Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Using this drug I took the recommended dose and went to bed. I woke up with excruciating stomach pain and after crawling around trying to relieve it I decided to try and go to the washroom. I sat until my legs were asleep and my body still wouldn't pass anything! I tried to go back to bed and relax only the pain became worse. When I finally thought I was dying I had the urge to go. 3 hours later ...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Easy use pop it when you want to go. Although, I took two recommended on the label. 3 hours later little gas here & there. Nothing pulling in. Said what the hell took another 5 hours in after the first two...u fortunately same result just gas. Had a bit of cramps but I would've dealt had it made me go but the cramps were pointless. Won't take again and this was maximum strength.

Shared reviews and ratings

John | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2023
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It irritates my gut to contract and make a bowel movement. But if the constipation is bad or have a blockage, it will just make matters worse. This is why I drink a lot of water prior to taking this medication. Also, taking a laxative that makes the gut absorb more water is better before taking ex-lax. Takes about 5 hours to work. I have noticed it works faster taking with food and about 16oz of water.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ToiletteTrooper | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I normally am pretty mindful of my diet and try to make sure I incorporate lots of fruits, vegetables and yogurt because of family history, but unfortunately I work fast food so sometimes I don't have a choice but to eat what's available. After a while I started getting thrown off and was unable to make complete movements for a few days at a time. I used citrate magnesium but it just wasn't fully doing the job. Yesterday the pain was finally so unbearable I almost passed out when I tried to poop. I also have anxiety, so you can imagine that reaction. After contemplating going to the ER I decided to give it a shot myself and bought maximum strength ExLax and an enema just in case. Took two at about 5 and almost instantly felt rumbles but waited it out and around 1 am it got to work. I had some successful movement but it wasn't all, so I took one more and went to bed. 9 am I was up beelining it for the toilet and haven't stopped since. Thank goodness. There definitely are some crucial bubble guts that come along with it and some cramping so drink a lot of water. Keep a jug of it with you and it should do the trick. Empty stomach is preferred, but I had to at something because it'd been hours by then so if you must eat after taking it eat foods that are good for BM like leafy vegetables, lean meats (chicken, turkey. TRUST me it works) nothing processed or you will be drafting your will from the toilet as you go. Also, enema wasn't even needed. ExLax is a beast. Happy poops peeps.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
It finally work | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took two pieces of chocolate as directed the other day. It’s 6 to 12 hours and I do not have a bowel movement. Mind you I’ve been constipated with zero bowel movements for about three weeks and I’m trying to avoid the emergeny room. So yesterday I took one more piece my partner kept saying that it worked for him so he gave it a shot. Several hours later I had severe abdominal cramping you made me lightheaded it was worse than giving birth. It would happen every hour or two And I would try to go with no results. But I could feel that everything was in my lower intestine. It took over 24 hours to work but I had a cuppa coffee as soon as I woke up and within minutes I was on the toilet. I’ve had three soft solid bowel movements in the past hour my stomach hurts a little but I’m glad nothing is impacted. I was scaring myself by reading all of the different reviews. I was close to sending my partner out to get me a suppository. Please do not do this if you have to go to work and actually do a labor job. And be patient give it at least 24 hours to work before taking more that may increase the side effects. I’m literally sitting on the toilet as I type this. And make sure you drink water and electrolytes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MM | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2022
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wait for the effects to kick in before you try to take more!! It's kind of the same concept as another type of chocolate bar I could mention. You start thinking...oh this isn't working, taking two more, and a few hours later you're convinced you're about to die. Don't take unless you have the day off of work, classes, whatever you do. In my experience...this will cause intense cramps/chills/nausea, to the point you wonder if you actually caught a stomach bug. But you will poop!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HeatherM | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will say it is the only one that works for me, the first time I tried it was about 7 months ago and I made a big mistake by taking two, it said take one or two, after about 3 hours I had bad cramps for about 4 hours until I had a bowel movement but the pain came back an hour later only to go two more times in 45 min, I was never going to try this ever again until it was all I had. I suffer from diver. and needed to use it again, this time I took only one and 5 hours later I had only mild cramps and this time went with in 15 min of cramps instead of cramps for hours and three movements, this one dose was perfect, one good go way less cramps. I think people should only take one to see if that works before doing the full two doses that it says you can take.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheetahlicious9 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This worked so well, I am always so backed up I am also on prescription pill by a gastroenterologist to help with it, prescription pill worked up to around yesterday then I couldn’t have a bm so I took this pill only one and this morning I have finally had a bm

