Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

101 People found this comment helpful

This is honestly the worst drug anyone could ever take. I took 60mg of Duloxetine for over 5 years and had to come off it for surgery. I was initially prescribed it by a psychiatrist and left on it for so long because my GPs didn’t know what it was or what it did. Admittedly, it did the job and helped a lot with my depression and anxiety, but it wasn’t worth it for the withdrawal symptoms I suff...

Shared reviews and ratings

Debi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After fusion of L5-S1 over six years ago, experienced mild intermittent sciatica-type pain from back to ankle. Twice, it became severe and lasted for weeks. The third time, I went through X-rays, MRI, and ortho consults. With no relief, I sought out a spine specialist at a large teaching hospital. The diagnosis was (simplified) that L4 had now slid very far out of place. Another fusion might help, or I could try duloxitine. I began with 30 mg, and after four days, the nerve pain was gone, and has remained gone for the last three months. The sleepiness caused by the med disappeared after one month. Constipation needs managed. But I have NO other side effects. I remained on 30 mg once a day. While this did not cure my vertebrae issue, it is so wonderful to no longer have the continuous nerve pain. That allows me to do household chores, some gardening, play shuffleboard again, and do strengthening exercises in the pool. Since I am 70+, my goal was to stop the pain, avoid another fusion, and be able to continue most of my activities. Success! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/5/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Fibromyalgia, severe arthritis, and severe nerve damage in my neck that radiates down my back. I am in constant pain. I have been on this medication for almost a year, I have had similar symptoms to as what some of you are describing, however if you are experiencing those symptoms I would highly recommend you to talk with your Dr and to get a correct diagnosis because those are also symptoms of of neurological problems. You can’t take just one pill and quit. You have to at least be on it for 2 weeks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Horriblemeds | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2024
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is the worst I have ever experienced. One single 30mg dose and I am trembling, petrified, anxious, terrified, sense of doom, feeling exceptionally sick, unable to sleep, back, leg and arm spasms, heart palpitations, I’m struggling just to breath with the trembling in my body, it’s as if I am in shock or something. Doctor is deciding if I should continue taking it - there is no way I am taking any more of this. It’s done nothing for my pain levels at all, which is why it was prescribed, it’s actually made my pain worse and now I feel like I’m in fight or flight mode, it’s not helpful. Also have flank / left kidney pain which isn’t listed in the symptoms. I wish doctors would just fix the problem instead of prescribing all these medications. The NHS is terrible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/27/2024
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has saved my life on a couple of occasions and I’m glad it exists. I can’t take many other anti depressants due to side effects but these had minor side effects and it worked within a week. I wouldn’t be without it now. Only negative is that it’s not very nice to come off, I have done once before so it is doable but the dizziness isn’t very nice, but to be able to function like a normal human being it’s worth it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moniroxy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has anyone experienced cold feet? I have Been taking duloxetine 40 mg for about a month and my feet are ice freezing cold constantly and cannot get warm. It copes well with my pain but the feet feeling is awful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cammy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2024
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed duloxetine for pain. I took one dose of 30mg after reading the side effects etc. I have tried many other pain meds over the years but never antidepressants. This is the worst drug I have taken as far as side effects go. Within a couple of hours I was very nauseous, dizzy, had balance issues, shaky and couldn’t stay awake, when I was awake couldn’t think straight. This went on for 24 hours at which time I decided not to continue taking these meds. I am now 50 hours after taking one 30 mg dose and still have the side effects. Anyone taking this drug should be fully aware of side effects and how they might impact on your daily life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boris | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2023
