Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

vraylar started working for me within the first week of being on it. improved my mood and felt positive about everything in general. have been taking it for about a month and it has helped more than anything i have taken. have not noticed any side affects either. i also have more energy and actually WANT to go to the gym.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Akathisia

Shared reviews and ratings

Bipolar- schizo | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/15/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iv been on vraylar for over a year. First 1.5 mg daily, no effect.. bumped up to 3mg daily still felt like manic bipolar depression was getting the best of me. Then bumped up to 6mg daily and I felt sedated, tired, lethargic every damn day. Now I take 3mg 2x daily on top of my other meds... I feel kosher but not better like I cam deal with another day on this earth. I still hallucinate here and there or go into a psychosis phase, bipolar phase and I feel puke the meds have calmed them down to having it bout 1 to 3 times a month... I just hate how expensive vraylar is and now I'm paying over 3k a month for a med that makes me feel like I'm below base line... I wouldn't recommend unless you can see your psychiatrist 1x a week to check and watch how you are doing mentally and physically.. cuz rn the voices are gone but sometimes the voice is there and it scares me, I hallucinate also but those have become less over the time taking vraylar, maybe 1 to 3 times a month I'll hallucinate but it's more mellow now like idc who is standing in the corner of my room in the dark anymore... oh also no more nightmares because I don't dream on this med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dogluvr | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2024
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug ruined my life as many others said. I read their stories and they are exactly like mine. At first on 1.5 I felt sedated/tired but mood was better. At 3 I wanted to crawl out if my own skin, paced ALL day and night, woke up with adrenaline or anxiety surges, intense irrational worrying, and felt I had to end my life at all costs. I am 42, the warning says may cause suicidal ideation in teens/young adults. I am neither. My husband had to watch me for DAYS until this med left my system. I began to feel better a few days after stopping it. Be careful. I lost my career, sold my house just because, moved across the county and almost died all due to this med altering my mind! I live in constant fear of living like that again. I have refused to take any meds after that. Too scared of who it will make me become. It was all so out of my control and I terrified myself!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hate Vraylar | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/19/2024
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible, felt constantly agitated. Never felt worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/1/2024
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have depression, anxiety & confusion (brain fog) from COVID. My doctor prescribed Vraylar. I've tried all the standard depression/anxiety drugs on the market. Vraylar has been excellent with mood stabalization! My confusion has disappeared & I've returned to myself after many years. I don't feel "medicated" either. There has been no side effects for me. This drug has been like a miracle compared to all other medications prescribed for my symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mitch | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking an anxiety and antidepressant for 5 years and it was starting to loose it's effectiveness, and I was starting to have manic episodes. I am on the low dose Vraylar along with my other medication and the difference was astounding. I felt my mood stabilize in one week. I do have a wee bit of tenderness in my feet. Small price to pay for getting my life back. Thank You Vraylar!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becky Rakestraw | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/14/2023
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vraylar saved my life. I wasn’t doing life really good and my dr prescribed me vraylar. Since I started taking the medicine my life changed dramatically. I can participate in life and not be overwhelmed. My mood has changed from mean and hateful to happy. I’m not irritable like I used to be and my husband has really seen a change in my life. This medicine was a lifesaver

