Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

68 People found this comment helpful

Was started on Losinopril but it gave me a bad cough after just a short time, so switched to Losartan. It took a few weeks to kick in but my blood pressure is down in the 120s/70s range (was 140s/90s). I take 25 mg at night before bed. Initially the first week I would get a little dizzy after intense exercise like a spin class but that went away after a week or so. Now have had no side effects and...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I have not taken this medicine yet.

Shared reviews and ratings

Donna | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/19/2024
Condition: Nondiabetic Proteinuric Nephropathy
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 25mg/day for 3 months for kidneys. (Had already been taking Amlodipine for years for bp.) Losartan makes me cough too much, especially at night when I lie down. At 3 mo, did urinalysis and blood tests for kidney function and everything was exactly the same as before I started it for proteinuria/albuminuria. So it isn't helping. I was getting dizzy and doctor blamed it on everything but the Losartan and did a bunch of extra tests like carotid artery ultrasound for $800. Nothing wrong there. I quit the Losartan and peeing became easier again, the dizziness went away, the coughing stopped. Amen.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jodi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2024
Condition: Hypertension with Left Ventricular Hypertrophy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im so glad I came on here to read the reviews. I was diagnosed with high blood pressure like 6 months ago. I have been taking Losartan since then. Well Ive been blaming all the symptoms Ive been having on Hashimotos but after reading these I realize its this medicine. Besides more importantly I recently wasnt able to get a refill and was out for 3 days and I felt so good. Started taking it again and all these symptoms came back . Symptoms I have are headache ,body aches and pain,blurry vision,weakness,tiredness,muscle cramps,bloated,no energy,lots of anxiety,stomach issues,insomnia,brain fog .Even though some of these symptoms are related to Hashimotos I realized its this med after being off of it for 3 days then resuming . This med is poison and I will never take another pill !! Thought maybe something was really wrong since I only felt worse as time went on while taking this med ...so relieved that I was unable to get it refilled til after 3 days of being off. Also its never really helped with my blood pressure. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Losartan Potassium 100mg for 10 days now, GP changed from Ramipril because of a cough. It has controlled my BP but I have swollen neck glands after taking this medicine, has anyone else had this symptom?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Martin S. | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/29/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Losartan 100/25 for years w/no side effects, Doc changed to Losartan Potassium because I don't need diuretic, can't tell it's changed except going to the bathroom less frequently.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2024
Condition: Nondiabetic Proteinuric Nephropathy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I finally gave in to pressure from my NP to take Losartan for proteinuria because kidney disease runs in my family. For 4 weeks, no problems, then the side effects hit. Even though my blood pressure was normal, I was having severe vertigo, chest pain, stomach pain and nausea, frequent urination, and every morning I woke up feeling like I had been anesthetized and it was a slow struggle to engage with normal tasks. Before, I was exercising for 60 minutes a day, all my lab work was excellent except for the protein in urine, and I considered myself lucky for my age. Now I'm thinking this med was a bad idea.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike J | 65-74 | Male | Patient
3/11/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor replaced my Lisinopril prescription with Losartan Potassium in an attempt treat a lingering chronic cough (13 months) that three different other treatment plans failed to alleviate. After a single dosage off of Lisinopril and into Losartan the cough dissipated dramatically and has remained negligible. In addition with no other changes in lifestyle or medication my ED dramatically improved. I don’t understand the connection, but the change has been consistently improved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SportsDad | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/10/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Losartan 50mg once daily (usually mornings) four months ago for high blood pressure (averaging 145/95). Prior to 4 months ago I had never had high blood pressure, and the hypertension seemed to coincide with a first-time bout of cellulitis I had around the same time. Losartan had almost no effect over the first 4 months of taking the medication with my blood pressure only coming down to high 130's over low 90s. After a routine dr visit last week my doc prescribed me Losartan 100mg going forward. However, just this week while still on Losartan 50mg I have seen my blood pressures (taken twice daily) drop and stay steady at low 120s over high 70s. The only variables worth noting are that I also started taking Lipitor 20mg about 30 days ago. Beyond that, it may seem like Losartan simply took longer to take effect with my body than the stated average (up to 3-6 weeks according to most documentation). I haven't noticed any notable side effects as of yet, and was really disappointed in the lack of effectiveness of 50mg up until now - but I'm happy with the recently lower BP levels. I would have never thought it would take 4 months for a medicine to kick in but it's worth it if my levels stay where they are at now (and I can stay at 50mg or possibly even reduce Losartan altogether at some point.) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DarlaDrew | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really can't see a difference in blood pressure and I'm dizzy just about all the time weak in my body my legs feel tired and so weak and achy .Taking in the morning 50mg and in later afternoon 25 mg I can't take this med I'm really scared of fainting

