Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

103 People found this comment helpful

I've been taking metho since spring of 2011. Started out with 4 (2.5 mg) pills a week. Had a little nausea at first with that, but then no side effects. Then dr put me up to 6/week. Had more side effects but that was months ago and now have little to none. I also take 1mg of folic acid a day to help with the side effects. Mostly I might feel a little nauseated later on in the day, and have a s...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

It started off fun, but ended in very little fun 3/10

Shared reviews and ratings

Tonya | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for my arthritis symptoms from me having chronic Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever along with 1mg of Folic acid and other medications. This has completely stopped my joint pain and stiffness. I wish other drs would be more Lyme literate and more people need to get tested for tick borne diseases. When you get the “I don’t know what wrong with you, your tests are normal, but here try this medicine to see if it works” from your dr. Don’t settle for that. Ask for a tick PANEL test. No matter of you remember being bitten or not. Dont let dr tell you that “oh that’s not in our state”. Demand the test. You can have active(or in remission)tick borne diseases for years that disguise itself as other ailments. ALSO don’t let drs tell you that 10 days of doxy will “cure” it. Research RMSF and Lyme support groups on the internet and social media sites. Find a LLMO or LLMD. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessica | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2023
Condition: Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this drug for 3 months. Horrible side effects of depression, hair loss, memory loss, skin flaking, nausea, and feeling hazy most of the days. Did it work in getting rid of the rheumatoid arthritis? Yes. But was not worth it. I am still recovering off of this medication and still don't feel quite myself.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Swan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2023
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used methotrexate for a couple of months. My hair began to get thin and fall out despite taking folic acid to help prevent this. In addition, I often experienced blurring of my vision, which increased substantially after each weekly dose, and ebbed towards the end of the week.I have sustained permanent vision impairment even after having stopped this medication and not require glasses. Before taking this I had slightly better than 20/20. I experienced brain fog. Incoherence, and the inability to use the right words when engaging with others during conversation. I was extremely fatigued, and it was especially bad the first three days of each week after taking my medication. It impaired my ability to drive and sometimes I would forget how to get places I had been a million times before. I had never experienced this before and it resolved after stopping this medication. I also had abnormal kidney test results after taking this, in addition to edema of the marrow of my bones. My doctor continued to encourage me to take this, but it didn’t seem to help with my inflammation and was making being a cognoscente human very difficult. I felt like I was being poisoned, and so I stopped this. I’ve tried hydroxychloroquine but developed tinnitus among other problems. Everything available to treat RA burns your candle at both ends. You may feel better, or get cancer or other horrible side effects. At this point, I’d rather be cripple and in pain than deal with blistering skin, losing my hair, mouth lesions, incoherence, brain fog, and vision loss. If you have RA, my heart goes out to you. The choices available are such double edged swords, and the pain is often so great and constant. Stay grounded, stay strong, and best wishes.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R.A. in Montana | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This will start the 10th week of this treatment for Rheumatoid Arthritis. I m starting to see a decrease in swelling and pain in my finger and toe joints. Unfortunately I am one of the recorded percentage of ppl taking this medication that has nausea, vomiting, and extreme fatigue. I am contemplating whether the quality of life on this medication is worth the little bit of relief. Dosage is 20mg a week recently increased. I have a few days a week where I feel half way normal. I still work 40+ hours a week and pray I pray for better quality of life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Riverside | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication, that was prescribed for scleroderma, made me so ill. Increased pain, breathlessness, dizziness/fainting, sweating, palpitations, weakness, blurred vision, headache, confusion, extreme fatigue and vomiting. After 4 weeks of trying to take 10mg I stopped taking it as I was starting to question whether I wanted to continue living if that was what my life was going to be like and my employer had explained to me that they could not continue to employ someone in the condition I was in. It took 2-3 months for the side effects of the medication to resolve sufficiently for me to try taking just one 2.5mg tablet. Within 30 minutes I was vomiting, sweating and the room was spinning. The pharmacist said not to take it anymore. Unfortunately the hospital said my options are methotrexate or no treatment as they are not licensed to prescribe any alternatives. I still have the swollen, black hands that do not really function, tiredness and burning sensations in my muscles that this medication was supposed to treat but, overall, my quality of life is better without it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy Parker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We caught my RA early and I begged to go on methotrexate. I have not had a single side effect (it's been 6 months since starting) and my RA went into remission three weeks after I started. Pain free!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelly | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2022
