Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

Cholesterol from 340 to 100 in one month. Been on it for 10 months without problems. Now having severe leg cramps, weakness in legs, muscle spasms in both legs. Unfortunately, these were the symptoms I had with statins and had to quit using them.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I did my first injection on 4-23-2019 within 2 weeks I had severe nausea, stomach with low back pain. An endoscope shows dried coffee ground substance in my stomach. My GI doctor can not figure our where this bleeding is coming from. My triglycerides and my VLDL numbers tripled in less than 3 weeks. The only think I can contribute this to is this drug. My cardiologist doesn't think so but some web...

Shared reviews and ratings

Shan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/26/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe muscle and joint pains in arms and legs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jayne MD | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/20/2024
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The praluent pen has made a significant difference in lowering my cholesterol. I have been very satisfied with the results. I find that injecting the pen is easy if one follows the directions. My only negative experience has been recently. I have received a series of defective pens and had to call two places to get them replaced. Other than that drawback, this medication dispensing has been great.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/11/2024
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Praluent for 6 months. Three of the pens did not work. I followed protocol and the push lever did not work. I was on Repatha which was great, except it made my blood pressure high. Praluent does not do that, so I was glad. But I have received 3 defective injection pens. The pen has lowered my cholesterol excellently, But 3 of the pens have been defective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DesertRat | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/2/2024
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Through the years I've been on just about every Cholesterol lowering drug that was available. Many had severe side effects and none of them lowered my Cholesterol numbers to an acceptable level. Previously my heart doctor had settled on the idea of keeping my Cholesterol level below 200. We were not happy with that but that was the best we could do. With regular Praluent injections, my Cholesterol level is below 80 and remains at that level. This is with none of the side effects that I experienced with other treatments. My only complaint about this is it must be injected, which is rather cumbersome to accomplish. If it weren't for this method of delivery, my overall satisfaction rating would be excellent.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AB | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/16/2023
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Myalgias, bilateral leg cramps, fatigue, back, butt& thigh pain, stuffy nose, wt loss of 17 lb in 9mo. went from 215 to 125 by 2nd month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CRM | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/8/2023
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy to administer and no dicernible side effects. Statin use caused rhabdomyolosis so I take Praluent on its own. All cholesterol levels ideal. Been taking for 4 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/22/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Praluent did lower my cholesterol however it caused too many bad side effects for me. Side effects were debilitating joint pain in my legs, hips, shoulders, hands. It caused Flu like symptoms, headaches and rashes on my legs, arms and stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mutz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started these injections after seeing a cardiologist my doctor refered me to. I had to do all kinds of tests, scans (or mri don't know and a stress test on a tread mill (passed). After all the bull i was told about the miracle drug Praluent minimal adverse reaction (runny nose, site reddness nothing bad).Started my injections last of june 2022. It was easy at the begining only after 3 injections i noticed a few adverse reactions, After the 5th injection and on the second day i started with diarrhea and about 17 or more adverse reactions, quit counting after that. I couldn't eat, had to force myself to eat (pushed it down with water) also drank a lot of water. Lost 15 to 20 pounds the first week. It's been a battle, i haven't had a shot in over a month. I still haven't fully recovered yet.The best thing about all this is after i called the cardiologists office about this drug it took them 3 or 4 days to call me and after i told them about all problems there suggestion to me was to try another injection and if i had the same problem we would know it was the drug Praluent MY ANSWER I DON'T THINK SO also would like to add my bloodwork showed a very high PSA which i've never had before because i get bloodwork done ever 6 months or sooner so i'm getting bloodwork done again in 30 days wish me luckRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this since June, no problems but now I'm feeling pain when I move, it's hard to walk. My arms swell up in different places which I think is angiodema. A couple of teeth are loose , why I have no idea. I only take thyroid meds and metoprolol. She has me on the 150 dose and I'm not sure i want to continue on this. I feel like I have the flu and everything hurts .I don't see my doc until February !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kev10rn | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Homozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It brought my LDL down 100 points in 4 weeks, however the joint and tendon pain happened after the first dose. Achilles inflammed, hip, back, and neck. Its like any old injury I ever had flared up all at the same time. I am beyond fatigued and normally very active with weight training 3x as week and haven't went at all in the last month (joint pain and lack of energy).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 19-24 | Other | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pen consistently injures my skin. I bleed and it leaves a bruise every time. I have used many pens and NONE have ever hurt let alone leave bleeding and bruising. There is no excuse for having a pen that does this. After this 3rd injection I may be going to their competitor to use a syringe

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donald | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/11/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowers significantly cholesterol, easy to use, and no detected side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marsha | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/6/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had excellent results from Praluent with no side effects other than a red area a few times on my abdomen where injected. I had a stent placed in my heart and could not get my LDL level down afterward with statin drugs. After being on the drug a short time my LDL was significantly lowered. My only complaint is cost of the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/27/2021
Condition: Heterozygous Inherited High Blood Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was in a clinical trial for Praluent. 6 months and his cholestrol plummeted. Then he started feeling flu like, lost 20 pounds in 2 weeks. Cognitively he couldn't put 2 words together. He was so week, with severe muscle cramps. Hospitalized 4 times. Clinical trial didn't care and no suggestion what would help. 5 years later still mental fatigue and muscle cramps. This product should not be sold.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Psam | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did my first injection on 4-23-2019 within 2 weeks I had severe nausea, stomach with low back pain. An endoscope shows dried coffee ground substance in my stomach. My GI doctor can not figure our where this bleeding is coming from. My triglycerides and my VLDL numbers tripled in less than 3 weeks. The only think I can contribute this to is this drug. My cardiologist doesn't think so but some websites show a side effect this drug can cause is bleeding from your liver into your stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mk3509 | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/20/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Praluent 75mg along with Lipitor statin 20mg lowered my LDL bad cholesterol from 200 down to 40 in 3 months without any side effects so far. Only complaint is the high price which is supposed to be reduced in March 2019.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sherry | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/19/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only problem I seem to be experiencing is the fact I am now having trouble loosing weight I don't know if it is the drug or my age. I have tried several diets and go to the gym but now weight loss in fact gained 4 pounds.???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nurse | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/30/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cholesterol from 340 to 100 in one month. Been on it for 10 months without problems. Now having severe leg cramps, weakness in legs, muscle spasms in both legs. Unfortunately, these were the symptoms I had with statins and had to quit using them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DrL | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

while the medication reduced my cholesterol level to 82, I experienced side effects, including flu, coughing, fever, and rapidly developed cataracts for which I now need surgery. I called the manufacturer, their nurse, express scripts all telling me to talk to my MD. All denying the FDA information. I guess I was their trial without important information as to the side effects of the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lars | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/5/2016
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has dropped my cholesterol numbers drastically. I could not take statins (no one should) as they are more damaging than helpful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More