Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

Started 3mg nausea is very real until your body adapts. Same happens every time you're on a new dose. I've been on it 3 months & I'm down 34 pounds

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Started on 3 ml then 7 ml then 14 ml that’s when my problems started . It came on gradually over some days Shortness of breath , palpitations pain radiating up to my jaw so bad I was admitted to Hospital with suspected Heart attack or Angina or Blood clots on the lungs . Everything came back normal , This was over a 3 month period and several trips to ER . Steed taking it and within days all sym...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/8/2024
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the 3 mg for almost a year. My A1C levels dropped. I have lost about 32 pounds. I have had some light headedness and nausea. I was also taking Metformin and my doctor advised me to stop the Metformin since my concern was the light headedness. Since stopping that, I very occasionally have some light headedness but not like I was with both Rybelsus and Metformin. Some constipation and diarrhea. Not overly bothersome for me. I have not noticed a metallic taste or anything like that. If I feel nauseous I drink a little water or eat a little something and that helps. I asked my doctor to keep me on the 3 mg because I tolerated it well and it did what it was supposed to do. My appetite has decreased and I don't have the sugary cravings as often, rarely in fact. I crave fruits more than anything on this. I am nervous about long term effects reading all of the reviews posted. Another reason I have asked to stay on the 3 mg. I will see my doctor again next month to review more lab work. This medication has been successful for me but there are a few side effects I deal with as mentioned above. Overall the medication has done what my doctor wanted it to do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grover | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If ever there was a miracle drug for diabetic, this is it. Sugars are now in total control. Total satisfaction

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DC | 65-74 | Female | Patient
12/11/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with type two diabetes about 8 years ago. I have been on many different medications including glucophage, and injections like Victoza and last one was Trulicity. I had an allergic reaction to the Trulicity so my doctor switched me to Rybelsus. Full disclosure I am a retired RN and always research my meds and keep up with labs. 8 years ago my A1C was 11.2 and my random blood sugar was 295. I took Rybelsus exactly as recommended, starting with 30 days of 3 mg, and worked my way up to 14 mg. I am down 32 pounds but that has been over many months. I eat less, slower, low fat and very few sweets. Letting your body digest your food and not over eat is key. And I play a lot of pickle ball. I have had no side effects, and my A1C last check was 6. I am very satisfied with the medication and will continue until my doctor says otherwise. I do wonder if I can begin to decrease the dose as my weight continues to go down. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gila Monster | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is to my use I believe Gila monster poison is not ment for human consumption ! Bad drug for human body but lowers blood sugar causes vomiting nausea continous loss of appetite stools smell severely bad urine too! Pancreatitis was an inch from death! Bad drug I’d rather been bit by a diamond back rattler then take this Gila monster poison!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phil | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/26/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with the 3mg and got sick after a week of taking it for the next 3 days I threw up once after consuming it at 8am I threw up at 10am. After 3 days that stopped and I tolerated it fine. Then my doctor moved me to 7mg. After 1 week all was well but then I woke up threw up and then suffered with the worst gas and stomach cramps ever had. I am stubborn but any normal human would have went to ER. I was severely constipated for 2 weeks. Couldn't lay down because of the sharp back pains which was gas but at the time I thought it was ddeath.i ate nothing for 10days because the pain was Terrible. I stopped taking it and it went away. I switched to vegan and lost 72lds naturally, A1C dropped from 6.9 to 5.6 naturally and I'll never put that drug in my body again. Especially now that I discovered how to reverse type 2 diabetes with a whole food plant based diet with very little fat. I consume nearly 800 carbs a day and less than 30 grams of fat and nearly reversed type 2 and lost a ton of weight. Look up mastering diabetes and follow what they say it's too easy. Eventually the medication will cause irrevocable damageRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rick | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for over a year and in that time, went from 217 lbs to 172 lbs and my A1C has gone from 7.2 to 5.3. The largest side effect has been intense constipation which I have to take other medication to mitigate. If your A1C is higher and you have trouble getting it under control, then I definitely recommend this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hi, it's me | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/9/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Rybelsus for about 13 months now. I have lost a total of 110 pounds. It truly helps with controlling your blood sugar. Prior to taking it, my A1C was 10.8 and blood sugar stayed anywhere from 250 to 300. Now, my blood sugar stays in the 80s and my A1C is down to 4.9. Yes, you will be nauseous sometimes but this medicine has literally saved my life. My doctor wants to keep me on it for another year and hopes that my diabetes will then be controlled just by diet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
merrily | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/16/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

