Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

68 People found this comment helpful

Was started on Losinopril but it gave me a bad cough after just a short time, so switched to Losartan. It took a few weeks to kick in but my blood pressure is down in the 120s/70s range (was 140s/90s). I take 25 mg at night before bed. Initially the first week I would get a little dizzy after intense exercise like a spin class but that went away after a week or so. Now have had no side effects and...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I have not taken this medicine yet.

Shared reviews and ratings

lonnie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/22/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for almost 2 years. I am 62 and my bp on the drug was 138/85. I think my cuff reads high. Went to the Dr (NP) mid last year and noticed that the 'bar' for normal was lowered for 60+ year olds (to 120/80). I have read that bp rises with age but the NP insisted I go on a higher dose. My office bp was very high even though I doubled up on the pills that day before I went in. I was so mad arguing with the NP. When I got home, my bp was low (duh). I had continued taking the med until the prescription ran out - I did not go back to the office. Now, I am off cold turkey and I think I have withdrawal symptoms from it. I cannot find what the withdrawal symptoms are for this drug, but it doesn't feel good at all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Larry | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/12/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Losartan for about a year, it lowered my pressure a little but nothing major. I got horrible side effects, stuffy nose, dizzy, sleepy, joint pain, nervous, raised pulse, poor sleep. Not sure who puts these pills out but taking this is worse than having high blood pressure, its a bad drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Losartan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In a way taking this medication was the worst decision of my life but also may be the best... Dr. noticed high BP. He was quick to prescribe a medication and not recommend any life style changes. He prescribes 100mg. I do my research before taking it and I'm naturally skeptic so I split twice and take 25 MG instead. First couple days I did feel good. First three weeks went by fine, I actually didn't measure BP because I could feel it working. The fourth week was where I starting to get lightheaded. Then came the nausea, bloated ness, immense waves of anxiety that actually rose my BP. This was after taking a dose mind you. I couldn't eat, sleep, or workout. How is this supposed to make me healthy? This wasn't life. Everything I felt was confirmed here and elsewhere. The good thing is that it scared me into doing a 180 in my lifestyle. Diet, supplements, and workouts(although I get out of breath sometimes). I've lost about 8 lbs already. I'm 5 days off and I do have some withdrawal symptoms which are mainly anxiety but that is nothing to how terrible I felt while on it. I have a checkup in two months and I claim to come back with exemplary numbers. Make lifestyle changes. If you do have to take it still make those changes. But be very very careful with this poison. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kristian | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve always felt ok but was put on 12.5 mg because of slightly high blood pressure Been on this medication for 5 days I feel bad anxiety insomnia and depression and feel like I’m losing my grip on things I’ve never felt worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MikeJ | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2024
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 33 year old healthy male who has high blood pressure due to genetics. My heart is healthy and so is all my other organs and all my levels are perfect. I eat right and I’m a trained kickboxer so I am very active. I say all that to paint the picture of my experience. I was put on a beta blocker in 2020 (carvedilol) started on small does and moved up to now I take 25mg in the morning and 25mg at night. I went to the ER because my bp was high and I couldn’t get it down (170/106). The DR at the ER prescribed this to me(not my dr) because he said he takes losartan and said it helps him. He prescribed 50mg and told me if it drops my bp too log to take half(25mg). I don’t blame him because he was trying to be helpful because I can’t see my Dr for 2 weeks. I took it for 4 days and ended up in the hospital because I thought I was having a heart attack. My heart was pounding, I was so dizzy, my heart rate would jump from 80 to 125 instantly when going from laying down to standing. My chest hurt so bad and the headaches were bad. My blood pressure was normal though. When I went back to the er i decided to go to a different hospital, one that specializes in hearts and the dr in the er wasn’t surprised with my symptoms and knew right away about this medication. He assured me I was fine and all my labs and test (ekg and blood work) confirmed I was fine. That was last night when I went. Didn’t take losartan today and I feel better, but still have slight headache and some palpitations, also my legs are weak and hurts to walk. My legs are extremely fit so this is really unusual for me. I hope this is just the meds leaving my body and not a long term damage. I know this is a long post but I wanted to give a full picture in hopes it will help someone else who fits this description and know they aren’t alone. My suggestion it talk to your Dr asap if you feel you are getting worse and if you get into your Dr go to ER. Don’t risk it because this medication is dangerous to some people, I’m definitely one of those people. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephen | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for BP. BP went up 20 points on both ends. Body felt like a painful funk as well as mental funk. This BP med is much like any other of them. They work well for some folks and are terrible for others. I've tried all but the alpha-blockers. I guess they will be next. All have been ineffective. However, at home my BP is mid 130's/over mid 70's. My white coat syndrome worries my primary physician.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phil | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on the LOSARTAN 25mg for 3 months. Lowered my BP slightly but not enough so my doctor has me on 50mg. It works well and has a positive calming effect and my stress and anxiety I normally have is pretty much gone. