Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

80 People found this comment helpful

This drug has saved my sanity. I have been on and off Effexor 3 or 4 times. If you do not go off of this drug slowly it can cause terrible side effects. If taken as the doctor prescribes, it is great.

Most voted negative review

27 People found this comment helpful

This drug was terrible for me. Started with 37.5mg and almost immediately had tremors. Going down stairs, legs wobbling..... stopped immediately.

Shared reviews and ratings

Megan | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/17/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The generic form of Effexor was prescribed to me for major depressive disorder, PTSD, and anxiety. I was on it for about 3 years and it worked quite well. The issue was, I gained about 100 pounds and it took about 6 months to get off of it. I had the worst withdrawal symptoms of any antidepressant I’ve ever taken. FOR 6 MONTHS. it was horrible and because of that, I will never ever take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
c | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/20/2024
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Imagine being in a toxic relationship with a medication. It makes you feel good, but god forbid you forget about it for one day and you are destroyed by it. I wish i was being dramatic. This was a life saving drug for me, its helping me overcome agoraphobia. Its made my window of tolerance finally open up. Im going out again! But on the other hand if i forget to take my dose at the right time, and forget to take it for the guts of two hours of the right time, it will make my anxiety 1000 times worse and make me have debilitating nausea, diarrhea, headaches, shakiness, brain zaps etc for the next few days. Im not sure if it was worth it going on this medication. I feel like a drug addict, i feel lied to by my doctor and i feel finally more free of anxiety (on the days i dont run out of medication or forget to take it at the right time). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/7/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for vestibular migraines. Was on it from April 2018 until August 2022. Past history- I detoxed off benzos in 2010 also quit drinking. Diagnosed in April 2018 with vm. I thought the reviews about withdrawals were exaggerated mainly because a benzo detox is horrendous. I was wrong. I wish I trusted the reviews. It made me severly depressed apathetic. Lost my job due to covid layoffs. I went through my savings because I had no feelings. Coming off it was hell. Electric shocks, severe anxiety. My memory is still horrendous. I get over whelmed easily. I have been sober 13.5 years and I can honestly say taking venlafaxine was the worse decision I ever made. I wish the Nuerologist recommended magnesium glycinate and other vitamins before trying this. She immediately prescribed venlafaxine claiming it is the only med proven to pull me out of chronic vm. I still had migraines on the med. I just wasn't walking on a boat anymore. This prescription should only be used for people with severe depression and agoraphobia. It changed my brain chemistry. I no longer laugh and I lost my creative side. I no longer can day dream. I was a functioning migrainer before I took this med. I may not have been functioning like someone without migraines but I was definitely functioning more than I was on it and off it. I also gained 75 pounds had edema in my legs. It was fast the moment I was upped to 150mg is when I gained alot of weight. It also caused restless legs. Fatigue. And sweat would pour out of my scalp. Weird thing is my temp ran very low previous to taking venlafaxine. For migrainers I would try something else. It isn't worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/28/2024
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this for 2 years for OCD and Depression and noticed great results. Felt like the first drug to work after trying what feels like everything. I did have to bump up the dose a few times because my depression would come back but my OCD was almost entirely resolved which gave my life back. For that this drug has been amazing. One thing to note is you CANNOT miss a dose with this. It will mess you up for a few days mood wise, brains zaps, and feel all around crazy. I heard weening off is awful too. But if used consistently it works!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2024
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I had doctors last week and described my depression anxiety headache's I’ve been having that wakes me up out my sleep scared to leave the house standing in stores or places would make me freak out so my doctor thought this medication would be best since it works for a lot of what I described so I said ok that’s fine I’ll try it only 37.5 msg for 14 days then 75 msg after the 14 days are up he did explain how it works and also said I can stop it at anytime so Thursday I started it when I got home I felt fine next day I wake up take it took my kids to school I was fine on the way back home I got like a cold shock going on in my Legs so I said WTH so I got home and started doing research on the medication and now I will never know if it was meant for me or now because I stopped it and contacted my doctor now we are figuring out another solution for me just thankful i didn’t let it affect my body to where I got the withdrawal from this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/8/2024
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on 75mg to start, then wanted off of it, and was put on 37.5mg, and weaning myself. I currently take it once then skip 2 days, then repeat until gone. Side effects for me are blurry vision, brain shocks, dizziness,and nauseous. I'll never take this ever again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VM PPPD | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/5/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken it for Vestibular Migraine complicated by PPPD. Started with 75mg and increased to 150mg. Conditioned resolved gradually after 8-12 weeks. Side effects go away after 2 weeks from increasing the dose. Took it for one year and then reduced gradually over another 12 months by opening the capsule and removing pellets slowly using precise scales. Did not experience any withdrawal symptoms. If you suffer from this condition, do not hesitate to start treatment immediately. Unless you want to suffer for years.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2024
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Effexor truly changed my life. I have been on 150 mg for almost 3 years! My anxiety has been very manageable and controllable ever since. The only side effects I notice is a very high amount of sweating while I sleep, and my alcohol tolerance is very obviously lower.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justin u. | 19-24 | Male | Patient
1/23/2024
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Literally saved my life, it does cause me to have high blood pressure. But I’ve been on this medication for two years and it’s life changing for the good!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Xane | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2024
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken Effexor in the morning and about 12 hours later when i came home from work something happened and i was sent into almost like psychosis for the next 12 hours and then i was fine for the most part, reason it happened im guessing is drug interactions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took one 37.5 mg last night. Could not sleep at all. Never have I felt so sick in my life. Tremors, dry mouth, massive migraine. It's horrible! Will NEVER take this again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
francis | Male | Patient
12/12/2023
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since I took the medicine my pain has gotten worse. I have pain I never had before. I will discontinue the medication tonight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fredrick | 19-24 | Other | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/28/2023
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was gud. It heps me be less scared.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Valley4 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/9/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Effexor for a month and accidentally missed a dose one night. Just from missing one dose, it gave me withdrawal symptoms that lead me into the Emergency Room 2 nights in a row. It was the worst experience of my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/26/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just be aware if it doesn’t work for you, have fun getting off of it. Terrible side effects. It shouldn’t be legal. Let this be your warning. I wish someone had warned me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Citalopram for 12 years but it stopped working My Doctor changed me on to Effexor No side effects what so ever now on 225 mg and back at work Thank you Effexor it saved my life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/20/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on venlafaxine for a little over a year after bring diagnosed with major depressive disorder. Started at the lowest dose of 37.5mg and ended up going all the way to 150mg. It was awful getting on the drug and even worse going up. I don’t think this is the drug I needed and possibly was misdiagnosed, so that could be why it didn’t work in my favor. Long story short, this drug caused me to test positive for PCP and made me behave in ways I have never before. It was a long spiral downhill from beginning to end and had to work very hard to get my life back on track. It was definitely a huge learning experience for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/17/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is horrible , made me feel crappy. I only took one pill and I felt like I was going crazy. Severe nausea , trembling , hot flashes . My dr or the pharmacist never told me about it being highly addictive and hard to come off . Never ever taking anything again !!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Venlafaxine | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible side effects and even worse are the withdrawals. It's almost impossible to get off this drug without horrific withdrawal symptoms. On top of that, most doctors dismiss your side effects, don't know how to taper you off this drug and when you get withdrawals they blame it on your original condition (relapse) or diagnose you with something else adding more drugs. It should be criminal what these doctors are doing to people.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/17/2023
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially placed on 75 mg for mild depression due to the change of life. A different doctor suggested I go up to 225 mg stating it could help me with dizziness issues. Worst thing I ever did. I’m in a living hell trying to get off this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More