Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

4 People found this comment helpful

I am a long time ( 20+ yrs) insomniac. Having tried every OTC, Medical Device and Rx for my issue, I was anxious to try the new DORA drugs. These drugs ( Belsomra and Dayvigo) work entirely different than the Z drugs and Benzo's. They stop the arousal or wakefullness neurotransmitters that are keeping so many of us awake. These drugs don't put you to sleep they allow you to sleep on your own accor...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I've had problems sleeping for years and have tried almost everything OTC. The doctor has prescribed different meds and since this came out it was suggested I try it and see if it would work any better. Dayvigo 5mg once at night. 1st night I take it and it just felt like my brain and body were telling me to go to sleep. It did pretty good at first but during the day I felt kinda depressed but brus...

Shared reviews and ratings

Michelle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/26/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel it works but mainly for 5 to 6 hours not much longer. I feel I have had a mucous in my throat since I have been taking this. It is hard to do the process of eliminating. I was wondering if this was an allergy side effect or if anyone else has experienced this. To me it seems since I started taking them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dopey | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

drowsy and down the next day. Will cut 5mg I half.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ravin | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 2 of .5mg together. No sleep well. Slept for 4 hrs after taking those .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Giles H. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I ever took this drug, I experienced cataplexy and sleep paralysis. I did four combat tours in the infantry and Iraq and Afghanistan, and I have never ever ever had a more terrifying experience in my life. As I fell asleep awaken to auditory hallucinations, while staring at a monster in the corner with a face made out of leather. I could not breathe, or I could not move, and was unable to scream, until I finally was able to move my body. I was terrified to go back to sleep. The most terrifying experience I've ever had in my life Do not take the drugRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
G Hawthorn | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experienced cataplexy and sleep paralysis. I had auditory and visual hallucinations and woke up and was unable to breathe or move my arms and my eyes were wide-open, while staring at a monster in the corner of my bedroom that had a face made out of leather I did full combat tour in the infantry in the Middle East, and I have never ever been more terrified in my life than when I took this medication I woke up screaming and blind panic and immediately grabbed my phone and reached out to three people and went and sat in the living room, paranoid and pacing for an hour at 1 AM I can't tell you how nervous I was to go back into my bedroom, although I did fall asleep without incident, and then flush the rest of those medication's Do not take this medication even though the odds of you experiencing negative side effects may be slight, it is not worth a risk, and was the most hellish night I've ever had in my entire lifeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sleepless in Ca | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from extreme insomnia. I need to be super duper alert for work. I've tried: melatonin, trazodone, zopiclone, Ativan, clonazepam. I took this for 5 days. On day 2/5 dreamt a co worker has pancreatic cancer [he does not]. It was so real that I almost called him to see how he was doing. On day 5/5 dreamt I was being stabbed to death. I could actually taste blood gurgling in my throat. Never ever will I take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Taylor | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been a game changer for me. I had tried all the others ie: Ambien, sonata, etc. they all left me super drowsy & gave me terrible short term memory loss. The first night I took Dayvigo I slept like a champ for 8 full hours & boy I felt like a million bucks I hadn’t slept like that since I was a child. I have been taking it for a week with no side effects except I slept through my alarm the first morning after. I have had insomnia for so long I had forgotten what good sleep felt like. I feel awful for others who have had bad side effects but for me thankfully that has not been the case. On a side note you shouldn’t eat within 2 hours of taking it otherwise it takes forever to kick in. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tony | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cannot be 100% sure, but if you have a history of arrhythmias, be careful with this drug. I have a history of A-fib and PVCs, but have been in sinus rhythm for several years until I took Dayvigo. I ended up going to the emergency room. afib, PVCs, and tachycardia was triggered. Again, can’t be 100% sure so just be aware.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TiredAF | 35-44 | Female | Patient
1/11/2024
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor wanted to switch me to this medication from Ambien since it is less addictive. I didn’t have any nightmares or paralysis but the medicine started working rapidly within about 45 minutes of taking it. In less than one minute, I went from feeling very awake to feeling like I was being put under anesthesia like I might stop breathing. While I initially fell asleep quickly, I kept waking up during the night and only got about 3-4 hours of sleep total. I also felt extremely tired and anxious the next day. Do not recommend especially if ambien is already working for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
David | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Zopiclone for many years and was experiencing morning fog. My pharmacist said that it was affecting my rem sleep and that I should try Dayvigo as it was less likely to do that. I got a prescription from my doctor and took 5mg and fell sleep easily BUT I soon found myself trying to scream for help as I was experiencing the most horrific and vivid nightmares I have ever experienced. I was terrified. It reminded me of a bad trip I had while in my university years in the sixties. That was enough for me to go back to Zopiclone. I would rather have a bit of morning fog than have nightime terror.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nh | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Be careful if you try this medication. I had a severe side effect of respiratory depression within 30 minutes of taking this medication for the first time. It was extremely scary. I will never take this medication again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
545664 | 65-74 | Male | Patient
