Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

45 People found this comment helpful

This drug has literally saved my life. (and the lives of my family). I was down on myself and treated others badly. I had anger issues and was very unhappy and I didn't know why. This drug has made my mood swings go away and I feel more in control. I am now a very happy person and can deal with everyday life and the challenges it brings. I have a son with ADHD and I am now more patient with hi...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

I just started this drug an hour ago (20mg) and I noticed my jaws starting to hurt and a slight headache. I'm falling asleep reading the reviews. I was feeling fine just before taking the medication. I hope I sleep tonight. Is this just happening to me?

Shared reviews and ratings

Egc | 25-34 | Female | Patient
1/16/2024
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked for a small amount of time. I caused more health issues like headaches and overly sweating plus it only helped with a small amount of my mental health issues

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2024
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on venlafaxine before starting fluoxetine. I have been taking it 3 weeks and I feel worse than ever.. emotional and crying at everything and my anxiety is severe. Feel more mentally ill than I ever have before. Can’t live my life like normal. I have been taking anti depressants for 10 years now after first going on them for panic attacks and depression. I feel like I have been stuck on them ever since. I want to come off them but I’m so scared of my own brain it’s so difficult. I refuse to be on antidepressants my whole life. Any advice would be amazing. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/12/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please make sure your dr. takes liver test before and during your usage of this medicine!!! I started taking fluoxetine about 6 months ago. I was taking it for occipital neuralgia (face and neck pain). I started with 30mg and went to 60mg. My pain was completely gone (95% of the time). It was great! I thought this is the medicine I had prayed for. I started having leg cramps and was concerned my potassium could be low. I went to my primary physician and had blood test. She checked for potassium, magnesium, liver functions and my sugar levels. All of them were crazy! My Doctor was so upset! A year ago by bloodwork was perfect. She said she was extremely concerned about my liver function and insisted I get off this medication as soon as possible before any more damage was done. I was so scared of what the medicine had done, yet so afraid of the pain returning, I felt very lost. I am about to start going through the process of being weaned off of this medication. After reading so many scary experiences I am most definitely not looking forward to this. This medicine does help with pain there’s no doubt, but I wish they would go back to the drawing board and make sure it doesn’t harm other parts of your body. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Momof3 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/29/2023
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m just curious. So, out of nowhere I started having panic attacks that were really bad. I got put on lexapro and that made me depressed so doctor took me off of that. Now, I am on day 9 of Prozac. I heard it can make your panic/ anxiety worse at first but it goes away? I have been feeling horrible for 4 days now! Four nights ago I woke up at 11:30 pm having a panic attack, chest hurting, sweaty hands, cold sweats etc and now I’m having trouble sleeping and still feel panic! Just want to know if I should stick with it? I need my life back! I’m a mom of 3 babies. I have been out of work for over a month because of this and I’m tired of feeling this way! Someone please give me your opinion.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mollloff | 13-18 | Nonbinary | Patient
11/11/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Zoloft before starting Prozac. I had no idea how poorly it was working until I switched. I had been taking Zoloft for over three years and I guess it did its job. I didn’t feel as depressed, but I also didn’t feel happy. It was like Zoloft just took everything I was feeling and turned the dial back. When I did switch, I noticed changes almost immediately. I was feeling the least depressed I had been in years, but more importantly, I felt happy. I had motivation to do things again. I wasn’t just sleeping all day. I had no idea what parts of life I was missing out on. I had my life back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cher | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/2/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost a year, I can't sleep, I have problems breathing, my body aches alot, gained 15 pounds, taking 20 mg finally I said I had enough.. this isn't for me.. I now understand that this has side effects and I'm not having no more of this medication.. id rather have my coffee ty very much..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mac | Male | Patient
9/10/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on Lovan for 3 yrs and was an excellent medication for depression and anxiety,but they have changed it to zactin ,which is nowhere near as good,bring back lovan

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Radhakridhnan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2023
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very effective and nice medicine. very helpful. thank god my dr gave correct remedy to me. some side effect but bearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shaz | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/6/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking 10 mg on 4th week slowly feeling a bit better side affects were awful still have a few but hanging in there for few more weeks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/4/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this medication for over a year now and I would say that it has greatly affected my everyday. I find that this medication helps more with my physical symptoms alike tiredness and tremors and therefore my mentality has been better. I still have bad days but compared to how I was before my life has gotten better. The only side effects I’ve has has been that my memory had gotten worse when I started the medication (it’s back to where it way before) and that I had difficulty feeling strong emotions (this still is happening but I’ve found ways to deal with it)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jop4321 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2023
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was experiencing anxiety with dymptoms of my pounding heart, sore tight throat, nervy and low mood for almost a year and found my dymptoms worsening so went to gp who started me on Fluoxetine. Initial symptoms first few days were headache and insomnia, then worsening of mood and anxiety for around 2 weeks. After 3 weeks, I noticed a bit of an improvement in my mood and I'm now at 4 weeks & 5 days and can honestly say my mood is quite good. I would rate it 7/10. My anxiety is improving not as bad as it was but still there at times. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jqua | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I increased to 20 mg, after taking 10 for about. Month. Been on 20 for almost a month. I feel so much less on the edge of a panic attack over mild stress. I can cope with stress so much better. I wouldn't say it helps me feel happier, but much less stressed and anxious

