Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

99 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking this medication for almost 8 years for anxiety issues. It has been extremely helpful for me. Very recently I was experiencing a bit of anxiety for the first time in many years, so my dosage was increased from 7.5 mg 2X/day to 10 mg 2X/day. The increased dosage has eliminated the anxiety attacks. I see that a lot of people review this medication after only being on it for les...

Most voted negative review

26 People found this comment helpful

Don't like shape of pill doesn't comply work

Shared reviews and ratings

200300 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2024
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on it for three months. It seemed like it was doing its thing at first but suddenly my heart started racing, I felt more panicked and scared like I was in danger or something. I felt like a cloud was over me and felt really weird when I went around other people. This can’t be the right medication for me. I guess I will be off of it now and I will need to deal with my anxiety another way. I started having horrible migraines with nausea that almost made me go to the ER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/8/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 23 and have been diagnosed with GAD when I was 14. I've been taking Buspirone for a year and a half and it really helps me out in an event of a panic attack. I take 7.5mg as needed and it's not addictive. The only side effect I get is vaginal dryness and extreme fatigue. I try not to take it at work if it's not necessary because it's hard for me to keep my eyes open. Overall I'm very happy with buspirone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grateful | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/20/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Buspar for 30 years. It has saved me from losing jobs and relationships. I take 60 MG a day. I love it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jason | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/29/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have level one Autism that causes a lot of trauma, depression, and anxiety. I've been isolated for years now and had given up because I've never experienced a medication that helped. Then out of nowhere this medication let me experience life calmly for the first time. No side effects. It's a miracle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works wonderfully for anxiety for me. It does make me tired so it is important that I keep moving around and not sleep too much. There is one very bad side effect I am experiencing and that is a lot of joint pain. Before it was not a problem but since the buspirone it is now very painful. I am only taking a 5 mg dose per day. Sometimes, I have to split the tablet in half because the joint pain is so bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Orville better | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/10/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feel calmer and more content overall. I requested to try it and after dr adjustment I am feeling better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buspiron | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only been taking 5mg 2x/day for about a week. I’ve been sleeping better, better mood, and seems like my back pain is gone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buspieone | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/21/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking it just at night 10 mg now they want me to take 10 mg in the morning too does this can it make you tired

