Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

Starting BP was 180/110 at times. Was started on metoprolol which was still giving me readings up around 160/100. I was switched to Irbesartan a few months ago and it's been very effective on its own. I get readings around 110/68 and have had no side effects. I am currently on the highest dosage but my readings are low enough, I'll be starting to cut it in half.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

upset stomach, bad taste in mouth, cough. the bad taste stays most of the time

Shared reviews and ratings

JB | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Previously on Losartan 50mg twice daily for high blood pressure. It did not keep my BP within normal limits. My dr. switched me to Irbesartan 300mg daily, which keeps my BP controlled. I have been on it for less than 1 month. So far so good. I may be shedding hair a little more than usual. No other side effects noted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Livia | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/13/2023
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe muscle pain in my left arm about 30 minutes after I take it. Lasts for hours. We have lowered the dosage to see if that would help. I’m just switching bp meds altogether. I need my rest and this arm pain is ridiculous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Harry L. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/24/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr started me with highest dose. After 60 days started feeling dizzy and weak from both legs. Was getting muscle soreness on my left arm running from neck to wrist. Stopped taking meds all side effects disappeared. Attempted again with half pill and the muscle soreness returned. Will try homeopathic remedies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/3/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on iberstartan 75 mg . Then the doctor Raised it to 150 mg for the last 6 months as my blood pressure went high .my eyesight started going blurred . My right leg for months was aching and the last month muscles in my lower back and legs were aching came off 4 days ago and eyesight better and no pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teresa | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/1/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 75 mg and had no side effect till my blood pressure went high and I was put on 150 mg - all my muscles in my back and legs hurt couldn’t walk .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hukson | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/5/2022
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAIRLOSSS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/8/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was put on ibersartan when valsartan was recalled. shortly thereafter I developed severe heartburn and hair loss. I didnâ??t realize Ibersartan was causing it but after recently switching to another blood pressure med the heartburn and hair loss stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Minnie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is not good for me because it makes me dizzy, headaches, tired and wants to sleep, it doesn’t ?lower my blood pressure. I keep waiting for improvement, but none after taking it for 10 days the pressure is still 158/95. I going to see doctor again in 10 days if no charge I will be asking for another medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dlow | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/21/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe itching with this medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SherryS. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/1/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this medication about the time of the recall. It works better than any other BP medications I have taken so I opted to continue taking it. No side effects and BP around 120/70 consistently.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jsurp | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/30/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken the highest dose of this drug and it has had zero effect on my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abcmom | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Starting BP was 180/110 at times. Was started on metoprolol which was still giving me readings up around 160/100. I was switched to Irbesartan a few months ago and it's been very effective on its own. I get readings around 110/68 and have had no side effects. I am currently on the highest dosage but my readings are low enough, I'll be starting to cut it in half.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jb | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/17/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

im taking metrprolol with ibasartan so I need to check with my dr about interactions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/22/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seemed to have less side effects from others Ive tried,yet still needed to up the dose. Now on top dose not only have my muscles started to ache, I have itchy eyes, sore gums and my hair has started to fall out. Im off to Docs this wk and off these tabs forever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barb | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

upset stomach, bad taste in mouth, cough. the bad taste stays most of the time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SARA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

FOR THE FIRST TWO WEEKS IT LOOKED OK, BUT AFTER THAT MY MUSCLES BECAME WEAK AND PAINFUL, I WALK FEELING PAIN IN MY LEGS AND HAVE NO ENERGY. WILL GO TO THE DOCTOR TO CHANGE THIS MED.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within one month of starting irbesartan, my hair started falling out and continued to do so until I stopped taking it and went back to my brand name drug. Upon stopping irbesartan, my hair grew back in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
susangg | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 150 mg and it was increased by 75 mg to 225 and I think my hair is falling out! Anyone else have such a problem!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HMH | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/15/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Quickly brought BP down, have cut pill into three and BP is 125/80,I am 71. HOWEVER,I am having severe discomfort with burning sensations in arms and chest,weird feelings,like skin on fire,have lost lots of energy. Am meeting with the Specialist to discuss,maybe I can go off meds totally?? Three Months on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiki | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have insomnia, body aches, fatigue, nightmares

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More