Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I take this medicine once a day in the morning. I have had no accidents and only minor leakage incidents since starting the medicine. Previously I had accidents frequently when the urge to go was immediate and experienced leakage all the time. I constantly had to wear liners and when I had an immediate urge that wasn't enough. I no longer have to get up several times a night either. Previously I w...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I started taking this for bladder problems but soon realised that it stopped me from sweating which being a menapausel 56 year old was a god send. It made me feel clean

Shared reviews and ratings

OldFart | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/10/2024
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was getting up 3-5 times to urinate a night and during the day had sudden urgent have to go events. Since starting it I get up "maybe" 1 or 2 times during the week with very few urgent events. have not had any change in the 1 1/2 to 2 years I have been taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M. Richardson | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/17/2024
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication seemed to work for me for the first 2 years, but is slowly declining. Not working as well. I am also very tired and weak which is very concerning as I am a very get up and go type of person.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Never agine | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/5/2023
Condition: Needing to Urinate Immediately
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This instantly gave me The worst dry mouth and diarrhea I've ever had.. thear was.no flaver.in any thing I drank or ate. The side effects out weigh the positive by far for me . Never again will I take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/6/2023
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This began working next day. I am back to enjoying my regular activities again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jkj | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/30/2023
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think the risks outweigh the benefits. Adding another drug doesn’t suit me. Buying a pad to absorb minor leaking is a smarter option for me. My eyes were not happy on the meds. And I have no idea if it will make the condition worse overtime. Many meds require higher dosages as time goes by and many meds make conditions worse over time. I learned docs will prescribe until you have so many interactions! Less is more when it comes to pills!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daisy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/29/2023
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for several years. I take it at night hopeful that I will wake up dry. More often than not I require a full change upon waking. I am not satisfied with this drug but fear my condition would worsen without it. I can no longer wear pants due to pad failure and embarrassment of a wet crotch. Ladies, a skirt can be turned one-quarter turn and any wet spot is now on your side. I miss pants but have replaced them with denim skirts and other casual skirts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2023
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started this today, reading the reviews I’m a little undecided if I want to continue on with it. Don’t want to feel bad, don’t want bladder cramps, eyes are getting bad enough with age, don’t need them to be blurry, don’t want constipation either. What to do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frankie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2023
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would give it 3 stars if not for the fact that it gives me diarrhoea (very rare side effect). Still, as I tried other options without good results, I am sticking to this and compensate for the diarrhoea by drinking and eating more. I have had frequent urination for 4 months now as a result of recurrent UTIs and the use of several antibiotics. Just Oxybutynin stops me from urinating every 30 minutes and I get to sleep well at night. It's effective from day one.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Inflorida1976 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/21/2022
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was skeptical at first but after four full months on this medication, I can honestly say that it works better than the much more expensive version that I was previously on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 55-64 | Other | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/4/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked very well for me. Prior to starting it, I was going almost every half hour 24 hours a day. Planning every departure from the house around where a bathroom would be and waking up constantly all night. I take 5mg a day and am now able to live a normal life again. It has really helped. At first I had some blurry vision and slight dizzy but that subsided within the first few weeks. I even lost about 20 lbs after starting this as it seems to drastically reduce hunger. Only negative I have noticed is that my hair seems to be falling out more but I would that over the way I was having to live before.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Not for ME | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2022
Condition: Difficult or Painful Urination
