Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

I’ve been taking this for almost 6 years now, and have not had a single bad experience! I also have not gotten pregnant despite having raw sex this whole time. Recommend for sure!

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Ive never felt as awful on any birth control like ever. But this made me feel so weird. When i was supposed to have my cycle it literally gave me a huge migraine, really unpleasant creepy feeling in my arms and legs and felt like my BP was high. It also gave me a sense of doom feeling. Like i could possibly faint? I never even knew what ACHES even is for danger signs for birth control side effect...

Shared reviews and ratings

Johnsie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/29/2024
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pharmacist gave me Hailey FE after I’d been taking Junel for months. They say it’s the generic version but it is not the same! There’s a different amount of pills and placebos in the packs. I took it for about 3 weeks until I threw the whole pack out. As someone with slight anxiety I was having full blown panic attacks and disassociation out in public and it was terrifying. I wish I would’ve realized it sooner but this birth control truly traumatized me. I used to like how birth control kept my pms at bay but this pill is not worth it. BC free for me from here on out. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2024
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive never felt as awful on any birth control like ever. But this made me feel so weird. When i was supposed to have my cycle it literally gave me a huge migraine, really unpleasant creepy feeling in my arms and legs and felt like my BP was high. It also gave me a sense of doom feeling. Like i could possibly faint? I never even knew what ACHES even is for danger signs for birth control side effects, but googled my symptoms and wallah, it scared me sooo bad i thought i was gonna pass a clot, like gives me creepy stroke feelings, arm weakness. It started in my wrists, dull pain then the back of my legs, then chest pain. Then migraine. Needless to say i dont think it's safe. Rather go back to my heavy periods then feel this freaked out from these pills... sorry just stating what literally is happening to me. I had to take excedrin to gwt the migraine and pain down. I still feel weird im just drinking water. Wow. 2 weeks in and im praying for my period!!!! No Bueno! :( Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
1/24/2024
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this for 7-8 years and have had zero problems. And haven’t gotten pregnant!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nunya | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/24/2023
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication after switching from Junel due to constipation and abdominal pain. I honestly wouldn’t mind switching back after my 4 month experience with Hailey. I get max one week of downtime before I have an almost 3 week long period included with cramps, bloating, abdominal pain, diarrhea then constipation. I haven’t been able to live normally without a feminine product since I’ve been on it. Then on top of this, I’ve now become more susceptible to gum disease like gingivitis which is so lovely… It’s one thing after the other with this birth control, while I don’t have ruptured cysts anymore, I do now have painful breasts, mood swings, and am having an almost constant period that never ends. AGH, pleaaase take anything else. I’m planning on switching next month.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Megan | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2023
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was switched to the hailey fe unknowingly from junel fe and it has made my life so miserable I can't even finish out the pack and wait. It's been a week and I'm constantly nauseous, my mental health has gone severely downhill and it has also given me some gastrointestinal issues on top of my existing conditions.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kai | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2023
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control was originally prescribed to me for my painful periods, but I eventually found use for it's protection against pregnancy as well. I've been using this pill for about 4 months and my bleeding is usually in the placebo pill week and is very light but occasionally a medium flow and my period cramps are minimal to non-existent. I have experienced some increased anxiety and angst on the pill but overall my libido, regulation of my emotions, etc has been normal. I recommend this pill for anyone that it works for :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2023
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got on this pill because I was having awful cramps and uncomfortable pms lasting for up to 3 weeks. Before I started, I had anxiety (social and general) that was bad and I had no idea how bad it could get. First few weeks of taking I had spotting and stuff but it went away with use and has mostly stopped the pms and my periods were much better. At first, my periods were light but still painful, but I took the first placebo last night and I am not in any pain or having any bleeding to speak of. The reason I'm writing this review - The side effects. I have headaches all the time and have had a migrane that I've never had before. Even now my head and neck ache. I have had lots of cramping throughout my body, in my legs and stomach, etc. I started getting pain in my hips and pelvis which I'm not sure is from the birth control and I'm having to get an ultrasound because of it. I think it lowered my immune system because I've gotten colds, a sinus infection, and even e.coli since I've been on it. Now to the main reason I'm switching pills - It has made my mental health horrible. First day on it I almost threw up on the bus to school and it gave me a panic attack which I had to be in the nurse for. I have gotten panic attacks so easily over little stuff such as having to play volleyball, which leaves me feeling awfully nauseous, something that my anxiety has never done before. One night I even had one at night that was awful, leaving me to have to throw up but couldn't for a while and couldn't make myself without almost passing out because of how tired I was. Even after throwing up I still felt nauseous and barely slept. I have been nauseous most mornings even after 3 months on the pill. I have had dissociative episodes before, but I am in a constant state of dissociation that never goes away, sometimes much worse than other times, but I often don't realize I've been moving or walking, talking, etc because of how disconnected I feel from myself. I have tried to get used to it but I can't and it is always going to scare me. I am pretty much in a constant state of either feeling like I'm dying, or like I want to make myself die. It's made my ocd worse and has given me thoughts of eds that are really hard to control. I have gained some fat in my stomach that fuels those thoughts. I wouldn't say I'm overweight because I weighed myself before eating and was 109 (I'm about 5"0) but I have never had to worry about what I ate before this. My doctor is switching me to slynd because it is supposed to have no side effects, so wish me luck. Overall, I don't recommend. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherry | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/12/2023
