Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I have had problems falling asleep for months, this has done the trick. I haven't had the side effects as with other sleep medicines I tried. It took me about a week to really work, but well worth the wait!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I still suffer from chronic sleeplessness. I take 8 mg of this drug along with other medications with sedative side effects and still cannot sleep more than 3-4 hours at a time. The past week I been up almost all night. I may take a 2-3 hour nap during the afternoon depending on ability to fall asleep. Is this the recommended dosage for this medication and are increases in dosage commom?

Shared reviews and ratings

PikachusKetchup | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2024
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I finally fell asleep about an hour after taking Ramelteon, however I then proceeded to sleep for 12 hours and felt tired and groggy all day. Furthermore it left me agitated and irritable the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gary | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does nothing. Zero. Its funny how the doctors will give you the most worthless drugs for insomnia that they can get their hands on. I took Temazapam for years. I changed doctors and he wouldn't give it to me. No doctor will give it to me. Its like a dirty word. These doctors could care less if you sleep or not. I was given Trazadone 3 years ago. It doesn't work near as well as Temazapam. Trazadone is an antihistamine and they don't work very well for sleep. Also, Trazadone is not labeled as an effective sleep aid and is not approved by the FDA as a medicine for sleep. So, am not sleeping well at all and have headaches all the time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine did not make me fall sleep,. but it actually had the oposite effect and stimulated me so that was fidgeting all night! what a waste of money!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morgan | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/17/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ramelteon doesn't make me even want to fall asleep. Doesn't work at all... I'm so sad Had such hope for it... have insomnia for more than 30 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On second thoug | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just posted that this worked very well for me. It worked for two nights, and then stopped working entirely. I’m gonna try doxepin next.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working Well | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, I for one had a great experience with this medication. I didn’t get any nightmares or any fidgeting. It took about 45 minutes to work on me, but I fell into a deep sleep for about five hours. Then I was awake for a couple hours as usual, and went back to sleep very well. I think the reviews show unpopularity, but it’s the ones that it didn’t work for who actually give a review. I wanted you all to know that it worked very well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/19/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was prescribed to me for my chronic insomnia. I have trouble getting to sleep. It did not help at all. I tried it till it was gone. Since day 1 nothing. I take at 10 pm. I'm still up staring at the ceiling 3-4 am. It does make me groggy the next day. But I wish it did it at night like it's supposed to. I tried with food, no food, light snack no difference

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rondo | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2023
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time use it did not make me fall a sleep. Next day 4-5 hours I felt some dizziness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Henry Morris | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Didn’t make me sleepy didn’t make me stay asleep felt like it was a placebo. No reaction to it whatsoever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Saved from hell | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication isn’t like a normal sleep med, it’s not like an antidepressant it has to build up in your body to actually work I took this for a week a didn’t think it would help and then it started making me sleep like a normal person I get a full 8 hours and this med doesn’t make me feel doped up, however I have sleepwalked since I was about 14 and this med has mad it a little worse which is kinda dangerous. I would watch for that side effect because it says it is one and it is possible. But this med has save me from a year and a half of only sleeping for 3 hours or less a night. My doctor has actually told other patients about this med because how much it has helped me. But if you want a med that doesn’t make you feel does up and just makes you sleep like a normal person try this it could save you like it save me. Also there more likely to give this to you than anything else because ambien and other drugs are controlled and they don’t like to give them out that’s why I suffered for so long Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rested | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/13/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Ramelteon for 3 months now. For starters, I am happy to be off of Lunesta. Ramelteon does not make me fall asleep faster; however, once I fall asleep, it is some of the best sleep I have had in years. This is backed up by the daily results from my Oura ring, which rates my sleep as optimal in all categories (total sleep, efficiency, restfulness, rem sleep, deep sleep, latency and timing). Highly recommend giving this medication a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Irritated | Patient
5/12/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I clicked on an ad for this medication on Facebook, took their test, and was advised I am not a candidate for the medication. This was several months ago and I continue to receive invasive texts encouraging me to try this medication. I reply stop and they simply text me the next time from a different phone number that I have not blocked. Unbelievably horrible customer service experience with this company that continues to solicit use of its medication despite advising me I was not a candidate.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had insomnia for over 40 years and tried many different medication’s. This was a horrible experience. It gave me zero sleep will never take it again. Some reviews say it takes a week to a month for it to kick in. That’s an awful long time to not sleep at all, I will stick with trazodone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nory | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/16/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m writing this review in hopes someone like me with high blood pressure is wondering whether to try Ramelteon. A few months ago I would have rated it a two or three out of five, but something happened that greatly increased the medication’s effectiveness for me. My doctor put me on a low sodium diet - no more than 1,500 mg per day. Prior to that, the Ramelteon would work for perhaps three to four hours a night and I frequently could not get back to sleep. Within a couple of weeks of lowering my sodium intake, I was regularly sleeping six plus hours a night at a stretch without waking. Better still, the quality of my sleep was much improved. I hope you might give this a shot to see whether it could help you, too. One last piece of information. I found a salt on Amazon that comes from the Dead Sea that has 68% less sodium than table salt. It’s called Aromasong Low Sodium Sea Salt.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ramelteon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/18/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had insomnia for over a year and have tried everything!! I can fall asleep easily but would wake up after 3 or 4 hrs and have a very difficult time if at all falling back. I believe the combination of this drug, getting hormones balanced, and doing EFT (tapping) working on my stress levels and doing CBT has been the trick. I have the app CBT-I. I hope this helps someone. I was ready to go out of my mind. Btw...I am a 64 yr old female.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samblu1 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good dreams if I sleep… but that is a big if! It makes me very depressed if it doesn’t work, I mean very depressed. If I don’t fall asleep in the first hour it will be a sleepless night of hell. Much worse than not taking anything. I have zero energy throughout the entire next day and am basically listless even if it helps me sleep. Forget about even walking( I am an exercise fanatic). I quit after six days and felt almost fine the next day. I’m back on Benadryl for the time being.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mortishalove | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes me fall asleep then I wake up around 2-3am and canâ??t fall back to sleep but Iâ??m so drown all day it makes me look like Iâ??m a drug addict because of the drowsiness I think Iâ??m going to stop taking it the not sleeping at all is better then the nodding off all day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

High cost and no help at all for my insomnia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosemary | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/3/2020
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did not help me sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiredJen | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have tried this medication for a month now with no help at all. I feel like a complete zombie for lack of sleep. See my psych tomorrow and am asking her for something else. Have tried Belsomra, Ambien, Rozerem and Xanax in the past for my insomnia. Ambien makes me feel horrible the next day, Belsomra and Rozerem do nothing at all. Xanax sometimes work. I need something that will work 100% every night. Can't handle this sleeplessness anymore! :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More