Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

The medicine was effective however it made me really sick to my stomach. I ate like the doctor told me too but it just came back up. I have been extremely dizzy and light headed. Forgetfullness, and the worst migraine headache ever!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

It didn't completely get rid of my infection. it came right back

Shared reviews and ratings

jitomate | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2023
Condition: Infection that causes Diarrhea - Giardiasis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 4 500mg tablets as a single dose. Taste of pills is awful. Noticed reduction of diarrhea as soon as the next morning. I did get an unusual side effect. Woke up in the morning with red palms of hands and soles of feet and red pin dot rash over all of my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
natwill | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2023
Condition: Infection caused by Trichomoniasis Protozoa
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this 2 days ago and I'm still feeling the side effects, it sounds like It stays in your system for a couple days. I could barely sleep the night of taking it, and the thought of the meal I ate it with makes me feel sick just thinking about it lol. Been getting random spouts of intense anxiety and nausea ever since taking it, but haven't thrown up. Side effects are intense

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toni | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Severe Intestinal Infection due to Entamoeba Histolytica
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was sick for 18 months when I began taking this medicine. First dose at 7pm. Within 2 hours I began burping a lot and feeling nauseous. Next day: I felt so sick that I had to call into work. I didn’t get off my couch the entire day and night. I actually wandered if I might die. Never have taken any more of these pills. Although this stuff probably works, I couldn’t endure the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momof3 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: Infection that causes Diarrhea - Giardiasis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 4 tablets at once. 500mg each. Tinidazole. I got metallic taste and diarrhea and stomach pain and back pain. I don't feel so good. ?? it's the side effects and hopefully they will go away soon and get rid of the gardia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GMS | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Infection that causes Diarrhea - Giardiasis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Second time taking this for giardia - first time in Africa, second in Mexico. Both times, worked quickly. First time, no side effects. Second time, awful metallic taste and some mild stomach cramping for a couple of hours. But stopped the diarrhea almost immediately, which was a big relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mm12131 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had the worst experience taking this medication, vomiting, diarrhea, severe body aches, stomach cramps, light headedness that went on for a few days. I ended up going to urgent care because I thought I had a bad reaction to the medication, they wrote it off as a stomach bug but I’m convinced it was this medication as others have had similar reactions. Didn’t finish it because I felt so terrible and went back to my doctor for something else. Would not recommend and would never take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The meds definitely worked but the side effects were awful. I had diarrhea the first day and vomiting, diarrhea, stomach cramps, headaches, etc. for even about 4 days(length it stayed in system) after finishing my prescription.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2018
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within hours of my first dose I was sick to my stomach and severe diarrhea. I took it after I ate, trying to avoid this. Will be calling tomorrow for something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brownie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2018
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this as directed and only problem I had was the metal taste in my mouth. Was told to drink a lot of water. Medicine worked perfectly. Also had a rapid heartbeat

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BJT | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bad stomachache and diarreah the first day, now on day 2 and afraid to eat anything. :-/ I'm guessing the drug will clear things up, but not the best experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nico | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2017
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine on a full stomach at night. I was fine all night, but have very bad taste in mouth and stomach feels queasy. It helps to know I only have one more day on this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
flgirl87 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/21/2015
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a slight bad taste in my mouth for the two days I needed to take this.. a little loss of appetite but overall that was it. I was sure to take this with a full stomach first thing in the morning, avoided anything acidic and definitely did not drink any alcohol. I think my experience was a good one with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
theandicakes | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2015
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to stop taking this because it made me so sick. I've had a terrible migraine, dizziness, and vomiting . I will never take this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2015
Condition: Infection that causes Diarrhea - Giardiasis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For Giardia, this medication is a wonderful blessing. USA doctors will prescribe 'Metronidazole' for Giardia, don't take it. Ask for Tinidazole! Within hours of a single dose this medication eradicates Giardia completely. Symptoms ease within 24hrs and back to normal within 48hrs. Only one side effect for the single dose treatment: metallic taste in your mouth for 12-24hrs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past few weeks I've had a cold. My girlfriend suggested I take tinidazole oral tables because they're antibiotics. At the time we were living in China and the medication didn't have any English labeling on the medicine's box. Also, I am a man. For the past few days I've taken tinidazole and have been rather unsatisfied with the results. Today I've been experiencing a metallic/bitter taste in my mouth and wanted to learn if it could be a side effect of the medication I'd been taking. After doing some research (which I should've done before I started taking the mediation) I learned that tinidazole is not used to treat the common cold. Also, that it's not for men. I didn't experience any diarrhea or nausea, but I am slightly embarrassed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2014
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting this, I've has nausea, stomach cramps, vomiting and diarrhea. Thought it was a stomach bug, and since I couldn't keep it or any food down, I was off of it for two days. Got back on it this morning to finish my prescribed course and cramps and nausea have come back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justryintahelp | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2013
Condition: Infection caused by Trichomoniasis Protozoa
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me very sick to my stomach. I never felt worse. Everything I ate just kept coming back up. I couldn't even sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2013
Condition: Infection that causes Diarrhea - Giardiasis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dizziness, drowsy,dry mouth, spinning, head ache, nausea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
38 year old mom | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2013
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe nausea and headaches. I had a migraine headache and severe upset stomach the entire time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rekha | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2012
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fantastic

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More