Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

57 People found this comment helpful

I suffer for over two years with chronic pain. None of the pain pills prescribe seem to make the pain bearable. I was refer to pain management. That was the best thing my doctors did. I explain the severe pain I was in. Felt as though, I refer to it as my little man who had my entire body in a vise from head to toe and squeezing my whole body with unbelievable force to the point of me staying in b...

Most voted negative review

25 People found this comment helpful

My wife was a user of the Fentanyl patch for over ten years. It may have been effective in easing her pain but it also was the leading cause of her death. PLEASE, PLEASE, for your family, and yourself, check out the side effects of using this drug. If you experience ANY of the effects of this drug like, dizziness, fainting, nausea or hallucinations, let someone know right away, it may save your li...

Shared reviews and ratings

Cat in Carlsbad | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/13/2024
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using these patches made by a different manufacturer for a long time. The most recent refill I picked up were made by Mallinkrodt and I’m finding the patches are not working at all for me. It’s like stepping backward into the days that Payne was not even treated. This means at least a whole month of my life will be back to severe untreated, pain levels.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cousin Kay | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed a 50mg patch for pain relief. It made me really poorly - nausea, vertigo, shivering, rapid heart beat. I was supposed to take it over three days but removed the patch after one day and contacted my doctor who the prescribed a 25mg patch. I tried that but again felt dreadful and was unable to move from my chair for several hours which was very difficult because my husband suffers from Alzheimer disease. It transpires that I am allergic to Fentanyl but who knew? I didn't and my doctor (who is very good) didn't. Be careful with this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Passway | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/3/2023
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mallinkrodt made an excellent patch which would damper pain continually over a three-day period. The pharmacy switched to a patch made by Mylan pharmaceuticals. The difference was so drastic, I found it hard to believe there was any medication in the patch at all. Most anyone who truly suffers from chronic pain will agree that death is preferable to a life of chronic pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/20/2023
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Fentanyl fit six years now and it works for me. My only problem is finding it. My doctor told I could have a stroke or heart attack if I'm doing withdrawals without help from other meds. I can't find it anywhere. Are you having problems too?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BROKEDADDY | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/16/2023
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chronic pain due to my physical degenerative conditions and surgeries has forced me to use opioids to stay on my feet. A combination of fentanyl Patch along with hydrocodone for breakthrough pain. I was Initially prescribed the 50µg/H patch per 3-days. Though the pain was almost completely gone, so was alertness and physical ability. The real complication appeared during the 2016-17 Federal & State regulation changes which caused Big Pharma to stop shipping patches for almost 3 months, sending patients into Withdrawal. This was a blessing in disguise! I was determined to not go through these symptoms again, and when shipping resumed, I asked my pain Mgt. Doctor to prescribe the 12.5µg/H patch. Along with the 10/325mg Hydrocodone, I could function, though having to 'suck-up' some measure of breakthrough pain. However over the next few years the patch dosage needed to be increased to the 25µg/H patch where it is today. My issue is with the quality between brands. There is definitely a difference in quality among different brands of the Fentanyl Transdermal Patch. In my experience, I've used the Mallinckrodt and Mylan generic brands with the latter not being as consistent in medication dosage and and delivery versus the others. The DURAGESIC brand made by Ortho-McNeil/Janssen is by far the preferred name brand by by Hospitals for overall quality. Among genetics, the Mallinckrodt is better but not as good as the Duragesic. The Mylan is among the worst and probably the cheapest for pharmacies to buy- though we pay the same in direct purchase or in Insurance Co-pays. The Mylan being the most inconsistent, Is weaker in strength, and generally starts to wear off by the end of Day 1 barely working by the end of Day-2, I've applied a few that seemed to be nothing more than a piece of 'scotch tape' in disguise. These are supposed to be 3-Day dosages with consistent hourly medication release. My Dr. changed my Rx to 1 patch per 2-Days as a result. At some point soon, I'm afraid that I'll be increasing the dosage to the 37.5µg/H patch. Stay Well, and don't over do it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DJ Web | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/10/2023
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this patch since 2005 and it works great

