Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

87 People found this comment helpful

I take Rexulti and Viibryd only, after 6mo of 7 diff meds. For months and months I googled symptoms of my mental illness (after a severe psychotic break and 8 hospitalizations) and could rarely find any thing good to read. Only the bad. I have been doing AMAZING (with normal ups and downs) for a year now! I am writing a review because I want people to have hope. I almost wasn’t going to because on...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Horrible. My doctor put me on a trial .5 dose. For the first few days I felt energetic and calm -- like my feelings of dread and anxiety were going down. Then I started feeling flu-like symptoms and I just assumed I had caught a cold. The "cold" progressed for but also brought with it severe panic attacks. The Rexulti was the only new drug in my system, so I determined it to be the culprit. After ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Lani | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/15/2024
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rexulti caused me to become very withdrawn and incapable of carrying on conversations anymore . I avoided contact with people as much a possible. It also caused me to have parkinsonism which I am currently dealing with. When they tried to wean me off of Rexulti I went through about 5 weeks of pure hell...withdrawals.took me several months to get off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/6/2024
Condition: Psychosis associated with Alzheimer's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 71yo wife is Dx with Lepopenal Aphasia/Alzheimers (early onset). Adding Rexalti has been a plus including: crying has dramatically been reduced (daily/hourly). Her language has gone from mumbling/word salad to clearer and is appropriate in conversations. She is currently taking Effexor, Ativan, Seraquel, Memetine, Buspirone - adding Rexalti has been tremendous. Our next step it to reduce some of these Meds

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bazz | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/6/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi,I'm 44 year old male which has been 14 years outpatient of mental/mood disorder. I was diagnosed Schizoaffective disorder by my doctor in 2010 & she gave me Seroquel & Zoloft which worked well. Because of the price of medication increased exponentially in 7 years from $200 to $1000 a month I switched doctor in 2017. He diagnosed me with Bipolar disorder & gave me Abilify & Kalxetin which worked well with price only $100 a month. And it was 2020,since I moved to another city because of Covid pandemi,then I switched doctor again. He diagnosed me with Mood disorder & gave me Rexulti & Noxetine which I consider the best low cost medication which I ever get in 14 years ($200 monthly). I think Rexulti with antidepressant is great for unspecified mental/mood disorder. But you should do trial & error on: dosage + time taking + times in a day you take it to get chemical balance in your brain. Also don't take more than max dosage which is 2-4 mg a day directly proportional with your weight. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rexulti has changed my life for the better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2024
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started rexulti a few months ago and the mental effects were wonderful, i had little anxiety’s and my depression was getting better. but while on this medication in 4 months ive gained over 40 pounds. after it started negatively affecting my circulation in my legs- i was advised to stop the meds. i weened myself off like i was supposed to for about two weeks and now i am experiencing constant nausea no matter what i do, ive lost 10 of the pounds i gained because i literally cannot eat, i have not slept in the past 4 days, strange uncontrollable movements of my mouth, im now experiencing flu like symptoms including a fever and i have no idea how long these symptoms are going to last its been about 3 weeks since ive stopped taking it. DO NOT take this medicine if you can avoid it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bordenkate | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2024
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this medication for several months and it was ok at first but then it made my anxiety way worse then it was before I started taking it … I would have days where I couldn’t even get out of bed …. After a while I stopped taking it and I had body shakes and trouble sleeping and lost my appetite….. I have been off of it for about 2 months now and I’m still trying to shake the side effects away