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bearcat | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/30/2021
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried Dulcoease for 4 days as reccomended no result then on day 5 I took 4 Exlax Max strenth and got cramps which is good in my case. Then on morning of 6th day propper regular poo achieved. Thank goodness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
But_butt | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2020
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No BM for 3 days. Took 2 before bed, had complete and satisfying BM the next morning. Joy! Drink lots of water and coffee the next morning to prompt some action. No more cramping than with the usual feelings when backed up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/20/2020
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works but the cramps are NOT worth it. Couldn’t sleep and all during the night after taking it because of the pain. Still couldn’t go to the bathroom until after 12 hours after taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kasey | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2019
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried almost every laxative. I decided to try this. I woke up in violent stomach cramps. The worse you could imagine. You can literally feel this product tearing through your intestines. I have never experienced that with any other..However, its because it is so strong. It will empty your bowls but be prepared for stomach cramps. I basically agree with every other review on here..No one was exaggerating. Overall, I would recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Landyn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2019
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken this medication a long time ago and it was an awful experience but I tried it again tonight and the same AWFUL experience. I had stomach cramps that felt like contractions and nausea. I will NEVER do this to myself again no matter how backed up I am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dana | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2018
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, as a regular "go-er" I was experiencing constipation for the first time in my life. I'd admit, I had no intake of fruits for a couple of days. Anywho, I purchased these and popped 2 at 5:30 pm yesterday, and thus morning at 3am, lo and behold I'm going!! Stomach cramps was a major painð??© but it felt awesome knowing that they were working on my behalf. I feel so lighter now! And HAPPYð???!! So glad I invested in these! Oh and they were max strength. I felt I needed something strong because when I had the urge to go,(during constipation period) I felt my stomach drop but no bowel moment. This laxative made me believe I had angels watching over me lolRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2018
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been having a hard time going to the bathroom since november. I'll go one or twice a week. I started taking Senokot but that worked, occasionally. I started taking this and it is the best thing that ever happened to me. Highly recommended.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Never felt so good | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always have problems with relieving my bowels. I literally did not use the the bathroom for two weeks at a time. My doctor ran all kinds of tests including a colonoscopy, according to him there was nothing wrong. I have tried every laxative in the book and nothing worked without making me feel like i was dying. I found Ex lax Maximum...and Hallelujah. Having a bowel movement have never felt so good. I take pill every other night. One pill works your body for about two days. The best thing is I just go to bathroom like normal, no cramps or all the extra stuff. Just remember these pills are strong. 1 every other day should work just fine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kar kar | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2017
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works amazing ive actually lost weight but i dont use this for weight loss it relieves constipation very well ive recommended this product to many people

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StillConstipated | 19-24 | Male | Patient
12/11/2016
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This did not help at all I had to cut up some green pepper and onions just to induce a bm won't use again my cramps literally almost kept me out of bed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marparr | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2016
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Who In their right mind would EVER voluntarily take this poison??? It is the most useless painful sh*t I've ever consumed. The cramping is horrific. And no movements. Just false alarms for HOURS!! This should be banned - throwing entire box away and will warn anyone about this crap

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hollyberry | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking because I constantly had a crampy, gassy, bloated feeling despite watching what I ate. My bowel movements also became small and difficult to pass after I began taking a certain antidepressant. This stuff is a miracle. But beware of the cramps. The first time I took it, I was in and out of the restroom for hours, sweating and cramping. The side-effects are easier to deal with now that I've adjusted to it. I use it in moderation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Truth be told | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt like the bowel movements I was having were not proportional to the amount of food that I ate, and that they were quite irregular at that, I always felt full and bloated. So I took ex lax maximum strength. And let me tell you THIS WORKS! Took it at 9pm yesterday, it is 8:40 am and I'm literally destroying the toilet right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vasanth | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/17/2016
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have constipated since long ,i developed fissures due to it and 2 to 3 years i was suffering from fissures,by taking ezlax it relived my constipation also healed fissure ..............but i stop ezlax problem again returns i have been using ezlax since 3 months it has given good results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More