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this medication for approximately 4 weeks. I have not been experiencing any side effects and my scalp psoriasis has cleared up to about 85% gone. I will say though, and I'm not sure if it is related, but even though I don't have the large flaking of the scalp I still have the itchiness. I will ask my Dermatologist about this when I see him in 1.5 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kmc | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2020
Condition: Sarcoidosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out on the lowest dose available. Gradually dosed up experiencing NO relief from symptoms of nerve pain. If anything the pain from nerve damage got worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Greg | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2020
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking it for two months got that I couldn't walk 30ft without losing my breath felt like a elephant standing on my chest. Now going to a doctor to try to get my lungs back wish I never took it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cosmo3124 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on prednisone for a year,and I could get by and barely do my job. Went on methotrexate and after 2 months I had to stop working, and I seem to be the worse I have ever been. Went to the ER today and was,go en an injection of prednisone so I could function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anne | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/5/2018
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have taken methotrexate for 10 yrs. fining it is less effetive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AM | 13-18 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/10/2018
Condition: Polyarticular Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with JIA when I was 2 and still struggle with it at age 14. I have used this drug since I was 4, so about 10 years now. I started off with a low dose weekly and started getting higher. Methotrexate never truly worked for me because when ever my doctors said I was in remission and started to go down on my dosage I flared again and again and again. My symptoms were horrible for about 8 of those 10 years I threw up every single time I got the injection. My other symptom was there for the whole time. I would be nauseous for the next 4-6 days and would still have to wake up every morning and go to school no matter how much pain I was in. t was just daily life and you think you would get used to it after 10 years of weekly injections but definitely not. I recently started Humira on top of the methotrexate, after I had my worst and most painful flare in 6 years. Anyway my doctor now think it is a good idea to switch to a different drug called leflunomide. She says it won't make me sick but one of the symptoms is nausea and I'm kinda worried if it is going to work for me. I don't mean to sound like a baby but I don't want to go through the pain of another flare and risk making it worse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MortallyWounded | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2017
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started seven weeks ago with 10mg for four weeks, then upped to 12.5mg three weeks ago. Results with severe plaques mixed. Lighter plaques clearing up gradually. No major side effects other than abdominal discomfort. Joint pain and stiffness has not worsened as it typically does entering the winter months, but swelling has not reduced and joints are still only 90% functional.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cewat | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/4/2017
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to take once-a-week oral tablets. No side affects after 2 years on this. Does not stop inflammation due to psoriatic arthritis entirely - my small joints of hand and feet are still swollen and painful quite often. Dr. prescribed Meloxicam for control of pain plus D3, folic acid, fish oil.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BigBoiFunTime | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/3/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It started off fun, but ended in very little fun 3/10

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2017
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J le Roux | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2017
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1st week felt fine and it has improved my movement 2nd week I've felt anxious, tired, dizzy and my skin started peeling all over. This is the 2nd time I've tried this drug and it has had the same side effects. I'm hoping to move on to a biologic drug soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/8/2017
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stared out with a low dosage. Was increased to 6. Then all hell broke loose after I would not continue on prednisone. I am now at the max dose, as of last night. 4/8/17. I also take lacorvin calcium the next day to ward off sickness. I also recommend those who have tested negative for RA as I have. Their is a new test out. It's called the Vectra Test. Just a blood draw. Yep positive for RA. It test 12 proteins in your blood vs the RA factor. Highly recommended. be sure your ins will cover it. It's rather expensive. It's amazing what it shows. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littgaia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2017
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken to heal severe psoriasis on my hands. As soon as it cleared, I stopped taking the drug as it left me with loose bowel movements too frequently. I have had fantastic success using essential oils in its place.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | Patient
10/11/2016
Condition: Psoriasis associated with Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have psoriatic arthritis but have not been treated with methotrexate, so this review might get deleted. I do have a comment, though: I urge anyone with inflammatory arthritis to investigate food sensitivities and the "LEAP" protocol. It has greatly improved my arthritis symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More