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/16/2024
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Wellbutrin for MDD since 2018. I was doing well just on this medication, but eventually I experienced persistent sadness/low mood, crying spells, anhedonia, lack of motivation, poor concentration, racing thoughts, anxiety, insomnia, and mood swings during my period. I was functional to an extent, but felt like I was barely getting by at work. I had mental blocks, was falling behind on paperwork, and felt stressed. I wanted to quit my job so many times. I needed an adjunct to my anti-depressant. I already tried Lamictal but got the rash, and Abilify but felt like a robot. Then my Dr. put me on Rexulti in January 2022. I was initially strongly resistant to the idea of antipsychotics, but gave it a chance. For the first few months, my mind was like a blank slate. It was strangely calm. Med helped to organize my thoughts, think more clearly, and stabilize my mood. No more depressive episodes or crying spells. No anxiety. Motivation returned. I still struggled to have energy, especially waking up in the AM, but I felt so much better. I became cognitively sharper and able to complete my work more efficiently. I felt very emotionally stable and was able to travel and enjoy my life! My appetite increased and I did gain like 10 lbs during the 1st year, but I was able to maintain the same weight for most of the time. That is until March 2023. Weight gain creeping up. I gained another 10 lbs. July to December 2023 another 20 lbs. Then December 2023 to now? Another 20! More than 50 lbs. It alarmed me. Clothes no longer fit me and it upset me. I had my annual physical in November 2023 which showed high cholesterol and I was this close to becoming pre diabetic. Diabetes runs in my family. My mental health’s never been better but at what cost? My physical health? For this reason, I’m choosing to get off Rexulti. If it wasn’t for the weight gain, I’d stay on Rexulti. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/11/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication for Bipolar Disorder Unspecified & BPD. Honestly there was a little while where I thought I was better off not taking it, but after a week of not taking it I had a manic episode and was sobbing uncontrollably. Taking this medication in the morning works best for me. I no longer think everyone hates me, I have energy during the day, and I'm able to look on the bright side of things. I have been through probably 20 medications to help me and this definitely suits me the best. I may have gained weight but my body image is significantly better and I feel like I'm a more pleasant person to be around. Would definitely recommend this medication! I only take 0.25mg because I'm sensitive to medications.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Georgia Gma | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2024
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on Rexulti for a week, I always read the side effects with new medication but failed to do so with this new medication. As I started to take my medication tonight I decided to read up on the medication. BINGO! Since starting the medication I’ve had breathing problems. With a history of Asthma, naturally I thought that’s what it was. I did not take the medication tonight and I will not be taking it in the future. Several other side effects that bother me because my doctor prescribed this new medication knowing that I have all these other health issues. Side effects can be serious! I haven’t had more than 2 -3 hours of sleep each night since starting the medication. If it helps other patients, that’s a plus. It’s not the medication I need!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lioness | 55-64 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2024
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn’t believe the hype. The first week I was tired in the morning. Then boom this with my lexapro is magic. No dred and I have GAD hyper vigilance and it’s much better. It also made me stop smoking. I feel great. Dreams can be an issue at first but I had stopped my Prozacin. This truly saved my sanity

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
do not use | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/15/2024
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was on this drug as an addition to his antidepressant. This drug has ruined our lives after he was only on it for 7 months. It is not an anti-depressant, but an anti-psychotic. We have been dealiing with the aftermath of this drug for 2 years now. Stay away!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nyx | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2024
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If ypu have a condition that lowers your blood pressure already, Be careful. Im 41 and also deal with Pcos which lowers my blood pressure sometimes. Concerning the meds. It makes me dizzy, gives me a headache and my anxiety doesn't get any help from this med. I don't know why my Dr. wants me to stay on it. I can only imagine it is cause i have been taking abilify. I had a bad reaction due to a combo of my pcos and this med together. One day i woke up at 6 am, i got lightheaded, dizzy and i remember walking towards my bedroom and all of a sudden i couldn't hold myself up I fell to my knees for a few seconds and then went face forward. I busted my nose and couldn't get up for a few seconds and when i did there was a small puddle of blood on my floor. I have pcos, so i think a cyst on top of my overy ruptured causing my blood pressure to lower and these meds also lower your blood pressure. I went to the e.r and they ran tests. Be careful if you have any condition or other med that already lower your blood pressure. Keep visiting and consulting your primary dr along with the mental health dr cause rexulti can cause you to pass out and get injured being it lowers your blood pressure by more than other meds i have taken.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Celeste S | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/4/2024
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

