Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

My doc prescribed (10mg) this to me after not having periods off/on for over 2 yrs. It has worked great. 1st month I started 16 days after 10th pill, 2nd month 7 days later 3rd month and following months 6 days later. Not only am I now having normal cycles, I have lost weight, headaches have reduced - I feel almost normal again! The first cycle was very heavy but have gotten lighter each month...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I've been on this medication for 4 days now. My doctor prescribed it to start my periods again since my period has been absent for 4 months. I was prescribed a 10 day dose, today I am expieriencing rib pain, stomach cramps and EXTREME tiredness, also a loss of appetite. Can't wait to end this medication! I'm just hoping it brings my periods back and not too heavy.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2023
Condition: Abnormal Uterine Bleeding caused by Imbalance of Hormones
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My OB prescribed 40mg per day because I was having heavy periods that would last for a month, but then it would stop for a month. I was told this would help. WRONG! It slowed down for a few weeks but now I'm back to experiencing heavy periods and painful cramps. And I have been taking this almost 2months and I haven't stopped bleeding yet. This is the worst pill ever. I'm stopping at this point because this is worst than my original situation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Red Panda | 19-24 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2023
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this 3 days ago, I have taken 2 doses and cannot make myself take the 3rd dose, after the 2nd dose I experienced suicidal thoughts and have started to cry multiple times a day, I'm not sure how normal that is, but I cannot justify taking this medication if these are the effects, I see my doctor for an ultrasound in 5 days. I will tell her that this medication is not working out. I will not continue taking it for the prescribed duration for fear that I cause my self harm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/16/2023
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only 19. I used to get my periods but my mom had me take birth control starting I. 8th grade. I finally came off of it 4 years later. I did not get a period for six months and I got it from these pills. It was a bad experience. Terrible cramps, back pain, horrible mood swings and super heavy flow. Three months went by and no period. The doctor said I should take these pills every six weeks. There’s 10 pills. I’m on the 7th one and I am already having terrible cramps, Gained weight and threw up. I don’t want to take this Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hotmess | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2022
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hadn’t had my period in 6 months, took a melatonin pill one night to help sleep and then had very heavy period for over two months with severe discharge of clots. Dr. scraped out my lining in office and did a biopsy which came back abnormal. On this for 90 days and then will have new biopsy. Day eight and briefly had suicidal thoughts, cramping, one odd brownish discharge but the awful bleeding has stopped. ??????? Not easy being a woman! Only 81 more days to go!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/20/2022
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started due to having PCOS and then thick uterine lining. Was bleeding too much and didn't want to do surgery. Fell in love with the pill from day 1. Instantly stopped period, lost weight, and was easy to take. Started 20 mg then was able to drop to 10. Started this in 2019. Now 2022 and still no period. Bad parts: memory confusion, anxiety, suicidal ideation, light depression, cry easy, and light hair loss. Got bit by a dog and ER doctor put me on penecilin type amoxicillin. Was only on it 3 days then back to only medoxyprogesterone. Worse side effects came out. Muscle spasms even in shoulders, muscle cramps, stomach swelling, headache, brain zaps, and worse anxiety. On nothing now. Doctor prescribed another version of this but Googled it and that one can cause blindness among other major stuff. Good with natural for a while.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2022
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to the doc just for a checkup because I just wanted to make sure if everything is OK I am planning to get pregnant next year. I wanted to ask them if I spot between my periods is that normal or not? They told me to get ultrasound done (transvaginal) I went on Nov 9th and my period date was nov 11th so in the ultrasound everything was normal except my uterine lining was 16mm thick. The ultrasound lady showed me that this could be your period but my doctor still gave me provera and said this will clean your system and she told me to come back for the ultrasound because the lining came out thick probably because your period are near and as I mentioned my period showed up on Nov 11th while I was taking this medication. She prescribed it for 7 days and I took it while I am on my period and finished 7 days. I am still bleeding on and off its been almost a month now. Is this because of the medication? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HaloK | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2022
Condition: Abnormal Uterine Bleeding caused by Imbalance of Hormones
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve only been on it for a few days. It is great stopping my period I’ve had for over a month with it being really heavy but since the third day of taking it I’ve been nauseous with it getting worse the longer I’m taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well my doctor prescribed this med to me because I have pcos just started yesterday and I have been having a lot of pelvic pain and lower back pain I just really hope this works I haven’t had a period in two months I just really wanna have a period to be regular again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Abnormal Uterine Bleeding caused by Imbalance of Hormones
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gyno prescribed me 10 milligrams to slow down the bleeding that started up six years after a utrus ablation. Well for a month and half has kept the bleeding gone now I'm on day 10 of a lite period . I been extra tired and crampy. Hopeing it stops soon or I will be calling them back

