Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

I am a 75 year old male in generally good health and have been taking this drug for over 3 years. I have developed an allergic reaction to a broad variety of environmental conditions and/or perhaps the drug interaction of several other drugs I take for high blood pressure, acid reflux and enlarged prostate. Chlorpheniramine Melate is the active ingredient in other more expensive medications recomm...

Shared reviews and ratings

Big A | 65-74 | Male | Patient
9/26/2023
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a 66 yr old male and have been using this medication for 18 yrs now. I started taking it for congestive nose problems and noticed within a couple of weeks that it wasn’t working well. But one day I was having some neuropathy itching in my feet and decided to try it and voila it’s been my go to medicine for 18 years now for my neuropathy. I certainly hope this little bit of information will help someone with neuropathy itching.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sufferer | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/22/2022
Condition: Vasomotor Rhinitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the only antihistamine that works for me. I have been using it for 30 years, it is always effective and have had no side effects worth mentioning. A little dry mouth is nothing compared to having a runny or blocked nose, sneezing, along with itchy, watery eyes, every day, all day! Big pharma are taking it off the shelves because it is an ingredient used in creating a street drug! So what!!!!!? I don't need Tylenol, Dristan nor any other name brand, nor the extra ingredients they put in the tablets! All I need is the antihistamine! When I take chlorpheniramine maleate it dries up the mucus which causes sinus pressure headaches, therefore I do not need acetaminophen; nor do I need a decongestant if I am not producing mucus!!! Simple logic! Make this available by prescription only, then I do not have to pay out of pocket for an OTC and it will be one more roadblock to easy access for the drug dealers! Why should allergy sufferers pay for the unscrupulous element in society???? Get rid of the opioids first, not a beneficial drug like chlorpheniramine maleate!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Other | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I easily get allergic to lots of foods and dust and whatnot. While I have never experienced anaphylaxis I am pretty certain I might have if not for chlorpheniramine malate. It works really well on me. I only take it if I experience an onset of an allergy like itching and then breaking out in hives. But over the time I have developed resistance because now my dose is 8-12 mg depending how severe the symptoms are. But it works all the time and I always carry some on me because I know that this little pill saves my life. It's been my pal for 18 years now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kippy H | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/1/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this stuff is magic in a pill. its incredibly effective on seasonal allergies and works very quickly. i work in a feed store where i regularly have to handle alfalfa hay, which i am allergic to, and it even reduces my reaction to that. the ONLY downside ive noticed with this drug is that it typically only lasts for 3-5 hours, which is unfortunate. it can also make you dizzy or light-headed, especially if you are exercising/working or if you arent drinking enough water. still, a very small price to pay for good, reliable allergy relief :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat in NJ | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/12/2021
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is excellent for the occasional sudden allergic reaction. I have been using this drug for 60 years -yikes! Back in the 60's it was in a drug called Fedahist, a combination of chlorpheniramine / pseudoephedrine, which was prescribed by my allergist. Chlorpheniramine is now sold as a generic and is a great alternative to Benadryl. The tablets can be broken in half so you can regulate the amount that you need and the drug only lasts for 4 hours. If my allergic condition (mostly intense itching) doesn't subside in 30 minutes after taking a half tablet, I take the other half. If I have a runny nose, I start with a full tablet. I have one of these tables with me at all times.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asdfgjnll | 13-18 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2018
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It doesn't work loo

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Activetraveler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/30/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unexpectedly, chlorpheniramine maleate & phenylephrine HCL tabs ("Allergy") help greatly to reduce my lower back pain! I have tight glut, piriformis & hamstring muscles on left side. NSAIDS have never helped. This tab seems to calm the involved nerves. Happy to have discovered this! I take just 1/2 tab at bedtime, and if needed same mid-day, and I keep on moving! I alternate use with diphenhydramine (Benedryl), which helps in the same way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Critic1 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/10/2015
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this drug for 25 years or more for severe seasonal allergies. They used to make a 8mg time release tablet that was the best, not sure why that was taken off the market as it was the best ever and my allergist and other Dr's agree with this it is the only drug that actually works. Taking the drug at night helps with allergy all day or allows for smaller dose in daytime so not so sleepy. Wish they would bring back the 8mg pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rembo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/2/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only taken ½ tablet for watery eyes and stuffy nose. It usually lessens both within an hour or so. Have not noticed any side effects with exception of possible racing heartbeats, but have recently read some alarming warnings (online, of course) that warn not to use this drug. With that in mind (they didn't elaborate about the reasons not to take it), I would start with ½ tablet and read up on possible side effects, just to be safe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It puts my son to sleep for 12 hours. It keeps me wide awake for 24? I use it sparingly. Everyone is different, try it because it will help sinus pressure from allergies.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2014
Condition: Allergic Conjunctivitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I purchased this over the counter and it works very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
linda | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/13/2013
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is the only one that gives me relive in minits I some times have to adjust the dosage as needed has no side effects does not last long enough please recommend me something stronger than 4mg I have to take up to six at a time for the runny nose I cannot tell you enough how many times this med kept me from having secondary problems

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2013
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

chlorpheniramine maleate is avery useful drug in prevention of urticaria and treatment of itching , cough and allergic rhinitis and allergic conjuctivitis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LORETTA | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/24/2013
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i HAVE BEEN TAKING THIS MEDICATION FOR CLOSE TO 50 YEARS UNDER CHLORTRIMETON 12 MG. I TOOK IT AT BEDTIME AS IT MADE ME DROWSY. I STARTED TAKING IT DUE TO FREQUENTLY BREAKING OUT WITH HIVES AND IT SOLVED THAT PROBLEM. IT ALSO SOLVED MY RUNNY EYES AND NOSE PROBLEM. IT ALSO SEEMED TO MASK A COLD SO WELL THAT i NEVER COULD DECIDE IT i REALLY HAD ONE. I AM NOW TOLD THAT CHLORPHENIRAMINE IS NO LONGER BEING MANUFACTURED AND I CANNOT SEEM TO FIND IT ANYWHERE ON THE SHELF. IS THAT TRUE?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2013
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medicine worked great only take every 4-6 hrs as needed you do need to drink water with this tho

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hemant | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2012
Condition: Vasomotor Rhinitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sneezy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/7/2012
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from hay fever for around 23 years. I have tried many medications and this is the ONLY one that works for me. The others either don't work at all or have some very unpleasant side effects that I can't handle. I was on allergy shots for a while, but they did not seem to give good results either and my allergist recommended just using the medication. I do get occasional drowsiness but it passes. I would rather deal with the temporary drowsiness than suffer with the allergy symptoms which would literally drive me crazy otherwise. Without the medication I get sinus headaches, sore throats, sneezing, watery itchy eyes and ears and my tongue and throat will even get itchy when it is really bad. Spring is the worst for me because I am allergic to the budding trees and the cottonwood from the cottonwood trees. I take the chlorpheniramine maleate along with pseudephedrine (decongestant). In the spring when my symptoms are the worst I do have to double up on the dosage of the chlorpheniramine maleate (2 pills every 12 hours instead of 1 pill every 12 hours) in order for it to be effective, but I do not double the pseudephedrine (sudafed). The only side effect that I am aware of is a lot of constipation so I have to take LOTS of fiber. I take the twelve hour dosage two times a day, in other words all day every day along with a twelve hour dose of generic sudafed (round the clock as well). I don't know how I would survive without this medicine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ioniccompound | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects experienced - felt extremely dehydrated, blurry vision

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drenzio | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/23/2012
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Forget all of the newer allergy meds, tried them all, this old school stuff works great with no side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More