Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

138 People found this comment helpful

Just because I did read so many 'bad' reviews when I started Sertraline.. I feel I owe the world my positive experience : ) My day to day life has changed from a constant battle to a breeze. Now I finally feel my normal self again, I realise how anxious and depressed I was. I am a intelligent high functioning person that still got by on shear will power. I have been taking it 2 months and only ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2024
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Restarting my journey after taking 50mg for six months and feeling no effect. Think the dose was too low. Ive been suffering from a severe pornography addiction from the age of 10 or so. Those 6 months, I was sober, but the addiction was on my mind all the time and it gave me a mental blockage. All I want to do is act out and relieve myself. No desire for anything else in the world. I feel like an animal. I’m restarting with 50mg. I’m going to keep increasing it weekly until I feel anything, even side effects. Hope this goes well and allows me to be myself again like it did for many others. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/22/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im a 38 year old male. Here is some background on my situation. As long as i can remember ive been horrendous at dealing with stress and not getting my own way. Shouting and ranting. Ive never been physically violent to anyone but used to smash things up in a blind rage. When i was younger i remember doors being destroyed hitting walls etc. As i grew older i became more argumentative and very disagreeable, even when i 100% knew i was wrong, i just couldnt let go. As you can imagine it is very hard for my family (3 step children and 2 biological children with the same mother as the step children) to live with. I would argue with my fiancè 3 or more times a day and swear i was in the right all the time. She gave me chance after chance. I swore id never be too weak id need to medicate - probably my biggest mistake ever. Ive been taking Sertraline for 2years now and wish i had done so from my early teens. My life is so much easier. The intense feelings of anger/rage arnt there anymore. I do take the highest recommended amount 200mg (I started on 50mg went to 100mg after 4months then 200mg after a huge row). It feels like a fog has been removed from all conversations i have and im able to understand whats being said rather than misinterpreting everything and feeling like its an attack on me or an insult. My relationship with my family is so much better now they dont feel like they have to walk on egg shells around me. Taking this medication has changed my life and i will be forever grateful to my fiancée for putting up with my bs for aslong as she did. Sertraline is a wonder drug! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kirbyguy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/7/2024
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On January 21st, 2020 I was prescribed Zoloft for my chronic anxiety issues. I took half the pill on day 1 and wound up with EXTREME INSOMNIA! I felt a drilling headache and terrible nausea as well... I took the pill on the second day and felt very sick with bad headache. That night zero sleep again... I stopped taking the pill and went 12 more nights on zero sleep. It's been nearly 4 years now and my insomnia has ruined my life entirely. I cannot surpass 1-2 hours of sleep per night. Prior to Zoloft I slept like a dog, for 35 years I never once had a sleep issue even with my anxiety. Zoloft ruined my life!! I urge anyone that has developed permanent issues to fill out form 3500B through the FDA. This drug needs to be investigated for its permanent brain damage. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
1/2/2024
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience while on Zoloft was better than I ever expected. I used to have panic attacks in class along with racing bad thoughts and major anxiety. I thought I was going crazy but needed to be on a medication that could calm my mind. I didn’t really have bad side effects the first week and by the third week I could see a change. It didn’t fully clear up until around the 4 month mark. For anyone going through it right now just know you are not alone. Give Zoloft a chance and it will change your life around. Hang in thereRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erica | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pretty bad anxiety and panic attacks and PTSD so my doctor prescribed me Zoloft 26mg. On day 3 of taking it (my luck it was Christmas Day) it was like it put my fight or flight in overdrive. I was having a cup of coffee, scrolling through my phone and I fell into one of the worse panic attacks of my life. The panic episodes came in clusters that entire day. My heart raced, it was like it entered another part of my brain that made me angry and agitated. I felt as if at any point I was going to lose my mind, lose control of myself and hurt someone or myself and I am not suicidal or homicidal at all! Naturally I don’t get angry much but this medicine absolutely terrified me with who I felt it making me become. I still have panic episodes as I’m trying to get it out of my system but this medication made my anxiety so much worse! I don’t think it will make everyone react this way but it did me. So just be mindful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lex | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have dealt with anxiety and depression for years. I didn’t know how bad it was until it got better. I didn’t know how debilitating it was until I started this med. I thought I felt different after a few days but it wasn’t anything crazy so I think it was me being hopeful. I decided to ask my dr to go up to 75 after about a month. My dosage went up and after a few weeks everything changed. The fears I had holding me back were gone. Those depressive episodes were no longer weighing on me. Most importantly, it gave me the strength to make drastic changes to improve my life. I know it sounds like an antidepressant commercial but I am so thankful that my life is no longer gray. I love Zoloft. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JosieMarie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/6/2023