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
123abc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/19/2023
Condition: Premenstrual Syndrome
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have OCD and anxiety (specifically health anxiety). I took this med for about 9 months then had to stop due to constipation. Then my mental health once again went downhill. So i restarted it about 4 months later. I feel so much better and I will just put up with the constipation if it happens again. This med makes me feel normal. Other minimal side effects: dizziness if I take more than 5mg per dose. The dose that works best for me is 5mg, 3 to 4 times per day. (Aprox every 4 hours). The anxiety was like a really loud radio playing in the background of my mind all day long. Anxious thoughts, worst case scenarios, etc. This med turns that nonsense radio off so i just feel like myself and I don't have as many OCD thoughts and behaviors. I also like that it's not addictive and it doesn't have increased risk of dementia the way that SSRI meds have. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 7.5 mg of buspirone twice a day for about 6 weeks to treat anxiety related to a very ugly divorce. I'm going to stick with this for a little longer, but so far all I have noticed is an uptick in road rage. I have not lost my temper, but I get angry every time I drive (more than I used to). I also take Wellbutrin (since last year). I don't know if that has any effect on how well buspirone works, but I thought I should mention it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jon Eagle | 35-44 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This with anxiety but makes me very tried.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buspirone | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/30/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Xanax for years, and when this drug was offered to me by my doctor, I thought I’d give it a try and sure enough it worked extremely well. I would tell anyone that this drug is safe and it works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have lifelong social anxiety as well as GAD. Finally agreed to take buspirone when I felt anything would be better than anxiety. I was wrong. Buspirone is worse. About 45 minutes after I took the first 10mg dose this morning, I got so dizzy I couldn't stand or walk. This got better after a few hours, then the rest of the day I have been so sleepy and zombified I can't think, I can't follow the plot of a TV show, and I am sitting here with my mouth hanging open. When I started drooling, I decided yes, there are worse things than anxiety. Much worse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 10mg 2xday. The first 4 days it felt like electricity was buzzing in my brain and then my whole body felt like I was being zapped. It gave me insomnia. Then days 5-8 I was so sleepy I couldn't hold my head up. Obviously, none of this is helping my anxiety. Also nausea. And I fell twice because I was so dizzy. Since I'm 64 I especially avoid anything that increases the likelihood I will fall. So on day 9 I stopped taking it completely. I take clonazepam and my doctor (because suddenly they decided benzodiazepines are bad for you) wanted to switch me to buspirone. Clonazepam is wonderful and I have taken only a small dose of it for years. I'm not addicted. Why do they take away what works then give you something that makes you feel worse. Because it is politically correct even though it is bad for the patient.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buspar fan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had alot of things happen in my life in a short period and it caused me to have panic attacks. My heart would beat rapidly because of rushes of random anxiety. I'm also bi polar and I believe ocd. As soon as I started taking it 2 weeks ago I swear I'm a normal person now. I get up in the morning ready for the day, calmly do my job at work, and most importantly do not get stressed handling my son. This drug is a God send. So understand it may not work for some but it does for others. Fyi I take 15mg 2× a day. I'm going to request an evening because I do feel rush of it coming back then. Hope this helps. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
browneyes | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on this medication to deal with mild stress/anxiety due to planning my wedding. I have never been on anxiety medication before or every had any real issues with anxiety. This med worked well at first but 6 months in I was starting to feel anxious again. My doctor increased my dose from 5 mg per day to 7.5 mg per day and not only was a 'checked-out' most of the day with zero interest in anything around me, I had my first ever panic attack. I became paranoid, I was having obsessive thoughts, I was scared to go to bed at night, I would wake up with night sweats and my heart beating out of my chest. I was even noticing my face twitching. With the advice of my doctor we went back to my original dose but was still feeling like my anxiety was at an all time high. It felt as though not only was this med not touching my anxiety but making me crazy. I tapered off to nothing. This is my first day with not taking this medication and I feel like my brain turned back on, I have interest in things again, I feel energetic, my heart isn't racing, I'm not having obsessive thoughts. I don't know why this drug worked for six months and then became something I couldn't take at all. But with all of the symptoms I was experiencing, I would rather feel the slight anxious feeling I had before I started any of this than experience any of this ever again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happymema | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3 1/2 days since I started 5mg 2X a day. Today after taking it I felt Heady, lightheaded, little dizzy for a couple of hrs. I can say that the anxious feelings seem to be going away as well as feeling in good mood-yay! Hope the initial uncomfortable feelings go away as time goes by. Or is this something to be concerned about?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My anxiety became bad after I was really sick from covid. I started to experience panic attacks so my doctor put me on buspirone to go with the Anxiety medication I was already taking. Within the first Few days I was having hallucinations and never have experienced where I woke up with thoughts of harming myself (And it was not from depression I was in a very happy state of mind everything was good so it was the medication causing these). It was the worst experience I have ever had from a medication. This medication really messed with me mentally and I had to stop it immediately. Once I start everything return back to me just having the heightened anxiety but no suicidal thoughts Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stay strong! | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/22/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m so thankful for this medicine I was so scared and suffered with major anxiety and OCD horrible thoughts and this has helped so much. I can function now but have minimal negative thoughts. It took about 31/2 months to really work so be patient, be sure to eat before taking and start off at 5mg x 3 a day, then work up to 7.5gm am 10mg lunch 10mg dinner it works and don’t be scared. Side effects go away quickly. Be patient and pray the rosary pray daily stay strong you will get better ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2023
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello I started buspar 10mg Jan 6 2023 only at night cause it made me sleepy during the day I didn’t have any side effects except after 12 days I would wake up not myself very depressed and suicidal I stopped it immediately but in the beginning I could see a difference

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More