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These are very good at stopping the pain. And worked with in a few days. I was taking 60 ml a day. BUT i was never told of the down sides, these made me very tired i was sleeping in the day. And could not concentrate. But the worst part is stopping taking these. I was taking Duloxetine for what i considered a sort time of 2 month's but trying to stop taking Duloxetine is awful. First thing you cant just stop. You have to slowly come off them. Again this was never talked about before i was given these. The withdrawal leaves you tired, drained, dizzy, and very Irritable, with Diarrhea, if i knew this before starting these i might off thought twice. There is other side effects why on Duloxetine. Like lacking a sex drive. And geting no satisfaction from sex. But they did work for the muscle pain, trapped nerve, just hope this helps someone make an informed decision. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lee | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had Sciatica pain for approximately 2 years now and have tried many things to include doctor’s instructions to diet and lose weight (lost 20lbs to date); tried to exercise, but can barely walk into the gym; I go to physical therapy 1x per week (helps for a day); and I’ve been prescribed various drugs to include: Hydrocodone/Acetaminophen, Celecobix (Celebrex), Tramadol, Meloxicam, and Gabapentin. Then, a couple weeks ago I took an international flight and the pain was so bad when we landed, I couldn’t walk to baggage claim and had to go to urgent care to get some more pain killers, a muscle relaxer, and a shot of acetaminophen. When I returned from my trip, I immediately made an appointment with the clinic I had been going the past year, but a new doctor saw me….thank goodness! She asked why I was prescribed the various medications, and what worked. I said the only thing that came close was the Hydrocodone/Acetaminophen mix. She said she wanted me to try Duloxetine (yesterday) and I’ll be an SOB, no Sciatica pain today! I’ll report back in a month or two as some of the reviews on this medication are scary as hell, but being able to walk without pain today was incredible and what made me look up the side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe K | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/1/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wonder drug… I’m an AF vet diagnosed with depression, GAD, and OA from 20+ years in service. For years in the military I dealt with severe anxiety and panic, but never received help because there were no avenues for assistance without the very high potential to be medical terminated from service. That said, when I retired I finally received help and was prescribed duloxetine - Within two weeks the anxiety and panic were nearly completely gone. I’ve been on it for an about 1.5 years (60 mg), and it has allowed me to fully function without rage and anger. I had very minimal side effects… Just loss of appetite for about a month, but it went away. Needless to say, duloxetine has significantly helped me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/30/2023
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never felt any side effects. This drug has saved me. I'm now 65. I started five years ago. My back has always been so tight. With this drug, it was almost overnight in helping move. Thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jtill223445 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes confusion , forget what your doing, dizzy feeling all the time, dry mouth ,can not remember anything , not able to recall almost anything, and hands shacking . Almost impossible to stop taking, you crave one pill to take to stop the pain if you try to quit ! This should be against the law to take for anyone. When you stop taking this medication the pain level get like 60 time worse than ever ! Makes you feel like a zombie !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only 1 pill (20mg taken midday) I am writing a warning to anyone thinking about starting it. My experience is painful muscle spasms in my neck and shoulders, dull nausea that makes it almost impossible to think of anything else, a feeling my heart is beating too slow (54 bpm), and totally spaced out cognitively. This is all at hour #6. Since the half life is 12 hrs, I have quite a ways to go before it is out of my system. There will not be any more going INTO my system, for sure. I would rather have the severe depression and anxiety and be able to think, move, and eat normally. Odd what you can be grateful for when something worse comes along.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark B | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/4/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was accidently overdosed then abruptly cut off of this drug. I hallucinated. Badly. I tried to kill myself and ended up in jail for 6 months. I didn't even know who I was for 6 to 8 weeks, then slowly I leaned why I was there. I was charged with 3 counts of attempted murder because I tried to set myself on fire to kill the mechanical spider hiding on my person somewhere. My children saved my life, but when they told the truth about what really happened, the police turned it into 3 counts of attempted murder. I've been told I can never stop taking it. I get brain zaps daily until my daily dose kicks in, it's like some kind of weird alarm alerting me that I haven't taken my duloxetine today. When I lay down at night to sleep, I go through these hypnic jerks that startle me awake. Never start taking this medicine. Seek out alternatives.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/22/2023
