Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I started getting treatment the week after this was released so I have had treatment for over a year now. This helped give me my life back. My severe allergic asthma kept me a prisoner in my home. Since getting this I begin to feel better with every treatment and now I feel normal again. I can go in public and not be afraid of my triggers causing an attack. The only side effect for me was being sl...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I have taken 3 shots so far. I had 1500 eosinophil count and Fasenra has brought it down to 0. (blood test after 2nd shot confirmed 0 eosinophil count) However my asthma symptoms did not improved at all. I also had fever like symptomps for about 24 hours after receiving each shot. I did not have any side effects thou. To sum it up. It's did what it was suppose to do. Bring eosinophils down. But un...

Shared reviews and ratings

Jeffery | 45-54 | Male | Patient
3/7/2024
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with Nucala and the joint pain about killed me, got switched to dupixent and thought my eyeballs were going to explode, now taking Fasenra all these shots worked for my breathing, my side effect with Fasenra seems to be head-aches and red flakey patches in my facial hair. If it stays a couple days with the head aches I will continue. This is only my 2nd injection

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mish518 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/16/2024
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Fasenra injections for 11 months. Saw improvement for first 3 months, but then started having more asthmatic flairs. This medication was touted as being able to self-inject so wouldn’t need to go to allergist for shot, but that only worked for first injection and then told I needed to see provider for shot. I switched to Tezspire which administered every 30 days (vs. every 60 for Fasenra) and asthma now under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JH | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/11/2023
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fascenra is a game changer. I have been taking injections for about 4 years. I never went on any vacation without steroids or my rescue inhaler. I had to use a nebulizer several times a week during high allergy season. I can't count how many times I laid down at night hoping I would make it through the night because of my asthma. Fascenra freed me from asthma symptoms. I do get it administered at the doctor's office every 8-10 weeks (I worked up to this). No negative side effects for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kim | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2023
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Fasenra for over a year. I, like everyone here, was constantly on steroids, had 5 sinus surgeries and asthma that was very poorly controlled. The Fasenra started to work within a couple of weeks and I it was like a miracle drug. I'm breathing so well now! However, I also started experiencing crazy bad muscle episodes -- and now, (a year in), I feel like I have severe arthritis throughout my body. Both muscle and joint pain -- that is so hard for me to get up and down from the floor. Every time I said something to my doctor, he dismissed me. I am now 60 - and I thought perhaps it was just like a crazy sudden case of extreme arthritis -- but after reading through these reviews, I now am going back to my original suspicion - which is Fasenra (my symptoms started within a month of taking this drug.) Prior to Fasenra, I was taking aerobic classes and playing volleyball. Now I wake up so stiff that I can barely walk many mornings. What a horrible choice - breathe well and feel like your body is 120 years old or not breath well and be able to move without pain. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/30/2023
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had 4 injections now. Only after 3 months I felt improvement, nut now I'm pleased with my condition. It's not difficult to use the pen, so I don't have to ask a nurse. No side effects here. So far so good. Fingers crossed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SuSan Campbell | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2023
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fasenra RUINED my life. I stopped breathing shortly after the fourth injection. I ended up in ICU in a bipap machine on 240 mg methylprednisone for a week. Four years later I am still recovering. Before this tragedy I sometimes had years of total remission; now my symptoms are chronic and severe. Im sure fasenra has shortened my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
catholicahafan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2022
Condition: Allergic Asthma that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After injection side effects leave me wondering if this is a good med for me. I just took my 2nd injection and immediate side effects are a little scary. Light headed, near fainting, fatigue, brain fog and migraine. I thought if I took it at bedtime I could sleep through the side effects. Instead I woke up several times not feeling well, feeling dizzy and light headed. I had strange dreams and a feeling of severe anxiety. This morning I woke up with a migraine, nausea, fatigue and lightheadedness. Luckily all these resolved gradually throughout the day. So far my breathing has slightly improved but I still need to use QVAR and my Atrovent inhaler. This is a very expensive drug and so far not worth the money. It gives little relief and is not the miracle drug that it presents itself as. I will continue on it as long as insurance will assist me with it but will not continue on if I have to pay out of pocket. Not worth it. On a side note, I can't take Albuterol so I am limited in what meds I can use, so this was the last med I could try. Most other people can tolerate Albuterol and powdered inhalers so don't be talked into using Fasenra until you've exhausted other meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian | 13-18 | Male | Patient
