Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have been on semaglutide for 3 weeks and I am down 8 pounds. I take one shot weekly in my stomach. So far so good, I have had zero side effects from it as well. :)

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Semaglutide has not helped me lose even one pound (I weigh 300+ pounds) during the first 4+ weeks.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jakoby | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor advised me to take this medication after I was failing at losing weight on my own. I pay $365 for a two month supply thru my doctors office. After my first dose I lost 7lbs in 5 days and then I have been constipated for the past 3 days. I did not have any other side effects and for my 2nd dose I did 15ml instead of 10ml. I look forward to losing at least 30lbs in a month. Please understand I did change my eating habits. I have a protein shake for breakfast, Chicken wrap for lunch and chili or another protein shake for dinner. I walk at least 2 miles a day, one mile in the morning and another at night. As far as I'm concerned I will not spend money on something and still drink sodas, eating chips and other junk expecting the medicine to make the processed foods not sabotage myself by eating everything and anything under the sun. This medicine however did not suppress my appetite to the point that I wasn't even hungry. It just assisted me in my weight loss journey. After my initial dose I did eat candy and still lost that weight. I wonder if I haven't would I have lost more? I stopped the junk food 2 days after my first dose. The negative reviews that are here, I wonder if you all are just eating and drinking junk and expecting this drug to be a magical fix that allows you have your cake and eat it too. literally and figuratively!!!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have struggled with binge eating and obesity since experiencing complicated trauma throughout my childhood and adolescence. I have been to therapy, seen a dietician, and tried many weight loss medications and diets over the years. I have lost and regained weight more times than I can count. I went on to further my education and am becoming a therapist myself because i thought becoming an expert would enanle me to get out of these cycles. Sure, ive learned alot but the physical aspect of hunger is hard. Also, I am pre-diabetic. The hunger urges and feelings associated with low blood sugar (even though I never read low) always do me in and I end up failing. Unfortunately, even pre-diabetic and with a BMI of 43, my insurance wouldn't cover gastric bypass. I lost, gained back, and lost again the same 30ish lbs multiple times over the past 5 years. After this last loss, I could feel myself wanting to quit and getting into a dark place of thinking, I'm never going to be able to maintain, so whats the point? Against my dietician's advice, I chose to try semaglutide through a local clinic at $500/month, out of pocket because, again, my insurance wouldn't cover it. After 7 months, I am down 43 lbs and am the lowest weight I've been since I had my 3rd child 13 years ago. More importantly, it has given me freedom from the constant obsessing over counting calories, macros, picking my diet plan, and weighing myself. I have never in my life felt "normal" around food before this. For the first time in my life I can walk away from food and not care. The weight loss has been very slow, which hurts given the cost of the medication. But, I truly feel free on it, and i feel like i can't put a price tag on that. While it has been "life changing" it only does part of the job. I've had to choose to exercise, make healthy food choices, and be more overall active and health conscious. This just made it possible to start and maintain those habits. In the beginning months, I had some nausea, but I could live with it because I before I would often restrict and then binge until i was sick, so the type of nausea didn't make much of a difference. The worst part has been the constipation. I've had chronic bloat and diarrhea since I was a child. I thought constipation would be a reprieve, but really just a different variety of evil. I'm on maintenance now, so a shot every 2 weeks instead of weekly. I can tell when it wears off because my bowel habits go back to (my) normal and I'm hungrier. I have to work to keep the habits I've established. I also chose to switch to a whole food plant based diet a month ago which keeps me away from trigger foods (like cakes, donuts, muffins, and fast food.) I think this is also helping me to continue to lose .25-.5 lb/wk. Overall, I would recommend this to people who've struggled like I have. I'm 5'5". My highest weight was 263. Starting on this med was 236. Currently 193.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/16/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just gave myself my 7th injection and have only lost 3 pounds in 7 weeks. Very frustrating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heather | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on semaglutide for 3 weeks and I am down 8 pounds. I take one shot weekly in my stomach. So far so good, I have had zero side effects from it as well. :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eric | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've lost 54 lbs. in 20 weeks. I am about half way to my goal. The medicine lessens my cravings for food and alcohol. This drug is a tool, not a silver bullet. You still have to do the work, but the medicine makes it a struggle you can win.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fran Passero | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2023
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have type II diabetes and am overweight so it was prescribed for me. I had 2 shots and then my son found me on the bathroom floor passed out. I was inpatient for 1 week with low blood sugar, low blood pressure and kidney failure. As I was stabilized, my kidneys came back. I would not recommend this medication to anyone. Ever. Not even Rybelsus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wanting Answers | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Semaglutide Subcutaneous for over six weeks and haven't lost a pound. I have lots of folks around me saying how great this product has been for them. I have been taking the shot in my hip, my daughter suggested it needs to go in the stomach. I am going to try that and hope for better results. I am very lethargic for 2-3 days after the weekly and I have brain fog. I am constipated first thing in the morning for the entire week, but I work through that. I do find I have a reduced appetite, but I still have not lost a pound. Very frustrated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole kravchuck | 19-24 | Female | Patient
9/27/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 6 days in and lost 10 pounds. Here the thingi would not lie and said it works if it didn't. I'm so happy excited about this shot like I'm over the moon I got 3 shots left. Wish me luck.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kikiof4 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medicine last week. I lost 9 lbs over the weekend. I am experiencing nausea and diarrhea. I am on the starting dose. I am also having body aches, however, that may be due to my RA or fiber myalgia. Feels like little bit of the flu. I am at work with no problems. I did however, make myself eat some scrambled eggs this morning for protein. I will update my journey. Best of luck to everyone on this journey.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jon Becker | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/29/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on it for 3 1/2 months and lost 28lbs.It flat out works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/15/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken 2 doses of the semaglutide injection. But it didn’t work in my case. I hv not seen loss of 10 grams of weights.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BONITA | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

USED FOR WEIGHT: Used semaglutide one time only (one shot )on my thigh to lose weight, lower glucose levels and lower cholesterol levels. Well it did take some appetite away. I did not feel like doing number 2 at all so I turned to Mr Laxative for help. It did gave me brain fog and I told my self ok I can work with this but then my hair started falling like crazy. People I only I had one shot I was eating healthy. I was glad I stopped snacking candy at night but the side effects are worse. It's been 3 weeks no shots my hair still fall. I hate this med. I don't recommend it. But everyone it different. Take it at own risk. AND I had diarrea after the shot clear from my body. I had to run for my life. Yes people. Many times. God Bless!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DOrt | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The med made me feel very sick, cramping, nauseous, bloated and an overall unwell feeling but I was determined to stick with in order to lose the weight. I had very minimal weight loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magpie1 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/19/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it for weight loss. The first 2 weeks of injections I got waves of nausea for about 24 hrs. and was very tired. By my 3rd week all that resolved and no side effects. After 3 weeks I've lost 11 pounds. It really does reduce your appetite.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michaelo | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Semaglutide has not helped me lose even one pound (I weigh 300+ pounds) during the first 4+ weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GCranfill | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was very nervous about starting this medication due to some reviews I've read on other websites. I started Ozempic this week due to Metformin no longer working for me. The shot itself was painless other than a little tenderness after the medicine went in. I don't have much of an appetite but I don't have the cramping or diarrhea that others are experiencing. My sugar has already come down some and it's nice not having to take two big horse pills a day, just one shot a week is awesome. So far this medicine has been a win win for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drug study1 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

in study for weight loss using this drug. Lots of side effects: nausea, gas, heartburn. You feel full most of time, less appetite, uncomfortable if you eat to much or to greasy. But I lost 20 pounds in 5 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More