Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

74 People found this comment helpful

The only reason I gave this med a low ease of use score is the slow dosage build up. It takes a long time to reach the theraputic dose. I did so well on this med -- no side effects and felt so normal. After about 6 great months, I started thinking that I was just so ok ... and that the bi-polar stuff was all in my mind and a missdiagnosis by the doctor. I quite taking it ... was great for a ...

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

Xfirst day taking meds will see how it make you feel everyday keep you posted

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me the worst neck and back pain ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SOCONNOR | 13-18 | Female | Caregiver
5/16/2024
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 15 year old daughter started this medication 2 weeks ago at 25mg to go up to 50mg after two weeks from this last Tuesday, on Monday she noticed a couple small bumps on her her hand we didn’t think anything of it as we were at the river the day before so we went about our day when she came home from school that day she had a purpleish bruise on her chin again didn’t think anything of it as it was small. Tuesday she took her last 25mg, her school called me by 10:15am stating she has a rash and running a temp, I wasn’t anywhere around the area as was on a work trip. By 1:20pm on Tuesday my daughter was covered in hives and the school took her to the ER. Strep test negative as the school thought it to be that. When my husband got there he said it was bad. We stopped the medication that day. As of today her Rash is a lot worse doctors did prescribe her steroids and other itch lotion. Second ER doctor said that she had a high allergic reaction to the medication. Watch for side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sonya | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2024
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The easing in has been great. I did have to push through the highs and lows. I am now on the dose I need to be stable which I’ve noticed has improved my mood greatly. I have not had a depressive episode or a Feral episode. I am able to regulate my emotions and not go from 0-100