12/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fasenra has really improved my life. I no longer rely on high doses of steroids to keep me breathing. The only down side I have found with Fasenra is it seems to loose its effectiveness after 6 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evan | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/27/2021
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was good for several months then I had episodes of arterial fabulation severe muscle and joint pain all the time tingling sensation with my nerves and difficulty sleeping the medication works but the side effects are too severe for me I will be stopping this medication immediately

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nisrene | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Allergic Asthma that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The wheezing was nonstop for a year before Fasenra after Fasenra the wheezing was gone. But I am experiencing excessive fatigue. And can only get out of bed for 6 hours before feeling tired again. Have been on Fasenra for 11 months. Not sure if the fatigue is a side effect of Fasenra or the corona AstraZeneca vaccine. Need more time to figure things out. I wish reviewers can write if they took Fasenra and AstraZeneca corona vaccine and if they are experiencing fatigue and how are their energy levels. For continuous wheezing I highly recommend Fasenra. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stacy T | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2021
Condition: Allergic Asthma that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe, uncontrolled asthma for years.I was so hesitant to say yes to Fasenra, because of just the long term unknowns (it was fairly new at the time) After my last hospital stay I finally just told my doctor....lets try the Fasenra.... I was mentally/ physically done with dealing with my lungs! It was the best decision I ever made. I have been on Fasenra now for 3 years, and have had no major issues! My asthma is well controlled, no hospital stays, no steroids, it has given me my life back! In my eyes, its a true miracle. I dont know how else to describe it. My doctor says some of his other patients are not doing as well as I am, and that I am the best patient of his as far as the results I am having from the shot. So I know it can be different for everyone. I have had a hand full of very mild flair ups if I am around a lot of triggers or dust, and I know my lungs will probably always have damage from the years of severe asthma. But I can breath, and function and feel "normal" again! Fasenra has personally been a huge blessing in my life, and I am so grateful its worked so well for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toria Bourlet | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 2 1/2 doses of Fasenra. Ever since the first injection I have needed to be rushed to the hospital by ambulance four times and can barley make it a week without ending up back in the ER. My asthma dramatically grew worse as the days went by; my inhaler doesn’t even give the smallest bit of relief. If I’m lucky my nebulizer might work after a minimum of at least 2 rounds, but this too has become a rare occasion. These scary near death situation now happen every time I try to venture outside of my own home and some times while in the comfort of my own house. I’ve lost count of the amount of attacks I have been through, but they come on every time I smell ANYTHING and let’s just say there are hundreds of smells that people are exposed to on a daily basis. I have even been set off into an attack after simply drinking water, I get winded after walking from one room to another, I can’t do anything without coughing up my lung as a result. The simple task of breathing causes the most increasingly tremendous pain. Ever time I attempt to lay down it feels as though someone is suffocating me, with a ten tons of metal crushing my chest. Due to this I haven’t slept throughout the night in over two months. All of this is terrible on its own standards, now let’s add in the additional side effects that weren’t directly attacking my lungs. Every inch of my body has had nothing but indescribable pain. All of my joints now just pop out of place whenever I walk, all of my muscles are demolished. I’ve lost the strength in my arms to even open up a bottle of water. Anything that touches my body, including my own hair, makes me break out in either hives or rashes. I want to just rip off my skin, because everything burns like the worse sunburnt I have every had, while feeling like I have chicken pots and lice. My head is always killing me to an extent I never knew imaginable. To much light makes me want to throw up... looking at a screen makes the whole room just start spinning. Half the time I can’t even read anything because my vision just goes whenever my head hurts like that. Ongoing brain fog and vertigo seems to be a new normal. Eating food makes everything worse, I start either gagging or chocking most of the time whenever I attempt to eat anything. All of these symptoms where ongoing throughout the two months, however after getting my third injection at only half the dose the most traumatic reaction started. I developed a cough that was persistent and not going anywhere, then my throat burned like fire ants biting all up my throat, until finally my throat started