rapid drop in blood sugar and difficulty getting up to normal levels. I stopped taking my insulin but have had persistent hypoglycemia for the past 3 days of Rybelsus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
9/11/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Who at Rybelsus decided to put caps on their bottles that simply WILL NOT OPEN?? . . . Furthermore, who was the genius that decided to put the directions on the top of the bottle blue on blue??? Are KIDDING me???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doris | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Rybelsus 7mg for 1 month. My A1c has not changed. I check blood sugar when I rise every morning. Stays in 150’s. How long should I give it to see if thst changes?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SoMadITookIt | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/2/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I had never started it. I only took it for 2.5 months and in that time I had constant nausea that got worse with increased dosing, that turned into sporadic vomiting and I decided to stop it when I was laying in bed in pain from the nausea and vomiting thinking I'd be better off dead and thinking how to achieve it. That was my no more moment. Yes I lost weight, mostly because I couldn't eat without feeling sick, yes my a1c came down, but the bad effects are not worth it. Now 2 weeks after stopping it I am in the emergency room thinking am having heart attack and am told it's a gallbladder stone. Lucky they don't recommend surgery since it's only 1 and my gallbladder isn't inflamed or infected. 12 hours at er, excruciating pain in my chest and back with non stop vomiting. Not how I'd planned my day. At home I research and see the rybelsus can take 3 months to leave body after last pill. And that it can cause gallbladder stone which is something I'd never dealt with before. I don't think this is a good drug overall.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth S. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking this medication 3mg/day seven days ago. I didn't know what to expect, other than my doctor telling me it was going to curb my appetite. Holy cow, he was right! I've been about 45 pounds overweight for over a year and it's been really difficult for me to lose. In seven days, I've already lost six pounds! There are some side effects which aren't that great, but I'm losing weight so fast, I don't even care. I'm mildly nauseous often and it's not a fun feeling, but the queasiness is manageable. Also, I am only able to eat a fraction of a full plate before feeling very full. I can't eat another bite after only enjoying 1/4 of what I normally consume. My bowel movements have dramatically slowed down to every other day or so, but I'm eating so little now, my stomach has actually become flat. The constipation doesn't bother me very much. Overall, this experience, so far, has been amazing for me, even with the mild side effects. I've been trying to lose weight for years! Thank you, Rybelsus! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not worth it | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 3mg for six days. Day seven had severe pain in upper part of stomach. Then everything else hit. Thirty six hours of extreme vomiting and severe diarrhea. Very very close calls to the bathroom. After that passed, a small meal of toast and broth. That night again severe diarrhea. Immediately stopped medicine. Imodium, bland diet and drinking Gatorade to replenish electrolytes. Day three of night leaving the house, don’t know how people could do this for months. Totally not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects miserable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spankie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got a script for Rybelsus for weight loss because my BMI is over 30 and I have high cholesterol. I moved from a 3mg to a 7mg in four days and then to the top 14mg. I lost 23lbs after 2 months and never had any problems except extreme constipation (you just intake more fiber to counteract this). The key is little-to-NO sugar, fat and VERY LOW carbs. You can consumer carbs but if you keep daily consumption under 15 (just like with Keto or Paleo), your weight will drop significantly, quickly! I am on a second round after seeing if I could hold my own weight without it for several months and I only gained 5 pounds. For me this really works since I have chronic insomnia and keep generating cortisol so it's difficult for me to lose weight any other way. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Duane | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Trulicity the highest dose and when it became in short supply, my endocronologist put me on Rybelsus. I guess I am lucky--I have had no side effects other than constipation. I had to start taking MiraLax daily which solved this issue. I have been on it for 5 months and have lost 24 pounds. It isn't a miracle weight loss drug. It just curbs hunger pains and makes you feel full faster, so you eat much less. I have also found it helps with cravings--sweets and fried foods are not as tempting. it's odd, I just don't want them much any more. I do feel better over all and walk daily now. I do think the weight loss has plateaued for now after 5 months with eating the same small meals. It will be interesting to see if you can continue to lose weight long-term on this med. A1-C has been brought down to 5.9. I have had a good experience with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jean | 65-74 | Female | Patient
6/5/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started on 3 ml then 7 ml then 14 ml that’s when my problems started . It came on gradually over some days Shortness of breath , palpitations pain radiating up to my jaw so bad I was admitted to Hospital with suspected Heart attack or Angina or Blood clots on the lungs . Everything came back normal , This was over a 3 month period and several trips to ER . Steed taking it and within days all symptoms eased . It’s a little known Allergic reaction that even the Hospital didn’t know about

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jerry | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on Rybelsus since March. I ended up in ER in Afib with a 35 second episode of V tac. In the very end of the side effect of Rybelsus says possible Tachycardia. Please be very careful with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ejk | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been take 3mg for just under 2 weeks no side effects which is great! Don’t no if doing what it should!? Hopefully!… will be starting 7mg once I’ve finished my first 30 days on 3mg

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rlo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken the 7 mg dose for three months and have experienced no side effects at all. It has really lowered my blood glucose, for which I am very satisfied with. Unfortunately, I actually have gained weight since beginning it. It hasn't decreased my appetite at all. Wish I were like most people and had lost weight. Don't know why I had to be different. Very depressing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More