Show ratings & reviews for

1.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

When my pharmacy sent me a notification that my Xulane had been switched to this new alternative, I definitely did NOT have any positive expectations, especially after visiting many review posts on Zafemy. I was extremely worried about breakthrough bleeding, heavy clotting, a messed up cycle (I'm 30, so I've had more than enough of inconsistent cycling), and the consistent reviews that the Zafemy ...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Patches don't stick

Shared reviews and ratings

Lady36 | 25-34 | Female | Patient
6/7/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could’ve last a week on these. After day 3 my patch fell off and I had to put a new one on. I had a terrible migraine only on the right side of my head for days (same side of my body the patch was on), to the point if I looked at the light it was a stabbing pain through my head. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NettaMarie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/19/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This doesn't stick on your skin at all.. yes it's easy to use but u need a ace bandage wrapped over it to keep it staying. I ended up pregnant with these patches not knowing that it fell off due to sweating in hot temperatures a

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/12/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this patch going on two years now and I’ve never had any big issues with it. Every once in a blue moon I’ll have a patch that wouldn’t want to stay within the first year. But cleaning the area before application helps and after I put mine on I keep my hand on top of it for a few seconds to press it down. The spot that works thee best for me is my shoulder /upper arms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The patches never stuck. Would fall off within 48 hours. I switched because of an insurance problem and having to go to a specific pharmacy. Struggled until I went back onto Xulane because I couldn't get my period to actually start showing up again. (They're irregular because of PCOS)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Myla | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/26/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control is so good and easy to use, I’ve only had one patch missing the adhesive otherwise they stick perfectly and work great my periods are way lighter too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The adhesive failed within 24 hours. I immediately applied another patch and got the same result. I’ve been on several patches and Zafemy is by far the most frustrating. I cannot compare side effects as it was never on long enough to tell.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/4/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacy only carries this brand and I hate it. I got pregnant on this brand almost 2 years ago. I switched pharmacies after having my baby. But because the second pharmacy was too far away I had to switch back to the first one. And yet again they keep falling off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olivia | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In order to get zafemy to stick. You have to rub the area with an alcohol pad, let it dry, then stick the pad on. I put mines on Monday, it’s now Thursday and it has lasted. It has lasted through the showers also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 19-24 | Female | Patient
1/28/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They are not sticky in the slightest. I thought I messed up putting the first one on, but nope. A kids sticker has more adhesive than these. It's like trying to get a plastic window cling to stay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maddy | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They dont stuck for sh!t!! ive tried putting them everywhere, my arm, my lower stomach my upper stomach, my butt, everywhere u possibly can. and everytime i shower, they come off. theyre the worst ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/6/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thank goodness my daughter is only using this for her periods and not for preventative b/c the patches suck and do not stay on very good!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ThatOneGirlKay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Zafemy on a Friday and by Sunday I threw my hands up. I just had a baby 5 months ago and was looking into birthcontrol. I was on Ortho Patch before, never had an issue and I get a script of Zafemy and I absolutely hate it. Saturday I was so beyond exhausted- fatigued to the fullest and today I feel SICK as can be. Chills, nausea, stomach ache. I ripped it off. I’m done. I can’t do it. 10/10 would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/3/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started on the patch just over two moths ago and I will be switching methods once my prescription runs out. I have been decently happy with the patch, have had no issues with it not sticking like most people seem to have and I have noticed few changes to my moods from it but it has been causing me to get cold sores back to back and for that reason I am switching. I have had three cold sores in the few weeks since starting on the patch and I can't bear it anymore. If you don't get cold sores i would recommed giving it a shot, if you do get them then id stear clear. Still not pregnet tho!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/4/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using the Zafemy patch for 5 months now. My periods have always been irregular before the patch (I used to get my period once every 2/3 months) and my period is always on time now with the normal 28 day cycle! I often have unprotected sex, maybe about 1-4 times a week and I haven't been pregnant yet either, as my period always comes in time during the patch free week. Although the Zafemy patch could be more sticky, it works well and is easy to put on. I just wish it was stickier because it definitely does not stick well/gets loose in a jacuzzi or pool. I suggest if you are going to take a bath, going to the pool or jacuzzi, do it during your patch free week or dip in the water that isn't in a location where the patch is (for instance, the shoulder maybe). Otherwise, Zafemy is a pretty good birth control. I just wish it was stickier.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/3/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This patch sucks it does not stay on when you are in any kind of water shower, bath, pool, anything. The other brand Nurx works way better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beanie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/14/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These are the worst patches I’ve ever used. Granted, I have not gotten pregnant, but that’s because I’ve had to keep up with proper precaution on top of wearing this patch. It falls off when I shower, it falls off when I sleep, it falls off when I sweat (and I don’t even sweat that much), and it falls off sometimes not even 10 minutes after putting it on. I have to constantly replace my patch, so I’m constantly changing my patch change day because I don’t know if it’s been effective or not. This is the only birth control that works for me, so it is extremely disappointing that even this method is frustrating me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
crguez | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I thought I was dying. I was constantly hot and dizzy and nauseous. I couldn't even make it a full first week. My heart pounded like crazy, and I had terrible brain fog. And my body was so weak, it felt like the flu from hell. It was scary. I know its rough to get used to birth control for the first couple of months, but I just could not function. It didn't mess with my moods, and I had no spotting or change down there, but I was in agony.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annoyed Female | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/14/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They do not stick no matter where you put them! I am constantly nauseous and the headaches are horrible! I have never had an issue with acne and now after using these patches im breaking out everywhere!! My face, back, and chest it is absolutely horrible!! I had a patch on my shoulder blade and had to take it off early due to it burning and itching. I ended up having blisters under the patch. I stopped taking it and the acne has now continued and is not getting any better since stopping the patch! I tried getting back on them and no luck still having horrible experience with them.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Agent P | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2023
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zafemy hasn’t been working that well for me.. I went to talk to my doc about it and she put it on for me and wiped with a wipe and it still came off my body. I’ve had it every where.. on my butt, my side, my back, and my upper arm it just don’t stick and this is my first time on BC so I’m gonna Steichen to a different one .. lol thanks for reading may we get Thur this together!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More