Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I've had eczema since I was about 10 years old; once I turned 30 the eczema started to flare up on my face all around my nose and mouth and eyelids. I tried everything from lanolin ointment to steroid ointments, nothing worked for months. After only 3 days of using this (2X a day) it cleared up completely! Burns a little when you first put it on but so worth it in the end.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have had those flu-like symptoms including asthma-like breathing (I don't have a diagnosis), burning and severe itchiness, and sensitivity to touch (see, it's a vicious cycle of being itchy then not consciously scratching, then it hurts and itches more). Whenever I apply it, it tends to get better in 2-3 days, then it comes right back the following week. It's been like that for the past 2 years,...

Shared reviews and ratings

Franny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2024
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have this condition since I was 4 years old. I have been using this for 1 week. The intense burning on my affected skin is unbearable. I walk around with ice packs on my skin. Waiting to hear from the Dr. To figure out the next step.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pete | 45-54 | Patient
3/13/2024
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had sebhorreic dermatitis for 30 years and had been using mild steroids c. twice a week, but that didn't really seem to help any more. Protopic was recommended by a dermatologist, though I initially didn't follow up on that recommendation because of the reviews I'd read. A year later, I decided to give it a go. As another review has noted, everyone's skin is different. I didn't experience any burning or itching at all. It's quite greasy, and I've been using it once a day rather than twice for a week now. And I've been using the 0.03% rather than 0.1%, as that was what was prescribed (if it works, it's good to use the weaker version I understand). I'm a week in, and the results have been good. My skin has improved - not radically, but to an extent that gives me some optimism. And I haven't experienced any side effects. I plan to keep using this for a few more weeks once a day, and then move to twice a week. Assuming the results continue to be positive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danny | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2024
Condition: Eczema Skin Condition Resisting Treatment
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had almost all the side affects, flu like symptoms and breathing problems (undiagnosed like I saw on here but I feel like I can barely breathe when walking, maybe it flared up my asthma) absolutely inflamed skin and diarrhea and nausea to the max. Sick of nothing working. I've been dealing with this for a year now and it's slowly spreading all over my body and the only think that has kind of helped me is dupixent. Though that is a shot, and probably not very affordable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amazing | 55-64 | Female |
12/30/2023
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only needed to use this ointment for 1 week after a severe allergy to my face. After a few days all the skin damage and inflammation had totally left. I could definitely feel a heat way below my skin layer but nothing that was unbearable. Totally amazing ointment!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
11/26/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It burned my adult daughter face to the point that her condition worsened hugely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/27/2023
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Long story short: I experienced very mild side effects only, and this has cleared my stubborn eczema that was no longer responding to hydrocortisone. Long story: I mainly get eczema/AD around my eyes and mouth, have had this since I was 12, I’m now 27, and about 3 years ago I started to get dyshydrotic eczema on my fingers. I did an initial course of protopic 1% twice a day for 6 weeks, now using it twice a week (or less) for ‘maintenance’ around my eyes and mouth and on my fingers only, some eczema patches never returned after the initial 6 week treatment so I don’t use the protopic on those areas anymore, hopefully I can eventually stop completely. My fingers took the longest to clear and I still experience flares so I sometimes apply the protopic for a few days up to a week if it’s a bad one - I’m pretty sure it’s allergies I’m waiting for patch testing. In terms of side effects, I did experience the burning/itching sensation, but it stopped after a week or so of use. Sometimes if I go a bit longer between maintenance applications I get the burning again a little bit. I also sometimes getting flushing and burning when I drink alcohol particularly around my eyes, it usually lasts 30 mins max and only happens if I’ve applied the protopic within 48 hours before drinking. I used to use hydrocortisone to treat my eczema, but about a year and a half ago my flares started occurring more often and the hydrocortisone seemed to have become less effective. My doctor told me to stop using it completely, that what I was getting was a rebound rash not eczema. I stopped, and so began the most hellish year of my life! The worst flares I’ve ever experienced, couldn’t sleep with the itchiness, some areas were oozing, I didn’t want to leave the house because of how bad I felt I looked. I still don’t know if what I was experiencing was TSW (topical steroid withdrawal) or just my eczema worsening due to removal of treatment. I’ve since learned that stopping it suddenly instead of tapering off was an horrible idea and increased chances of negative side effects so thank you doctor. Anyway with a lot of reluctance I eventually (about 4 months ago) gave in to a dermatologist and agreed to treatment with protopic. I was reluctant because of the possibility that I was going through TSW, and through TSW Facebook groups I read that the same thing happens with protopic. I still don’t know if I made the right choice for the long term, only time will tell (I used hydrocortisone intermittently for over 12 years before it stopped working), but it has been a huge relief the last few months to not obsess over my skin everyday and to have a break.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marty | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unbearable burning for more than a day...and counting. The claims that the burning lasts only up to 20 mins, for me, is bogus. The burning is unbearable, and gets worse in the shower when trying to wash it off. This drug turned out to be a huge rip off (costs $160 CAD) and did absolutely nothing to suppress symptoms. Huge regrets going down this road.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Collying | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/9/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After I started using protopic I developed an allergy to alcohol! It took me ages to make the connection. Also it states only use for 6 weeks and I’d been on it over 6 months under doctors orders! I have read that it can cause lymphoma and skin cancer! Use with caution and read up on it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbz | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/5/2023
Condition: Eczema Skin Condition Resisting Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this for 3 weeks now and it has been a lifesaver. Had huge blisters on hands, fingers and arms but all cleared up now. Only slight flu like symptoms but I’d rather that than sore hands and arms! Easy to apply and use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aidan | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2022