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daffodil | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/26/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on losartan for three weeks, went ok for a week or so but then side effects began. Extreme tiredness, dizziness, neck ache, headache, frequent urination. I stopped taking it for three days and on the third day I was so dizzy I couldn't lift my head off my pillow. I went back on it for two days but dizziness unbearable. My Dr put me on a diuretic instead. This is day three of diuretic but still getting terrible dizziness when I get up, it's with me all day. My bp is actually higher when standing now than sitting. I just hope that things will go back to normal once out of my system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tab | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed losartan 50mg potassium once a day, without a diuretic combination. It lowerd my blood pressure however, it caused severe anxiety. I was not informed that it causes fat loss overall weight loss too fast I was losing 1-2 lbs overnight. It doesn't burn calories it burns fat I've seen oil in my urine. Most women may appreciate this side effect but I don't, I was 144lbs with muscles before I started taking this drug and within 3mos I lost 11lbs, my clothes were too big, also this medication causes muscle wasting, and loss of appetite. I workout 3 days a week building muscles and I began to notice my muscles were getting smaller no longer firm, I started drinking ensure plus yet I was still losing weight so I stopped workingout. I discontinued it 2 weeks ago and I feel much better, no more anxiety, and no more weight loss. This is a horrible medication, I wouldn't recommend it anyone. THE RISKS OUTWEIGHED THE BENEFITS FOR ME. IT'S NOT WORTH IT. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
losartan 50mg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/2/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prescribed to delay surgery i am 27 with bavd i write fair cause i go in three months to see how it was done, the first day i took it i was high headed like loopy so i started taking it at night, and i’ve totally gained weight and almost stopped it, plus idk if it’s the meds i can sleep forever but its the kind of tired sleep doesn’t fix …hardest part is knowing if i so happened to get pregnant either the medication would kill it or i would kill me, anywho to be determined on my recommendation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marco | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My cardiologist put me on a beta blocker plus Losartan to control my moderately high bp. It worked too well in terms of lowering my bp to 95/60, and I experienced lots of dizziness and lightheartedness. Doctor discontinued Losartan and kept me on low dose bisoprolol (2.5 mg). Within 3-4 days of stopping I gained 6-7 lbs and my ankles and feet swelling. Any thoughts on connections?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thomasl | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started at 25 mg five months ago and increased to 50 after three months. My blood pressure has not changed appreciable in all that time. I have had multiple problems: she started buying so badly at night that I could not sleep. My legs hurt so bad for three days I cold only lie on the couch and moan. Now, after two weeks off Losartan they still hurt off and on and I have trouble walking. Sit around most of the time. I also had sinus pain, dizziness when using the toilet or standing up. I am hopeful these symptoms will go away with time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron H | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/16/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Losartan 50 mg for two weeks. I had a horrific nose bleed in the shower. It took 2 hours to stop and I probably lost close to half a pint of blood. This pill can be life threatening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NMRK | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/14/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on 100mg. After a year, my insomnia was so severe, I could hardly function. In addition, I gained weight, my moods were horrible and I felt off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daniel T | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/11/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Losartan for over 8 years now and it has kept my blood pressure in check. Nothing I had ever done before had worked. I was a marathon runner and thought keeping fit and eating right would be enough but it wasn't, my blood pressure was way too high. I use and ACE inhibitor but it didn't work for me and gave me the worst headaches. I take 100mg of Losartan every day with 25mg of hydrochlorothiazide and it has kept my BP in check. One of my cousins lost his kidneys due to high blood pressure and not taking medication so I feel lucky to have found a solution before the BP caused any damage.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
male patient | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/8/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my blood pressure was 150 / 90 and i was on 50gm. with 5 mg bisoprolol. dr doubled my amount. i wanted to ease into that much and am taking 75mg Losartan and 7.5 bis. My BP has gone UP! it was 170 / 110 today, my heartrate is going down, it was 70 today and it usually is 95 or 100. i will reduce to 25 losartan, my dr is no help, narcissist and would demand an appointment just to fight with me. i have lost faith in any dr anymore. nothing but pushy salesmen in white coats. I am taking BP readings daily and will not let it get bad. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2023
Condition: chronic kidney disease with albuminuria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic joint pain runny nose indigestion and 2x clay stool

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for one week and my neck pain is so severe that I don’t want to move my head. I am also having calf pain. I take 25mg at night and my blood pressure is good in the morning, but high by the evening. The pain in my body from this medication has tipped the scales- I can’t stay on this. So the one good thing is I now feel ultra motivated to improve my cardiovascular function through lifestyle. 30 minutes of physical activity is way easier than feeling like this 24 hours a day. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scott P | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/8/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My blood pressure was 148/85 before taking Losartan and after a month it is consistently 111/62 range - impressive it is working so well. I am trying to drop poundage so I can get off this stuff long term but it is doing well for me now. Taking the pill is the easy part, losing the weight is another story...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joan | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/25/2023
Condition: Hypertension with Left Ventricular Hypertrophy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on lisinipril for a year and had bad cough and sinus congestion and was switched to losartan...cough cleared up but I do have insomnia and finding it impossible to lose weight...I am post menopausal so don't know if that is the reason for insomnia and weight issues...I wish I could get off meds and be healthy too.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More