READ FULL REVIEW: I had been on Lamictal for my OCD and Bipolar dosorder since I was 12. I continued to experience overwhelming thoughts and manic episodes for most of my life until the age of 25. I went to a hospital for SI and although I had two other meds for depression and ocd, I was at a loss because nothing was working. I realized in the hospital as well I had a severe eating disorder and was able to work through therapy to get to a better point, but I still just wasnt there yet. I had trouble taking my meds consistently and it was really effecting my mood swings. Because of this also my Lamictal gave me a rash and I thought I was back out trying all the meds that previously didn’t work. That was when my doctor recommended REXULTI. I have been on it most consistently than any other med for about 6 months. Here is why I love this med. 1: I LOVE TO EAT! I was severely malnourished and this med helped me with my lack of hunger cravings that was a result of years of suppressing hunger. This has helped me with my confidence and I can finally work out. 2: MANIA AND HYPOMANIA REGULATED This med works great for regulating my highs and lows, which I have never found my other meds to actually achieve. 3: DOOM IS GONE I hadnt cried in about two months which is my lifetime record. I just was able to handle my emotions better. 4: MISSING 1 DAY DOES NOT EFFECT ME. This one was huge. If I miss a dose I am less likely to fall into a mood swing or episode and therefore have been able to remember and take the following dose instead of missing it due to my illness symptoms. Keep in mind that I have copious amounts of therapy as well as two other meds for ocd and depression, with all that in mind, I love this medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tootie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/12/2023
Condition: Additional Medications to Treat Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Viibryd and this was added at 2 mg to help my depression. I started having trouble swallowing. So I went to GI Dr and had scope down throat. He basically found no issues. The depression was still bad so my dosage of Rexulti was upped to 4 mg about 2 weeks later I started experiencing numbness in my arms and legs, could barely swallow. I was at a friends on vacation. I had a few days left before I could fly home. In those few days I got to the point I couldn’t dress myself, could barely shower, was drooling, slurred speech, and could barely swallow. So I flew home went straight to ER and had lots of testing done and a neurologist walked in looked at my meds and said it’s the Rexulti. I had what they called Parkinson’s syndrome. I was in the hospital 3 days, had to have a friend stay with me and help me. I have to have speech, occupational, and physical therapy (at home) plus the Parkinson’s meds for about 4 months. I had to follow up with the neurologist for about 6 months. I ABSOLUTELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MEDICATION TO ANYONE!!! I’ve suffered from depression and anxiety for 40 years and been on meds for years and never experienced anything like that nightmare. Pray that I never will again!!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/28/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use 1 mg of Rexulti (augmenting Zoloft) for pretty bad OCD--it works! I previously tried so many SSRIs--my OCD was resistant until adding in the Rexulti. Relatively few other side effects, but some lethargy and increased appetite at times. Small price to pay however. This medication is absolutely effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marissuhh | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication to help with the depression as an addition to my bipolar and anxiety medications due to the decreased risk of worsening my akathisia which I have lived with for almost 5 years now. In the first two weeks of taking this medication I thought I was going insane. I couldn't think of words, and my short term memory was shot. I've been off the medication since June and my memory issues are getting worse. While at first I was misremembering things, now I have virtually no short term memory. I wouldn't recommend this medication to anyone. I'd take the akathisia over this misery. Four months later and my symptoms are still consistently getting worse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was experiencing severe psychosis and massive panic attacks multiple times a day. This has helped me so much!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMK | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I immediately got anxiety and restlessness. I had to stop it cold turkey after about a week of taking it every other day. I was also taking BuSpar for the first time, so I don't know if that was what was making me anxious too or not but I stopped both. I'm just on Wellbutrin now and amitriptyline at night. I'm going to call my doctor and let him know how I feel. My depression is horrible right now. Would not recommend this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Coleen G | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2023
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on it 5 weeks. Definitely eased up my racing mind, BUT I can't stop eating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Newman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/26/2023
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has helped to keep me flattened

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More