Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

105 People found this comment helpful

I have to tell you I was afraid of this medicine after I read all the aboves stories but I am here to tell you that I do not have any of those systems. I have been on it for two weeks and am taking 20MG a day. Please don't be afraid it works different for all. Good Luck.

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

prednisone pyschosis- google it... this is a very dangerous drug and it is being prescribed for skin rashes???? seriously, let's let our love affair w/ the drug companies go... we are so over medicated it makes me sick... wake up america!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2023
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did nothing for my lower back pain. If this is the best we can do then I’ll do nothing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mommy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/18/2023
Condition: Bronchiolitis Obliterans with Organizing Pneumonia
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this drug on 10mg and it was so scared that my anxiety was so high my heart rate was fast and fluttering I couldn’t calm I was shaky I was prescribed for shortness of breath and coughing and pain after I was in the ER the doctor give it to me and sent home about 2 hours later my side effects was so horrible I couldn’t sleep I call the doctor ER and all they told me to stop right away sent I am only on the first dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2023
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I get a rheumatoid arthritis flare, this is the only thing that helps. I’m thankful I don’t get too many flares but I am so happy that I can take this prednisone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with bronchitis. Severe wheezing. I was started on 3 days 60mg prednisone with a taper after the 3 days. I made it 2 days barely. I suffered with severe side effects. All were mental health related I believe. Severe anxiety with significant tightening of chest, panic feeling. Sweating, irritable, agitated, fearful, tremulous, racing thoughts. I am a very level headed person and I truly believed I was having a mental health crisis. I was told to stop. I did. Only 2 days at 60 caused this. I am now 48 hours without any. I am still not myself. A bit better and hopefully on mend. This was and still is very scary. I was unable to work for 3 days so far due to the reaction. I am sharing my experience not to scare people but to offer hope! If you have similar symptoms you are not loosing your mind! It could be side effects that will resolve. Just make sure you talk to your doc. I could stop immediately bc only on for 2 days. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adrienne S | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/29/2023
Condition: Vocal Cord Swelling
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use a low dose of this drug for both severe asthma exacerbations and vocal chord spasms. I am aware of the long term effects and so far I have been able to tolerate the drug pretty well. I am just sick and tired of doctors treating this drug like an opioid and making it difficult to come by! I pretty much have to order the drug via foreign pharmacy just to have enough in between prescriptions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael Fash | 75 or over | Male | Patient
3/26/2023
Condition: Group of Skin Disorders that Resemble Blisters
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 5 hrs the medication was working. Not only did it help my itchy skin but relieved my asthma problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CT | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2023
Condition: Inflammation of Skin and Muscles All Over the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered severe edema and rashes that started at my ankles and worked up my legs to my torso on two occasions. Topical steroids were largely or completely ineffective after months of applications that included suppressing my immune system to the point of phenomena. I self prescribed three days of prednisone of 40mg, then 20, and then 20 for three days. The leg edema and red swollen rashes cleared completely. My PCP was most irritated but my legs are in the best condition they have been for over five years. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crystal Za | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2023
Condition: Bronchiolitis Obliterans with Organizing Pneumonia
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken prednisone on four different occasions for three different health concerns, the first time I took it was to see if my nasal polyps would decrease in size. It helped my nasal polyps, but I didn’t want to take it long-term and I decided to get polyp, and Sinus surgery instead. The second and third time I took prednisone was before and after my sinus surgery and that was to reduce swelling before and after surgery. My fourth time taking prednisone was because I’ve developed bronchitis after having a sinus infection and I was getting asthma and severe coughing Every day multiple times a day and I was resorting to using my inhaler multiple times a day just to be able to breathe when I went to my doctor. He prescribe prednisone as a bronchodilator and it helped tremendously by day two of the five day treatment plan I no longer had a cough, and I could breathe beautifully . I will say side effect wise. It does give me a bit of an upset stomach as well as acid reflux and the first three times that I took it. I took it for two weeks, and I definitely did see an increase in my weight but overall, it’s been a very effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justnp | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects of this medication after my 2nd day were extreme anxiety/depression , dizziness, nausea increase in bloodsugar , Im constantly shaking I feel like I'm spiraling out my mind I stopped taking it immediately I hope to feel normal soon this isn't worth it cost me my relationship n if the symptoms don't go away soon maybe my job