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don’t know why I was prescribed this because my symptoms were caused by a condition called rectocele, in which the rectum bulged into vaginal wall pressing on my urethra! I became excessively tired, extremely dry mouth, eyes, skin, nose, you name it…I have advanced osteoporosis and my neck and spine began to pop constantly! I read the disclosures and did some research when I discovered this medication should not be given to women over 65…I have had a problem with dryness for several years. I have had a UTI since starting this and am on my 3rd round of antibiotics. I stopped taking it a week ago but I am still battling chronic dry mouth and the popping of my neck! I hope this helps some other old ladies out there…..!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a tethered spinal cord and have had bladder problems all my life with constant urge to urinate. It was preventing me from being able to go anywhere as I would need to drop my pants at any moment. Finally my Dr prescribed me this in the slow release tablet 1x per day and I feel like a whole new person! I was woken in my sleep 4-5 times a night, thats down to 1-2 x a night. I was running to the bathroom every 20 minutes to a half hour threw out the day, now I can go well over an hour to 2,3 hours before needing to go! I no longer have people commenting about me saying...wow you pee a lot, theres something wrong with you! I noticed some of the bad reviews are from people taking the med that is not slow release (24hr release). Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This Medication immediately caused cognitive confusion and fog, and extreme dryness of mouth, throat, eyes and made harder to start urinating, and I drank 8-10 glasses of just water while on this medicine. I also still had extreme bladder pain daily. I stopped using the medicine within 2 weeks. Benadryl works way better for night time use and calms the bladder down and keeps it calm. As well as helps with sleep at night and no cognitive confusion. I take a half of a Benadryl at night. Another help with Benadryl is less times urinating. And I can function well the next day. Also, Use a pillow in between legs for ease of pressure on the bladder.,Within 3-5 days of Benadryl at night and a pillow between legs I had full positive results if no pain to very minimal pain. Do not eat any form of acidic foods. Tomatoes, citrus, limit salt, and no form of vinegars. (No ketchup, tomatoes in any form, fruit juices, sodas, and no aspirin) allow your bladder and lining to heal. Drinking some Unsweetened Almond milk just before or right after meals helps to coat the bladder lining. When you have a twinge of a flare drink a small glass of almond milk. Remember the pain is from small cysts similar to ulcers, so just like staying away from acidity drinks and foods helps stomach or mouth ulcers, this works for bladder cysts /ulcer like conditions. And this all works quickly within 1-5 days. And no caffeine/coffee or teas. You will finally feel you have a calmness and a real answer to your condition without mind altering medication. ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peanut M&M Nut | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2022
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had OAB since my 20’s (even though I have never given birth), and have tried many times to tolerate Oxybutynin. I always ended up quitting it and resigning myself to wearing huge pads for the rest of my days. Since my urge incontinence gets worse every year, I decided to give it another go. This time I was prescribed Oxybutynin extended release. I’m finding that it’s more tolerable and I feel much less nauseous than I did with the immediate release medication. I have not had one leakage episode since I’ve been on it. I’m also going to the restroom 2-3 times during the work day as opposed to 8, and I’m drinking the exact same amount of fluids every day. I am so ecstatic that I gave this med another chance. It dulls my appetite as well, so I’m not eating as much, which is a good thing for me. Thank you so much whoever invented this medication. It’s a game changer for me! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GJ | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My urologist prescribed a 5mg pill twice a day. On the third day when I awoke I could not focus my eyes. Every thing was blur. It took about two hours for this to gradually dissipate. I stopped taking the pills and will see my ophthalmologist today to get his advice.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great if you have hyperhydrosis!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lacemaker427 | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/29/2021
Condition: A Condition of Bladder Dysfunction from Nerve Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis almost 30 years ago, and have suffered with neurogenic bladder ever since. Ditropan XL 15mg has been very effective for me, though I prefer to use a generic form because the price drops from $200 to $20 per month. The problem with generics, however, is that they are NOT all the same as name brand Ditropan. The generic made by Kramer-Urban has been very effective for me, but three other generics had very little effect. Trying several of the generics is the only way to know if you have an effective prescription. Since the effectiveness of the generics is so variable, I wonder if some of the negative effects reported by other reviewers were due to a poorly manufactured generic, and not the oxybutynin itself. I have a long list of prescriptions that I am am allergic to, and I am very grateful for that oxybutynin isnâ??t one of them. With it, I have been freed from making an urgent trek to the powder room every two hours.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/27/2020
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 56, I started having OAB symptoms. I was prescribed oxybutynin. Started at 5mg, then 10, then 15. The OAB symptoms continued to ratchet up as did the very awful side effects of the med. Dry mouth, yes, but worse, it prevented me from sweating. One bike ride on the first warm day resulted in near heat stroke. Heartburn also started. Stopped taking it and started pumpkin seed oil gelcaps. No more overnight symptoms and side effect free! This med was a year of wasted time and more importantly a very stressing and negative life altering year. Don't take it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/4/2019
Condition: Overactive Bladder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IndiKat | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2019
Condition: Frequent Urination
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 2 doses of oxybutynin before having 3 back-to-back seizures. There are, without a doubt, better options out there. I was driven to the Emergency Room 3 times, overall a horrible experience. The paramedics said to my mother that they weren't sure how I lived. To this day, I suffer from PTSD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More