swelling up and it became a struggle to swallow my own spit. I ended up in the ER having an allergic to the shot, this was a Thursday night. Days following I relied on handful of allergy medicine to keep my throat from swelling... I was only able to make it about 4 hours without having the same sensations, until it became so unbearable once again on Sunday and I was back in the ER. These are only a handful of the absolutely horrible side effects that I experienced while on this medicine. Any side effect that you look up regarding this medicine, I had the reaction. This is the WORST I have ever felt in my life and I would never recommend or give this injection to anyone. I would much rather struggle to breathe on a daily basis then go through everything this shot has brought on me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLang | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/16/2020
Condition: Allergic Asthma that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By the evening of my first Fasenra shot I could breathe better! I am so grateful for this medication because Iâ??ve not had to take Prednisone for a year now. I did have a mild case of hives after the second shot. For years my CBC showed my elevated eosinophil levels. Still I had to work hard to convince my allergist to test me for eosinophilic asthma. He simply didnâ??t believe in the validity of the diagnosis. I am very grateful for finally being treated with Fasenra because itâ??s made such a difference in my sense of well being. I do find the cost prohibitive!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XanaR | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2020
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for about 3 months exactly. I am 24 years old, and started having bad breathing issues out of no where. I was essentially sick a year and only getting worse. I didn’t know what was wrong and my entire life was pretty much sitting down and getting sicker. I was unable to get dressed without getting extremely out of breath. I really didn’t see much of a future for me. I see a difference on this medicine. I can get dressed, and although I get out of breath I do see about a 50 percent improvement. Hope things continue to get better. I do have the side effect of having very bad body aches the day after. I feel like I have the flu. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gabi | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/3/2020
Condition: Allergic Asthma that is Resistant to Treatment
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken 3 shots so far. I had 1500 eosinophil count and Fasenra has brought it down to 0. (blood test after 2nd shot confirmed 0 eosinophil count) However my asthma symptoms did not improved at all. I also had fever like symptomps for about 24 hours after receiving each shot. I did not have any side effects thou. To sum it up. It's did what it was suppose to do. Bring eosinophils down. But unfortunately this did not help my situation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/11/2019
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking oral steroids 4 or 5 times a year. I have been on all the inhalers, and allergy meds and went to bed many nights hoping I would not die. My breathing was so bad in the night and morning and I wheezed all the time. This medicine is life changing. I am amazed and grateful for my new normal. Do yourself a favor and get your blood checked. I do notice a little headache 1 or 2 days after shots.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KHS | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2019
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Fasenra for 1.75 years. When I first started receiving the shots the results were amazing. I was breathing great, and did not have to go on prednisone at all. After the first year, I started to have some breathing issues again. In the past 6 months I have had to go on prednisone at last 6 times. The effect ness has gradually dropped. Right now I feel it is not helping much at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CMB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/10/2019
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to Fasenra in February after taking Nucala for 18 months. I was experiencing a significant peak/trough effect from Nucala. I would feel great the day after the injection but by day 21 I was having significant asthma symptoms. After several flares, my doctor advised I may do better on Fasenra based on what she'd seen in other patients. I just received my 4th dose and so far, so good. I definitely don't have the lulls that I did with Nucala even with the injections every 8 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
robd2507 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2019
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Symptoms improved within a few days of first dose. Shortly after second dose, started to feel even fewer symptoms. Now about 3 weeks past 3rd dose and pretty much all symptoms have dissipated. Can walk uphill with no issues, walking a few miles every day no problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shadow Cat | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/20/2019
Condition: asthma with elevated level of eosinophils
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor started me out in Nucala back in 2017. It did help some. He than switched me to Fasenra, March of 2018. Nucala probably provided about a 50% improvement. However, when compared to Fasenra, Fasenra was the clear winner. I am about 80% back to normal. This is a great medication, especially if your insurance covers it. I like the results. Even helped with my sinuses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More