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
12/30/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am writing on behalf of my Mom. Dx w RA at 34 yrs old. Allergic to all conventional treatment medications at that time so was put on long term low dose prednisone for over 40years. Even when in later years when able to take biological was able to reduce prednisone somewhat but not off completely due to other complicating factors for the biological. One side effect for long term usage is it thins the skin severely- like tissue paper. Also found out it does the same thing to the bowel walls. She ended up with multiple bowel obstructions from the bowel contents leach8ng out through the bowel walls and her body trying to confine the infection by setting up a walled off abscess. This would need to be surgically removed. She developed fistulas tracking trom her bowel to the skin surface and into her vagina. Ultimately, with so many bowel obstructions she ended up with an idle ostomy and had only 4 feet of good bowel remaining. The last 10 years of her life were hell and hospital visits and stays. Because she had hardly any bowel to digest her food, she was chronically undernourished, despite eating 6-8 times a day, and she was always hungry. She was chronically dehydrated despite drinking constantly, and it never satiated her never ending thirst. Once she ate or drank, the contents would shoot out of the ostomy undigested to the amount of 8-10 litres every day. Because of the large output the ostomy bag came off repeatedly every day and night. My parents were a slave to having to change the bag regardless off it being day or night! Never mind preparing and feeding her and filling drinks. Both of my parents were always optimistic and persevered with a smile always even though they were severely sleep deprived often. So when you advocate for more doctors to prescribe long term prednisone usage instead of other available medications, like the expensive biologics, be careful what you wish for. In addition to the thin skin and bowel walls, my beautiful mother developed a round swollen ‘moon’ face and the ‘buffalo’ hump on her upper back. Ant still with all those years on the prednisone she still ended up with knarled deformed fingers and still experienced osteoporosis arthritis. Hurrah for the biologics! I only wish they had been available for my Mom 30-40 years ago. She passed from complications with the ostomy 6 months ago and I would do anything to have her been able to experienced a better quality of life than she did using prednisone for soooo long.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/23/2022
Condition: Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have COPD, so whenever I get a flair up, I immediately start my Predisone, the first day , I take 20 mg twice a day, the second day, I cut down to 15 mg twice a day, the third day , I cut down to 20 mg twice a day for three days, then decrease dose to 7.5 mg twice a day for 3 days, then decrease to 5 mg twice a day for 3 days, then, decrease to 2,5 mg once a day for 3 days. My doctor has supplied me with as needed prescription, so I do not have to call him for a script all the time. By slowly decreasing the dose, you’d o not get any bad side effects. While on the prednisone, I do get slight weight gain, because it makes me so darn hungry, insomnia is also a side effect, but it gives you lots of energy and I feel like a million bucks while I’m on it, takes away all arthritic pain too. I usually have to take it about 3 times a year, when I have a flair up. It has kept me out of the ER many times.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Humira | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
12/4/2022
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never in the world take this drug.it does not do nothing only thing it does is swoll u up and the insurance pay for it . I have chrons for 21 years trust me.just get surgery in your bad intensine but thing you could ever do ……

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/18/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had RA for 4 years trying all the drugs ra doctors want you to try prednisone is the only thing that works. Best drug for my condition but doctors always trying to stop me from taking it for the more expensive ones.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EddieH | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/15/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish there was more research on Low Dose Prednisone. Most of the bad side effects are from anything over 10mg. I use this for extreme chronic lower back pain and joint flares. I take 5mg/day. I go off and on since there is so much hype about side effects but I know some older docs who use to put patients on low low dose for years. If your over 65 and in severe pain and a low dose of this keeps you going what's the trade off? I think that since there is no money in it, research will never show its benefits. They want you to take the expensive Biologics instead. Like they dont have side effects? Have you listened to the commercials? They hardest part is finding the doctors that are amenable to prescribing low dose for long periods. If you find that doctor I hope you will post their name to help all us achey old people. Thank you all for your posts, they are so helpful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2022
Condition: Rheumatic Fever
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first took prednisone for Rheumatic fever when I was 12. I got the moon face and that went away but it saved my life. At 26 I got a virus and it went to my lungs and ended up on life support. Prednisone once again saved my life. Now in my 60’s if I develop any lung infections I take prednisone. It works and when you are done, it leaves your system.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jod | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Giant Hives
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed prednisone for 9 days for a bad skin rash that was from taking bactrim. Skin rash cleared up quickly. As soon as I tapered off prednisone, I started with all over body aches and muscle soreness with spasms. I never had muscle pains like these before! Been off the steroid for 5 days and body aches/ muscle aches still going! It also has flared up my arthritis is my upper back and neck!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has taken me from embarrassing stiffness and pain to feeling much younger by at least 10 years! Thank goodness for it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Muscle Pain and Stiffness in Shoulder, Neck and Pelvis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would be basically bedridden if I didn't have this drug. This works miracles for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms.Zeni | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Muscle Pain and Stiffness in Shoulder, Neck and Pelvis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had severe neck and shoulder pain due to a pinched nerve in my cervical spine (C5-C7) doctor prescribed 2-20mg for 5 days. Let me tell you this was a game changer for me. Not only did it relieve the tingling pain on my neck, shoulders and arms it help with my seasonal allergies. Doc recommended take first thing in the morning with food so I don't get insomnia. Prednisone worked for me, no issues what so ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Derm, retired | 75 or over | Male | Patient
4/2/2022
Condition: Sarcoidosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

40 mg/day. 2x recommended for average patient, I am 80 yo at 130#* First night 1:30 AM WIRED. After 3 days I decreased to 30 when I should have discontinued. 2 more days and I stopped it. As it worked very well 40 years ago (Sarcoid), I will likely have to restart at appropriate dose, 10 mg. See ERS Clinical practice guideline* 2021 Eur Res[or K 2-21; 58:20024079 Ephoria, energized, full of great ideas and ready to implement all. SleepCycle app showed a drop from 86 to 44. PILOT App USAA car insurance showed a drop from 98 to 20 AND loss of 240$ discount the app said i was ro get. It was a great experience, for me, to go through the stages, albeit too rapidly, which my wife and sister in law had after back injection and oral pills for back pain and asthma, respectively. It was clear, as my MariaBamford.com daughter with MD2 pointed out, friends/family are slow to recognize you are going down toward full mania. Finally a work partner (Michael Jon Bayer Dermatology) called my son in law, "Mark, come drive Joel home. I do not think he is safe to drive home.." Very thankful for surviving and, temptingly, enjoyed the ride. Reading about psychosis rather frightening also. As a dermatologist, retired 2012, I had used it for severe eczema and poison ivy, but never hear or was aware of these two severe consequences. Indeed, how many have had episodes and were mis diagnosed with a mental diagnosis rather than AE, Adverse Drug Reaction.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More