Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

after going to the gym three times a week for over 12 months and not shifting a single pound and having the usual blood tests for diebetes etc my doctor prescribed orlistat, after 3 weeks of being on orlistat i have lost weight (6 lbs) which is amazing. If you think yeh i can eat what i want and loose weight your wrong this drug makes you think about what your eating and i think overall it teache...

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

THIS MEDICATION DOES NOT PRODUCE RESULTS

Shared reviews and ratings

Lisa | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel sick and I’m so bloated with cramps I’m worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this medication less than a week. My pharmacist prescribed it because my doctor refused to do so. Everything she explained is happening. I am mindful of what I eat at most meals. However, simple things like cheese I didn’t consider fat, now I know. Only reason I didn’t give 5 stars is the itch it cause, I have to take a Benadryl daily. I think I’m gonna benefit from this medication and then I’ll be eligible for Wegovy. Sat-Tuesday n down 1.2 lbs. I saw where ppl complained about the oil spots, I’m a lady n a pad helps keep undies clean. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Henry Fartson | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2024
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This works by your body rejecting 25% of any fat you consume over roughly 5 or 6 grams. Which means.... if you eat spaghetti bolognese for dinner, you are almost certain to shit yourself or randomly and uncontrollably fart out orange oil for upto several days later. Something I would quite like to have known before I started taking. Essentially it frightens you into following a low-fat diet. So in a way, yes it works. It also means you're not absorbing necessary oils and will need supplements to stop you getting Alzheimers. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2024
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did I lose weight on it? Yes, I lost about 2kg (around 4.5lbs) in a week. I'm also on a healthy low-calorie diet which is most likely the reason for it. At first I was happy about it, because it helped my bowel movement which I have been struggling with since starting a low-calorie diet a few months ago, but now that I'm leaking stinky oil out of my behind while eating very little fat... To say that I'm not happy would be an understatement. Stopping this and I will most likely try a GLP drug. My obesity is caused by a binge eating disorder which is also partially caused by my ADHD. Apart from making me scared that I might have an oily accident at work, this is doing much for meRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2024
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is not a miracle pill to lose weight.., in order for it to work for you, you yourself have to help yourself. If you still eat the high fat foods, like bolognaise, pizzas etc.. you'll experience the negative side effects that are cleatly detailed. Such as the shits, stomach cramps etc., You need to put some work in yourself, be mindful of what you eat. Reduce your fat intake to 4g or less per meal. Have a low fat breakfast, lunch & evening meal & exercise. It's still early days for me as I've only been on this medication for 1 week. I've taken this tablet twice a day for a week (I only eat 2 meals a day & snack on fresh fruit in-between) I've lost 4lb in just over a week. I also swim for 30 minutes twice a week. So far, I've had none of the side effects mentioned. So I'm convinced, it's all about the fats you consume & what you do to help yourself for this medication to work effectively. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margarita | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/29/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started at 253 lbs 1 year or so ago, I am 183 now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does NOT work. It is expensive ($80) and I did not lose an ounce. I combined it with a healthy eating plan and light exercise and NOTHING. Do not buy. I reached out to the company and got no response. Waste of money and effort.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe Rheumatoid Arthritis and Fibromyalgia so unable to exercise. I'm so so desperate to lose weight I told my Dr and she decided that Orlistat would be the best tablet for me to lose weight. I've changed my breakfast bowl for a much smaller one, have Weetabix skimmed milk and less than half a teaspoon of sugar. I sometimes don't eat lunch as not really hungry, I have the tablets 3 times a day (that's what my Dr told me to take). I had a big plate of vegetables with a couple of small potatoes and a Yorkshire Pudding as I'm vegetarian. I had a jam doughnut for my pudding as I haven't experienced any of these 'awful symptoms' everyone's saying about. Am I really that thick that I don't understand how to use the tablets properly or are they just not working for me. Please please any advice is welcomeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had to stop taking it after 1 week as the abdominal pains were too much . couldn't stop sharting either ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/17/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was a couple of stone overweight but no willpower to loose. Hubby likes his food n snacks, so I'd join in. I had my gallbladder removed and eating foe a couple of weeks after was not easy and I started to shed a few lbs. This put me in a different mindset, so, I started taking Orlistat. Now , I wasn't aware what it can do, and that is after eating, the flatulence was mean and along with that came bright orange oil. This was a bit of a shock, but since found out this is natural. Though farting in your sleep n staining the bed isn't. On the plus side in 8weeks I'm - 1 stone and 9lb. 7lb was natural after the op and 1 stone 2lb is after using the medication for 6 weeks The orange oil is a small price to pay. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mal | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, I was prescribed orlistat 4wks ago, and when I was weighed at my gp surgery on sat 26 Aug, I had lost 1stone(14lbs) this medication does definitely work, if your willing to put the work in regards your diet. Yes for the first 7/10 days I had a few unpleasant side effects, but this medication makes you think about what foods your consuming. Eat to much fat in your food, then you pay the price in terms of your stool movements and frequency!! eat a relatively healthy diet, and you will lose weight.?? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maz | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/13/2023
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

LOT of blood loss after 6 weeks of use now need to stop taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/22/2023
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You have to be sensible in what you eat as well . You can never get a miracle drug you have to do some work yourself .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SWorley | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2023
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally useless drug , very disappointed In the past I took xenical and had great result with only one tablet a day with main meal I ordered xenical and was send or orlistat instead , that died t work at all waste of my money

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janice | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2023
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been an exceptional weight loss program for ME. No counting anything. Just be reasonable with your food choices and portion. And drink water!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2023
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I changed my diet to low fat before taking these. Because I consumed so little fat I felt the need to test the drug with chocolate. All the bad side effects came. I have eaten a pizza tonight, thin crust and only cheese and not experienced any side effects. It may come in the morning though. My side effects haven't been bad unless I eat bad. I also only lost half a lb in 10 days. I am starting to think this drug is to help you make better choices for your diet and that is it. I haven't been calorie counting but I did expect to lose more weight. It's been quite disappointing and I will not be buying more. You are better off doing the military/hospital diet. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SRS | 35-44 | Female | Patient
3/13/2023
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This treatment is effective at separating some of the fat from your meals. I have never had a bowel accident whilst using it, and although seeing the orange oil in the toilet can be a little bit weird, it shows the tablets are doing their job. If I'm eating a meal that is low in fat (like a fruit breakfast) I won't take a tablet, but I generally take one after my main meal of the day. I have even had the occasional weekend take away whilst on the drug, and the benefit has been needing to empty my bowel soon after. It has left me feeling far less bloated and I know the weight is coming off due to the fit of my jeans. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sulin. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2023
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this 2 months haven't lost any weight at all I have reduced my plate size and healthy choices can't exercise as disabled in wheelchair

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pam | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used with a healthy low fat diet and visits to the gym I have lost 9lbs in 5 weeks. Apart from head and stomach ache when starting on it I had few side affects. I found if I slipped up and overdid the fat consumption I got flatulence and stomach ache for a couple of days which was a great incentive not to do it. I am trying to lose 4 stone. So far so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIKE L. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight or Obese Person
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am grateful that I lost between 10 and 15 pounds in several months, but the side effects are very uncomfortable. I am still undecided whether it is worth it, whether I should continue and try to tolerate the side effects. If I continue to lose weight perhaps I will continue, grin and bear it. Perhaps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More