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KG | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started the 20 MG and felt a weight lifted after the first week. I had severe anxiety and pstd. My issue was taking it daily so I'm trying the slow release 90 mg where I only take once a week. Hopefully no major side affects. The other one I had slight headache but that went away as time went on. I'm no longer agitated at a drop of a dime. I'm in a more happy place and better focused.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/20/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Prozac for the last six months 20mg once a day. It hasn't helped with anxiety or depression. I think it has badly affected my memory and has put me in a confused and forgetful state of mind as well as feeling incredible tired. I would not recommend it, it wasn't worth it for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M.P. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/2/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had several fears - the fear of driving on the freeway; the fear of riding elevators; and the the fear of climbing a ladder, among others. I have taken this medication for about 4-5 months now. After 2-3 months I was able to ride in the car as my wife drove on the freeway. Big accomplishment. One day I got on the elevator and it dawned on me a few seconds later that I was riding the elevator and I was able to cope with it. At Christmas I decided to climb a ladder to hang lights and not a trace of fear or anxiety. I'm only taking 10mg. I don't plan to take more. I have attempted to get on the freeway myself and I have lasted until speeds get too high - around 55mph. But that is still a big accomplishment for me. Big fan of this drug. Can't say I've noticed any side effects. So too, I have started getting back into my meditation routine. I used to meditate several times a day. It helped me quit smoking. But I fell out of it. Happy to say I'm back at it twice a day so far. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
solitaire | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/26/2023
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hello, Im a 14-year-old girl who suffers from depression/anxiety (etc)and I've been taking zactin tabs for quite a while now, and my mum strongly. encourages me to take them and we sometimes argue about me taking them but apparently, I shouldn't take them at my age and I noticed that I had/have experienced some side effects that come with the tablets. and I personally haven't experienced any changes in my mental health, should I be taking them or not? I really need some advice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/27/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Fluoxetine 20mg for 2 weeks and the side effects I suffered were horrible! I was worse then I ever felt before, the anxiety tripled to the point I couldn’t get out of bed, mentally it didn’t help at all not even the slightest it only made me worse. The physical side effects were- migraines, severe muscle aches, teeth grinding in sleep, strong fatigue and the main one that made me come off was my spinal pain it was very intense. The Doctor also suggested that I come off right away as I gave it 2 weeks in the hope it’ll adapt with time but the side effects were only becoming worse. The moment I stopped taking them I’d feel a lot better so these weren’t for me. Everyone reacts differently to meds but this is my experience on them, I’ll be switching to other ones- it may be trial & error till I find ones that suit me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
T | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I thought id do updates as time goes on starting on 20mg as I know it’s help others, I am now a week in! The first 5 days I’d say were the peak of my side effects which included, feeling drowsy, weak and slightly nauseous also more anxious then usual.. the only side effects I now have is some headaches, jaw tightness, it’s also increased my appetite which I’d say I need to be careful with as I’m not looking to gain any further weight and muscle aches. It hasn’t much affected my sleep, my concentration is seeming to improve a little however my overall moods aren’t yet improving as in I feel pretty much the same prior to starting. I’m glad the side effects are gradually easing off as I adapt to the meds after the first week. I’m just eagerly awaiting and hoping to feel the positive results- I’ll be giving it time over the next few weeks and update another review. Most my anxiety symptoms have been, over worrying, overthinking, easily frustrated, negative thoughts, future worries, feeling anxious constantly and struggling to cope with work & overall life stresses, this also affected my memory massively- I just knew this wasn’t how I wanted to continue with this dark cloud taking over . I also want to say for those who are worried about starting any antidepressants, don’t let the overthinking get in the way as this is something I was doing for such a long time, the right meds will hopefully give you that extra support you need as something I’ve personally realized is leaving any mental health conditions untreated is only going to make it worse. I hope this helps many others :) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Miss T | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/14/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only started fluoxetine on 20mg for 3days now, prior to this I was really anxious to start any anti depressants. The side effects so far have been feeling weak/run down, loss of appetite and strong fatigue including feeling dizzy. I feel like I have an ever lasting flu & find it difficult to get out of bed! I’m also a lot more anxious than usual, however am aware these side effects are common. Having read some reviews I’m hoping these side effects go away whilst I adjust to these meds because it can make it so difficult to cope with these. For anyone else going through depression & anxiety I really hope we find the meds that work best for us as individuals. Ride through the first 4-6 weeks I’m sure it’ll be worth it! ????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LJude32 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/10/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken St. John's Wort for years and towards the end of nursing school, with a combination of unbelievable stress and anxiety the St. John's Wort, even though increased wasn't working anymore. I tried Wellbutrin which was not a fit, for me and then was put on Prozac. Started at 10mg for a week then moved up to 20mg. I felt the difference within the first week and outside of some sleepiness, I had no major adverse effects. I've been on it for 6 months now and WHAT A DIFFERENCE! My anxiety has improved tremendously and my overall mood has lightened. I wish I started this medication, earlier. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More