Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

40 People found this comment helpful

Cardiologist prescribed Zetia. Cost too much. Purchase Generic form (ezetimibe ) from Canadian Pharmacy. Works great! Cardiologist is very pleased with the results.

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I do notknow...just started

Shared reviews and ratings

Allison | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/25/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have slightly elevated LDL and slightly low HDL. It was diagnosed as familial hypercholesterolemia, because I am very active, and follow a healthy diet, and nothing really helps my levels. My triglyceride level is always between 40 and 50 which is indicative of my healthy lifestyle. Nothing I do with my diet will lower my LDL. So my doctor had tried me on rosuvastatin 6 months ago, which took about 2 weeks to make me irritable and gave me palpitations and upper chest and shoulder pain. I quit that med and it took 2 weeks off to get back to normal. So last week he started me on ezetimibe because it's not a statin and typically does not have side effects. Big NO. Inside of 4 days on this medication, I had the beginnings of a gallbladder attack, blurred vision, extreme fatigue, extreme irritability, and both my legs from mid thigh down were CRIPPLED. I speed walk 12 miles a week, and cycle at least 40 miles a week. I went for my weekend bike ride and was absolutely tortured due to not being able to move my legs in order to cycle. In addition to that, I was completely wiped out by time I got home as if I was suffering from some major illness. Needless to say, I didn't take the pill after that. I'm not going to take anything. If you look up the natural/herbal version of this medicine, it does the same things. It's not about the medication itself, but how it works on your system. Im learning that some of these chemical functions of the body are dysfunctional but built into the overall operation of the system. You throw any kind of cog (medication, supplements, etc.) the body is going to revolt. I dont think there is a way to fix this. I dont care at this point, I want my body and energy back. It's been 36 hours off the pill and I feel somewhat better, but my physical body has not yet recovered- and that's after 4 days of this medication. My doctor says that I have "fluffy" cholesterol, not the kind that can plaque in my arteries- so I think I'll take my chances with my fluffy cholesterol over trying to change and interfere with my body's chemistry. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Connie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began in August taking this. Since then joint and muscle pain and weakness. Didn’t associate this med with that. I thought I would have to go in hosp. Can’t get up from sitting so weak. Stopped taking one day ago and already have improved. This should be banned!!! Worst experience I have ever had. My dr said was like fish oil. That is a pure lie! I have never been this bad. I thought was arthritis and it was not! My tongue swelled and not my tongue constantly. Cold symptoms too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reduced my cholesterol by 15% after taking it for 4 months. Little or no side effects. I am now in the normal range. Yippee. I am 73 years old and tried all forms of statins over the years but my body can't handle them. Recommend Ezetimibe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY blood work showed my bad Cholesterol to be in range but good Cholesterol to be a little low for what my Doctor wanted it to be. Prescribed this medication and after taking it for 8 days my vision was blurry. I stopped taking it and informed my Doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Belus | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/3/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I told my doctor that I only care about quality of life, not quantity. He does not care. when he gave me this he gloted about how much pain he was going to cause me. He is correct. Doctors these days are terrible. Pain in feet, legs, nausea, balance issues and all this when I already suffer plenty from polyneuropathy. I have to wonder if this doctor even cares about his patients.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
harmondavid45 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2023
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Muscle pain and weakness dizzy ness this drug is dangerous and should be removed from market

