Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

THIS TABLET GAVE ME MY LIFE BACK virtually overnight. Ive had asthma since 4yr old, and in last 5yrs developed COPD (emphysema). My asthma has worsened to the extent I was using 1 salbutomol inhaler(200 doses)in just 10 days. After taking my first Montelukast Tablet at bedtime, I woke up following morning without any wheezing. I didnt need my salbutomol all day. I was even able to go up and downst...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Symptom: Blurred Vision. I was prescribed Singular for Asthma and in that respect, it was very helpful - my lung capacity was improved as well. But I cannot read for more than 5 minutes as my central vision becomes very blurred. I am an artist and a writer so you can imagine how distraught I was. My eye specialist determine what was causing my blurred vision. I reduced my dosage by half then a qu...

Shared reviews and ratings

Ash hut | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2024
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed asthma in my mid 30s, I was really struggling with mucus at night and trying to get a breath, even had apnea. I was prescribed montelukast and it instantly made things much better. I was previously coughing throughout the night and I don’t do that now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/22/2024
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have has chronic asthma since I was 7. Allergy Shots until I 30. I’m in my 59s still on meds. Every comment here is about monolostate. I wonder if any of u ever havre triried the non generic Singular. Had same problem w bystolic . Non generic worked best for me. More expensive but no issues. Yes I tried the no generics and had same issues. Dr required no change on my scripts both pills working as should.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dylan | 3-6 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
9/30/2023
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4 years of my sons life turned upside down on this medication. Between the age of 3-7. Severe nightmares/ hallucinations, facial tics, depression no child should have to go through this. The benefits do not outweigh the risks. Just wish I could turn back the clock and realise sooner what it was that was causing my son to go through this massive change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
8/24/2023
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've suffered from asthma pretty much my entire life I remember being 5 6 & hooked up to a nebulizer not being able to breathe I recently was prescribed montalucas a month ago I'm already bipolar type II ADHD and I have general anxiety which are being controlled with medication and in this time span, I have noticed that even with taking my other medications. My attention span is a lot shorter there always seems to be a film over my eyeballs like there's something in or on it I am more agitated short tempered I've noticed that if I don't take this medication every day my asthma rebounds and I am spiraled back to using my nepulizer drowning in my own fluids and the most obnoxious thing is that I know I don't see and hear things I know that what my eyes may see is not real but lately I've been seeing a lot of so-called "shadow figures" out the corner of my eye and it is quite annoying because I know there's nothing there It just means that now this medication messing with me mentally and I'm not down for this I will definitely be talking to my doctor about this tomorrow seeing how the side effects outweigh what it's meant to do in the first place this medication is not worth it. Not to mention, I'm not down for the weight gain there are other alternatives out there with less side effects after doing my research I will be looking into those.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2023
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 4 weeks and it has worked very well for control of my asthma symptoms, however the side effects are not worth the improvements. I have suffered from a constant sore stomach from day one with a very bloated stomach after a short period of time. I am also struggling to sleep at night due to insomnia which I have never had before. I have had itchy painful eyes most days. I have now stopped taking this tablet for three days but the side effect symptoms are still there. Hopefully they will disappear altogether again in a short time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beware | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2023
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this medication for post nasal drip. After two months,I started having pain, burning and itching in my feet. I had a hard time walking. I took myself off it. Within two days I had a significant decrease in my symptoms. Three weeks later, still have some symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2023
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having suffered from asthma all my life, when my Doctor prescribed Singular, Within just a few days, I started breathing normally and with no side effects. It has been a real game changer for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicki | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works immediately, I feel a real difference when I miss doses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Montelukast | 65-74 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this drug a month ago worked great but side effect was horrific for me!Woke up one morning with jitters and feeling anxious. This went off and on during the day and in the middle of the night. Called Doc and was told to stop taking it. Felt better already!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2022
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For breathing the medicine worked great. I was only able to take it for two days and in those two days my breathing became so easy it felt amazing, but at the same time my mind became a completely foreign place to me. I lost complete control of my brain and it felt like someone was thinking for me. the second day felt like one big long constant panic of mood swings and life revelations and the worst of it was that none of it was irrational lol. all of these thoughts made complete sense they were just coming at me so fast i didn’t know what to do with them. my doctor had actually told me to look out for this situation so i messaged her and she told me to stop this drug immediately. However this feeling of this tornado of mood swings and fast thoughts lasted for weeks after.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margaret | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/7/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffer muscle cramps almost daily some severe in calves. Ankles. Feet and neck. I can usually stop my calves from turning brick like by suddenly getting out of bed and walking. Usually occurs in the am I also get spider like sensations in my legs too