Condition: Eczema Skin Condition Resisting Treatment
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had psoriasis since I was 14. Recently it appeared on my arm and wasn’t going away with my usual steroid cream. It had gotten so bad it was my entire inner upper arm. This cream I only used for four days and I broke out in red hot puffy blisters that are spreading. It’s increasingly more painful and behaves similar to a 2nd degree burn. I already expected a scar from the psoriasis but now I think my arm is going to be permanently disfigured due to this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andreia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a flair up of dermatitis on my face but mainly on my eye lids and under my eyes it was very itching so I went to the doctor and he prescribed me protopic as the cortisone creams never worked for me.The minute I got home I put a very thin layer on my face as I was told and within seconds my face was on fire like someone throw acid or boiling water at my face,it was burning,hurting so bad and was bloody red with blisters forming all over my eyelids and lips, went to the ER and they were able to calm my skin a bit and I was icing it as well .For the next following days it wasn't easy as my eyes had a lot of swelling and were shut.Eventually things got better but I was left with saggy skin on my upper eyes from blistering so much,scars all over my face and racoon eyes as my skin under my eyes got damage so bad that I have scars which I have to cover with makeup everyday in order to look and feel somewhat better when I'm outside .I ask everyone to use this cream with caution or avoid it completely so you don't end up like me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked for me in the past for my eczema, recently I have developed a huge rash on my hand, which turned out to be psoriasis I have been putting the cream on for a few days now and it's not working, maybe it's not meant for that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KatMal | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2021
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 2013 I was going through a painful divorce and developed horrible dermatitis on my jaw line and chin. My healthcare provider did not have a dermatologist on staff at the time, so I saw a GP at my doctor's office who didn't have a clue. I don't remember she prescribed but within minutes it felt like my face was on fire and it made my condition exponentially worse as it was all over my face. I looked like a monster or a meth head and it was seriously painful too. I live in the Boston area where we have no shortage of great medical centers, so I went to the ER at Brigham and Women's Hospital. After waiting two hours to be seen I didn't even see a doctor, apparently there were no doctors working, so I saw a nurse practitioner. I could tell she didn't have clue about my condition but prescribed something anyway. I tried it on a small area first, it did nothing. Finally my PCP got me an appointment to see a dermatologist at Beth Israel Medical Center, but I had to wait over a month to see him, and I looked like a monster. I saw an amazing doctor, so it was worth the wait. He gave me Protopic and I saw an improvement immediately within a few days it was gone. I still get occasional breakouts on my chin but with Protopic it goes away within hours. When I saw Dr. Stavert the following week it was all cleared. This is my last week here you’ll need to see someone else if you come back. I asked where he was going and he replied, “The Cambridge Health Alliance” I couldn’t believe my luck, because CHA is my provider. Protopic works great and you only need a dab so it lasts a long time. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MM | 45-54 | Female | Patient
8/20/2020
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only med that has ever cleared up my skin issue on my eyelids.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2017
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leylee | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/27/2017
Condition: Eczema Skin Condition Resisting Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had eczema for thirty odd years and tried everything available, nothing worked for long particularly on my face but once I got on the Protopic it cleared totally for a few years and now if I get a little flare up I treat it and away it goes. It does burn a little on application but that goes away after a few applications, the results to me are a god send as I wouldn't go outside the front door sometimes as my face was so bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Catlondon | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/25/2016
Condition: Atopic Dermatitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had eczema all my life and I occasionally get flare ups on my face. They are the worst and of course I am advised not to use steroids (although I often did despite the risks). My doctor prescribed tacrolimus the first time without warning me about the itching and burning it causes on application, so I immediately stopped because it is very uncomfortable! When I realised it was normal and got through the burning stage of 1/2 days it cleared my skin of my face if any eczema. It's amazing, I now apply it only once every few days. I still don't use it on my body though because I never have enough, and recently got a full body flare up so had to stop taking tacrolimus while goin on a course of oral steroids, as I don't think you are supposed to use the two together. This means I have to go through the itchy, burning few days as my face re-adjusts to the tacrolimus cream. I have taken 2 days off work to do this as I can't concentrate on anything else because I find it so uncomfortable. Worth it in the end though so don't give up because I found it horrible at first but in the end it got rid of my eczema which is the main thing!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Itchy Eye Veteran | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2016
Condition: Eczema Skin Condition Resisting Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never had Eczema as a child but when I turned 14 I started to get Eczema under my eyes and my whole eye lids and crease under my eyes would turn red. I stopped wearing makeup for 6 months and tried other products like Aquaphor but I did not receive the results that I did with this product. Cleared up my itchy eyes right away. 10/10 would recommend. It burn at first though...no big deal well worth it! I have used it now for many years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Linda | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am diagnosed with Psoriasis which I have on my entire face. I was told to use once per day at night until skin clears up and then use twice per week for maintenance. At time of writing, I have used for 6 nights in a row. After 2nd use, my skin was clear and itch, flaking, and redness was gone. I am prepared to go into maintenance mode. Stay tuned...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hessonian | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/22/2015
Condition: Eczema Skin Condition Resisting Treatment
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had those flu-like symptoms including asthma-like breathing (I don't have a diagnosis), burning and severe itchiness, and sensitivity to touch (see, it's a vicious cycle of being itchy then not consciously scratching, then it hurts and itches more). Whenever I apply it, it tends to get better in 2-3 days, then it comes right back the following week. It's been like that for the past 2 years, and obviously it does not "cure", it only "treats". And as your immune system is weakened, you are prone to getting sore throats etc.... Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More