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on name brand Cymbalta over 10 years ago for fibromyalgia and depression. It has worked wonderfully & gave me my life back. Even though I experience dry mouth & underarm sweating from it. For me, these side effects are nothing compared to fibromyalgia pain. However, when it came out in generic form I started to experience extreme side effects. My experience over all these years is that not all generic duloxetine are the same. I can take duloxetine 60 mg. from manufacturers Lupin and Bluepoint. I get extremely sick & have adverse reactions from generic manufacturers Camber & Breckenridge. Be warned, not all generic duloxetine will work the same in your body. I communicated this info with my pharmacist so he has it documented not to fill my script with the manufacturers Camber or Breckenridge. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe D. | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pros: Cured my pain Con: I felt like a zombie in my own body Stopped eating/ messed up stomach Cluster headaches Very dizzy I stopped it last night after just 3 days. It was a shame because it worked for the pain, but it wasn’t worth the risk!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/18/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Duloxetine for about a year. It really helped pull me out of a rough patch with depression, tearfulness and anxiety. I felt much more steady, optimistic and resilient, and got through the dark winter without my usual SAD symptoms. I think it also reduced my chronic pain from spinal stenosis. I started at 20mg and then 30, and did endure nausea and some sedating effects for a while but that went away after a week or two. Taking it at night helped. It also caused mild constipation but that’s basically a benefit for me because I tend to have the opposite problem. I was worried about nausea when I increased to 60mg last fall, but it didn’t come back. What did start to happen after several months at 60mg were *drenching* night sweats. It took me a while to identify the meds as the cause and that’s when I started to get acquainted with how hard it can be to come off this drug. I had the brain zaps, electric shock sensations, and diarrhea for withdrawal symptoms. Titrating down very gradually over several months made it manageable. Now I’m taking 20 mg daily and I think I’ll stick with that for a while, and I expect I’ll want to increase the dosage before winter comes again, but not up to 60mg again. Overall I think the benefits of this medication outweighed the downsides for me. I couldn’t tolerate SSRIs that I had tried first (3 different ones gave me insomnia and diarrhea. My pscych said they were probably too alerting/stimulating for me). Unfortunately it often takes some trial and error before you find the best fit for a psych drug, which is hard to go through when you just need relief! But this med might be right for you!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
duloxetine | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/24/2023
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was prescribed 60mg. suffered with chronic arthritis pain for about 8 years. i reached the point, where the pain effected my happiness. I am usually a funny, happy guy and I hit rock bottom. I was hesitant to take any anti depressant but I hit a wall and was willing to give it a try. for myself, it was a miracle drugs. my pain's went from a 10/10 pain level to a 2/10 within a week. I never thought, I would feel so good. I have been on it for about a year now. I was just recently diagnosed with with Stage 3 Kidney Failure. I am still okay but I need to keep monitoring my kidney function. I am not sure if this med had anything to do with that as they just diagnosed me with this. anyway, I am grateful for the med. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
32female | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I warn any friend/family who is considering medication for depression and anxiety, DO NOT take!!! DO YOUR RESEARCH FIRST! Learn from our mistakes… This drug, almost ruined my life, my marriage, my parenting, my sanity.. the list goes on.. I was stranger in my own body. Very close to a psychotic break down. I look back at my journaling during this time and don’t even recognize myself.. horrific. I had zero emotion, I did not even care what my kids were doing- and I am the usual helicopter parent normally.. that is when I knew, this med is no good.. NOTHING would upset me, I could not cry no matter how hard I tried. Numb. Withdrawal side effects were horrendous. Fought through. Breaking capsules open daily and counting the little beads out- less beads each day and I was able to be successfully taken off. I am now back on my trusted Fluoxetine! DO NOT TAKE!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLG | 65-74 | Male | Patient
3/24/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get terrible panic attacks that can last for hours. I would rather have another motorcycle accident than go through a panic attack. My doctor put me on a 20mg, which is a small dose, and the attacks stopped immediately. Talk about a happy camper. My doctor has no plan to increase the dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible medication. Do Not Take. Terrible side effects. Psychotic break. Had to be adm to behavioral health unit. This med should not be prescribed to anyone. It should be taken off the market. Some Doctors do not read the side effects and interactions of drugs…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More