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andyswife | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/22/2023
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband become more paranoid & agitated on this medication. After 10 weeks he died by suicide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SRMcS | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/22/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weight gain, but not super effective at dose that is being taken. Take once in the morning with other Bipolar medications. Could just as easily do without.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/21/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vraylar is the best and worst drug at the same time. I was on this medicine for 3 and a half years. Yes, it did work for me as far as my bipolar and depression. I started on the 3MG and after 2 months, my toes started twitching non-stop and it hurt. We lowered it to the 1.5MG dose and the twitching went away after a few weeks. I gained over 150 pounds in the first 2 years. Did everything in my power to lose weight and it would never go down. I ended up getting diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, vision problems and really bad anxiety after the 2nd year. I was very healthy prior to this medicine. This medicine didn't even have the warning of diabetes when I started taking it. When I was diagnosed after the 2nd year is when Vraylar added that warning. Once I was at almost 300 pounds is when I decided to call it quits. Doctor weaned me off of it for the last year and I am so glad I am off. Now instead of battling my mental health of bipolar and depression, I am having to fight for my life to stay healthy with all my health issues caused by this medicine. Also, since being off the medicine, I have lost 100 pounds so far in a year. I would not recommend Vraylar to anyone. The cons are way worse than the benefits.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/29/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on this medication for going on 2 years. My mood has been stable and I’m sleeping well. However I’ve gained 25lbs and am now prediabetic. Also, I recently found out that I have a prolactin producing pituitary brain tumor. I’m not sure if this is a side affect of the medication but it is worth questioning.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisg | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/25/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only antipsychotic I've tried that works or that I'm not allergic to. Taking the 1.5 mg dosage. I've ruled out latuda (caused mixed episode), abilify (immediate weight gain and increased irritability) and geodon (allergic reaction). It definitely helps with bipolar depression and some with irritability. I still have to watch that I don't spend too much money on it, though. I do find it more difficult to lose weight on. I was taking it every other day, but that made me sleepy so now I take it daily. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisette | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2023
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for 6 weeks. It was the worst time of my life. I could not relax. I paced and rocked back and forth. I went to bed just to escape the side effects. It did help with sleep. I stopped taking per my NP about two weeks later I had suicidal thoughts. Please be careful if you take and discontinue. Also, I was taking Lamictal with Vraylar.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2023
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible from the start. I think dr is getting paid by drug company to hand it out. She told me it's very expensive vs the zoloft I am taking now. The vraylar made me jumpy and no sleep. Zoloft is a miracle drug. Vraylar is NOT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/3/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I originally felt great and people were commenting how pleasant I was again, but I can’t get a whole night’s sleep to save my life. Can’t do this anymore

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nowwhat | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/2/2023
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Husband takes 1.5 every other day. Has stopped his scary outburst episodes for a year now, whixh has been wonderful for the family, but he has zero interest in anything. Just wants to sleep. Says he feels anxiety more now than ever. Everything puts him on edge. Minor things are major now. Legs have started shaking. Families lives have been wonderful but at his expense on this drug. Not sure of next step.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m stopping Vraylar after giving it 6 weeks. I feel like I have a flu ie: chills, sore throat, earache It’s been going on for 6 weeks . All I want to do is sleep. Mood is down and I’m hungry all the time. Very dissatisfied Going to stick with Abilify

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diane Freytag | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/26/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within the first week my depression lifted and I actually had energy! Down side I just found out it will cost me 582.00 for a one month supply. The first two weeks on it were from samples my nurse practitioner gave me. Any feedback regarding cost would be appreciated. I have insurance but little coverage for this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Back in May I was hospitalized for chest pain but without my knowledge was marked as a psychiatric illness patient and the hospital drugged me with Ativan without my knowledge. At the time I was on Olanzapine and Prozac which was doing ok but the interaction the Olanzapine had with the Ativan sent me into a depression spiral like I've never experienced before. As soon as I told my NP what happened, she put me on Vraylar and took me off everything else. Though those 4 or 5 days were terrible, the Vraylar kicked in and my depression disappeared. I've been on it since and it has changed me for the best. I'm more focused, don't let my delusions make me depressed, and have been able to focus more on me and stop worrying for no reasons about the ones I love. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2022
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thought it was a life saver at first. Now I have gained about 40 pounds very rapidly, have gotten diabetes and have severe apathy from low dopamine. Get off this medicine quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mp | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Vrylar has a weird side effect of making me a morning person. I go to bed fine but when I wake up between 5 and 7 I cannot go back to bed. I am in a great mood and ready for the day. This is even in combination with Seroquel. 10/10 rate this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More