Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I had acute radiation proctitis (inflamed rectum--a side effect from pelvic radiation). Proctofoam greatly relieved my discomfort.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

bad

Shared reviews and ratings

Kathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worse applicator I have ever seen. Hard to fill the dispenser with the foam. It overflows out of the aerosol container. More has overflowed than has been used. Copay was expensive. Will never use again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CR | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2023
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've just started using proctofoam but once I got medicine inserted it seem to work well the worst 2 things are instructions are difficult and it's pricey but I will let you know once I've finished. I would definitely buy again if it works because hemorrhoids are a pain in the butt??Although they need to work on an easier way to apply and it is pretty expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Candy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2023
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been using this for the lead up to my birth and I have to say it has worked for me, feels so soothing and I have seen and felt a difference in my pregnancy haemorrhoids. I got this on prescription, however, I am shocked to see how much people have spent on this product, I thought €38 was a lot! At first the application was confusing and I had to go over the instructions step by step with a little waste of product trying to understand it… however, the technique is easy once you get the hang of it. I probably would have been less enthusiastic about this product if I had paid what some of these people have paid on it though. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dilly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2023
Condition: Inflammation of the Rectum
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took me a min to figure out how to get it in the rube without overflow....but i waste none now and can use with ease. It really helps with the pressure feeling of radiation proctitis and reduced bleeding. The biggest problem with the applicator is that it continues to okze out some after u are done holding it down...just pull the plunger top almost out and let it ait a min while it finishes oozing out. Then u can use. And any that leaks or oozes out use a gloved finger to collect the extra and use it externally. Thankfully my medicaid in OK covers it so it isnt expensive either. Improvements could be made but i am satisfied with my experience with this productRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gene | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It’s a great product if you could get the foam to dispense INTO the dispenser and then apply it……HOWEVER…. the dispenser is so poorly designed….well…maybe you’re fortunate enough to get ONE great dispenser in FIVE….it’s so inconsistent that when you do get a dispenser that works, you think that possibly they have corrected whatever is wrong…..and then your next refill is back to not functioning and throwing away a lot of money…. Why can’t there be a redesign, or figure out why some ( rarely) work perfectly and soooo many others do not….Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TAB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I could give this zero stars, I would. I am in excrutiating pain, and already had to wait for my pharmacy to order it since they were out of stock. Finally get it, follow the directions to a T, even watched a video to make sure I was doing it correctly, and this waste of money refuses to dispense ANY foam. Had three different people attempt to get the foam out, to no avail. I can not express how furious and frustrated I am to still have ZERO relief from the pain I am in. Now I will have to wait even longer, while enduring the pain and extreme discomfort as I return to work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GenXXX | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paid $170 for 4 uses of this useless medication in the smallest most poorly designed applicator in the history of modern medicine. Can’t figure out why it’s so expensive. Be prepared for a series of letdowns. Your doctor doesn’t warn you it’s one of the most expensive medicines available. Then the pharmacist doesn’t warn you it’s the half the size of a Visine bottle. Then, theres IKEA instructions to assemble all the parts, why so many parts? The measuring syringe is the same color as the foam so you can’t see how much is actually coming out. Genius. Then, the applicator contraption absorbs and wastes half the foam. Don’t even use the syringe part it’s useless. The treatment is only good until your next bathroom trip so plan accordingly. What a racket; some pharmaceutical CEO is really laughing all the way to his private island after getting this piece of junk FDA approved. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Equinox79 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Anal Fissure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only thing that gives me complete pain relief from a recurring anal fissure. The condition burns and hurts so much it's truly a curse. I spend much of the day in sitz-baths when it strikes if I'm out of this product. None of the OTC products work very well. This stuff is a miracle. The container is not that hard once you get the hang of it. The main thing to know is that you only need to depress the dispenser for a second because a lot comes out. You have two options with the caps: one to dispense onto a tissue for external use, and another one to fill a small cylinder that goes into the anus so you can squirt it in. Both work well if you follow the instructions properly. When the foam first touches the painful area, it will hurt worse for a few seconds, and then you will get tremendous and lasting relief. If this is pricey for you, you can make a non-foam version of it yourself if you buy a 1% Pramoxine product (like Cerave anti-itch lotion) and 1% Hydrocortisone (like Cortaid) and apply them together as an ointment. I would only use that home-blend externally.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymus | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/1/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Poorly designed dispenser, leaks, and it did not work for my issues- waste of money

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Impossible to pull the foam into the applicator. Nearly impossible to get enough foam to provide any benefit. Very difficult applicator that in my opinion must be defective as I can't imagine anyone would design such a terrible piece of equipment that serves as a major frustration when someone, myself, is trying desperately to get some relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve had 3 cases of severe thrombosed hemorrhoids and have used Proctofoam each time. It works great, but like others have said, it’s VERY expensive for the amount and the irritation of the applicator. I follow the instructions time and time again, but it seems every time I use it there is soo much wasted under the cap. I dab it on toilet paper and try to use up the most of the ‘waste’ as possible. I’ve only ever been prescribed a 7 day regimen but I can usually only get 6 days out of the canister if Im lucky. Yes, It is expensive. The cost is $150 for me and not covered under insurance, but I would recommend it every time if you can afford it. I go from not being able to sit, walk, or sleep to feeling a tremendous amount of relief in a day or two. It definitely treats the pain and shrinks the hemorrhoid. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2022
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is one of the most expensive medicine i have ever bought. I had to pay $125 for one and its applicator is terrible. it does NOT work the way instruction says. I ended up buying three of them to get 10 days treatment ! If the mechanism was working, one would be more than enough. There must be some alternative for this. Medicine is very effective; what good is it if you cannot apply it properly ?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cutmandan | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/20/2021
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible “foam” Got 10 day treatment. Got 2 days worth. The foam does not come out like instructions say. It works but $180 for 20 applications to only get 3 is the problem

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EdT | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2021
Condition: Rectal Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using for radiation proctitis. Do not understand all reviews complaining applicator does not work. It isn't rocket science if you use as instructed, with very little leakage. Expensive, and my Medicare Part D does not cover after 30 days. Number of doses does seem to be somewhat less than prescribed doses (3 x 14 days prescribed).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Rectum
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effect from chemotherapy was aided by using this product. The applicator was not well designed and proved challenging.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vstz3x | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/14/2020
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

small amount in container very hard to get out of the container one must keep shaking thecontainer forever very expensive for the amount one gets

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ouch | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2020
Condition: Inflammation of the Rectum
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Proctofoam HC for radiation proctitis. The cylinder releases more foam down the canister than into the plunger. I got four treatments (out of what should have been ten) and then the canister was empty. It was effective but is too poorly designed and too expensive to buy again. Avoid this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David Pow | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2020
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Application by filling a tube you can Barely see thru is Awfully difficult. Will never use again - over $140 cost for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tamidee07 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was costly and very difficult to use. Most of it was wasted seeping out of the canister. I called dr for another med. This shoukd be taken off the market and made in a more user friendly affordable version!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2019
Condition: Hemorrhoids
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medicine does not dispense correctly very expensive and able to use it I went to the to get another tax for another product I no not recommend this product at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More