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 13 and was having bad cramps that made me feel like I was dying and I had pms that lasted for up to 3 weeks filled with heartburn, cramps, pelvic pain, mood swings, the list goes on and on. This is my 3rd or 4th month taking it and I will say it mostly helped me, I didn't have the long pms and my cramps got much better every month and my bleeding was light. The reasons I'm switching: what happens if you don't take it, the psychological side effects, and that for the first couple months of taking it it was like pms was everyday. I keep forgetting to take it and when I do, I take it when I remember as instructed, but it will give me bad cramps and lots of other bad period side effects. One time it started my period which lasted even after taking the pills again and did not stop until I forgot the pill again and took it again. I had pretty bad physical side effects like headaches, nausea, and I even vomited once. The worst part, I have always had anxiety from social to general and this stuff made it HELL. Before taking it I had almost fixed my anxiety, and it was very low which I was very proud of, but this raised it high. I can't talk to people I don't trust without shaking, can't do anything simple in front of even a small group without everything shaking, my voice, my hands, even my thoughts. I would have horrible panic attacks for something dumb or nothing at all that left me really nauseous something that had never happened to me before. My anxiety has caused so many physical side effects and it's horrible. I'm pretty much always either feeling like I'm going to die and I'm scared or I want to make myself die. Last night i had a migrane that caused on and off mental confusion and trouble remembering stuff that got worse bevause i was cared and my anxiety acted up which sort of made me feel like i had a bad fever giving me brain damage, which luckily i did not and feel better today. One time I even had a panic attack on and off all night that made me so nauseous I couldn't sleep and needed to throw up but couldn't for an hour or so because it made me almost pass out whenever I tried because of how tired and weak I was from it. Even after throwing up I still felt a bit nauseous and barley got any sleep at all. Overall, I really don't recommend this especially if you have preexisting anxiety or depression or anything of the sort. I am switching to slynd in a week or so because my doctor said it was rare to get side effects and there weren't many to get. Wish me luck. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Takemyword | 25-34 | Female | Patient
1/5/2023
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill was spun by the devil himself. I was prescribed this to get rid of ovarian cyst. I did not know what I was getting into. This pill almost drove me crazy, only reason it did not because I realized it was the pill and I stopped taking. It caused me unspeakable dark thoughts and anxiety. Everything started to look disgusting to me, and made my skin crawl. I learned that prestogin causes increased digust after researching birth control after the fact, when I should have done my research before just taking it. It made me full of fear. I am traumatized and I am praying I can bounce back from this and I won't ever take or suggest birth control to anyone in my life again. I just want to feel normal again, like myself. I did not consult my doctor to stop taking the pill because I don't need anyones permission to leave hell. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jennifer | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control caused my acne to come back, horrible mood swings with depression, and periods that lasted 3 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
The Haley Fe | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not one to write reviews but this is the WORST birth control. Gave me terrible breakouts, a period for 2 months and terrible mood swings. Tried to stick it out and take this birth control for 3 months to allow my body to get used to it but I had to end up switch back to my old brand. The day I stopped taking it I felt better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/14/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this for almost 6 years now, and have not had a single bad experience! I also have not gotten pregnant despite having raw sex this whole time. Recommend for sure!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/11/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breast tenderness, low libido, horrible acne, angry or crying all the time, and headaches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this to help with painful periods. It has helped but sometimes I still need to get a heating pad. It makes me more emotional during my periods and have gained weight since taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took these so I could do it raw with my boyfriend, and I can confirm that I am not pregnant after taking it for 8 months. I did not suffer any side effects like depression or heightened anxiety, however, I did suffer from very low libido the first two months. My libido did go back to normal after those two months of suffering though. I do get a bit more hungry, but I haven't seen any major weight gains or weight loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/9/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking it for very painful periods, and it has helped. I'm not in immobilizing pain when my period comes. It has made me more emotional whenever my period comes. I have learned to deal with it since it is better than agonizing pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/7/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control caused me to go through a severe depression! It made me crazy! Would not recommend. I didn’t know what was wrong until I stopped taking it because my insurance changed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More