Show ratings & reviews for

2.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I find Xiidra very effective. My vision is briefly blurred for about 15 minutes after use, but I just plan accordingly. The biggest problem I have with Xiidra is that the delivery mechanism is difficult to use. The drops are difficult to get out, and if you shake the vial between drops, a drop comes out and is wasted. I used to use Restasis. While Xiidra is more effective for me, the Restasis vial...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

My doctor gave me a Xiidra sample for my dry eyes. I used it this morning. Awful experience. It burned, turned my left eye red, left a film on both eyes that blurred my vision for several minutes and tasted so bad I vomited. No, thanks. I'll stick to OTC Systane Ultra.

Shared reviews and ratings

GDay | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/1/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seemed to relive dry eyes for a while. Takes about a half hour for it to clear the film off my eye. Certainly can't drive or read for at least 20-30 minutes!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very Poor Vial! | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2024
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I agree with other posts about how difficult it is to get the drops out. The tiny vial is almost impossible to use. Many patients are older and it really is ridiculous to make an eye drop that people with arthritis can't use! Sometimes I can't squeeze even one drop out and often have to toss an unused vial. These are too expensive and they're certainly not "user friendly." I will persevere and get through this prescrption, but unless I see a sigificant improvement, this is my first and final experience with Xiidra. I have only been using the drops a few weeks, so I'm not sure yet how effective they are.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allison | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/21/2024
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drops are very hard to get out. The plastic is far too stiff. Terrible packaging and excessive use of plastic. I’m looking for an alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ava | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2024
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used xiidra for three days and had dried blood upon waking arpund my left eye (took photos for my doctor and got antibiotic eye drops for prevention ). My copay for xiidra was $200 and I thought I should try xiidra again in case that was not the cause. After four days, my eye blurred and I had bloody tears. I called the number on the foil package to report my problem. I gave up as the representative was confrontational. I will simply not use them and return to Restasis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m Only 2 weeks into use and my dry eyes/glare are improving. Is it the drops or is my brain FINALLY getting used to the glare since cataract surgery 8 months ago? I am 70 and I swim and walk and lift weights but I am UNABLE TO SQUEEZE ENTIRE CONTENTS from the tubes…and considering the SPLURGE it was to FILL the script…I’m stumped: why are the tubes such stiff plastic? NOVARTIS, WHY CANT YOU USE SOFTER PLASTIC? I’d assume most users are seniors, so where is the compassion? PLEASE CONSIDER THIS.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy Kibbe | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had dry eyes for over 20 years, started Xiidra a few months ago and I am so pleased with the results! I highly recommend xiidra if you want to feel eye comfort. I used Lumina every time I went out because my eyes were so red and uncomfortable. I never use it anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | Female | Patient
11/30/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Burns my eyes, causes eyes to itch during the day. It leaves a bad taste, The worst part is the soar throat and gastroesophogeal reflux

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disappointed | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr gave me Xiidra samples to see how it will helps with my dry eye. I really don't know why my opitematrist gave me Xiidra. This eye drop has stings and burn. I had blurry vision for near 2 hours. I regret that I use it for 3days. Still have side effects from using Xiidra.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It didn’t work at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat S | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/19/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Xiidra takes about two to begin to work but I have been using it for about four years now and my dryness has been a lot less. I have read other experiences about needing to cut open the packages but I don’t think it’s a big deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A. P. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked for me immediately. After the first application, I noticed an improvement. I had been on Restasis for over a year and it irritated my eyes more than helped them. I never found relief with Restasis and was still having to constantly use eye drops. So much money spent on different formulations of OTC eye drops! My Dr. switched me to Xiidra and there has been such a huge improvement in a short period of time. Yes, the drops burn, blur vision and give a sour taste in my throat but honestly, the 15 minutes of inconvenience is worth the relief I am feeling this soon in after starting the medicine. I hope it continues to get better and better. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disgusted | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/14/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The application packets are difficult to use and have to be opened with scissors. Not only is it irresponsible to use this much plastic for eye drops, but it means I can’t travel on a plane surf them. The product works, but the applicator is the worst design I have ever seen. There’s at least 1000 times more waste than product. WHY? Other eye drops are in dropper bottles

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried these eye drops for one week, 5 days I had a very bad experience with them. Starting with the burning of the eyes when they were putting when the drops were applied as the week progressed my right eye got more and more painful it felt like someone was sticking a needle in it I discontinued the drops after 5 days. I still have problems with my vision from the side effects I no longer see us clearly as I did my right eye is blurry all the time. I would not recommend this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/5/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blurry vision at 4 months. Burning, itchy, stringy mucus and stinging. Had high hopes. but blurry vision for an hour twice day was to confining. Added steriod still didn't work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Letty | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience doesn't seem to match anyone else's that I've read. Xiidra started working for me within TWO DAYS of using it! I know that doesn't seem possible because the earliest it's supposed to work is two weeks. However, my eyes are less red and they feel moist. They were still red after two days, but they definitely felt less dry. I'm on my 6th day of using the drops and it's only getting better. I originally had dry eyes because I had Lasik eye surgery years ago to correct my nearsightedness. Then, a year and a half ago, I had an episode of Bell's palsy that made the dryness in my left eye worse. The opthamalogist got frustrated with me because I would only use artificial tears when I was home, so he gave me a sample of Xiidra, even though I told him I had tried Restasis years ago and it didn't work and gave me headaches. I do agree with others about the vials for Xiidra not being as easy as Restasis. I also have more mucus in my sinuses, which is gross. However, the burning has mostly gone away. I still have burning when I apply the drops to my left eye (probably because it's drier than my right eye), but I'm sure with time, that will go away as well. As far as the sinus issue, I watched a video of someone explaining that you can block your tear duct when you put in the drop and that it should help. I don't know if that makes the eyedrops ineffective or not, though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bill blank | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/1/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

