Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I have had migraines for about 20 years. I get about 15 migraines per month. Currently I take Topomax daily as a preventative and Rizatriptan with Naproxen at the onset of a migraine. The emergency meds generally only work half the time. I took my first dose of Ajovy on 11/15. During the past month Iâ??ve only had one migraine (managed with one Rizatriptan). I also felt like I was getting a migr...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I had the ajovy shot 4 days ago, when I 1st took it, it made my left side numb, went away after about 2 hrs, but I have been experiencing heart palpitations and some stomach issues- and gas- If these heart palpitations don't go away, I won;t be taking this drug again- even those so far it has eased my headaches. I do not trust a drug that says it has NO side effects- because everyone's body is di...

Shared reviews and ratings

Elizabeth N | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2023
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I m not entirely sure if this drug is causing these symptoms, but I didn't have them before taking it. So far - dry mouth, esp at the back of the throat - palpitations - pains across the top of my chest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ash | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2023
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication must be made for the specific time of migraine that I have bc it works EXCELLENT! I have suffered from migraines since I was 16 and I’m now 34. I have tried every Triptan and medicine all the way to permanent ear implants. If Nurtec works for you then there is a very good chance this can stop your migraines. I have now done my second injection and it just makes me drowsy for the first few days. I normally have debilitating migraines during my menstrual cycle and I didn’t even have the slightest headache. I have fibromyalgia and read the reviews about joint pain but it really didn’t make mine any worse. It also completely relieves the pain and pressure I have behind my left eye from after effects of Bells Palsy. This medicine is definitely worth a shot if you suffer with migraines. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elisha | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/22/2023
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

30 year migraine sufferer. I've tried many things (botox, exercise, hormones, narcotics, BP meds, other neuroleptics). Aimovig was 100% effective with horrendous constipation. Insurance decided not to cover Aimovig and neuro didn't want to write for a lower dose to help with constipation. On Ajovy over a year. It's 80% effective, take zolmitriptan to manage breakthru. Side effects have been accumulating: 20+ lbs weight gain, bloating, 3 panic attacks, joint and muscle pain and stinging tongue. Sadly I need to discontinue as side effects now outweigh the benefits. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Musclepain | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2023
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out great. Reduced my migraines significantly. I’ve been on it almost a year. But after the first two or three months the side effects have increased monthly. I developed the injection sight reactions, muscle and joint pain, weight gain and increased anxiety. I’ve had multiple tests but the drs can’t find a reason other than it being Ajovy. Unfortunately it had a long half-life so it’s in your system months after you stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana Steinbach | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/22/2023
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well it worked but I had the worse muscle pain for up to 2 weeks before the next shot. So I was i in pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ajovy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/11/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed Vestibular Migraines and went on Ajovy shots over a year ago. Before Ajovy I was unable to drive or even be a passenger because the motion around me made me feel like I was going to pass out. I got relief from my symptoms almost immediately however after a year of taking Ajovy I can say that the side effects may not outweigh the benefits. Although I got my life back (able to drive again, be in crowded rooms, exercise) I started noticing slow weight gain about 4 months in and now I’m 15lbs heavier and bloated. I’ve always had constipation issues but it is so much worse and I have to use acupuncture to help $. I really don’t want to stop taking Ajovy because it really helps with my dizziness but I’m going to have to try something else because of the side effect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bee | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/2/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve only been on Ajovy for 2 weeks but so far so good. No side effects whatsoever and I’m usually sensitive to medications for example I can’t take opioids or anti depressants they make me extremely ill. I usually have 2 migraines a week on average so 10-15 migraines a month. I haven’t had one migraine since I started Ajovy. So far this drug is a miracle and I hope it keeps working. I get the Prodome phase of the migraine occasionally (light headed nausea) but it never becomes a migraine. If it keeps up this good I will rate Ajovy 5 stars. The injection was 5 seconds off a small string. No big deal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jersey girl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for 60 years and have tried prophylactic medication along with many migraine medications. But still had more than 9 a month which each would last 3 continuous days. Three months ago I tried Ajovy; once a month injection. And I have not had one migraine. It’s amazing no side effects but I have lost 10 lbs. not sure if that’s a side effect but I’m not complaining I’m just not that hungry. I feel so good that I don’t have to worry that I might get one and not be prepared with medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ajovy has worked well almost eliminating my migraines, however after the second injection I developed an allergic reaction which means I can’t use it again. :( in consultation with the neurologist I have discontinued the treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley.A | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since my first injection a month and 2 weeks ago I have had a migraine that has been almost a 10 out of 10 for pain and agony almost 3 to 4 times a week at least ever since taking this medicine. I should have taken my second dose as of June 9th or so, but the pharmacist told me to wait until I talked to my doctor about why I'm still seeing so many migraines and why they have gotten worse and more frequent since taking this medicine rather than this medicine doing its job and lessening migraines. I am not very happy with these results. She set me up for a monthly dose and my first dose was a double dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ajk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/1/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines for 35years. Was experiencing headaches 20 out of 30 days. Dropped by migraines down to 5-6 a month in the first month. Injection site redness and bruising at times. I’ve been on it over a year now. But the last 3 months I have begun to have extreme dry mouth, palpitations occasionally, sweating that is worse in the first week after the injection. I am not sure I will take the next dose as the side effects seem to be cumulative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natfur | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

