Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

49 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking Vesicare (10mg) for over a year now for my OAB and the changes it has made to my lifestyle is just remarkable. Before Vesicare, it was bad. Really bad. Like going to the bathroom 10+ times a day, 3+ times a night, worrying about accidents (which I'd have at least once a week), and that doesn't even include intimacy issues (God bless my husband)... my life revolved around my bat...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Strange side effect…Yes it has worked but, I noticed my ability to have an orgasm has decreased. Even my partner says that my body is not sending him the normal signals and I seem dryer. I am use to being "multiple" and now I'm lucky to get one. I would rather pee more often than be unsatisfied. I also had the dry mouth, skin, and eyes, with acid reflux and blurry vision. I just don't think I can ...

Shared reviews and ratings

LesllieF | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/7/2024
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While I do not feel Vesicare reduced frequency—I still get up a couple of times at night to go to the bathroom—it greatly reduced the pain. My bladder would be throbbing when I woke up at night and it was horrible. No more of that once I started Vesicare. However, I have dealt with extreme tiredness, joint pain and an overall achy body for the past year. Because I had been diagnosed with sleep apnea around the same time as I began the drug, I attributed my tiredness etc to that. But it’s been almost a year with my CPAP machine, which I use faithfully and my apnea episodes are almost completely gone so why don’t I feel less tired? Why does my body hurt SO much? My gut was telling me I needed to consider any new medication I had started taking this past year and it’s Vesicare. So, I have set up an appointment with my doctor to discuss this because I want to go off the drug to see how I feel. The other side effect that I have dealt with is extreme dry mouth. That never went away and dry mouth gum and lozenges have to be on me at all times. Still I would have been fine dealing with that if it wasn’t for the other stuff. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
veteran | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2023
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects were worse then the bladder problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very unhappy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2023
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dry mouth constipation urinating more than before muscle pain joint aches blurry vision feel awful why do they let this drug be sold?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beach girl | 65-74 | Female | Patient
10/4/2023
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Vesicare for a month the 10 mg tablet gave me heartburn 5 mg was better but terrible dry mouth and endless constipation and blurry vision. Then the leaking started again will not take it again I feel terrible .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/1/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only thing that bothers me is a very dry mouth. Otherwise this drug saved my life from oab. I hope it works forever I been on it for 2 years.I drink water and take biotene sprays and mouthwash a lot for the dry mouth and I take benefiber and miralax for constipation. I never have a problem there!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sensitive | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This worked well for OAB however, the side effects that I experienced were not worth it. Sinus pressure, eye pressure and blurry, ear fullness, dizzy, moody, forgetful. I am hoping this will be out of my system soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2020
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great, have stopped it. Dry mouth was the only downside. BUT, one side effect not mentioned is edema. My feet and ankles started swelling. I had taken vesicare before and had the same swelling, but had not associated it with vesicare when I stopped it and the swelling disappeared. This time I did as it was the only change in my medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yarn lady | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2020
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me real tight i have pain full sex ever since taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/24/2020
Condition: Urine Leakage When there is a Strong Desire to Void
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My incontinence has returned since changing from Vesicare brand name to generic

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roseann | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With in one week I was unable to urinate and I spent all day unable to go. I stopped taking it immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2018Denver | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 5mg of Vesicare daily for two weeks. It has caused me to have VERY frequent diarrhea, 6, 7, or more times a day. Is this likely to stop? Other prostate meds I've been on did the same thing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/18/2018
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Vesicare in 2011 and it worked great for 4 years. Then didn't work. I loved this medication and had absolutely no side effects. My question is since I've been off it for a year or so, would it start working if I started taking it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2017
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began with 5mg and it worked a little. Then went on 10mg and it works better. But it has side effects including difficult to urinate and heartburn. Maybe I should go back to 5mg. Appointment with urologist Tuesday

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AwayMoon | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/6/2017
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Vesicare since it first became available in 2004. Before that I tried Detrol. Detrol worked for me for a couple of months then suddenly stopped working. I then started taking Vesicare. I'm very happy with the results of Vesicare. I take it at night before bed. The side effects I have are dry eyes, dry mouth and blurred vision. The blurred vision isn't a problem because by the time I get up in the morning, my vision is fine. I counter the dry mouth by drinking more water. I use moisturiaing eyedrops 2 times a day. I'm more than happy to do those things so I can continue to take Vesicare. The only down side is that it's a tier 3 drug so cost me $37-$40 a month. A generic version may be available around Nov. 2018. If so that will lower my out of pocket cost.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amethyst | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2017
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well at controlling immediate urge to urinate. However side effects were awful. Dry mouth, constipation for 2 days then diarhea for one day on a repeat cycle. I quit when urine became cloudy and had a strange odor. No infection detected so I have to think it was the drug. I also had increase heartburn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luna | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2016
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While this medication worked for me wonderfully I ended up having a delayed allergic reaction about a month in. I had 2 days of severe dizziness while laying down with my eyes closed. Followed by facial, neck and chest rashes and swelling. Had to be put on a week of steroids and i am still currently experiencing dizziness when eyes are closed and the rash has returned due to the medication taking time to leave my body. I am now experiencing pressure behind the eyes as well and temples due to this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fran E | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2016
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Vesicare for one week and it works!!!! My doctor told me to take it before bedtime. I have not experienced any blurry vision. However, it does cause heartburn, but I'll gladly take that over running to the bathroom every 30 minutes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nullity | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/10/2016
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I love this medicine but it went from $10/mth to $700/mth with insurance! Don't know what I'm going to do, I only have give days left :(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neecie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2016
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Heartburn for the first 2-3 days, then no more. It works for me! I can finally sleep more than an hour at a time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Seamstress | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/27/2016
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Experienced extreme tiredness and weakness. Stopped using after four days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More