11/23/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worst medication I've ever taken and they the hubris to charge $400/30 pills, with an $100 copay. The biggest waste of money ever! I was prescribed 100 mg, the highest dose and Dayvigo was absolutely horrible. Instead of alleviating insomnia it created the absolute worse insomnia and the worst nightmares of my life. The first night I slept for 2 hours then woke up every hour after that. The second night the exact same thing except one time I woke up and I couldn't go back to sleep for 2 hours. Ultimately I had to use a rain simulating noise program to fall asleep. Then again slpt only 2 hours then woke up every hour. The third night I tested their claims about effectiveness and Dayvigo completely failed. Their claims were complete lies! I took Dayvigo at 6:00 pm. It took until 7:00 pm for me to get drowsy. I stayed up to see how long it would be effective. By 8:00 pm I was wide awake again. I waited until 9:00 pm and took another 100 mg. At 10 pm I did not even feel drowsy but I tried to go to sleep. Again I had to use a rain simulating noise program to fall asleep. And for the third time I slept 2 hours then woke up every hour after that. That was it, no more Dayvigo ever. It cost me $33/pill to be tortured by this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MB | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am new to Dayvigo (lemborexant) and sharing my initial experience. Had insomnia for over 16 years and it started in my mid-20s due to various stressors. Chronic insomnia really sucks the life out of you as it impacts every single aspect of your life. Xanax works great for me but doctors in Canada won't prescribe more than a few. Some don't prescribe it at all. The doctor at the local clinic then gave me Dayvigo and I was skeptical to try it at first after reading many of the reviews. To my surprise, this actually works very well. It reduces sleep latency and increases sleep duration. However, some things to keep in mind would be: 1.Dayvigo works best for primary insomnia. It is a central nervous system depressant so anyone with depression should probably stay away from it. Works very well for an overworked tired-but-wired nervous system. 2. It works best on an empty stomach. This is something I find challenging because there are often days when I can't dine too early. The days I take it 4-5 hours after a meal, it works better than when I take it 2 hours after. 3. Take it only if you have about 6-7 hours to rest. Any less than that it'll leave you really tired and groggy all through the next day. Overall, a good medication that helps with sleep onset and maintenance. The research says it does not cause physical dependence (unlike benzos) but I'm yet to test that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
#unhappy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've suffered from bad sleep for around 20 years, usually use Zopiclone; however, due to cost, I tried this instead.... it was terrible! I fell asleep soon after, but the dreams kept waking me up all night! So vivid, nasty nightmares. Do not recommended!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Romeo Lim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 66 year old male and a chronic insomniac for >30 years. Had been taking Melatonin, Clonazepam (Klopin), Zopiclone (Ambien) and other sleeping pills with little or no effect. Had tried CBD, sleep hygiene, assorted teas and herbs with little to show for it. I was prescribed Dayvigo by my son-in-law, an MD, and was initially sceptical that it will work for me, but I decided to try it so I stopped taking Clonazepam and waited 30 days before I took the first Dayvigo 5 mg pill. That first night I slept 7 hours - a miracle for me - and the rest of the week was similar. I had zero side-effects and feel refreshed and alert the morning after. I was wary of the horrible side-effects reported here and elsewhere, sleep paralysis is no joke. I was really resisting taking it, so fortunately I had none I feel bad for those people who posted their negative experience here with this medication. I know how bad being unable to sleep is, being a victim myself. I wish it would work for you the same way it worked for me. I am not affiliated with any group or entities making or selling these meds. Just sharing what I personally experienced Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | Patient
10/17/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The medication puts me to sleep fast. Lasts about 5 to 6hrs which is good for me. Best part is I don't get that over drowsy feeling the next day like other drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
6/22/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DAYVIGO caused me horrible anxiety which resulted in no sleep. I even felt anxious the next morning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ys | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hesitated about writing this, but still feel strongly about wanting to say something out of moral conscience. I went to see my doctor to get some sleeping aids yesterday, and he recommended me DAYVIGO, saying it's a new technology and is less concerning with dependence. So he gave me a 9-day trial to try it out. After taking the first dose, I had the most traumatic experience of sleep in my entire, entire life. This "sleeping-aid" gave me sleep paralysis for 6 hours, during which I experienced extreme discomfort between the sensation of physically wanting to pass out uncontrollably and a super conscious mind that was NOT sleepy at all. Then, the horror began. I was stuck in lucid nightmares, only to "wake-up" in dreams after dreams, like a loop from the underworld that I could not get out of - the worst part was, I couldn't move. I thought repeatedly that perhaps this is it, I may not make it till the morning. I desperately wanted the time to be at sunrise because it felt like an eternity - only to realize I was only in this paralyzed sleep-wake state for four hours. Despite my original intention of taking the sleep aid to get some decent rest, so I can work more productively the next day, I feel the absolute worst that I have EVER been this morning - still trying to process "what the heck did I go through" last night, with terror, shock, and extreme fatigue (not to mention the allergic reactions I had on top of it all). I am SO ANGERY about being told to try this "sleeping-aid", and not being properly informed about the NIGHTMARE side effects that MIGHT happen. This medication should be given to anyone with extreme caution. To some, it is an absolute murder weapon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Drug kept me awake, I usually sleep less than four hours on and off most nights. On this Drug I slept lless and felt lethargic

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hope! | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2023
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been an insomniac for a long time complicated with sleep apnea. I was taking max dose ambien and not sleeping. Dayvigo didn’t feel relaxing like benzodiazepines and other gabaergic type drugs. At first it stressed me out bc the first thing was it gave me terrible tinnitus (I get tinnitus in response to a lot of things but this was really bad ). I thought no way does this help. Then I had a mild headache. But then - I was out! I didn’t wake up even a little bit during the night. It was amazing. That has never happened even after crisis zyprexa. I always wake up. But not with this med. I am still fairly new to dayvigo but since I develop tolerance to every single other option on the market I am very optimistic about this medication. I really hope I don’t develop cataplexy like some people. I was ina. Dark place because of extreme sleep deprivation before this. I am so hopeful now. I tend to get sleep paralysis so I am also hopeful that they don’t increase with this med. but I would rather have periodic paralysis per usual than deal with extreme sleep deprivation ever again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More