Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

58 People found this comment helpful

I had vertigo and some associated motion sickness. Med knocked it out within two hours after suffering with the vertigo for 2 weeks. I do have some sleepy moments (I take a short 30 b minute nap during my lunch hour.) But feel quite good after with no drowsiness after and ready for another four to six hours. I am sleeping a lot but I'm also no longer feeling like I am on the verge of fainting ...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I am a little confused about using Meclizine as I don't get dizzy while standing or moving around, just when I'm sitting or lying down. It says for motion sickness, nausea, etc. which I don't have a problem with. Meclizine seems to work fairly well, but I'm still confused.

Shared reviews and ratings

Labounty | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2024
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

More imbalance. More dizziness. I have had to crawl at times to get up.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/10/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had severe vertigo since my first brain surgery 40 years ago that’s when I started taking it about 10 years I reached the max I could a day 2 tablets 4 times a day it’s helping to make my life so what bearable to live yes I do take a nap but I have other medical issues but if it weren’t for this drug I won’t have been in a bed not wheeling around in my wheelchair I now can enjoy the world

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave a high rating not for helping with my dizzying but for being a great sleep aid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2022
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I chew two pills of 25mg and I passed out at 9:30pm. I woke up at 8:30am and I felt sooo tired I push my self to go out and I couldn’t walk the block. I came back work and I was sleeping all day on and off. Didn’t help for vertigo and didn’t offer me anything than losing one day of work. Never again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miss rose | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2022
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started to take the meclizine, I will say it does make me sleepy and lazy all day but other then that it works, takes my dizziness away, but I would also agree with taking half , the whole pill does make you drowsy all day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GRC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2022
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to the ER was given meclizine every 6 hours for vertigo. It helped some but only lasted four hours. Says it may make you drowsy, but that was a side effect I did not have.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MF | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/24/2022
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use this medication for severe motion sickness, especially on air planes. I take a full dose one hour before take off with food. I have been doing this for a few years and it works significantly better than dramamine with less drowsiness and grouchy-ness. I also use it occasionally when a migraine causes dizziness, at which time a half dose works just fine, at relieving my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this medication for sudden onset of dizziness. More of a feeling faint feeling no spinning, just “off”. Foggy. Couldn’t stand long. How bad is the fatigue? Well, I fell asleep, while walking into my kitchen. Just walking. I slept for two days straight almost and when awake had no relief. Turns out I was severely anemic. Women esp if you have sudden dizziness with fatigue please get a blood draw. Turns out it wasn’t vertigo at all and how quickly o was dismissed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiverton rose | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2021
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for waking up with the spinning sensation and dizziness. I took it only twice because it just made me too sleepy. I found an exercise for vertigo on line which works for me every time I feel dizziness coming on. You can do it easily laying down on a flat surface. Takes about 10 or 15 minutes. You can look it up at on line and try it to see if it will work for you. I asked the doctor about it and seems it works for some. I'm glad I found it but wonder why the doctors don't let you know about it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LindaB | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/18/2021
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have nausea and motion sickness. I take 50mg when I feel sick and it works in about a half hour. I get sleepy but that doesn't bother me. If I fall asleep I wake up and feel better. Dramamine doesn't work as well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2021
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angar668 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vertigo due to covid19. Helped a lot, but I did get tired a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
5/24/2020
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped with vertigo but 25 mg 3x's a day made me so sleepy I could not hardly function. Only take 1 before betime but still wake up drowsey

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ilive42day | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/10/2018
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like all medicines I want them to work right away. I started out withVetigo, took the pill and laid down. It helped the vertigo but I still have my head swimming. Better than the alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2018
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The chewable tablets taste like mustard. I still get dizzy laying down turning from side to other side. Hope the physical therapy at end of this month helps with this vertigo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking it for vertigo. It is helping with the dizziness. I am a little wobbley after about an hour and then it subsides.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sally | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2017
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with vertigo in the ER and treated with meclizine/25mg tablet. Took 1 tablet every six hours for about 5 days and it helped. Since the directions take as needed. I slowly cut down until I had gone without for several days and the vertigo returned. I am considering going to a ENT doctor to see if I should continue this way as the meds have not cured it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2017
Condition: Sensation of Spinning or Whirling
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told I have vertigo. this med does help ease the spinning, but it does not take it away .I am still having dizziness & spinning & it has been 2 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LisaPisa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2017
Condition: Prevention of Motion Sickness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was going on a sailing trip across the Florida straits on a 43 ft boat. So, there was quite a bit of boat movement. The first time using it I took 50 mg and it made me sleepy. BUt no nausea at all. Thereafter, I just took 25mg to avoid sleepiness and it worked fine. Never got seasick the entire trip.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ted | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2016
Condition: Motion Sickness
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When i take this pill i get pain in my stomach, and as far as i can tell there is no change

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More