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mgs | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Late Onset Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first time taking this medication. It works well for me, but the side effects of headaches & NO SLEEP are unbearable. Will ask my doctor for something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daisy P. | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2022
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My lung capacity before was 250; after only two days it improved completely to 450! However... the side effects are not worth it. My eyes are so painful and tired and I get muscle spasms and weakness which is not ideal when working in a fast-paced environment. It's not bad at all in the morning, but, at night the side effects seem to double in strength. Good luck getting a good night's sleep when taking this. My doctor warned me that it will likely give nightmares, but I haven't experienced any. Just the painful eyes and dizziness and weakness etc. That many other people clearly seem to be having. I will stop using this medication and I will not take it again. I will look for a different controllerRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heartbroken | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
4/2/2022
Condition: Non-Seasonal Allergic Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter dance is allergic to A LOT of stuff and it gets extreme the closer we get to spring. She’d have every allergy symptom there is starting at age 3 (imagine a baby not being able to breathe, red/itchy eyes, contact sneezing and runny nose-who knows what else, she couldn’t explain her feelings). She’d been sooo alert, articulate and very receptive to learning new things until some time into taking montelucast. Now, she is extremely forgetful, doesn’t focus, is unable to retain new information being taught to her. She was a better student at 2&3 than she has been at 5&6. She stutters and has a hard time explaining herself and comprehending simple instructions. She anxious and fights in her sleep. She is currently undergoing testing for ADHD, however, her father nor or anyone else in our family has ADHD. She didn’t display any ADHD symptoms until AFTER she’d been on Montelucast. Her symptoms have caused us so much stress and frustration, she’s started to have problems in school and it is tearing me up and tearing our mother/daughter relationship apart. I feel so horrible and guilty for not recognizing or thinking maybe it’s her medication. I would advise everyone to reconsider taking this Med and find another alternative. I know the relief is great, but it’s not worth the side effects. Especially for children whose brains/personalities are still developing. #ahurtandregretfullovingmom.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stepharoonie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2022
Condition: Seasonal Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I started taking this medication I've been having a lot of eye pain that I assumed was from being on my computer too much. But after reading so many reviews for this medication, I'm starting to think my eye problems are a side effect, not computer strain. I'm going to try stopping it for a little while to see if there's any improvement. It's too bad because it really does help my allergies! It's probably a hit/miss for a lot of people, so I guess give it a try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/19/2022
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went on this to try to help my post nasal drip and stopped taking Clarinex. I ended up irritable, with blurred vision and here’s a new one - a horrible metallic smell and taste of all food. Stopped taking it and went ba k on Clarinex

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm have been taking it since Jan 18th 2022.Just doesnt seem to be working for me.Nose still runs day n night.As i have Copd, Asthmatic bronchiti and Stage 4 Small cell lung cancer.So the coughing really sucks.But it's the one my allergy specialist put me on.Please does anyine have any idea how long it takes to work.I been thinking going back to Benderyal.Any suggestions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
10/26/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made me dizzy and now heart issues ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/24/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SteveB | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
5/3/2021
Condition: Allergic Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Allergist prescribed this for seasonal allergies. After about 6 months started to have memory issues. Went to Neurologist and he had me stop it IMMEDIATELY. Supposedly the effects should wear off in a couple of months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More