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works but the side affects are terrible. I have headaches. Ect.and weird side effect for me is clinching my Jaw and grinding my teeth.i can't sleep at night if i take it at night..some times loose my train of thought .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jon | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please, search for PSSD on the Internet before you take the first dose. This drug causes severe sexual dysfunction. It will ruin your life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In week two and it hasn't kicked in. Ugh. No motivation to get stuff done. I have read the reviews it takes a few weeks. In the in term just dealing with it. I'm undiagnosed bipolar for sure and hoping this helps. On 100mg 1x daily. Was on wellbutrion and luxepro prior and was experiencing mania episodes. I was getting stuff done but it wasn't me. And mania is not good. The highs and lows are tough. I'm hoping i get some relief from zoloft.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GrannyK | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from severe panic disorder and got prescribed Zoloft. Started on 12.5mg for 2 weeks then up to 25mg for 4 weeks. Tried to up to 50 but the side effects just got worse and worse. I persevered for 10 weeks but just couldn’t cope with nausea, dizziness, diahhorea, anxiety and panic. Felt worse than when I wasn’t on it. I know it’s amazing for some people but definitely not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kipo | 35-44 | Male | Patient
10/6/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2 weeks, nothingnyer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not sure if I am just in the "honeymoon" phase of this med or if I am one of those lucky few who get a positive reaction to the drug within 24 hours. I've been fighting depression for years with exercise and therapy off an on never tried an SSRI, but experienced 3 deaths in 6 months most recently of my mom. I lost all control, starting hurting myself, was in a deep dark pit like never before, continuous thoughts of suicide. Woke up the morning after my first dose with a bad case of diarrhea but that was the only downside. The sadness was still there, however it was signifcantly lessened and much easier to put aside and focus on the day. The impulses for self harm, nearly gone, not exactly happy but not suicidal which I'll take. Listening to that urge to get on my exercise bike which is now louder than the one that tends to call DoorDash. If not for the time spent in the bathroom, this would have been a perfect first day on Zoloft. Going to try some probiotics and adjust the diet, well worth it to feel much more like myself again so quickly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pee_Wee_69_23 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for my Anxiety/Depression/OCD. Unfortunately, it only made me feel worse. The side effects were too much. I experienced abdominal pain, insomnia, major depression and mood swings, nausea, fatigue. I wish I never took this medicine. Immediately made me feel worse than I've ever felt. I'm going to quit and continue with a more natural approach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tim | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2 years ago I had an incredibly traumatic experience resulting in a relationship break up which I think triggered something in my brain, making me feel anxious for an extended period of time and unable to eat consistently. Lost a tonne of weight and I went on citalopram which didn't seem to do much so weaned myself off it about 8 months in. Had a period of relative recovery before anxiety over my lack of relationship went into overdrive a few months ago. I went on sertraline 50mg about two and a half months ago in an attempt to make me think more clearly. It kicked in at about 5-6 weeks and I was feeling much calmer for about a week. Started a new relationship and the anxiety came back again in full force so I upped the dosage to 100mg almost 3 weeks ago. The last few days my anxiety is almost back to square one. Overthinking, dry heaving in the mornings. I'm really keen not to lose this new relationship so I'm powering through and hoping that these symptoms will pass. I have resolved to come back and post a new review in about a month, hopefully with good news. If you are suffering out there and reading this review you are not alone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rob | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male, 45, On 25mg for 3 weeks. My life has completely changed for the better. Only minor side effect was an upset stomach for the first 2 weeks. My main concern before starting the med was the possibility of a decreased libido. Mine has seemed to have increased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elora | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an unusual side effect of being extremely drowsy. I was continuously tired the full month and a half I had started taking it. First it wasn't as bad on half a 25mg pill, got a bit worse on a full 25mg pill, and way worse at 25mg and a half. I switched to taking it a few hours before bed, and still my body kicked all of the sleep side effects to when I was getting ready and going to work. It made waking up extremely hard. My body was so fatigued, and by the time I saw my psychiatrist for the 4th time, I told her I needed to get off of it. It made me so exhausted that I slept through my therapy session slot, and even part of work. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marika | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/6/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My life is finally worth living! This medicine simply saved me and with me my whole family. Thank you to those who made this possible. Today I can without any hesitation say: LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/30/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Zoloft a long time ago and it worked well for me. I switched to a different medication, but my insurance quit covering it. I decided to make the switch back to Zoloft. The switching was AWFUL. The first few weeks were so hard. Things would get better, then worse, then better again. Finally, once I got up to 150 mg, everything started leveling out and I’m back to my normal self. So if you find yourself in the midst of switching, just an encouragement- stick with it! It’s worth it. It took about a month and a half to two months for everything to work for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DoNotTakeZoloft | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/26/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not take zoloft. I was prescribed this at 18 years old and spent a number of years on it. It was very difficult to get off as it is addictive. Most importantly, it caused permanent and irresversible sexual dysfunction. I have never had an orgasm and my clit has almost no sensitivity. I have now been off zoloft for 6 years having gradually tapered down my dose over several years due to side effects of coming off it. I have still not returned to normal sexual dysfunction even 6 years after getting off it. I believe I will never return to normal function again and it's because of this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
6/24/2023
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m on 200mg, originally 100mg, but I upped my dosage because I still felt suicidal about 1 year in. It’s calmed my suicidal thoughts. I still get them from time to time but at least it’s not on my mind 24/7. I still don’t feel emotions, except sadness. And I still don’t feel motivated. It’s a great medication but I feel like I need to take another medication alongside Setraline.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More