Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

i had bladder infections on a monthly basis and was treated by my internist with various aantibotics. my internist sent me to a Urologist. she did an amazing thing. i now take methenamine hippura 1gm along with a vitamine C daily. I am now free from those painful bladder infections. This is my miracle drug!!

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed methenamine 1 gram twice a day for UTI prevention by my urologist. Unfortunately, it didn't work for me at all since I still got frequent UTIs while taking the drug. Worst of all, after taking methenamine with no problems for over six months, I suddenly developed sharp stomach pains/cramping and an itchy skin rash. Needless to say, I stopped using methenmine. Even so, it took...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/13/2024
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for awhile now and since I've been taking it I've had 2 UTI'S back to back!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cecelia Smith | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2024
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had frequent UTI’s for years I went to a urologist he put me on this I can’t do 2times a day but do one with vitamin c. So far 3 months no UTI’s . I feel so much better hope this is end of those frequent UTI’s!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LO | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/2/2023
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was getting 3-4 UTIs per year for about 5 years that put me out of commission without antibiotics. I was desperate to get it under control and asked a urologist about this after reading about it on the internet. I had tried everything including D-mannose, cranberry concentrate, Uquora products, you name it. I’ve been on it for one year and not one UTI. I feel like my prayers were answered. If you have ever suffered with a bad UTI you know how debilitating and painful they are. I lived in constant fear of another one and had to have a stash of antibiotics on hand in case I got one. I also worried about becoming resistant to antibiotics and I’m allergic to sulfa drugs so I wasn’t sure what my options would be if life stayed the same. I love this drug! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/16/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just a heads up for those taking Methenamine Hippurate. It is a miracle drug for me but I would still occasionally get a break through urinary tract infection while on it. I started taking a gram (1,000 mg) of Vitamin C with every dose of Methenami and that did the trick! Since I also have arthritis, an acid diet makes my arthritis worse, so instead of cutting back on veggies and fruits, I take the Vit. C. Now, I only get breakthrough infections if I don't drink enough fluids during the day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Being middle aged male, a long term gout and kidney stone sufferer I decided to try this treatment myself as its non prescription where i live. I had previously visited my local G.P. numerous times with both abdominal pain below my belly button, lower back and slight pain when pee-ing. Numerous tests/scans and antibiotics later and subsequent visits to specialist urologist with little to no findings or suggestions as to the cause. Tried this stuff some-what out of desperation when i spied it on the shelf and my pain went away surprisingly fast. It helps and I can tell when i stop taking it as the pain begins to re-emerge. Obviously will be discussing with G.P. to determine dose E.T.C.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/18/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be careful if you have liver issues because this drug can greatly impact. Requires monitoring every few months by your doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi all, I had three times of UTI this year and my primary doctor referred me to see a urologist. The urologist prescribed me methenamine hippurate 1gram for three months and vitamin C. I was debating whether to try methenamine hippurate but see many positive results here. Thanks for sharing. are three months on this pill too long? Thank you for your help!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No more UTI’s | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/15/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had UTIs one after another for about 2 1/2 years. My Urologist prescribed this drug and it has worked wonders. I have had 4 UTI’s since I went on this drug which worried me but I read that could be normal. I take a round of antibiotics and I keep taking this medication and I’m good to go. Thank goodness for this drug, it has changed my life. The pill does taste horrid but I can get it down. I take 2 a day. The only thing I have a complaint about is that the pill sweats. if I put it in a container with my other medications It gets all the pills wet. I keep this medication in the bottle that comes from the pharmacy. I am so glad I was put on this drug! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this for about two weeks. Finding it difficult to swallow pill even with cutting it in half.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
N/A | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before the treatment I used to have UTI almost every month. After the treatment the medication has worked for me. I haven't had a UTI in a year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/17/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THis drug is marvellous - no more cystitis! I just wish that the tablets were easier to swallow

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara R. | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

UTIs started to occur monthly. My urologist put me on low dose antibiotic for 3 months then on methenamine plus Vitamin C and cranberry supplements. Now UTI-free for over a year. The relief is worth the nasty taste of the pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/14/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found the tablet really hard to swallow so I crush it between to spoons and mix with a drop of milk.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/2/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works! Years of UTIs and becoming antibiotic resistant or allergic led me to this approach. One year free from UTIs. Because I become resistant to meds so easily, I cut the pills in half and take half dosages...which are also easier to swallow. They are not easy to get down even then, but certainly worth the inconvenience and occasional gagging.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Surfergirl | 19-24 | Female | Patient
5/3/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 24 and have been struggling with IC and chronic UTIs for about 5 years now. Hiprex saves me from my latest bout of UTIs (4 in 3 months). I am hesitant to incur the long term effects but so far so good, although it does cause slight burning right after I take the tablet I find if I am not super hydrated. Thank god for this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toots | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had recurring UTI's for 2 1/2 years. his has truly helped e. So far, so good. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 7 UTI's in 18 months, I went on a 3 months course of antibiotics which seemed to work. I started Methenamine Hippurate as a preventative measure, and everything seemed fine for ~ 2 months. Then I started having pain and incontinence typical of another UTI. There was no UTI, just the side effects of the drug. It has been a month since I stopped taking it, and the incontinence persists.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The bitter taste and rough coating make it difficult to swallow. I have tried two versions: CL-20 and E-71. They both taste vile and stick in my throat. Is there a coated pill I can ask for? I will be on this medication long-term, and would like something I can easily swallow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jackie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2018
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic UTI's for years. Last year was every month after antibotics would return. this Medication has worked wonders. No UTI in 5 months. Take one aday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nancylou | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's the only thing that keeps my urinary tract in fiction free. I just hope I can tolerate the methenamine over a long period. It works because it turns into formaldehyde in the bladder. The Vitamin C that I take turns the urinw acidic but its the formaldehyde that likes all bacteria.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More