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/19/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Trigeminal Neuralgia, which is excruciatingly painful if not treated. Lamotrigine works very well controlling my pain. I don't care for the side effects however - sleepiness, balance (drunken gait, it's called), foggy brain and memory and digestive issues, i.e. swinging from diarrhea to constipation. Also, my weight had been very consistent since my twenties (I am now in my 70's), but I lost about 8 lbs in the first two years after starting Lamotrigine. Since I am small to begin with, (5'4"), going from 118 to 110 was shocking.. My doctor put me through the usual tests to make sure this wasn't caused by something else. There was no other reason for it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex T. | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/29/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have something like persistent depression - cognitive issues, poor sleep, headaches, body aches. My doc tried this for 2 weeks. As a result, my cognition got much worse than before. Much worse. Then, in 2 weeks, my symptoms - headaches, brain fog, body aches - returned 3x worse than before. I previously tried an antipsychotic, Rexulti - with same results. This med, by its action on me, feels very similar to an antipsychotic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TiffB77 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/24/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take this for a "mood stabilizer". Its the worst experience I ever had. After a few weeks of taking it I got a red itchy rash all over my body and my lips swelled up. Its a nightmare.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KristaSB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/12/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lexapro for anxiety and depression, but it wasn't working as well after being on it for a few years, so I switched to lamotrigine after weaning off the Lexapro (3 months on no meds before starting lam). I only took this pill twice, and it almost ruined my life. I don't know why it affected me this way, and my doctor has told me it isn't usual, but I typically experience extreme side effects to most meds. I'm possibly bipolar, my Dr isn't sure, but I don't usually have highs -- just extreme lows regularly. Feeling normal feels like a high to me because it's so rare. Anyway- Day one, I took it when I woke up. An hour later, I felt insanely good-- just felt better and happier than I have in years. Tackled a bunch of chores I usually avoid. Was so happy I found a medication that finally made me feel good. Then 4 pm rolled around, and the med stopped working abruptly and I crashed. It felt like the worst depression I've ever felt, and that's saying a lot. I was suicidal, and I started having hallucinations, which I've never experienced before. I called my therapist, who told me I should try and take another pill in the morning, to see if it would help regulate my system. Stupidly, I listened, and the next day started the same-- feeling amazing after taking the pill, but then around the same time later, I crashed again, and it was even worse. I had to call my mom to come get me and my kids so she could watch them while I went to the hospital-- I knew if I didn't go, I'd kill myself. Had more hallucinations. That was the last time I took the meds, but for an entire month after, I woke up every day having a panic attack (only had one in the past), and the panic attack would last 8-10 hours each day. I had to get back on Lexapro to get the attacks to stop. I will never attempt trying this again. Probably a freak incident. I took the gene site testing and this medication was in the green for me, meaning it should've worked great. Really baffling overall, honestly. Hate that a person has to go through hell trying to find something that works.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vlosn | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It gives me vertigo and makes me really sleepy I don't recommend this at all it will ruin your life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
N.H | 19-24 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/13/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Lamotrigine orally once a day 8 months ago as of writing this review. I am prescribed this medication off label to treat autism related agitation and other symptoms. This medication has changed my life. I have been going on and off different medications since age 12 and have had no significant positive results until I was prescribed Lamotrigine. I only felt better as we increased the dose over many weeks. Unfortunately, despite its benefit I am unable to take higher doses of Lamotrigine because I experience a rare side effect of short term memory issues. Despite this issue, the medication is still very effective and the dosage has been working extremely well in tandem with other medications. I would recommend trying this drug and giving the proper time for it to build in your system. It appears to be useful for neural regulation not just in bipolar individuals. My negative symptoms of autism and OCD have improved the most.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anklb | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/31/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a piece of trash it has done nothing to help my major depressive disorder It is the most ineffective drug I have taken please avoid it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lamotrigine | 13-18 | Male | Caregiver
10/23/2023
Condition: Rapid Cycle Manic-Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son takes this med for rapid-cycle manic-depression. He is 15 and to get him up to the correct dosage took about 5 months, which is correct according to the med instructions. He is not at 100 percent yet, but we are getting there slowly, so that’s why I gave overall satisfaction and effectiveness a 4 rating. It’s been a slow process with many appointments to the RNP (registered nurse practitioner). And being an RN myself, I’m okay with that for safety reasons, but adjusting his meds has been time consuming for sure. I’m a stay at home Mom, so that helps. I’m the primary caregiver and I do all his meds for him at this time. It works if you take it on time everyday. So be completely compliant and patient with the med and you should have good results. I’m hoping this med stretches out the mood swings and makes them less frequent for him. It’s a work in progress but we are hopeful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B.H | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/5/2023
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started in 2006, I take 200 mg twice a day and the only time I have a seizure if if I for get to take it. I have been prescribed other medications for seizures that didn’t work for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda Lynn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 35 years old and I've always suffered with depression for as far back as I can remember but I could always tell something else is wrong with me too but you know I never would go to the Dr to get treatment so finally in 2018 after I had my fourth child my only daughter I said enough is enough so I went to the doctor and I told them like every female in my family has bipolar well they decided to treat me with Prozac and you know they kind of work but you know there was still like something missing well I felt a little better so then you know I decide how I feel fine I'm going to stop taking it and when I went back for my appointment I got my appointment I'd miss my appointment so when I finally got back in with that doctor basically he told me that like I had to come on a certain day that I couldn't come on and he said well if you don't show up then you're not getting your medicine so you know I didn't ever go back there again and I waited till like I think the beginning of this year to actually start going to a different doctor and she put me on celexa and I mean it helped for a while and then you know I had like a check up so I went back to her and I said you know it's helping but there's still other like the help with the depression but it wouldn't help with the bipolar so she said well I'm going to up your dose and then you can come back in a couple months and if everything's still ain't working good then I'll add whatever the name of this medicine is so you're dosage and I said okay well I ended up not going back again well I went last Friday and she gave me my celexa and this medicine and told me to take it together and let me tell you it's worked very well like y'all my husband even walked out and left me the other day like I had no signs of it I didn't know what's happening I know I knew he was doing something by my back which he was cheating but never saw this coming and I have been so calm and of course I'm hurt by and upset but if I wasn't on this medicine I would be probably in jail for hurting somebody so for me this medicine is a miracle and yeah a lot of these reviews just say like bad things but if your doctors want to try you on this med I would definitely suggest you try it anyways thank you guys my name is Amanda y'all have a good dayRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NewMom | 25-34 | Female | Patient
