Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

Rough experience. Ear ringing, dizziness, hearing loss, insomnia, vomiting, Gerd. Doctor said I'd experience headache and fatigue. Problems persist after meds stopped.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Hi everyone, my name is Justin. I have 100% completed Epclusa as of 5 months ago. Here is my complete testimony summarized. Prior to the treatment I was depressed. I never had energy and wasn't ever able to get excited. Urine was tea colored and very foamy. Stool was black and very defined which seemed due to hardness. During treatment I had bad and good days. Good days were better than my goo...

Shared reviews and ratings

Recovering junky | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2023
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 1 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Going into 3rd week of treatment and despite a slight headache or an airy feeling head once or twice a week I feel great. Levels are starting to drop and I hope everyone the best.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JFrench | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had Hep C since 2016-2017 & it is now the end of 2023... Unsure of genotype or exact levels prior to starting medication (genuinely cannot remember at this moment due to persistent brain fog) but have been on Epclusa for exactly two weeks today. Headaches during the first week would come on suddenly & be rather intense, but would vanish as quickly as they started. Now at the end of the second week & taking the first day of the third week, my headache has been nonstop for more than 5 days... Other symptoms/side effects consist of ringing in my ears, excessive nausea & overall upset stomach. Lower back pain, cramping & tingling in legs, feet, arms & hands. Dizziness, abdominal pain (primarily around my liver specifically) as well as some bloating/inflammation in my belly, major fatigue yet somehow insomnia as well... So I'm left feeling exhausted but can't get to sleep or stay asleep. Makes my stomach growl very loudly, whether I take it with or without food. Serious brain fog & forgetfulness. Irritability, anxiety & mild depression. Sensitivity to sound & light. Causing IBS to flare up as well as cramping in stomach. Also causing rheumatoid arthritis to flare up. I was taking it at night, but would wake up to being in so much pain (mainly in my liver) that I was shivering from the pain & would have to get back in bed. Switched to taking it in the morning so that I could drink enough water with it throughout the day to prevent it from sitting concentrated in my stomach (also have gastroparesia) overnight. I drink approximately 8-10 16 oz bottles of water a day, or one gallon or more of water... Found that being able to drink water to flush it through my system has lessened (not alleviated) symptoms/side effects. Also eating something, although not required when taking, has helped with the gassiness, stomach growling & discomfort to a degree. Still having sometimes lasting & or random, severe & somewhat debilitating pains in liver. Have not had enough good days on this medication to tell if it is making me feel any differently or better yet. Headaches are now a week long migraine. Nausea is constant, even when taking zofran to attempt to lessen. I have been fairly consistently miserable on this medication. Praying that the outcome & results will be worthwhile for how poorly it has continued to make me feel from day one. Just had twins 13 weeks ago, grateful for the help with them that I have & for being currently unemployed, unsure that I could have continued with the treatment if things were different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ms. Herb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/8/2023
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 4 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very dehydrating med, I drank 3- 16ounce glasses of water around the pill 1 glass before plus a meal, 1 glass to drink pill, 3rd glass to get the pill all the way down the chute. Epclusa dried up my bowels, gave deep bone pain my hand, started up my fibromyalgia in which I have not experienced all summer, deeply itching rash on both my hands, I had to literally slice off the itching protrusion on my hands, then packed it with bentonite clay and apple cider vinegar, it drew out the toxins after 3 days of applications, extreme fatigue, sound sensitivity, big toe turned up and locked facing the sky, omg bloating gastric explosions, very disturbing., belching like large animal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aaron | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 3 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nearly died from genotype 3, Alt was over 2,000 a few times. Started taking Epclusa and it is some adjusting the first week but became easy after that. I can tell my liver enzymes are good ...and am waiting for results. I am on week 8. Cant wait for life after Hep C

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justin | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/6/2022
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 2 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi everyone, my name is Justin. I have 100% completed Epclusa as of 5 months ago. Here is my complete testimony summarized. Prior to the treatment I was depressed. I never had energy and wasn't ever able to get excited. Urine was tea colored and very foamy. Stool was black and very defined which seemed due to hardness. During treatment I had bad and good days. Good days were better than my good days prior to treatment. My bad days were worse than my bad days prior to treatment due to terrible mood swings (anger&depression) also no energy on those days. After treatment I wasn't happy again and was furious and didn't care to live any longer. I had test ran and found out that epclusa had indeed worked to cure my Hep c but demolished my testosterone levels (1st test 301 - 2nd test 350).. Today I am on TRT (Testosterone Replacement Therapy) 100mg testosterone cypionate every 14 days. AND IM SO HAPPY. I haven't felt this happy and excited about life in over 20 yrs. My urine is normal color with normal suds not foam. Stool is normal color (brown, lite brown) not compressed. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Imfree85 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2019
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 1 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just completed the 12 week treatment. I went for my blood tests 3 weeks after I started taking it and it was already not detected. I had no side effects from this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Francine x | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 1 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just took my first pill today,I took it 3hrs ago,and have no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Havoc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2019
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 1 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am entering my second week on Epclusa and I can already see the silver lining of my new life. I caught the disease early with no liver scarring. I a 27 years old, have geneotype 1A, and had a 1,500,000 viral load at start of treatment. I was terrified to begin treatment regardless of the positive reviews because I am very sensitive to medication and tend to get the worst side effects of any medication. The first week was rough, but is nothing compared to the free life I am headed towards. Day one held nothing noticeable. Days two and three I had such unbearable fatigue and weakness I could hardly walk and required help from my family to get through the day. At that point I was very concerned that would be my life for the duration of the treatment and I caught the grunt of the side effects almost no one else gets. Day four I made a near-miraculous turn-around and actually felt like going out, although I was still weak, slow, and not mentally alert. I was beginning to feel different and had no idea the extent to which the hepatitis c virus had affected me mentally until then. After day four until now I steadily improved and yesterday I felt better than even before I had started the medication, absolutely zero side effects OR symptoms. I have hope again. I do have night sweats which are also gradually disappearing. I have thankfully not had any nausea or headaches and have had minimal, manageable diarrhea. I truly believe I am on the up and up, and those two days of despair were a small price to pay for the freedom I will soon have. Do not fret about starting this medication. The first pill is your ticket to your new beginning. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oreossugar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2019
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 3 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had hep C genotype 3 for about 17 years,I Took epclusa for 3 months 1.5 years ago, what I remember the side affects on me were very mild, gassy tummy, fatigue

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Artsy747 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2018
Condition: Chronic Infection of Genotype 3 Hepatitis C Virus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on day 14 of Epclusa and all had gone well with allot of water consumption. I have had severe brain fog and am now on Lactalose to bind the Ammonia and expel THROUGH pooping. I did the research my self as no one let me know of Ammonia Leves could cause brain to feel incoherent and unable to think straight. It should be about 20- 60 and mine was 162...I will post more especially if a major change.My heart rate has become in low 50's but not hindering me. God Bless

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had bad headaches once or twice a week. Other than that there are no complaints here! I took it for 3 months. Blood tests came back with no hep c detected and liver function was normal. :) Highly recommended, especially if you have type 3 like I did. This is for all 6 types...pretty remarkable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rbhunts | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/12/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rough experience. Ear ringing, dizziness, hearing loss, insomnia, vomiting, Gerd. Doctor said I'd experience headache and fatigue. Problems persist after meds stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More