Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

92 People found this comment helpful

MY OPINION WHICH APPLIES TO ME: This is a dangerous, very effective drug for my afib but I am afraid of it. Trial and error I found out that by CONTROLLING high blood pressure ELIMINATION of excessive dietary salt, added potassium and magnesium supplements, REDUCED my afib attacks by 90%. Also to be avoided are chronic infections such as bad teeth. I absolutely must monitor and control my blood pr...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I ALMOST DIED WITH THIS DRUG ,,,hundreds say relatives DID die THIS DRUG SHOULD BE REPORTED TO FDA AND TAKEN OFF THE MARKET NOW! one WISE dr saw that I was takeing it and said "STOP THat NOW" IF that doctor knew it's danger WHY do not others and FDA?? TELL FDA and Stop this killing drug

Shared reviews and ratings

Dave | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/5/2024
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In afib/flutter with a flailing Mitral valve for a month and waiting on the valve repair, this med has me under control for the moment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heart failure | 75 or over | Female | Patient
6/8/2024
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made my breathing worse??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mitzie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/30/2023
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was very effective in controlling my a-fib. However the side efeccts were awful. Among other t hings,the drug caused peripheral neuropathy as well as optic neuropathy that damaged my vision. Even though I quit the drug my vision has not improved. Do not risk the damage this drug causes. DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2023
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THANK GOD , I read these reviews. Been on this mast drug for only 2 days ! Went in for the electric pad charge to get my A-fib in line. I was prescribed this drug 2 a day for the first week and one a day after this. 200mg prescribed. This is the WORST drug I have ever been prescribed !!! Symptoms , diaherrea, dizziness, couldn’t breathe, headaches, excessively hard coughing, extreme nausea, could not sleep, restlessness all day long. Called my cardiologist the first day and dose was cut back to 1-200 mg and told to resume the regiment thereafter. The second day was a repeat of the first day. I would rather be dead than stay on this pill! They made me nuts ! I am finished with this pill forever. The reviews here substantiate what a miserable 2 days of my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunflower | 65-74 | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took it for a couple of months and had so many side effects that I stopped. I had nausea when lying down at night, hot flushes, insomnia, headaches, cough, unsteadiness when I walked, shortness of breath, weakness, tiredness, trembling in my hands, constipation. I could not walk anywhere outside because I was afraid of falling. I became very depressed. My husband had to go with me everywhere. I have been off it for two months, and feel better than I have in a long, long time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JBR | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/11/2023
Condition: Prevention of Ventricular Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was put on this drug after one episode, when his pacemaker kicked in. He was put on a really high dose of 800 mg for a week or 2 then reduced to 400 mg for a week or 2, then 200 mg His red blood cells became abnormal, had to start getting blood transfusions, filled up with fluid that had to be drained from his abdomen. After 4 months of blood transfusions and fluid draining, not sleeping etc. he had enough! He got complete kidney failure and died. You could not pay me to take this drug!!!! Can't believe the dosage compared to others. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/10/2023
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was beginning to lose my eyesight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/15/2023
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took amiodarone for a short time to try to get my heart beating right again. It gave me deep leg cramps and bad constipation. I called dr and he said I could stop it. It did not put me back in rhythm either. I will be having ablation next week. I took less than a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janice | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
2/8/2023
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation Electrically Shocked to Normal Rhythm
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband has been sick since August 2022. He had so many of the side effects of Amiodarone. Thank God I researched this medicine. The doctors will not believe me. They are doing all these other test like MRI, Cat Scan, Xray. I read what to treat these with. Steroids. They have not given him any, but we just so happen to have some. He took them for 3 weeks, got better. we are out of them now and he is getting worse. He had improved. He walks now with a cane, and me holding him. Coughing, Can't breathe. Swelling legs and Feet. Bruising where we take his blood pressure. I could go on and on. Stop Taking this Medicine. Please listen.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vwin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2023
Condition: Paroxysmal Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stopped taking amiodarone after one week because it destroys your lungs. They wanted me to take a high dose for at least a month by which time I might not have any working lungs left. I would rather die of heart failure than long term suffocation. It was overprescribed, but rectified my heart in days. Do not be persuaded to take it for weeks because lung damage is irreversible. Many thousands of people have died from it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caregiver | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/7/2023
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE THIS DRUG! Honestly, death is probably better than being on this medication. If you or a loved one is thinking about taking this, please don't! You aren't living when on this drug. This drug almost killed my mom. The decline took days. They sent her home on hospice after the most recent hospital visit told us there was nothing else they could do. Now that there have been a few weeks for the drug to leave her system, she is learning to walk again. She can eat and is no longer aspirating. No fluid is building up around her lungs (she's no longer drowning). She's no longer having unknown heart attacks (which is what the doctor's are assuming were happening). She no longer shakes. She can sleep. She isn't throwing up. She isn't feeling like spiders are crawling all over her. She can have the lights on and windows open. She can see. She can communicate. She can even watch tv again! Her oxygen is looking pretty good. She still has a ways to go, but we are so grateful that we took her off this medication. She declined in days. Please educate yourself. This is a death sentence for patient and home caregivers. Definitely get more opinions before taking any medication. My mom has asked that I spread the word and try to get this medication banned ... and I'll do everything I can to help someone else not experience what we did.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helpful warning | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
11/23/2022
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother developed an exhausting chronic dry cough immediately after starting this medication. A few months later she went to hospital because she was seriously short of breath. After nearly 3 weeks on oxygen and with a "mysterious lung inflammation" she was taken off Amiodarone and sent home on oxygen. Days later she was able to breathe normally again, without oxygen tubes and cylinders but this terrible drug apparently lasts so long in your system that she'll be on steroids for another few weeks. Mum is 89 and was very well until she developed an AF. The Amiodarone experience has been devastating, the three weeks in hospital hell and I hope the experts are taking note of this forum.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maureen | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2022
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn’t work to keep my heart in rhythm and the side effects were so debilitating I couldn’t tolerate it. Stopped it under doctors orders 3 days ago and praying the coughing, gagging, numbness to hands and feet, overwhelming fatigue, insomnia and constipation will go away. But the internet says the drug could remain in my body for as long as 75 days. The cough alone is driving my BP up dangerously high. Awful, awful drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2022
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been in constant A Fib for 3 months now following a bout of diverticulitis. I had previously has infrequent bouts of A Fib but not enough to affect my daily life. I have been on Amioderone since this constant A Fib started. It has not slowed down the A Fib at all. My doctors say I must be on it to prepare my heart for cardioversion so I keep taking it. It makes me nauseous and gives me pain in my stomach. I have begun taking it with food before I go to bed so that I sleep through some of the effects, but the pain wakes me up very early in the morning. I also had tachycardia, which is moderated by Metropolol. Controlling the heart rate makes it easier to cope with the A Fib, but I still find that it can make me pretty uncomfortable. I would really like to stop taking this but am afraid that I would not be able to have a cardioversion if I do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scared | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Edema in legs and hands, instability, severe muscle weakness in legs and unable to walk without assistance. Tremors and uncontrollable muscle movement. Was taken off medication after 5 Months. Has not been quite a month and no sign of improvement. Very scared I will not return to normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J B | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/3/2022
Condition: Prevention of Post Cardio-Thoracic Surgery Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