There are many side effects that aren’t listed on the official website. I have been taking it for almost 1 year. I have lost over 50 pounds, have severe constipation, spent 3 months with suicidal thoughts, and many others. My neurologist advised me to stop taking the drug last week. It will probably take 6 months to get it out of my system, and am praying the side effects go away now. I would advise anyone thinking of taking it, proceed with caution. It has nearly ruined my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MigraineMama | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/20/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a game changer in eliminating my severe migraines. I used to have approximately 10 debilitating migraines / month. HOWEVER, after 5 months of taking Ajovy, I suddenly developed cellulitis at the injection site - even though I always disinfect the injection site with isopropyl alcohol. The second time the cellulitis was so bad that I had to be treated with antibiotics. Also, not sure if the Ajovy is to blame, but I've also developped vertigo / dizzyness in the last 3 weeks which came out of nowhere. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa M | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the ajovy shot 4 days ago, when I 1st took it, it made my left side numb, went away after about 2 hrs, but I have been experiencing heart palpitations and some stomach issues- and gas- If these heart palpitations don't go away, I won;t be taking this drug again- even those so far it has eased my headaches. I do not trust a drug that says it has NO side effects- because everyone's body is different- and this what I have experienced. I didn't know if I could take Tylenol or not for pain? haven't yet, cuz I scared it may make my side effects worse- Tomapax worked for awhile, but it made my hands numb all the time- so I had to quit taking it.Just be aware you may have side effects- Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/8/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is my first month on Ajovy and in 25 years have never gone a whole month without migraines. Usually 3 x a week I was taking imutrex sq

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Virginia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Reduction in migraine days from 15+ per month to 3-4 days. site reaction and possible weight gain due to drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMCO | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/21/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this drug for approximately 1 1/2 years. So far it is the only medication that has more consistently worked at preventing migraines than any other medication I've taken in the past.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mtnlady | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/20/2020
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first month was "maybe this will work for me". reduced migraines and felt better. Second month, started not feeling good. Just kinda sick, but you know with migraines you can feel that way often. Third month, I had full blown flu like symptoms but did not have the flu. I was miserable. I went in to see the Dr., she asked how it was going and I told her i wasn't feeling well. Before I could tell her, she said that she had had quite a few patients that - and she went into the exact scenario I had experienced. She was going to report it to the drug company but I have yet to see that as a side effect. Needless to say, I did not continue the treatment and will just manage my life as before. I do hope this can be a game changer for other people. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lacey | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had migraines sense I was 10 years old 3-4 a week . I am on my second month of Ajovy and have not had any migraines ! A few small headaches but over the counter meds have taken them away. However I have had flu like symptoms , terrible body cramps , my joints hurt, brain fog and fast heart rate all with my second dose. This drug took away my migraines but brought me many unwanted side effects. Not sure if I will take my next injection ...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ST | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began taking Ajovy 5 months ago and it has reduced severe headache days (needing Imitrex injection) to zero from 12-20 per year; minor headaches days (needing Maxalt)to 1 per month from 2-3 /week. I have experience weight gain and tinnitus as side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More