9/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Bipolar Depression at age 24. Took Citalopram for 10 years and it worked wonderfully until I had my first baby at 34. Started experiencing postpartum anxiety so my doctor switched me to 25mg of lamotrigine with intentions of slowly increasing the dose. I just finished my first two weeks on this low dose. The last two weeks have been beyond horrible. I feel like I was the 1/10 that had the absolute worst side effects. Side effects included worse anxiety than before. Non stop crying every day. Hellish intrusive thoughts about self harm and suicide. Irritability and rage. I had never felt rage like that before. I am a very calm person. And I was starting to have thoughts about harming other people, which I haven’t had before in my life. Almost hurt my dog and baby. Hurt myself. I couldn’t control my thoughts. The intrusive thoughts felt like they’d already happened. Last night I decided to stop taking lamotrigine because it was turning my life into a medical emergency and I was so scared about what I might end up doing. I have never felt so horrible in my life. One day off of it and I feel completely normal again. I am so sad that I had to experience what I did because it seriously messed with my brain chemistry. I’m glad others have been ok with it but just be warned you could be another 1/10 with the worst combo of side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/25/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed lamotrigine for my OCD. It took a seriously long time for it to work (2 months-ish on 100mg), but when it did, it was life changing. Obsessive thoughts? gone. Compulsive urges? gone. Intrusive thoughts and images? gone. its crazy. amazing medication, it just takes FOREVER to work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
itchyD | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/14/2023
Condition: Bipolar Disorder in Remission
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On 400 mg/day for years, got itch that's hard to describe back in feb,23: no rash, pins & needles & crawling ants on face and arms, mostly. Hair stands up on scalp/arms like from static charge. Episodes last 1-2 days on, 2-3 days off .. repeat. Cut dose in half w/incremental improvement. Annoying but survivable. Anybody else out there with this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sisyphus | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/14/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 30 year old who was misdiagnosed as having major depressive disorder in my early twenties. I went on antidepressants and meds like Welbutrin which only made me a zombie. Around 8 years ago my doctor put me in this and I have never been better! Yes, the withdrawal symptoms (cloudy mind) can be a pain if you forget to take it but I have never been happier. I think clearly and I am always trying to fix issues instead of giving up like I used to. I also don't have any anger issues anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2023
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's not that bad but it's not that great either. Lamotrigine is one of the easier drugs to take out there. You can balance it between dosages if you feel different times do not work with it to adjust in taking it. It's not as severe with it's side effects if you don't necessarily have any other conditions. However, it affects your sleep patterns and causes disruptions at night or day when auras(focal point seizures) break through. It's not foolproof, and it's not the most effective drug either. From recent experience, it affects the work output I used to do almost immediately after its kicked in; it puts you out of things throughout the day and incites aggressive to zombie-like behaviour. It's easy to get agitated and it's easy to get closed-off. This difference from stable behaviour is a very good reason not to take this drug. Conversely, it does provide some protection from seizures. It suppresses your ability to think when you're tasked with having to remember. You know your memory's there, but you have a hard time retrieving it. Persistent memories in sleep inertia and during sleep can also agitate auras which this medication does not deal with; it leaves you feeling exhausted, nauseated, and drowsy in bed, but unable to fall back asleep for a duration of time. Lamotrigine is effectively a sleeping drug in disguise with a rude awakening. If you want to get off the medication after some time, then you need to prepare yourself for doing so(whether it's immediate or you feel the need to taper off with your specialist). It's not as dangerous to stop as you might think if you've already been thinking of doing so. In an early period of a quarter to half a year, testing a 24-hour period of missed doses will induce withdrawal effects if you try to stop taking it cold turkey. This is also in effect of up to 200mg a day, and the results lead to persistent auras and warnings of you getting a seizure during this allotted time. Yet you can build a tolerance to this. Repeating to miss doses over periods of time off-occasion(however you feel like it) will get you used to stopping it before a five-day period is up from what studies have shown, “you will experience withdrawal effects” in full when it's depleted from your body. You build tolerance overtime anyway, and it doesn't take too long for your seizure conditions to return after taking it; it all depends on the severity of your condition. Conclusively, only take this drug if you feel it won't affect your performance and routine and can assist you in a much minor capacity. Don't go on it if you have much worse symptoms that are diagnosed(or not) and switch over to a stronger—but equally safe—drug. Take whatever works for you, but always make sure you look into it with your specialist if you need to change Lamotrigine, to the right one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 26-year-old female who has tried the whole psychiatric pharmacy.. Some helped some didn't do anything. I have depression, anxiety, bipolar (don't know which one but i get super impulsive, lash out, do drugs, steal if im not on medication and I hallucinate due to previous substance use. I have been in hospitals both psychiatric and emergency for psychiatric stuff. Ive been in jail and rehab. I am in recovery now and clean from drugs for 3 years in 2 months. I have been on Lamotrigine since I've been clean (maybe less). I think this medication is great! I'm really surprised reading the comments. The moment I took it and it digested after like 5 minutes or so (more or less) I felt my nerves ease. I felt less edgy and angry. this was a blessing for me and I keep my cool a lot easier with this medication. I feel like I'm on a high amount of meds. I take like 7 other medicines I use to take almost 16-24 meds a day! (yeah it's that bad) I have had a good experience with this medication. I hope these reviews don't rob you of something that can change your life like it did for me. I am a student studying recovery and I have been for 3 years. I'm on disability for my mental health status. I feel like this medicine is a great asset to my treatment. I go to therapy and psychiatry. I feel more stable, and kinder to those I love because I use to be kinda cruel sometimes. I use my tools and go to NA meetings. I follow Christ. combo of all these things has helped me TREMENDOUSLY. I'm not saying that will be your experience if you do that too. I'm just sharing what has worked for me. I also have a better relationship with others. I'm more tolerable because I understand i can be a lot. I'm not perfect either it's an everyday thing. I hope this helps! I believe in your recovery!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carshena Jackso | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2023
Condition: Manic-Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eased my thoughts of committing suicide. It allowed me to feel more confident about myself.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More