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trixie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know if this med improved my cholesterol levels or not, because the side effects were intolerable, so I discontinued it. My body reacted the same as with a statin I tried years ago. I ended up with considerable muscle aches in my legs and back, weird sharp pains in my heels, swollen hands and feet, early episodes of dizziness, increased depression. The swelling scared me the most; the rest was just very uncomfortable. Decided to take my chances with the high cholesterol. Still trying to come off this. Some improvement after being off for 2 days, but still having issues.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alan | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/24/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience with this is the same as with other statins. I have type 1 Diabetes and RA and Scleroderma. I can't function on this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started taking Zetia. No side effects. Won't get blood work for another month. Hopefully my bad cholesterol will decrease and good cholesterol will increase!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/19/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My brother who was 9 years younger than me died suddenly 4 years ago. I have always had high cholesterol. Went to cardiologist and went on statin and now taking this to avoid getting more plague. I'm grateful that I don't have any side effects from the two drugs I am on, and feel that I am doing something so that I am being proactive to avoid heart disease. I am 73 years old and feel vibrant and healthy. Hopefully this will add protection to avoid heart disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JeannieB | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My chloresterol isn't high but because of other issues my doctor has nagged for years to take statins. Having been unable to tolerate statins I changed to ezetimibe. The brain fog is awful, weird vivid dreams, so sleepy like taking sleeping tablets and you really don't need to know about the diarrhoea. I have decided my quality of life is better without them and until they come up with something better I will take my chances.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GrannyAnnie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2022
Condition: Heterozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having tried several others my Doctor gave me these. The first month seemed fine. It took away my desire to eat and I pooped more...both blessings ??. My heels and elbow skin hurt but I assumed it was for other reasons. I began to notice a tight band across my head and dizziness and confusion followed by lethargy and depression which I'd never experienced before. I took a few days the pills and all symptoms began to clear. I tried again but the symptoms returned. Don't know if they worked. Doctor never asked for a blood sample. From UK ???? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lyte_speed | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/27/2022
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps as an adjunct to decrease cholesterol levels a further 10%. No side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eric | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the medicaton was first prescribed to me by my doctor i had some dizzy spells from a statin medication to control cholestoerol. this medication caused severe brusing on the rear of the heels of both my feet, brusies staarted appearing afterwards on the bottom tips of my toes. Having seen my doctor the prognosis was chilblains. year 2 of this medication nothing got better only worse more toes where showing these blood blisters (bruising). on Feb 14 2022, nearly 2 years after the treatment began I took the step to stop this medication. we're now June 14th 2022. my feet are now back to normal 99.9%. If i could uplaod pictures of my heel and toes I would. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scott V. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Shortly after beginning this medication, I was diagnosed with gout after going to see the Dr. for my ankle swelling and excruciatingly painful. I didn't connect the gout with Ezetimibe until my 6th or 7th trip to the Dr. in about a 6 month period. I researched on sites like this and found no connection, then I googled "ezetimibe and gout" well lo and behold ezetimibe will increase uric acid levels, which causes gout. I quit taking the ezetimibe and the drug they gave me for lowering my uric acid levels (allopurinol) about a month ago. I haven't had a flare up since.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJK | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced terrible muscle and joint pain after one pill. Day 3 is stomach ache, this bottle is going in the trash.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debaz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Heterozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 4 mos cholesterol dropped 60 pts, triglycer 50 pts. Very pleased! No side effects. Couldn't tolerate statins felt like I was poisoned. So glad my gp suggested ezetimibe. Why didn't my cardiologist???? They just push statins.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
P C | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Ezetimibe for two weeks. I have always had high cholesterol although my HDL is outrageous, usually 150 +. I started a new med Stelara and was inactive for five months because of hip replacement surgery. I’ve been real active the past three months, walk three miles daily, take a Zumba class 3x’s a week and weight training every other day. I also stopped bread and potatoes because I was diagnosed pre-diabetic during my recovery. Labs three weeks ago indicated my cholesterol shot up to 347 from 236. The Ezetimibe made me have neuropathy in legs, hands and feet, hip pain in new joint and unbelievable back pain. Stopped five days ago but woke up with sinus/ respiratory problems and nausea today. Not good for someone with ulcerative colitis. This stuff is poison. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopesheart | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken other cholesterol meds for years, and labs are always great. Took this for 60 days; my labs are horrible in every area. I was shocked. See the endocrinologist tomorrow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pepe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2022
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started this Ezetrol and after 3 months discontinued. Dementia like confusion, , skin rashes, nightmares, general feeling unwell with continuous abdominal pain not resolved with pain medication, shoulder pain and a cough that hurt and produced sputum.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More