Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

72 People found this comment helpful

I had clear skin my entire life until I hit the age of 21. Suddenly I had horrible acne all over my cheeks, jawline and around the sides of my mouth (at all times, not just during period). It was so bad that I rarely left my room, and I wouldn't even let my boyfriend see me unless the lighting in the room was extremely dim. Suddenly, I stopped hanging out with friends and couldn't even bare going...

Most voted negative review

20 People found this comment helpful

clean kidneys

Shared reviews and ratings

Paige | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/12/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took spiro 100mg daily for two and a half years. I’m 26 years old and have had acne since I was 11. Small puppy acne along with the hormonal acne on the jaw line that seems to pop up a new pimple daily. It did relieve most of my cystic acne, but still continued to get three pimples a week. This medication caused me to lose my appetite, so much so that I had dropped a dangerous amount of weight. I’m 5’ 4” and had weighed 150lbs. After starting spiro, I dropped to 103lbs. I fainted many times and looked absolutely starved. This has also caused a lot of stomach pain for me while trying to gain weight back, I’m nervous to even find out what it’s done to my gut. Kidney stones do NOT run in my family. Yet, suddenly, I’ve had 6 bladder infections and 4 rounds of kidney stones. They claim it is easy on kidneys, but not if you are at a healthy weight!!!! I was parched no matter how much water I drank (195oz of water some days) and can’t stop peeing. You will have to pee every fifteen minutes and it will not even be a complete pee. Spiro also had a significant impact on my sanity. I lost my self confidence, depression ruled my life (no joke, the brink of suicide), anxiety so bad it caused me to self isolate and abandon everybody I had. This medication may not be for you. Nothing is worth dangerous weight loss, fainting, kidney stones, infections, or poor mental health. Best part is the doctors will just keep prescribing it and recommend you to a kidney specialist for stones and infections & a psychiatrist who will try putting you on antipsychotics. Taking one medication would have lead me to taking 5 EXTRAS because the doctors will not admit it was the spiro. Funny how none of those issues are a part of my life now that I stopped, besides my acne is back in full force. Don’t fall for the bandaid method, guys. I’m not sure how to get to the root cause, they will never help us actually balance our hormones. So acne it is…Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/11/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Any doctor who tells a woman this med can not cause weight gain is lying and/clueless. It blocks testosterone… a hormone you need for muscle mass. I eat very clean, workout and have weighed pretty much the same my entire life. I gained 5 lbs in 5 months, which doesn’t sound like much but freaked me out enough to take myself off it. Now off 8 months, I continue to gain and am now up to a 10 lbs gain. For the first time ever I have a belly and have developed a layer of fat on my hips. It will not budge, even on a pretty significant calorie deficit diet of fruits, vegetables and whole grains. No alcohol, sweets, sugary drinks or fast food. There is nothing more I can give up yet not only do I not lose, I continue to gradually gain. All of my doctors poo-poo my concerns saying 10 lbs. is not much, and my BMI is still good, but at this rate it will turn to 20 lbs., then 30 lbs. and I will be obese. This med “feminizes” the body, making it softer, rounder and flabby. When your muscle mass decreases so does your metabolism, slows your digestion and your ability to process estrogen so it continues to take over the balance of testosterone and progesterone. Isn’t that basic Bio 101?! If you are a woman and your doc prescribes this, RUN.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jb | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/9/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Part of my daily bp medication, can't say anything good or bad, the slight occasional swelling seems to be under control so it does it's job versus a harsher drug on the kidneys.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica Grecco | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spirolactone is the greatest medicine in removing and lowering my testosterone levels and makeing me feel like a lady again definitely ?? a million stars medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jodi S | 55-64 | Female | Patient
2/10/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused very bad gastritis, after 2 days of 2 x 25 mg my blood pressure was like a yo-yo extreme highs & lows

