Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

104 People found this comment helpful

My mother had a hemorraghic stroke with no prior problems with memory or dementia. Four days following the stroke my mother disappeared and an evil twin appeared. Instant and full-on vascular dementia. I heard about this drug for treatment of Alzheimer's and talked to her doctor about it. He said it was exclusively an Alzheimer's drug and had not been tested for vascular dementia. He agreed t...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Starting

Shared reviews and ratings

As144 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Condition: Anxiety/Depression and chronic Pain. Used in combination with Wellbutrin. This works well to help keep me from being stuck in a cyclical thought pattern of worries that can worsen my anxiety and depression. We discovered this by accident when I was given Namenda off label for chronic pain, and yes it helps with that as well! I don’t respond at all to opioid pain medications, and I cannot take NSAIDs due to a stomach condition. Tylenol barely helps. Namenda is a godsend!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patient4Patient | 75 or over | Female | Patient
6/27/2023
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Repeating same things dropped started Ginko Biloba, Bramhi, Sankh Pushpi and Samritisagar ras ( it has temperature regulator and help in incontinence also ) 82

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
12/16/2019
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father takes 10 mg of namenda and is on final stage of Alzheimer's. He has been taking it for over a year. We could not be any happier. We are three sisters and a brother and he remembers all of our names and grandkits' names too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FATIGUEzvwa73 | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The generic form of Namenda sent me to the hospital via ambulance, they couldn't figure out what was wrong, 2 more trips to Drs, same diagnosis. Finally looked at side effects of Namenda and had almost every one of them,stopped it immediately if had continued â??would not be alive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GP | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/25/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very happy with this drug! I have tried a long list of supposed migraine prophalytic drugs over the last 15 years but none have worked for me. Memantine is a game changer for me. I started at 5 mg and titrated up to 10 mg after a week. I very quickly began to see an effect with the 10 mg. The frequency of headaches was greatly reduced and even the ones I did have were much milder sometimes to the point that I didn't have to use my usual triptan. I am now at 15 mg for the last few weeks to see if I can get any further improvement. I have gone from having ~12 headaches a month to around 4 mild ones very quickly. I have no side effects that are apparent to me- a little burning in my legs for a few days when I increase the dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/3/2017
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 88-year-old father has had vascular dementia for years, but it's gotten much worse in recent months, accompanied by reduplicative paramnesia and Capgras syndrome. He started on small dosage of Namenda 3 wks ago and started getting better right away with dramatic improvement in last few days. Much greater clarity of thought and even better memory although that was not one of the advertised benefits. No side effects that I can see. Everyone is noticing the difference in him.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Effy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/17/2016
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want to write this review in the hopes that it helps someone else. My Mother suffers from Lewy Body Dementia. Out of nowhere she one day got into the car and started driving and the police found her three hours away. We knew something wasn't quite right before but that was the beginning of our real battle with dementia. Since that event her cognitive ability declined immediately and she was put on Namenda (5mg). At first I thought it might be helping, but she was on Aricept as well. She seemed more cognizant of conversation and what was going on around her, but this was short lived. She was upped to 10mg, then 14mg, and then a staggering jump to 28mg. I was away for the month that this jump took place and when I returned home to look after my mother I could not believe what I saw. She was borderline catatonic. The light was gone from her eyes and it was almost as if the muscles in her face had fallen into paralysis leaving her with a constant scowl. She never smiled and 90% of her speech was repetition of a single phrase. She refused showers, became combative, refused food, and wanted only to lie in bed and be left alone. She began loosing control of her bowels and would kick and scratch and fight you when you attempted to change them. My sweet, loving mother was all but gone and I had no hope that I would ever see her again. She would not change clothes or even remove her shoes to sleep. It was heartbreaking. I pulled the drug immediately as it was the suspected culprit. I was angry she'd been given it into decline. She was on it for a month and a half maybe, it took about that long for her to come around. Her smile returned, her gentle spirit, and loving nature gradually surfaced and she was again happy to go into the world with us. She no longer fights over changing clothes, shoes, depends and welcomes the help. However, there has been cognitive decline that never returned and it's hard to say if it was the drug or disease progression. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/2/2016
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dad has only been on 5mg nameneda at night for a week, with this being the first day I increased it to 2x a day. He seems more calm and like his former self when he's awake, but he just wants to sleep. I gave him a pill at 11 am (his first am pill)and he has only been awake long enough to eat one meal and go to the bathroom. Even when he was taking only the night pill he wanted to sleep all the time. Not sure yet how long I'll continue 5 mg 2x a day. If he can't function on 10 mg a day there is no way he's going to be able to take the 28mg time release tab, which is his neurologists goal. I'm hoping after his body adjusts he won't be so tired. He's also on the excelon patch.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wkwood01 | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/5/2015
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 70 year old male diagnosed with early stage Alzheimer's. T ran in both parents and now my brother and me. I have been taking Namend and Aricept for several years. I noticed an immediate improvement in my short term memory and confusion. Now years later I am beginning to notice a deline once again. I am being changed over to the combined extended release in hopes it will help forestall my decline. Overall I am very happy with the results and knew it was not a long term Med when I started but it has served me well. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thirddaughter | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/29/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a caregiver, I keep close watch of medicines my 87 year old father with mild dementia takes. After and during 1 month's use of Namenda, the drug not only didn't help his memory but was hurting his equilibrium, made him shakey, and exhausted, and very off balance. We were more worried about him falling than his memory! He had a hard time getting form the his chair to the bedroom. We got him a walker. It got so severe, we talked to his doctor who said it was okay to take him off the Namenda. I would not recommend this drug to anyone. I believe it was toxic for my father. He is doing better now after being off of it for almost a month. Even goes out to get the paper, now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very Concerned Daughter | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