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Abnormal Uterine Bleeding caused by Imbalance of Hormones
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always had irregular bleeding, but for years that meant early periods and excessively lengthy periods. I am now perimenopausal so I can add missed periods to that. I skipped last months period and was having back and pelvic pain, so I went to my obgyn. They found a 3 cm cyst on my ovary, said I developed more fibroids from my last visit, and they where concerned with how thick the lining of my uterus was. She put me on this medication 10mg for 5 days. On day three, which was yesterday I started to bleed. I was told the bleeding would start sometime after I finish the medication, not during. It was after office hours, so I called her answering service and they put me in contact with an nurse practitioner who said it was okay some people start there period while their on it. Since then I have had episodes of heavy bleeding, with the worse camps I've ever experienced! So much worse than the pain that brought me to her office. I'm suppose to take does 4 tonight and my final dose tomorrow. I've called the answering service again today because I want permission to stop taking this torture pill, they took a message but I have not heard back. Has anyone else had a similar experience with this medicine?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2022
Condition: Test for the Presence of Estrogen in the Body
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My OBGYN Prescribed me this medication for 90 days. I have irregular menstrual cycles. My cycle lasts for 7 days. Within those 7 days days I would bleed heavy on the 2nd and 3rd day. I also have fibroid’s. I was told that the medicine would help lighten my cycles, which it has done. But I’ve been bleeding and spotting for 3 weeks straight now. I’ve experienced mood swings and I’m always parched.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Girlg | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Abnormal Uterine Bleeding caused by Imbalance of Hormones
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never taken hormones at all, even for birth control. So I know when something is off. They put me on 10mg 3x a day/ so 30 mg after having a D&C for excessive periods. I was horribly irritated and angry and got anxiety . Very dizzy and lightheaded and heart palpitations . Had kaleidoscope vision once, very tired and gained weight. Had weird spasms in my calves.. Just not myself. When I brought this up to my dr. They didn’t seem concerned. But my pharmacist was concerned that they had me on such a high dose with no end in sight. They said I could go down to twice a day, so 20mg a day, it didn’t help all the side affects were still there. I have been off it for a month now. I have non of those issues anymore and I feel happy and myself again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aditi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello, I didn’t get my period for 3 months from September onwards I went to my doctor we did all the test and everything was normal. So my Doctor recommended me to take this medication it was 10MG for 10Days I started on Jan 1st and it ended Jan 10th. She mentioned that during the time you take this medication you will not get your period which was fine I understood. But happily today January 14th after 4 days I got my period. Cramps are there but it’s not bad as of right now and not sure in the next few days how I’ll be. But I am hoping that now my period is regular every month.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shehulk | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2022
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did stop my heavy bleeding, but I had severe mood swings, extreme anger-rage over things like spilling coffee, crying spells, can't handle public, severe depression and nightmares.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AW | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2021
Condition: Prevention of Abnormal Growth in Cells of Uterine Lining
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 50. Had my periods heavy and for more than 3 wks long for few years. Doc recommended D&C and in week start PROVERA for 10 days. On10th day I started a very light period for 2days and than it became heavy. On the second day of the heavy period I was rushed to ER because I felt very weak and dizzy. My Hb was 8.0 and 6hrs later 6.0. I end up getting 2 units of blood, 3 L of fluids and started on PROVERA again. So far (a week later) bleeding stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CinCin88 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My gynecologist prescribed this pill because my period hasn't made an appearance in over 3 months. After my labs and pep smear came back normal I felt this was the best option and not the birth control my previous doctor prescribed. Two days after taking my last pill I had very light spotting. Two days after the light spotting it became heavier. I've been bleeding for 5 days now. I started cramping during the cramping. Usually I'd cramp for the first 3 days but with my new period after the pill its been cramping throughout. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HopefulMomToBe | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am about to begin a second round of this medication. I have abnormal periods, I will ovulate but not shed the lining. I will go 2-3 months without a period. Last year when taking this medication I did bleed heavy and have larger clots. But that was because I was getting rid of months of lining. I had mild cramping, which is normal for me. We are trying to conceive but no luck. I am now months 2 without a menstrual period. Hoping this works as well as it did the first time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DMT | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2020
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 3 months of no period (being always a regular), my ob/gyn prescribed provera. I was on day 8 out of 10 when my period started. Definetly works!! No side effects for me.. at least I didn't notice. My periods for the most part have always been heavy, this wasn't the expection. Although, I did have large clots.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mermlee | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2020
Condition: Abnormal Uterine Bleeding caused by Imbalance of Hormones
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The doctor prescribed me 5mg on 5/29 I have been bleeding now for 55 days straight with blood cloths then she doubled the dose 10mg to go back to her where all she offered me was a dnc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/25/2020
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods in Woman Who Has Had Them
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

During COVID19 situation, suddenly my period off for 3 months ( not pregnant). I was prescribed Medroxyprogesterone for 10 days ( 10 mg). After I completed my course, at third day I found light spotting and it became more lights 4,5,6 days. I became worried and called my doctors as I thought that it�s not going to continue my period but my doctor told me to wait for more 4 days and finally at day 9, the heavy period started and this is my 13 days and it�s still running. I am happy that I have periods but the flow is really heavy . I feel very weak most of the timeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More