but it's definitely not on the level of say- taking a strong steroid and feeling your sinuses just open up in 20 minutes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morgan | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took for a few days was feeling great then on the 3rd day ,few hours after I took the pill in the morning I was tired a massive headache Bodyaches fatigue weakness didn’t eat for 24 hours little stomac rot . Next day still felt a little off but needless to say . I didn’t take it agin ahaha

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mack | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/2/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm in my 50's and I've never posted a review for anything before. I wanted to share my experience with NAC in an effort to help other people who might read this. Over ten years ago I experienced a severe anxiety attack (a first for me) while driving 75 mph on the interstate. I had a lot of stress in my life at that time and I guess it manifested in that attack. Ever since then I had been unable to drive on "open roads", interstate, or in any lane where there was oncoming traffic. I lived with this for over a decade. This was embarrassing to me and caused stress in my marriage, made work difficult, plus other negatives. I did not seek medical attention for this as I did not want to get prescribed meds or see a shrink (it's just not for me). In 2021 I started taking NAC after long study on its effects in making Covid symptoms less severe. I know some people don't agree that NAC has any effect on Covid symptoms, but I took it anyway. I also read that some people said NAC could help with anxiety. Well, after 3 months of taking 600mg of NAC every day, I noticed changes in my anxiety. I researched it more. Then I started rotating taking 1200mg one day, and 1800mg the next day, every other day like that. My anxiety is GONE. I now drive like I did over ten years ago. I feel like this stuff has almost saved my life - the normalcy I once took for granted I am SO SO thankful for now. I am not claiming that NAC will help anyone else with their anxiety problems, but I thought I would share my testimony here because it almost feels too good to be true, but it is. Thank God for NAC!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rasmus Toldam | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/12/2022
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NAC have done a lot for my hallucinations I.e Lights and stars. Mood and cognitive function was also increased in a positive way. I have not experienced any side effects i took 600mg 3x daily until symptoms disappeared. i take 600mg 1-2x daily now i don't take any medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peaches | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/31/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have dermatillomania and my psychiatrist put me on 600 mg of it, and unfortunately my anxiety and panic went through the roof and double. Not sure why, I was a walking mental mess first time I tried this NAC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NAC 1000mg | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 60 yes of age. I've done construction for half those years. And experience shoulder pain here lately. After several months of nac. I notice one day the pain had stop. Not completely maybe a 0or 2 in pain. And I feel strong when lifting objects now. Not the weightlifter type. But feel a different my strength. I can say it definitely work for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More