thousands of dollars wasted over a year. eyes had no improvement at all. now have sinus problems, chronic sore throat, problems swallowing, headache, elevated blood pressure and dry mouth. bad taste in mouth also. this drug is a total waste of money in my opinion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ana | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2023
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Poison for my eyes..caused blood shot eyes and sinusitis..worst medication ever approved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Xiidra for 8.5 days and had these side effects: metallic taste, sinusitis, high blood pressure, and Gastroesophageal reflux. The reflux got so bad that I could only eat small amounts of very soft food. The pain in my chest was horrible. I stopped the drops, and it took about 10 days to get back to my lowered blood pressure and the ability to eat regular food without chest pains. I had to go to a gastroenterologist when the pain was intolerable. The doctor wants me to have an esophageal manometry procedure to rule out any problems. Has anyone experienced this and go throw with the procedure? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caryl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2022
Condition: Severe Decrease in Normal Tears
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dropper is difficult to use as it is somewhat wide and flat. My eyes immediately burn, extremely blurry, and it leaves a horrible taste. The blurred vision last about 20 minutes or longer. I continued to use it for over 2 weeks to see if there was any change. However, the side effects remained and I did not notice a change with my dry eyes. I will be going back to my previous medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Helpful | 45-54 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After reading through a lot of the feedback, I have to share my experiences and knowledge. With dry eye, frequently comes inflammation of the backside of the upper and lower eyelids - a feeling of sand in the eye, in addition to an irritated and roughened surface of the eye itself. Your eyelid margins can be red, swollen, and very uncomfortable also - AND, you might also have meibomian gland issues. Xiidra works by blocking certain elements that trigger these immune responses - which bring about the uncomfortable inflammation previously described - swollen tissue, itching, roughened tissues, redness, etc. By the time you experience these symptoms, just about anything you put in your eye, is going to be uncomfortable. In addition to prescribing Xiidra - the doctor can also prescribe Lotemax drops or ointment OR Prednisolone Acetate drops - in order to enhance and speed the relief of inflammation and discomfort. The doctor can also add in moisturizing drops as well, as part of the regimen. With blepharitis, can also come staph infections - so the doctor may also prescribe antibiotic drops. Staph brings on inflammatory discomfort as well. Xiidra works much quicker than Restasis, when it comes to relieving the discomfort/symptoms of dry eye inflammation - but nothing brings immediate relief for all of the factors of inflammation that you might have. The dropper itself needs flicked with your finger, until the medicine drops down - and then squeezed with your fingers to release a drop in to your eye. It is quite simple. Practice putting drops in your eye, using an over the counter preservative free ‘moisturizing’ only drop. Do not practice with an antihistamine/decongesting drop. It does take practice getting the drops where they need to go. Regarding the taste - read the directions. You are supposed to place some pressure on the tear duct, so that the drop does not drain in to your sinuses and then down your throat. In order to receive the best treatment for your dry eye - find a doctor that is really up on the subject, has the right diagnostic equipment, and makes treating dry eye a large part of his practice. Xiidra is medicine - it is not a 2 second text message - place a drop in your eye, place pressure on the tear duct, lean back, blink once, and keep your lid closed for about 5 minutes - so that the medication has a chance to do it’s job. There may be a little blurriness - which is temporary - blurriness usually goes along with drops that are thicker than water. These are not “drop and run” drops - this is a serious medicine ritual drop - that takes several minutes, to do it right. Side effects are always possible with every prescription and non-prescription medication. It took some time to develop dry eye - and treatment and healing can take some time, and be frustrating. First, find the right doctor - read up on dry eye yourself, and explore the various treatment modalities. It can take different routes, and a number of tries - before you find what works for you. There is no one size fits all, when it comes to dry eye. I am a licensed professional in a healthcare field, that has been around the block with dry eye - and interacted with many doctors that specialize in the treatment of dry eye, along with a lot of its’ complexities - Some of these doctors have been excellent, and some not so proficient. I am a caregiver, and also a patient. I have come through my own experience - to recognize a fantastic dry eye doctor - versus the not so great practitioners……Good Luck on your journey - and interview any prospective doctor - really evaluate his/her knowledge on the subject - it will make a world of difference in your treatment. Here is a bee in your bonnet - did you know that eating spicy foods, can make a not so pleasant difference in your symptoms?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More