KILLED my dad within weeks, after he had an icd fitted was prescribed this poison

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RLF | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Amiodarone for three years to treat Afib. I went into Afib 3 times while on the drug. During this time I started to suffer tremors in my hands to the point of not being able to write or control a mouse on my computer. After three years I had Heart Ablation surgery and was weaned off the drug. That was 4 1/2 years ago. I still suffer tremors and can not write out a personal check or run a computer mouse. I also suffer from E-D that has basically ruined my wife’s and my sex life. I am 62 and this drug has ruined my life. Try to avoid having your cardiologist put you on this Black ZBox drugRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Calico | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/8/2022
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An otherwise healthy, active man in his 60s is now bedfast in hospital due to this drug!! Lung fibrosis is NOT a minor side effect -- it steals the ability to breathe and function. His oxygen levels are now ridiculously low without high-volume oxygen that can only be given in hospital, so he may not go home for weeks or months. Some victims' lungs eventually recover, and some never do. This drug should be banned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pathlight | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/15/2021
Condition: Prevention of Post Cardio-Thoracic Surgery Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Undesirable side effects of constipation, hand/finger shake when engaging fine motor activity, appetite suppression and tiredness are a problem, especially the first two in the list.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elliott | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seemed to help Afib…..a trip to the hospital for impaction and now a thryoid problem which I am not on a medication for and blurry vision we didnt have a cause…now we do. So glad I have a top notch Doctor that wanted me off this medication. Wish the dr’s that put me on it hadnt!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More