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/28/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gained weight , my face is swollen and I am retaining fluid .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lonnie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for almost 2 years. I am 62 and my bp on the drug was 138/85. I think my cuff reads high. Went to the Dr (NP) mid last year and noticed that the 'bar' for normal was lowered for 60+ year olds (to 120/80). I have read that bp rises with age but the NP insisted I go on a higher dose. My office bp was very high even though I doubled up on the pills that day before I went in. I was so mad arguing with the NP. When I got home, my bp was low (duh). I had continued taking the med until the prescription ran out - I did not go back to the office. Now, I am off cold turkey and I think I have withdrawal symptoms from it. I cannot find what the withdrawal symptoms are for this drug, but it doesn't feel good at all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/12/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Losartan for about a year, it lowered my pressure a little but nothing major. I got horrible side effects, stuffy nose, dizzy, sleepy, joint pain, nervous, raised pulse, poor sleep. Not sure who puts these pills out but taking this is worse than having high blood pressure, its a bad drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Losartan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In a way taking this medication was the worst decision of my life but also may be the best... Dr. noticed high BP. He was quick to prescribe a medication and not recommend any life style changes. He prescribes 100mg. I do my research before taking it and I'm naturally skeptic so I split twice and take 25 MG instead. First couple days I did feel good. First three weeks went by fine, I actually didn't measure BP because I could feel it working. The fourth week was where I starting to get lightheaded. Then came the nausea, bloated ness, immense waves of anxiety that actually rose my BP. This was after taking a dose mind you. I couldn't eat, sleep, or workout. How is this supposed to make me healthy? This wasn't life. Everything I felt was confirmed here and elsewhere. The good thing is that it scared me into doing a 180 in my lifestyle. Diet, supplements, and workouts(although I get out of breath sometimes). I've lost about 8 lbs already. I'm 5 days off and I do have some withdrawal symptoms which are mainly anxiety but that is nothing to how terrible I felt while on it. I have a checkup in two months and I claim to come back with exemplary numbers. Make lifestyle changes. If you do have to take it still make those changes. But be very very careful with this poison. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristian | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve always felt ok but was put on 12.5 mg because of slightly high blood pressure Been on this medication for 5 days I feel bad anxiety insomnia and depression and feel like I’m losing my grip on things I’ve never felt worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MikeJ | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 33 year old healthy male who has high blood pressure due to genetics. My heart is healthy and so is all my other organs and all my levels are perfect. I eat right and I’m a trained kickboxer so I am very active. I say all that to paint the picture of my experience. I was put on a beta blocker in 2020 (carvedilol) started on small does and moved up to now I take 25mg in the morning and 25mg at night. I went to the ER because my bp was high and I couldn’t get it down (170/106). The DR at the ER prescribed this to me(not my dr) because he said he takes losartan and said it helps him. He prescribed 50mg and told me if it drops my bp too log to take half(25mg). I don’t blame him because he was trying to be helpful because I can’t see my Dr for 2 weeks. I took it for 4 days and ended up in the hospital because I thought I was having a heart attack. My heart was pounding, I was so dizzy, my heart rate would jump from 80 to 125 instantly when going from laying down to standing. My chest hurt so bad and the headaches were bad. My blood pressure was normal though. When I went back to the er i decided to go to a different hospital, one that specializes in hearts and the dr in the er wasn’t surprised with my symptoms and knew right away about this medication. He assured me I was fine and all my labs and test (ekg and blood work) confirmed I was fine. That was last night when I went. Didn’t take losartan today and I feel better, but still have slight headache and some palpitations, also my legs are weak and hurts to walk. My legs are extremely fit so this is really unusual for me. I hope this is just the meds leaving my body and not a long term damage. I know this is a long post but I wanted to give a full picture in hopes it will help someone else who fits this description and know they aren’t alone. My suggestion it talk to your Dr asap if you feel you are getting worse and if you get into your Dr go to ER. Don’t risk it because this medication is dangerous to some people, I’m definitely one of those people. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephen | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for BP. BP went up 20 points on both ends. Body felt like a painful funk as well as mental funk. This BP med is much like any other of them. They work well for some folks and are terrible for others. I've tried all but the alpha-blockers. I guess they will be next. All have been ineffective. However, at home my BP is mid 130's/over mid 70's. My white coat syndrome worries my primary physician.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phil | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on the LOSARTAN 25mg for 3 months. Lowered my BP slightly but not enough so my doctor has me on 50mg. It works well and has a positive calming effect and my stress and anxiety I normally have is pretty much gone. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daffodil | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on losartan for three weeks, went ok for a week or so but then side effects began. Extreme tiredness, dizziness, neck ache, headache, frequent urination. I stopped taking it for three days and on the third day I was so dizzy I couldn't lift my head off my pillow. I went back on it for two days but dizziness unbearable. My Dr put me on a diuretic instead. This is day three of diuretic but still getting terrible dizziness when I get up, it's with me all day. My bp is actually higher when standing now than sitting. I just hope that things will go back to normal once out of my system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tab | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed losartan 50mg potassium once a day, without a diuretic combination. It lowerd my blood pressure however, it caused severe anxiety. I was not informed that it causes fat loss overall weight loss too fast I was losing 1-2 lbs overnight. It doesn't burn calories it burns fat I've seen oil in my urine. Most women may appreciate this side effect but I don't, I was 144lbs with muscles before I started taking this drug and within 3mos I lost 11lbs, my clothes were too big, also this medication causes muscle wasting, and loss of appetite. I workout 3 days a week building muscles and I began to notice my muscles were getting smaller no longer firm, I started drinking ensure plus yet I was still losing weight so I stopped workingout. I discontinued it 2 weeks ago and I feel much better, no more anxiety, and no more weight loss. This is a horrible medication, I wouldn't recommend it anyone. THE RISKS OUTWEIGHED THE BENEFITS FOR ME. IT'S NOT WORTH IT. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
losartan 50mg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prescribed to delay surgery i am 27 with bavd i write fair cause i go in three months to see how it was done, the first day i took it i was high headed like loopy so i started taking it at night, and i’ve totally gained weight and almost stopped it, plus idk if it’s the meds i can sleep forever but its the kind of tired sleep doesn’t fix …hardest part is knowing if i so happened to get pregnant either the medication would kill it or i would kill me, anywho to be determined on my recommendation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marco | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cardiologist put me on a beta blocker plus Losartan to control my moderately high bp. It worked too well in terms of lowering my bp to 95/60, and I experienced lots of dizziness and lightheartedness. Doctor discontinued Losartan and kept me on low dose bisoprolol (2.5 mg). Within 3-4 days of stopping I gained 6-7 lbs and my ankles and feet swelling. Any thoughts on connections?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More