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeffery Mills | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Fentanyl when it and several other opioid drugs were being pushed by "Drs."and mine in Indiana almost killed me three times. I was on a Fentanyl 100, 10.5 Lortabs, 40 mg Oxycodone and Seroquel,forgot mg',s. I took myself off of the patch and to this day I will sweat,in the cold air. I can't sleep during these times. I was poked in my spine during a test prior to surgery and got INSTANT sciatica. I'm not on all the crap now. Cannabis,10.25 Norco 3 times a day and I feel every time I can't control my body temp.Fentanyl for 12 years is where I feel my problem lies.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cboz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/15/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The patch provides the best paln relief for my condition. However not all brands work the same. The best patch that I have used is no longer available. The one l am using know is the stiff plastic and does not stick to my skin sometimes coming loose after only 24 hours and will not reattach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vickie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/12/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It just seems to me that Fentanyl Patches are not all created equal. Some seem to work better than others. Some seem to give good pain relief while others don’t seem to help at all! They are so expensive and therefore should be trusted to give optimal pain relief all the time, not just sometimes. Most of the time they work pretty well but not always. I hope I’m getting good quality patches. I really need the pain relief and depend on them to deliver. Thank you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rod H. | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using fentanyl patches since the late 90s consistently till today. Tried different brands of same doses. But mylan 75 mcg fentany pain patches are "half-the size" of other brands with the same dose. This is an insult on various levels, or internal mistake that needs to be addressed!!! Mylan 75 mcg fentanyl patches are not the same as other brands that are twice the size. I'm still in too much pain for laughter. Trust Me, I'm Painfully Outraged.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have kyphoscoliosis 40 degree, also degenerative discs, and osteoporosis, so chronic pain been on opiates 25+ years! Had fusions done, had a pump delivering Morphine direct into spinal canal. Been on Fentanyl Duragesic about a year and taking oramorph. Patches don't last 3 days, don't deliver an equal dose, do come off after sweating attacks, do cause memory problems! Help with the pain 1st day only!! Don't use them stay on alternatives if possible, I am reverting to slow release Morphine. Can't lay down, can't walk, low quality life. Fentanyl is a very dangerous drug!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WGille | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/8/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a super rapid metabolized and most opiates are used so rapidly that no matter the drug or dose gives me little benefit. 200 mcg fentanyl via patch has given me living to my life. Without it I am totally bed/bound and miserable, with it I can volunteer, attend college, go to church and live a full life. Over 20 years the only time I have issues is when a doctor switches to a new medication. Or reduces the dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karl Tollefsen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/19/2021
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would just like to warn people who are using transdermal fentanyl patches. If you are given the Apotex Brand patches do NOT accept them. They are the worst patches out there. I was unfortunately I tried them and it they did not work at all. There is very little or no fentanyl in them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
QuiltDoc | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/20/2020
Condition: severe chronic pain with opioid tolerance
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This review is specific to APOTEK's 100 mcg patch. I had to change from Brand name (Pt assist program) back to generics. No prob used them in the past without difficulties. LOVE Matrix patches!! But I was given APOTEX brand, no issue at first, they stuck better than any others. But was having increased pain at 36hrs in and withdrawal symptoms and inc pain on 3rd day. This had NEVER happened before with any generic or brand. Had my routine random drug screen done on day 3 of patch by and blood showed NO FENTANYL in my system!! Repeated test 24hrs into patch, good levels! Samething with rest of box and next box (all same lot). Prev to this I LOVE the patches, easy to use, great pain managment! SO beware of possible issues with APOTEX 100mcg Fentanyl PatchesRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ktmd9278 | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/22/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using the fentanyl patches since the 1990s for chronic pain from bone mets. I'm also a medical professional so am educated and have a lot of experience and knowledge in this area. I also use oral fentanyl as well when I am really in a lot of pain. The original version of the patches from Janssen, Mallinckrodt, Saunders and a couple others left many patients with problems due to the patches falling off, skin rashes or infections and subsequent non delivery of medication transdermal. The next generation of patches from Mylan, Apotex, Alvogen and several others use a matrix system which does not use the alcohol gel system used originally. This made for smaller, thinner, more flexible patches with greater increased ahesiveness. One trick to ensure that your patches adhere well is to wash and dry the area well with antibacterial soap and then swab with acetone to remove any trace of old adhesive, lotion, oil, etc. Also, the patches adhere best to your lower abdomen (around your belly button) and make sure there is no hair. I have heard from a great many MDs and patients alike that they need to change their patches every 48-hours rather than 72-hours. I have noticed that this works best for me as well. I have never had ANY side effects or complications from this medication. It has allowed me to have a semblance of my life back. I would not change my medication for any reason. I would recommend evaluation by a board certified pain management specialist to determine a best course of treatment for each individual patient. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chell Bear | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/11/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked for me BUT NOT EVERY 72HOURS I do suffer from end of dose failure and have to use every 48 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fernj25 | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2019
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has taken a very long time to be able to receive a fentanyl prescription for my intractable pain. I am relatively young to have the health issues I have and i think that often causes a delay in getting productive treatment. I am now able to once again do things like do my own grocery shopping and to cook for my family. I am able to help my youngest daughter in the shower to wash her hair and make sure she bathes properly. Heck, I am able to get I'm and out of the shower and wash my own hair.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jax103 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/10/2019
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Matrix is found outside the patch on the plastic sheet. Wonder it they are over loaded or poorly manufactured.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kayosan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/16/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a chronic pain patient this is an excellent medication I have been taking it for over ten years. Having a steady amount of pain medication is key for a pain patient. This drug has saved & given me a livable quality of life. I was in so much pain I could only live my life ten minutes at a time there was nothing but pain in every joint in my body. I could barely walk. today I am going to college. This is a serious drug something to take serious, DO NOT change your pain medication on your own trust me when I say this is bigger than you taken improperly can kill you. Increase your fluid intake (water) be aware this medication can cause constipation. If you have not had a bowel movement in two days contact your doctor. It is very important all your treating doctors know you are taking this medication. If possible, have only 1 doctor manage your pain meds. I will only accept a prescription from my rheumatologist if anyone wants to change my dosage they have to get his permission. Most important only tell people that need to know you are taking this medication, I keep my patches locked in a personal safe you can get one from Walmart.   Excellent medication for around the clock pain relief. The patient will not have periods of pain due to low levels of medication their system I have never felt high or euphoria while taking medication. Read the side effects how to apply patches and how to disposel Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fenale43 | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2017
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on fentanyl for years. I have curvature of the spine, due to an untreated follow up of physio, when I broke my shoulder as a teenager. Fentanyl makes things manageable. It doesn't remove the pain completely, but enough that I can get out of bed 50% of the time unaided. Without the patch, the pain is so debilitating and horrific.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More