Show ratings & reviews for

2.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I had my first treatment 7/2008 and was satisfied. My 2nd and last treatment was 5/2009 and i have healthier gums and no pain,nor bleeding w/ brushin & flossin. If you follow the dental hygenists's orders before and after ARESTIN you'll be fine. Colgate Total has some goods about it.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I had severe pain when before the treatment I was fine. I have already had to have 2 root canals and still have pain and may have to have another

Shared reviews and ratings

farmergrl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a deep scaling due to a gum infection. The dentist inserted Arestin by the next day I felt like i had a pulled muscle in my calf. I really didn't think anything of it at the time. fast forward a week later I severe muscle, joint and bone pain that moves around to different parts of my body. My dentist did not warn me of any of the side effects. I never would have know if I didn't look up the side effects today Hopefully it wears off quickly. Calling my dentist when they open at the beginning of the week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Walter P | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prior to going to my current dentist, I was never (for over 40 years) recommended to have applications of Arestin. Since this type of application is a huge money maker for some dentists, they recommend it liberally even though it may not be needed. In reading Arestin's brochure they claim the effectiveness of only 2 times or even less than without it. Considering that if you chew gum, eat carrots or taffy, etc. most of the effectiveness is lost, this is a poor reason to accept this treatment. On top of this, my dentist's assistant only saw one deep pocket but suggested that I have 5 applications of Arestin. This did not make a lot of sense. IN ADDITION TO THIS, I developed severe pain in my shoulder and hip joints which lasted for a number of days. This has never happened to me after a simple dental appointment that just required "cleaning". In this respect, I have to agree with some of the other comments that this sounds and looks like some sort of scam to extort more and more funds from patients. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NotHappy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This antibiotic is quite strong even after 21 days. Since taking, I have had muscle and tendon pain. I developed high blood pressure and have gum inflammation in the area treatment. And, I got a sun burn walking in the shade. My dentist did not give me any patient information on the risks. Criminal really.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEWARE OF THIS DRUG! I was treated for peridontal disease with Arestin at my dentist office. Unfortunately I was not warned of all the possible side affects Arestin can cause and there's is an extremely long list. I have had ear and sinus infections, pain behind my eyes, swollen mouth, I have a metallic taste in my mouth, my teeth are now sensitive which they were not before the treatment, Arestin has also caused abdominal pain and indigestion, felt achy all over. I was not told anything about possible side affects until I contacted my dentist about what I was experiencing since the treatment. All my dentist would say is follow up with your primary care doctor. The dentist wants to do another treatment in 3 months but that is not happening with Arestin.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One month out I don’t know if this medication has helped with periodontal disease. I have noticed that three of my teeth have become very discolored at the root. They are turning brown! I have not changed anything about my home dental care. Going in to have them checked in a few days. I’m sure they will tell me it is not from the treatment, but I can not think of any other reason for it to be happening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2019
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went for a second opinion from another periodontist and learned I did not need any Arestin treatments. Very often it's a scam.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hberlin | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience has been as a patient receiving Arestin to treat a 4ml pocket. Within four hours of the insertion I developed a severe sore throat with lumps and rough sores on the ruff of my mouth, throat, and the side and under portion of my tongue. Extremely painful could hardly eat for two weeks. Had to see the doctor 4 times and finally called the Arestin manufactures and they confirmed this inflammation as a possible sided effect. Looking back I wish I had asked a lot more questions before allowing the procedure. I�m 17 days in and still in considerable pain.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
feelingduped | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to the dentist for a filling; and the hygienist suggested Arestin for three teeth; I was in perfectly good health but since having the Arestin treatment I feel very light headed, have headaches and cannot sleep. And I had to pay out of pocket for this. Before I had the treatment I asked the hygienist if there are any side effects and he said none. Obviously he lied and this is only a money maker for the dentist. I don't know how effective the treatment is; but I don't trust this dental practice and will never return.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jcardi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/14/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used arestin for over a year treating different problematic areas. Each time I have had success. The pockets have went froma 5-6 down to 3-4s. Well worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dj orlando | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/26/2015
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After multiple applications, I have the same issues. I consider it a revenue generator not an effective treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe pain when before the treatment I was fine. I have already had to have 2 root canals and still have pain and may have to have another

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miagwj | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/4/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since arestin was used I have had a bad metalic tastr for about 5months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had it put in 4 different places in my gums 24 hrs ago..1 came out. I could feel it with my tongue & I spit it out.. it was yellow hard stuff. I googled what it looked like & that was it...No bad reactions so far..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annamaria | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rc | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe reactions ranging from feeling freezing cold to shivers anxiety and hives. Not worth the money or the side effects. I have had it for a week and am still sick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
In Debt! | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Exactly 10 days after having it put under my gums I started breaking out in hives and had sever facial swelling. Two trips to the ER for anaphylactic reaction two different DRs said that the most likely cause was the pellets and they needed to come out! Dentist did a deep cleaning and flush to remove Arestin. Thousands of dollars for the dental work now thousands more for major allergic reaction!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sara | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

May 7, 2013: Yesterday 5/6/13 I had a deep cleaning of my upper teeth and the dentist applied 2 doses of arestin. While in her office, I felt the left side of my face swollen and I asked her but she just said it was something that will pass soon. Today the swelling is still there and I even see a green shade on the swollen area on my cheek. I am concerned that it might get worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mere | 55-64 | Female | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped to heal my gums -- but I just had a sudden hive reaction after a 2nd application and some intestinal issues. My dentist claims its not the Arestin because it didn't happen within an hour after application. The only other time I had hives in my life was 40 years ago after taking too much of fat soluble vitamin. So I am convinced it's the Arestin being released into my system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This extremely helps pocketing due to periodontal disease and helped prevent further bone loss. Simple to place and worth the $$

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Georgia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/11/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Tissues Surrounding a Tooth
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't seen any results from having it inserted under my gums. Had I known before, I wouldn't have had it done. It can be costly so check out the costs before doing it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More