89 year old mother with memory loss (not Alzheimer's or dementia according to neurologist) is in third week of once daily Namemba using provided card of weekly pills to gradually go up to full dose next week. In the last week, she has become much MORE forgetful, almost not recognizing people in the family. Both my sister and I note a really dramatic change for the worse. She has also been growing increasingly tired since starting this drug, wanting to lie down in the afternoon every day. One further problem has been weakness in her ankle twice after walking for about 20 minutes with me. We will probably stop this medication after calling her doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
here to help | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/23/2015
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

72 yr old husband put on Namenda 10 mg, along with 10 mg Aricept 2 times daily, for 1 week, then increased to 2 times daily. He became more confused and very argumentative and lost his sense of reasoning. He also seemed to hallucinate on occasion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
1/11/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has Lewy Body Dementia. He started on Aricept 2 years ago. Namenda XR started 9 months ago. Both drugs have made a huge positive difference in his memory. I was told that often only 1/3 of people prescribed have an excellent response. We got lucky.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/9/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband, 77 yrs old started the trial pack on July 8, then took 2 a day (morning and bedtime) felt dizzy, cut to 1 at bedtime. Has felt "in a fog" since. Stopped Friday, felt better by Sunday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GIbas | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
8/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken by my husband with Parkinson's twice a day for about two years. Dr. said useless for PD, but stopping produced alarming reduction in ability to communicate, so back on for now. Words became unintelligible syllables. I can't determine if there are any side effects beyond normal PD deterioration

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dragonfly2 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom, 87 y.o., was just diagnosed last week officially as having dementia NOT related to Alzheimer's. She started out about a month ago on Namenda 10 mg and now is at 20. She sleeps all day, has chest pain, which took us to the ER yesterday after a fall. All the tests were negative, but her memory is much worse (can't even remember 5 minutes back) and has aches and pains that seem to have no cause. After reading these reviews, I'm taking her off the Namenda till I can talk with her geriatric specialist, not the neurologist's NP who couldn't even tell us what type of dementia she had. When I asked her for reference material, she gave me two books about Alzheimer's (right after telling us the dementia was not related to it). I'm at my wit's end, and want to see my old mom back, even with her previous symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoeWras | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
7/13/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

89 y.o. father was put on this (titrated to 28mg XR) and now is a new man. He was having hallucinations and confabulations before, and these are now gone. His short term memory is just slightly better. The biggest improvement is in the clarity and lack of "made up" stuff. I can now call him and talk to him instead of trying to convince him he didn't change out all the electrical wires in the building next door. (Just one of many made up stories.) Well worth it in our case, but it seems to work differently for everyone. Dad does sleep-in more with this, but by no means is he a zombie. This is the only ALZ medication he is taking.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edw | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take one a day Namanda 5 plus one Galantamine HBr 8mg. Do not seem to suffer any side effects. I feel they are holding my problem steady at the moment. I tried Aricept and others but had bad side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grandmama213 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/20/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was given this medication by his doctor to try to improve his memory. He was put on 5mg I a day. This seemed to work very well. It helped his memory and also made him seem more present. Just increased to 2 a day and seems to be making him loose temper often. Might put him back to 1 a day. Any one else have this problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/11/2014
Condition: Moderate to Severe Alzheimer's Type Dementia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has just started using this medication and since this has lost control of his bowels. he has not been taking it long enough to determine its effectiveness,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More