Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

42 People found this comment helpful

Newly diagnosed with PBC. less than 30 days on this med and bloodwork already improving. No side effects that worry me yet, but the ones I am concerned about (abdominal cramps and tired) are also symptoms of PBC. Not sure if tummy problems are a progression of disease or side effect. Will ask doc on next visit. The best part is that the itching has been greatly reduced as the numbers come dow...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

It was perscribed to our dog and it died. Im just found the old bottle of pills and this really makes me sad

Shared reviews and ratings

Grt | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was just put on this for Bile Reflux. Started feeling nauseous, back pain, kidney pain, stomach pains. Lost my appetite to eat which is horrible because I've lost so much weight from Reflux I'm already under weight. Dr. Said to come off a few days and see what happens. Now reflux and burning is bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/29/2020
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on the medication for a year. I have the itching and the abdominal pain also the weight gain. My numbers are at a normal level after being at 1900.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LORI | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Gallstones
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine for gall bladder sludge. The very next day I took it I had symptoms of a cold or sinus infection. I took an antibiotic with it as the pharmacist there should be no problems. Day 4 and feel worse. Will go off of the drug and see if I feel better and go from there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cougher | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/27/2019
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Urso Forte 500mg twice a day for approximately 6 years. Labs normal. Suffering side effects of continued itching, skin: rashes, red pinpoint dots, constant runny nose, chronic "honking" cough, and weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
firefly | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/2/2019
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

weight gain hair loss headaches constipation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lake Escape | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/10/2019
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PBC for and have been taking Ursodiol for 15 years. I take Ursodiol Caps 300mg 1 capsule 3 times a day with food. It helps keep my numbers a little better but numbers are still high. I have had 2 liver biopsy, and now they do not do the liver biopsy they do liver Ultrasound, and fibroscan. For the last 2 years I have been talking 5 mg Olaciva with it. I have no side effects. Numbers are still on the high side.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pbc Socal | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Urso for 4 years due to PBC. The medication has kept my liver enzymes low . The first couple years I had dealt with the side effects of weight gain and puritus but then that was controlled with a better diet. With in that last couple years I have dealt with constipation hair loss and now peotic ulcers. Doctors should prescribe prilosec along with it for long term use. Instead I had to pay lot of money to go through alot of testing to figure it out. I noticed there is not alot of research for long term use passed two years. I would like to see medical study on long term side effects of urso.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
young_stoner | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/23/2018
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Gallstones
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing a follow up review. Still no negative side effects. Appetite is intermittent, still regular bowel movements. Currently at 1200mg per day, 600mg morning, 600mg evening. Missing dosages for more than 48 hours causes extreme discomfort. Case reference: Diagnosed with Secondary Sclerosing Cholangitis, and had many gallstones and my gallbladder removed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
young_stoner | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2017
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Gallstones
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No negative side effects yet. I have been Ursodiol for 2 weeks. Appetite has returned, regular bowel movements. Diagnosed with Secondary Scierosing Cholangitis, and had many gallstones and my gallbladder removed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/20/2016
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY DOCTOR JUST TOOK ME OFF THIS DRUG, AFTER 10 YEARS. SAYS IT IS NOT PROVEN TO MAKE ANY DIFFERENCE IN THE CASE OF BINARY CIRROHIS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane Ayre | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/2/2016
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have PBC and Autoimmune Hepatitis. My doctor started me on this medication over 2 years ago, my ALT/AST has continued to drop to now normal levels. My AlK Phos. levels were increasing so my doctor increased my Ursodiol. I am now taking 4/day and all my liver enzymes numbers are dropping. I take this in conjunction with Aziothioprine. Also, I have taken Gabapentin for 3 years to relieve the itching, works great! I have had 2 liver biopsies to date. The doctor has assured me that we have slowed down the progression of the diseases so that I should never need a liver transplant.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this after bariatric surgery to prevent gallstones. Haven't had any gallstones, but have had almost daily diarrhea since beginning the drug regimen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/7/2015
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Gallstones
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this med for 4 years - it seemed to be working well until last week when I developed biliary sludge in my bile duct. Felt just like I had 2 stones stuck 4 years ago. I have to believe the medicine worked the stones didn't form. Now I am feeling better, watching what I'm eating and taking my meds religiously. Everyone is surprised when I say I don't have a gall bladder. The medicine is better than my GI sticking a tube down my throat every 4 months which is what was happening. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/23/2015
Condition: Gallstones
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taking for 6 years - last week had a recurrence of stones causing pain, high fever and became septic from resulting infection - very displeased how expensive this has become - reason?????????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tlc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2015
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have very good response to this medicine. All my levels are good and no side effects except for occasion constipation, which a rare side effect. But overall very pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/14/2014
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Same thing as previous comment lost my mother at 54 because of liver failure. Meds where too much and she did not take the time and go to the dr. I have been taking urso for 9 yrs and liver function is great and scaring has stopped progressing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nate | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/2/2014
Condition: Blockage of Normal Bile Flow
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed cholesterol stones in my bile duct 2008. Had my gall badder removed in 1983, and on lipitor since 1995. Just had my 4th ERCP to remove stones from bile duct. After second time I was put on Urosiol and have sludge in bile duct, but also infection. (I upped dosage after third time to max). Will discuss options with drs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary Ann | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/26/2014
Condition: Rare Progressive Liver Disease - Primary Biliary Cirrhosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Newly diagnosed with PBC. less than 30 days on this med and bloodwork already improving. No side effects that worry me yet, but the ones I am concerned about (abdominal cramps and tired) are also symptoms of PBC. Not sure if tummy problems are a progression of disease or side effect. Will ask doc on next visit. The best part is that the itching has been greatly reduced as the numbers come down. I too, am depressed and anxious, but don't think its the drug...normal reaction to a serious illness i think. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/17/2013
Condition: Chronic Inflammation of the Liver
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kahakai | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2013
Condition: Gallstones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Aloha, Never wrote a review, but ursodiol completely dissolved all gallstones(hundreds of small ones). I no longer need surgery to remove gallbladder, absolutely thrilled. Also I changed my diet and cut out highly saturated flats, lowering my cholesterol 30 points.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More