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lois | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this pill first day and 3 hours later called 911. Dizzy, nauseous, diarrhea, heart racing, palpitations and blood pressure skyrocketed to 192/112 when EMTs were here!!! Scary Poison!!! Beware!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
izzy.schoo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this pill for a month and a half now for hormonal acne. I can definitely tell that it is working however I have had some side effects I didn't realize until reading up on it. I haven't had my period in two months, I always feel dehydrated and the biggest inconvenience of them all is I always feel weak. I know I sometimes don't eat enough or have low iron but I constantly feel fatigued and tired and unable to wake up in the mornings and maintain energy throughout the day. I am going to continue taking this for my ance because the side effects are manageable but hope to get off of it as soon as possible. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Appalled8 | 19-24 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My adult child had a severe anaphylactic reaction to this medicine, had to be rushed to hospital via ambulance.Everything is ok but I could have list my child because they push this on young healthy people for acne. Unbelievable. So disgusted with the doctor who prescribed this to her and the makers of this dangerous product. Fyi my child never had am anaphylactic reaction to any substance ever. Never again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annoyed | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 50mgs for 3 months for acne, and it made my veins visible all over, extreme breasts tenderness, dizziness, and cold palms. If you have vein problems in your family, do not take this medication. I now have visible veins all over my legs, abdomen, chest, and on the sides of my stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jordan | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I remember researching and reading all the reviews when I started this medication only a few months ago. My acne started out of the blew in my mid 20's. This medication has completely changed my skin and I could not be more grateful. Staying consistent and not missing a dose often has made the biggest impact for me and I am so grateful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed spirono for cystic acne. I took this medication for about a year and a half. A year and I was feeling great then I started to experience severe headaches and severe dizziness every time I was on my period, the headaches were constant. Lately I have been having increased anxiety which led to several panic attacks at least once a day. These panic attacks have turned into depression as well. I do not recommend this drug.i reduced to 1 pill a day. I also have lost a few pounds because of the reduced water weight. Today is my first day completely off. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
paige123 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a female. I take this medication for severe cystic acne i had all over my lower face. I will say it did take MONTHS for everything to clear but after those first few months I get not a single blemish or breakout EVER. I see a lot of articles online about spironolactone and how long it takes to become effective and I would just like to say as long as it takes to work - it is 100% worth it and you can take it long term with no problem. I started taking it at maybe age 21 when I first experienced severe cystic acne, tried coming off it as a few years passed and alllllll the acne came back and was even worse because I also came off BC. I am back on BC, spiro, and use tretinoin and now strangers compliment my skin!! So bottom line is it's worth the wait and don't get antsy once it works and try coming off of it. My only thing is I can get lightheaded when I strenuously exercise especially if I don't eat something beforehand. That's it. Give it a try if you have severe or even moderate acne. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James H | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2022
Condition: heart failure with reduced ejection fraction
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Spiro for low ejection fraction and hypertension. Within two weeks my blood Potassium was in the high critical level. Was about to be hospitalized. Stopped taking spiro and Potassium dropped to a reasonable level. If you find yourself taking this, be sure your potassium is monitored.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm OBSESSED with Spiro. I started taking it around two years ago, due to really bad cystic acne. Spiro not only cleared my skin after a few months of use, but helped with other PCOS symptoms of mine as well. I lost weight and felt way less anxious and depressed. I think that Spiro should be prescribed to a lot more people with PCOS. I LOVE THIS PILL!!!! :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jonmwagner171@g | 45-54 | Transgender | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/20/2022
Condition: Male Pattern of Hair Distribution or Hirsutism in a Woman
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take this medication to lower my testosterone level. My initial labs show my testosterone level at 700. After 6 months my labs showed a level of 12.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roseyelephant | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on 25mg for acne and it was the worst medication experience of my life, and I have been on antipsychotics for crying out loud! It made so tired. Like I could feel it in my bones. I napped all day on and off. I felt like I was in a daze and hungover. I could hardly get off of the couch. I am not kidding that I was so tired at some points that I just cried. My mental health took a dive because I wasn't getting outside due to my fatigue. My acne actually got worse in the 3-4 weeks that I was on it because my face was pressed against a pillow or my hands when I napped for so long each day. My blood pressure was normal and I drank a ton of water but I was constantly parched and had to pee so freaking much. Not worth it at all for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Daze | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Accumulation of Fluid caused by Cirrhosis of the Liver
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well to reduce fluid accumulation after a TIPS procedure. It does tend to make me sleepy and I usually end up napping within an hour after taking my daily dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan K | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication for adult acne, It started out fine, but my menstrual cycles became more frequent and heavy, at almost 50 years old I had them every 2 weeks, very heavy and painful. I still had some acne pop up here and there. I now stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
burdbird | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking a 50mg pill daily for my acne starting in December 2021. My acne was pretty mild but would increase in number around my period. My dermatologist suggested I try this out. I’ve been on it for around 9 months now and rarely ever get pimples anymore, not even during my period. I did notice slight breast swelling in the first month or so, but that seemed to go away. Other than that, no side effects. Couldn’t ask for a better experience

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jekeowkwlxkxks | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication had no effect on my skin, and I was taking it for acne. I was on it for about 3 months and noticed my mental health was completely ruined. I disassociated constantly and never felt right. I would get so lightheaded and pass out multiple times a week, something that I had never experienced before. I continued taking them for 6 months before I stopped. I have been off the meds for 4 years now and still would say my brain still has not recovered.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More